Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hotel of Death: the chosen one” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Hotel of Death: the ch...
 
by
Cynthia Fridsma
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Hotel of Death: the chosen one

by
3.88  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Richard McKenna is a writer with two bestsellers on his name. He's suffering a writer's block. However, he must write his book within three weeks, otherwise he cannot marry the handsome Glory Maryland. Unfortunately, Glory's husband wants to prevent this and starts a cat and mouse game of life and death.

In order to survive he flees to Boston, but his life is also at stake
...more
Paperback, 354 pages
Published February 9th 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform (first published January 12th 2015)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hotel of Death, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hotel of Death

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.88  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Hotel of Death: the chosen one
Vanne
Heftig, bloederig en met lange tanden in de hoofdrol. De Uitverkorene is het eerste deel van een reeks over vampieren en zombies. Gepromoot als een horror-thriller, met veel actie en geweld, en een van de meest aantrekkelijke covers van 2017. Ga mee op pad om de vloek van de vampiers te beëindigen en sluit de helpoort waardoor de zombies onze wereld binnen sluipen.

Het Verhaal

Sybil is een jonge vrouw uit de 18de eeuw. Door het oplezen van een oude spreuk is zij ‘besmet’ geraakt met een vloek die
...more
Jeanine
Apr 15, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Mijn recensie van "De Uitverkorene" van Cynthia Fridsma, Celtica Publishing.

‘Kan het bloed van De Uitverkorene een einde
maken aan een eeuwenoude vloek?’
http://perfecteburenleesclub.blogspot...
...more
Wendy Koedoot
Feb 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Dit boek gaat over Richard McKenna, een schrijver die een writersblock heeft en dat wordt hem niet in dank afgenomen door zijn uitgever. Zeker niet als blijkt dat Richard een geheime relatie heeft met Glory, de vrouw van de uitgever. Hij wordt met de dood bedreigd en vlucht naar Boston.
Maar ook in Boston blijkt het niet lekker rustig te zijn, hij blijkt een pion te zijn in een of ander dodelijk spel en wordt opgejaagd door vampiers, zombies, geesten en terroristen. Hoe kan hij hier vandaan ? Wa
...more
Eric
Mar 02, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
(I hate it when I type up a whole review and the internet decides it hates me and locks up)

Take two...

I just finished reading the Hotel of Death and I must say that I am pleasantly surprised. The author provided me with a copy of her book in exchange for a honest review, which I am happy to provide.

This book is written in a unique style that Cynthia Fridsma took the time to develop each character. The book is divided from multiple viewpoints from the different characters in the book, allowing th
...more
Patty Delft
De Uitverkorene begint spannend, met Richard die een aantal vreemde en angstaanjagende dingen meemaakt en daardoor op de vlucht slaat en Sybil die achter een mysterieus boek aangaat. Vervolgens raakte ik tijdens het lezen de draad af en toe een beetje kwijt door de vele karakters die langs komen en de gebeurtenissen die soms door elkaar lijken te lopen waardoor ik af en toe even terug moest lezen om te kijken wat er ook alweer gebeurd was. Hierdoor had ik moeite om door het verhaal heen te komen ...more
Amy
Mar 31, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I had a hard time getting into the book, but once I did I enjoyed it.

Richard is an author on the cusp of writing his third and final book. However, things get a little waylaid when the truth comes out. He flees to Boston, to lick his wounds, heal and unwind. However, the Hotel he is staying at isn't so quiet. Richard is a pawn, who is moved around the board, with someone always telling him, you can trust me. But who can Richard really trust? After all isn't everyone out for their own interest a
...more
A.W.
May 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Hotel of Death: The Chosen One" is an interesting read, starting with a writer and his inner fight between his profession and his love for his publisher's wife.
The story quickly moves on from these every day activities into a fight between the heroic "Nightbirds" and the villainous hordes of the "Reaper".
How are these two threads linked? You'll have to read it to find out, but suffice to say, you won't see it coming!

The characters are fully fleshed out and most of them have a chance to develop
...more
Doris
Apr 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
*I was provided a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

Hotel of Death is a fantastic read! When I started the book I didn't realize completely what was coming, and this made the book so much more enjoyable!
It added to the suspense, and the mystery!
Once you start reading you see that the story will come at you from different view points from different characters. After you get the hang of this, you will see that it gives you a more complete story line as you go. Typically this type
...more
Aly
Mar 09, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was good. I was a bit confused at the beginning of the book but I got used to the picture the author was trying to paint and it was good. I liked the character development and overall the story was unique. The story was told from multiple viewpoints and I think at first that is what though me off a bit. But if you like these types of action/adventure and little vampire books you should see what you think of this one. *I received this books from the author in exchange for an honest revi ...more
Mattie
Apr 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Curses vampires and so much more. HOTEL OF DEATH by Cynthia Fridsma is a real page turner. The author has developed some interesting characters. You know a book is good when your busy with life & the book seems to be calling your name. This is the first book I've read by this author and it will not be the last. I highly recommend this book if your looking for something wonderfully out of the ordinary. I received a digital copy of this novel from the author in return for an unbiased review. No co ...more
Mercedes Montgomery
This is a fabulous read. I found myself glued to the book from page one. The writer truly has a gift of creating a story that keeps the reader on the edge of his or her seat. Her characters are well developed and you feel a sense of connection with them. I truly enjoyed the story and look forward to reading more work by this author. I hope that you can take the time to investigate her work. I recommend it.
Joannes Rhino
Mar 07, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The author writes very well. You can see, hear, taste, smell, and feel what the characters do. It is truly a 3 dimensional experience. I was hooked from the 1st page and couldn't put down the book. The plot is flow naturally. The conversations are light and make sense. Overall, I truly believe that this book is worth the read. ...more
Peggy
Apr 06, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Wasn't prepared for the what this book took me through! Talk about on the edge of your seat with every last minute! While reading you are easily escaping into the lives of the characters and the story! Can't wait to read more from this author!


*Received for an honest review*
...more
Marcel Van der rijst
Een warrig verhaal over vampiers en zombies.

De vampier Sybil Crewes, hoofd van de organisatie Nigtbird, probeert het boek Necromonicon te vinden in de verblijfplaats van haar tegenstander The Reaper. En hoe kan Robert McKenna, schrijver van 1 bestseller, maar kampend met een writersblock, haar hierin helpen.

Cynthia probeert een spannend verhaal neer te zetten, maar dat lukt in zijn geheel niet. Het verhaal is warrig. Er zitten vreemde plotwendingen in en een aantal personen reageert heel ongelo
...more
Cynthia Fridsma
Jan 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Cynthia Fridsma
Feb 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Anna Dekker
rated it it was ok
Aug 22, 2019
Charlotte
rated it liked it
Mar 16, 2019
Petula
Sorry could not get into it.
Rachel
added it
Jan 23, 2015
Ida
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2015
Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2015
Shin The Bookworm
is currently reading it
Feb 26, 2015
Samantha
marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2015
Eva
added it
Jan 14, 2018
Astrid Langeveld
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2017
Aaliyah
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2018
Belinda
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2020
topics  posts  views  last activity   
GOOD REVIEWS: Review Hotel of Death: the chosen one 1 14 Feb 22, 2015 04:40AM  
14 followers

As far back as she can remember, Cynthia has been listening to exciting stories told by her mother. She grew up reading books from Edgar Allan Poe, H. P. Lovecraft, and Philip K. Dick, among others.

It was Cynthia’s mother who inspired her to start telling—and writing—her own stories.

Ms. Fridsma’s writing career started after a handicap in 2014—she has a tremor in her right hand, numbness in the fi
...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
36 likes · 10 comments