Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mr. Suicide” as Want to Read:
Mr. Suicide
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mr. Suicide

by
3.71  ·  Rating details ·  158 ratings  ·  40 reviews
Like everyone else in the world, you’ve wanted to do things people say you shouldn’t do.

How many times in your life have you wanted to slap someone? Really, literally strike them? You can’t even begin to count the times. Hundreds. Thousands. You’re not exaggerating. You’re not engaging in… whatchamacallit? Hyperbole? You’re not engaging in hyperbole.

Maybe the impulse flash
...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published July 15th 2015 by Word Horde
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mr. Suicide, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mr. Suicide

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.71  · 
Rating details
 ·  158 ratings  ·  40 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Mark Matthews
Jul 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Read this book after it made the Horror Writer's Association long list for a Bram Stoker Award

Damn.

This book was stunning. Started off with a deep empathy for depression, and lead into a journey into decadent debauchery, a bastardized life, where all existence is suffering (my words, not the authors...) and questions of which urge to succumb to. To be or not to be, or to have never been at all. If you've ever heard Rust Cohle (True Detective) go off on the human species being a mistake and consc
...more
Frank Errington
Aug 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Review copy

Nicole Cushing is a Shirley Jackson Award finalist who's written a number of stand-alone novellas and dozens of short stories. Nicole has been referred to as the literary equivalent of the love child between Jack Ketchum and Poppy Z. Bright. Raised in rural Maryland and now living in southern Indiana, Nicole counts master storyteller Edgar Allen Poe as having had a big influence on her as a writer.

In recent weeks, I'd noticed a bit of a buzz about her debut novel and knew I had to che
...more
Chris Berko
Jul 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
If you ask me, good art makes you think, REAL art makes you feel, and a good artist will make you feel things you've never felt before. This is the second book I've read by Nicole Cushing and she has made me feel things I've never felt before. What started out as pity turned into this weird amalgam of fear and revulsion and anxiety juxtaposed with a perverse curiosity. Another great story with another hugely satisfying conclusion I highly recommend this.
Rodney
Jul 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: word-horde
You are a psychopath in the making, the progression quickening as you hit your late teens. Mr. Suicide has been speaking to you for some time now, but who is this Great Dark Mouth? Your brother introduces you via “Perfect Monsters,” an underground fetish magazine that is much more. “We’re all like fruit, and He’ll only swallow the ones who have rendered themselves sufficiently ripe with experience.” Perhaps you really are interesting enough to be wanted by Him. After He lays the Three-Fold Path ...more
Waffles
Sep 12, 2015 rated it really liked it
I am not someone given to reviewing books.
All I could think while reading this was

"Yep, I still hate The Catcher in the Rye!"

Well, I still do.

Read this novel instead.
Emily
Feb 21, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: owned-tbr
"Like everyone else in the world, you've wanted to do things people say you shouldn't do."

I thought I had already written this review, but I was wrong, and now everything has escaped my brain. I appreciated the concept of this book, and a lot of it was pretty creative. It definitely has a different tone since the story is told in second person. It got annoying at times, but it made for a unique experience.

I enjoyed the dark direction that it was heading in, but I had a more difficult time taki
...more
Ken
Sep 14, 2015 rated it really liked it
"You threw yourself onto the bed and under the covers. Thrashed around in them. Let out little groans you hoped no one could hear. You wished, for a moment you were in the loony bin. There, at least you'd have rubber walls to bounce off of. Here, all you could do was fidget between sheets and regret the that you lacked the courage of your convictions" - Mr Suicide, Nicole Cushing.

Mr Suicide is without a doubt the most horrifying book I've ever read. It depicts extreme violence, gruesome event af
...more
April Showers Bring Fungi From Yuggoth
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Audra (ouija.doodle.reads)
Innovative, captivating, and deeply disturbing, Mr. Suicide is a must-read for horror fans.

The novel is told in second person, which was effective for this book for a few reasons. First, instead of second-person present-tense, which I think is more common (think CYOA-style: you go into the bathroom, you see the bloody knife) this book is still told in the past tense, which gives it more of a classic narrative feel.

It is already a creepy place to be, in the headspace of this obviously disturbed
...more
Ryan Lieske
May 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: horror
I was not expecting what this book did to me. First off, I'll admit that while reading the first couple of chapters, I was groaning a bit, worried that all I was in for was yet another "fucked up kid from a fucked family" horror story. But the novel was deceiving me, luring me into such reductive assumptions that when the story truly kicked in it felt like a punch to the gut (and the soul).

Told in the second-person POV (which is brilliantly handled by Cushing), "Mr. Suicide" sneaks right into y
...more
Noel Penaflor
Mar 21, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: horror
A sick little twist of a novel that revels in depravity. It might be off putting for most if it weren't for a compelling main character. More gross than actually scary, novel moves briskly enough so you're not dwelling too much on "WTF did I just read?"

Recommended, but you may lose your lunch during some sequences
Merve Özcan
Jun 19, 2017 rated it did not like it
Hayatımda okuduğum en sıkıcı kitaplar arasında ilk beşe girer. %20'de pes ediyorum. Önermem. Sakın ha...
Tim Sharp
Mar 05, 2016 rated it really liked it
When reading horror fiction, there are typically "levels" of what the writer is trying to achieve, dependent on their skill, intelligence and (it seems somewhat inescapable) personal proximity to/experience with a nihilistic vision of the universe.

Nicole Cushing is one of the few authors I would confidently place alongside Thomas Ligotti as someone who works in furthest Stygian depths of bleak darkness that the genre is likely to turn up. The worldview on offer is not one of simple monsters, or
...more
Nick Cato
Mar 12, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Brian O'Connell
Aug 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: horror
(Originally appeared on my website, the Conqueror Weird. This, by the way, eventually won the Bram Stoker Award.)

We all have bad thoughts.

Don’t even try to deny that – of course you have. You can’t feel bad about it. And I don’t think most of you will deny it – many of you, like myself, have reconciled ourselves with it; you just don’t like to admit it. Of course you don’t admit that you have fleeting visions of harm against others, indulgence in decadent behavior, suicide, murder. Society doesn
...more
Kris Morgan
Oct 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
What to say about this book? If you don't mind feeling grimy and partly disgusted (with yourself, the writer, humanity, our very existence) for however long it takes to finish, you may get some grim satisfaction out of Mr Suicide. I'm partial to these sentiments myself, making this a fantastic and compelling read (finished in two or three intensely focused sittings). Cushing's writing is simple yet original. The second-person narrative is a technique I've encountered but twice in my adult readin ...more
Branden
Nov 24, 2016 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars if I'm getting technical. I freaked out reading this book when I found out it was set in my city. I freaked out more when I found it was set in my precise neighborhood. Random and weird. I appreciated the taboo subject matter and the understated horror. The book doesn't try to scare or shock you, but you're left gasping in horror many times regardless. I do think there are some plot holes disguised as make-your-own-conclusions suggestions, so that was my one issue with the book.
David Agranoff
Full review coming. Believe the hype this is a fantastic horror novel
Adam
Jan 04, 2019 rated it really liked it
I was tempted to give 3 stars or maybe say that my review is actually a 3.5 star but 4 stars is where I'll put it. The bump up from 3.5 to 4 is for how well Cushing walks the line bordering on obscene in the most disgusting way possible. I'm no prude but found myself thinking Jeez. Calm it down, more than once. That said, no matter how disgusting some of the scenes are, I don't think softening them would make the book any better (but maybe not any worse, either).

We read a story about a boy who l
...more
Andrea
Nov 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Oh jeez, where do I start? I'm not one for strange surrealist horror but this sort of creeps into your bones and holds you hostage until you finally finish it, searching deeper into the night for answers that never really come.
I would be surprised if this influences a few nightmares in the coming years. It's shocking and horrifying in more than just gore related ways. It worms its way into your psyche until it swallows it hole and like a drug its all you can think of and you need your next hit.
...more
Melvin Mathews
Dec 06, 2017 rated it liked it
A very compelling read... disturbing, horrifying, gruesome - but also fascinating. It's like watching the seeds of madness flourishing into out and out psychopathy right before our very eyes and the journey is disturbing, horrifying and yet, utterly gripping. The ending, however, wasn't the explosive denouement that I was anticipating...rather, it veered off into a wholly different tangent which left me a bit nonplussed.



David Navratil
For my 2nd award winning book of the month I chose Mr. Suicide which won the Bram Stoker Award for best 1st Novel, 2015. No vampires, werewolves etc in this book just 1 crazy teenager! The author keeps you in the teenager's mind through out the book. Very graphic and descriptive but this is a horror book!! This is a good book!! David
Sean
May 29, 2017 rated it it was ok
Had to struggle to finish this one. To be honest, I only finished it because it's short and I am way behind on my reading challenge for this year. Sorry but probably won't be reading this author again.
William M.
Mar 30, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: psychological, horror
I really enjoyed the second-person perspective. Very few books have attempted to try this, and horror might be the most effective genre to play with a reader's emotions. Cushing does a nice job of exploring the main character's history and building on his eventual motivations for what he ends up becoming in later life. I did feel, however, the author's take on a male character a bit odd and inaccurate at times, exposing her clearly as a female author writing about a male character and his sexual ...more
Kristopher Triana
May 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
With "Mr. Suicide", Cushing has given us a blood-stained window into one young man's personal hell. Vividly brutal and creatively written, this novel elevates the extreme horror genre into something more cerebral, more emotionally charged.

From a second-person perspective that makes it all the more personal, we follow a teenage boy through his disintegration, watching on as he is tormented by his abusive mother, abandoned by his schoolmates and teachers, and is pulled into dark conversations wit
...more
Robert Mingee
Jul 13, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2016
There was a lot I liked about this book. Second-person POV is not easy to pull off, and can come off pretentious and gimmicky in the wrong hands, but it was done well and was the right choice for this work, adding to the "personal" nature of it. The premise was original, which I have come to expect from her work. The main character is very disturbed, though I personally didn't feel the violence and depravity was as excessive as others have reported (not a bad thing, mind you, just a data point f ...more
Sean Thompson
Dec 21, 2015 rated it really liked it
I've always been a sucker for stories about mentally ill people told from their perspective. Enter the narrator of Mr. Suicide, a real disturbed teenager with equally disturbed mother and brother. And yet we are stuck in this boy's head, and forced to follow along for the duration. It's such a powerful device, and when executed deftly, it forces us to acknowledge that often monsters are merely extrapolations of the very epitome of mundane humans. Tack on some wonderful imagery and a few dashes o ...more
Jennifer
Sep 04, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: horror, won
Mr. Suicide is well written, with a premise that's different from anything I've read before. That said, I didn't really connect with it.

This book was an interesting read, but nothing in it shocked or horrified me. However, I'm used to violence and gore and characters losing themselves to madness. If you're not used to those things, then you'll probably have a different reaction than I had.

I found the ending abrupt, and it didn't feel like the story organically led to that conclusion.

I don't see
...more
E.F.
Jul 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
Unwavering, brutal, and visceral - Mr. Suicide is an extreme horror novel you won't easily forget- even if you want to. Cushing finds that pinpoint when bleak despair disintegrates into abject horror, and the effect delivers a jolting, eddying plummet. It's hard to come up for air from this a bloody ringside seat, but the story manages to do far more than splash gratuitous violence at readers. With an inventive force at the center and a strong, character driven narrative the story follows a devo ...more
David Nelson
Dec 27, 2016 rated it it was ok
I'm really divided here between 2 and 3 stars. This started strong and engaging and then, at almost precisely the 30% mark, it took an abrupt hard turn into Really-Not-at-All-OK Sex, and really stuck with that, doubling and then tripling down. Had it just been that, this would be an easy 1 star, but damned if it didn't bring it around in the final two pages to sort of absurdly, grimly make all of that into a sort of profoundly adroit claim about the Nature of the World. I honestly don't know if ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Horror Aficionados : Kindle Sale -- MR. SUICIDE Now $2.99 (Was $4.99) 1 11 Feb 26, 2016 07:16AM  
  • The People’s Republic of Everything
  • Beyond the Door
  • Hannahwhere
  • Creeping Waves
  • The Forgotten Girl
  • Letter 44, Volume 3: Dark Matter
  • Alectryomancer and Other Weird Tales
  • Behold the Void
  • While the Black Stars Burn
  • Nightside City
  • Colder, Vol. 2: The Bad Seed
  • Caution: Contains Small Parts
  • They Don't Come Home Anymore
  • Sheep and Wolves
  • The Apex Book of World SF 3 (Apex Book of World SF #3)
  • The Best Horror of the Year Volume Nine
  • Dread in the Beast
  • The Shibboleth (Incarcerado, #2)
139 followers
Nicole Cushing is the Bram Stoker Award® winning author of Mr. Suicide and a two-time nominee for the Shirley Jackson Award.

Various reviewers have described her work as “brutal”, “cerebral”, “transgressive”, “taboo”, “groundbreaking” and “mind-bending”. This Is Horror has said that she is “quickly becoming a household name for horror fans”. She has also garnered praise from Jack Ketchum, Rue Morgu
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »