Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mountain of Daggers (Tales of the Black Raven, #1)” as Want to Read:
Mountain of Daggers (Tales of the Black Raven, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mountain of Daggers

(Tales of the Black Raven #1)

by
3.63  ·  Rating details ·  142 ratings  ·  17 reviews
One part James Bond, two parts Gray Mouser, Ahren the Black Raven fights demons, duels beautiful assassins, and steals the rarest of treasures, all while dodging an endless army of bounty hunters on his trail. Mountain of Daggers is the first collection of fantasy tales by Damoren author, Seth Skorkowsky.

DESCRIPTION
Some call him hero. Others, a menace. But everyone agrees
...more
Kindle Edition, 296 pages
Published March 9th 2015 by Ragnarok Publications
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mountain of Daggers, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mountain of Daggers

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.63  · 
Rating details
 ·  142 ratings  ·  17 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Clay Sanger
Mar 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
With Skorkowsky's 'Mountain of Daggers' we are treated to a collection of roguish stories that aren't afraid to cut and bloody their hands on the razor's edge between classic Sword and Sorcery and Outlaw Grimdark.

'Mountain of Daggers' introduces us to the Black Raven. Some outlaws are blood-thirsty killers. Some are thuggish fighters. The Black Raven... is a thief -- lover of the chase and an old fashioned adrenaline junkie. Once you get to know the Black Raven, you realize he does these things,
...more
Jack
Sep 23, 2016 rated it really liked it
This collection of short stories about a thief-assassin with the nickname “The Black Raven” was a fast-paced and creative read. The sheer variety of methods in which the Black Raven commits his crimes, as well as touches of supernatural and fantasy elements make, make each story unique, instead of just a series of heists and break-ins. I’m looking forward to reading the next collection.
C.T. Phipps
Mar 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, grimdark
A big fan of the Valducan books by Seth Skorkowsky, I was interested in other books by him and the release of a new fantasy series intrigued me. Mountain of Daggers is the first collection of short stories by him about the Black Raven. Who is the Black Raven? The Black Raven is the alias of Ahren, a thief and assassin who haunts a Medieval Fantasy world.

The book follows Ahren's journey from being a ex-sailor with a history of burglary work to becoming the most feared and respected rogue in the
...more
Rob Hayes
Sep 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
One Line Review: Medallion ex machina, training, sneaky sneaky, big bad, sexy time, duel... sort of, getting to know you, return of the big bad, melancholia, sexy time, REALLY NOT SEXY TIME, cliffhanger.

So I raced through this one which should give you all a good idea of how much I enjoyed it. Seth writes a good pulp-fantasy yarn and adds in a fair amount of detail. The heists were a joy to read and if you like Scott Lynch's Gentlemen Bastards, you'll love the Black Raven's exploits in Mountain
...more
Jorge Soto
Mar 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I love stories where the hero isn't the "good" guy. This anthology tells the tales of the Black Raven. A thief of many skills with his own sense of honor.

Ahren knows how good he is. Even so, not every job goes as planned and his quick thinking, ability to solve puzzle like problems, and masterful skills as a thief and assassin help him survive the seedy underworld Skorkowsky has created. These stories show us how Ahren not only survives this world, but how he's able to conquer it through his wit
...more
Julia DeBarrioz
Mar 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
If you love a good thief story (or a collection of them) then this is an excellent book for you. Ahren is a likeable trickster and cat burglar extraordinaire who finds himself incidentally inducted into a cabal of thieves. He's smart, funny, and I would say quite a gentleman among thieves. He has a soft spot for the ladies in his life, who are all as dangerous as they are lovely, and often have no qualms throwing Ahren himself under the bus. (Carriage?) His chivalry inevitably gets him into deep ...more
Jesse
May 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Warning: spoiler in the last paragraph. I’ve put a marker on it, but thought I’d let you know.
This book makes me nostalgic. I grew up feasting on the assorted short story anthologies available at my public and school libraries. As a result, I harbor a lifelong love of genre fiction and particularly the short story form. That being said, it isn’t merely nostalgia that helped me appreciate this collection.
I love Mountain of Daggers because it aims for the sweet spot of adventure storytelling and
...more
Steve Caldwell
Aug 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I was a fan of the author's Valducan urban fantasy books, so I thought I would give this a shot. i'm really glad I did. The stories revolve around a thief named Ahren, who ends up joining The Tyenee, the secret thieves guild, after he is betrayed on a job. He is branded the Black Raven because of the betrayal, and is convinced by a Tyenee leader that it is a good nickname. In fact, he leaves black raven feathers at the scenes of his crimes as a calling card. He has a series of adventures, with s ...more
Melissa J. Katano
Mar 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy
MOUNTAIN OF DAGGERS is a collection of short stories that almost reads as a novel. Ahren is a thief, a rogue and a sometime killer. He will dare almost any danger for the Tyenee, a secret cabal of thieves, rogues, murderers and fences. The Tynee controls much of the Underground and is ruthless in its efforts to maintain and extend that control.

This collection of stories span more than a decade in the life of Ahren, from his induction to the Tynee, to the return to his home city. Along the way, h
...more
Kevin
Sep 15, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I think the protagonist could be Lock Lamora.
If Locke was a lone wolf, wasn't trained to be a "Gentleman Thief" and lived in a world with a more magically diverse populous(instead of the finger twirlers they have in his universe), then Ahren could easily pass for Locke.

I don't know what's so special about the protagonist.
His whole career(as the Black Raven) started as one big lie, he trained to get where he is today.

Now he has (view spoiler)
...more
Gabriella
Feb 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2017, fantasy
A great book with vivid descriptions that make it easy to read and see in your minds eye what is going on. Each chapter is a story in itself within the book. I loved each story as it was always a new feat and yet allowed time to pass within the world without doing the in-between filler that often spoils a book. Well written, and cant wait to read book two
Kingkiller
Mar 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Solid sword and sorcery with definite roots in Fritz Leiber. Don't think Ahren is as much James Bond as he is The Wolf from Pulp Fiction.

Good mix of themes and plots to where none of them feel like re-hashes of each other or relying on the same gimmicks over and over.

My favorite one was The Ferrymaster's Toll, though the circus story was a close second. Hopefully the next book will come with a map.
Nerine Dorman
Mar 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
I picked up Mountain of Daggers by Seth Skorkowsky because people were talking it up on the GrimDark Facebook group. It's a loose collection of tales following the doings of thief and miscreant Ahren, aka the Black Raven, as he goes about his business. Sometimes he's on top of things. Other times his opponents get the better of him. Seth's writing flows along at a decent clip, and he paints a well-realised world that promises to be filled with lore (kudos there). I wanted to nitpick a little but ...more
Jamie Leonard
Sep 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
What a character! Really enjoy the authors creativity with all his different styles. I can't wait to see what the future brings. Seth Skorkowsky is an author I will be following.
Karsyn
Mar 21, 2017 rated it it was ok
Really didn't like the individual stories aspects of this book at all. There was really no background, no character development, just a series of stories that had nothing to do with each other, for the most part. It just wasn't enjoyable because of that. The only story I really liked was the Thief's Duel.

R.C. Bray narrating probably made it even better than it was cuz he's enjoyable to listen to.
Scott Roberts
Mar 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The book cover looks very nice. I give this book 5 stars.
Scott Waldie
Dec 21, 2016 rated it liked it
Roguish fantasy tales in the vein of Lankhmar or Locke Lamora.
Owen Landgren
rated it it was ok
Apr 04, 2015
Seguleh First
rated it liked it
Jan 08, 2016
Jacob Stewart
rated it it was ok
Jul 21, 2015
Nathaniel Hanley
rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2015
Daniel Walter
rated it did not like it
Oct 24, 2016
Jane Reading
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2018
Trevor
rated it really liked it
May 20, 2015
Niki
rated it it was amazing
Jul 20, 2016
Jeff Barnes
rated it really liked it
Mar 20, 2016
Mark Bullock
rated it it was amazing
Jun 07, 2015
Jan Novák
rated it did not like it
Sep 06, 2015
T.lexxrex
rated it it was amazing
Apr 13, 2015
Jennifer
rated it it was ok
Jan 04, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
182 followers
Raised in the swamps and pine forests of East Texas, Seth Skorkowsky gravitated to the darker sides of fantasy, preferring horror and pulp heroes over knights in shining armor.

His debut novel, Dämoren, was published in 2014 as book #1 in the Valducan series; it was followed by Hounacier in 2015, and Ibenus in 2016. Seth has also released two sword-and-sorcery rogue collections with his Tales of th
...more

Other books in the series

Tales of the Black Raven (2 books)
  • Sea of Quills (Tales of the Black Raven, #2)
“Danger and romance always draws a crowd.” 1 likes
“Welcome to the Tyenee.” 0 likes
More quotes…