Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts

(The Unbelievables #1)

by
3.96  ·  Rating details ·  408 ratings  ·  165 reviews
Kat Preston doesn’t believe in ghosts. Not because she’s never seen one, but because she saw one too many. Refusing to believe is the only way to protect herself from the ghost that tried to steal her life. Kat’s disbelief keeps her safe until her junior year at McTernan Academy, when a research project for an eccentric teacher takes her to a tiny, private island off the c ...more
Paperback, 242 pages
Published August 1st 2015 by Beckett Publishing Group (first published July 30th 2015)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  408 ratings  ·  165 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables, #1)
Dianne
Celebrate the release of THE GIRL WHO SAVED GHOSTS with K.C. Tansley! Enter her giveaway to win a SIGNED copy and fabulous Swag!

International - Ends Oct 27 - Click on Banner to Enter!


Do you believe in ghosts? Do you like ghost stories with haunting legends, poorly formed curses, old ca
...more
Donita Luz
**I received the copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**
"Bustle and noise didn't distract me anymore. I was much more likely to be disturbed by quiet. Or, at least, what the quiet conjured up."
This was a very good and enjoyable read. I was not just reading the book, I was discovering and unraveling a 129-year-old murder mystery together with Kat, Evan, Morgan, Seth and Josua. The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts was more of a mystery rather than frightening as I init
...more
Alice-Elizabeth (marriedtobooks)
I am taking part in the blog tour for the second book in this series: The Girl Who Saved Ghosts. For participating in the tour, I was sent copies of both books for review via an invite on NetGalley. This is a YA Paranormal Mystery involving murder, time-travel and lost love. The main character Kat has seen ghosts since childhood but when she is the only person that can crack the secrets of a 129 year old mystery, her life drastically changes. She and three of her friends along with her professor ...more
Lainey
Jul 08, 2015 rated it liked it
Actual rating 3.5

*I received this book via the publicist in exchange for an honest review*

(Video review will be posted on book's release date)

I was a little nervous going into this book because there was a lot of information being thrown at me in the synopsis and then I got the book and it is relatively short, not reaching 250 pages. But plot and story-wise, I felt like it followed and arc and told a story - which is good.

This story follows a girl
...more
Schizanthus
👻 Haunted Halloween Book! 👻

Trigger Warning: Sexual assault

"Ghosts don't exist. They can't touch me. They can't hurt me. They aren't real."

The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts is one of those books that has everything you want and all the stuff you didn't even know you needed, and yet it doesn't feel cluttered.

Intelligent female main character that loves to read and doesn't have a perfect body - ✔

129 year old murder mystery to solve - ✔

Intergenerational multi-family curse - ✔

Ghosts, AKA, "I see dead people" - ✔

Library in/>The/>"Ghosts/>Trigger
...more
Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
I would like to thank Netgalley and Beckett Publishing Group for giving me the opportunity to read this ARC.

I liked the book, I thought it was a good ghost story. It's not really creepy or anything, some of the ideas are creepy, like ghosts taking over your body for good, but that's about it.

Every since Kat was a child she could see ghosts, they rocked her in her cradle, sang her to sleep, became friends with her. Until... one day she finds a very creepy ghost around her all of the time and sh
...more
Sherry Fundin
Mystery and intrigue, love and magic. Will she lose herself before she finds the answers that could save them all? Kat Preston will have to travel back in time to find out.

To save herself, Kat Preston had to become an Unbeliever. Now, in college, she surrounds herself with others, including her best friend, Morgan, who helps keep the ghosts at bay.

The Unbelievers makes me think of Ghost Whisperer. I watched the TV show all the time, and can sometimes catch reruns even tod
...more
C.P. Cabaniss
This was a short and fairly quick read. It wasn't exactly what I was expecting. I thought that Kat (who could see, but ignored, ghosts) and Evan would be sent back in time to solve a mystery. That part was pretty accurate. For some reason I was not expecting so much to hinge on magic.

Overall I enjoyed the story but it wasn't wonderful. The unbelievables and Kat's interactions with them could be confusing at times. The switch between Toria's and Kat's thoughts was also a bit abrupt at times. I l
...more
Siobhan
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts is the first book in The Unbelievables series, and it was an interesting enough read. In all honesty, my feelings are rather mixed. Some parts of this book I really enjoyed whereas other aspects I wasn’t as crazy about. Whilst I have given it a three-star rating, a three-point-five-star rating is actually more accurate.

This book is one of those stories that manages to mix a few different genres into a single book. It’s young adult supernatural read, mixed
...more
Sophie Narey (Bookreview- aholic)
Author: K.C Tansley
Published: 01/08/2015

I received this book for free through GoodReads FirstReads competitions.

I thought that this book was absolutely brilliant! I absolutely loved reading it and found it very hard to put down even for a second. This is the first book in The Unbelievable series and I will definitely be reading more books in this series.
This series features the wonderful Kat Preston who is trying to not believe in ghost and refusing to believe is
...more
Simona
It was another pleasant surprise to me. I didn't expect to like this book as much as I did. I was gripped by this story from the beginning until the end. I enjoyed the atmosphere, that author created with that old castle and secrets from the past. Of course, there were some issues with it. Firstly, the ending was a little bit too rushed for my taste. Secondly, I preferred characters from the past more, than characters from the present. Actually, main character felt a little bit boring to me in c ...more
N.N. Light
I really loved The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts. It has all my favorite things: ghosts, a snarky main character and a great plot. I'm a total supernatural/ghosty reader and I loved the spin on the genre. Tansley weaves words beautifully and I was totally immersed. Highly recommend!

My Rating: 5+ stars
Soobie's scared
I liked it but... Yeah, I'd say 2,5 stars.

It took me 9 days to finish this book and this is quite unusual for me. I'm usually way faster than that but sometimes my reading speed depends on the book itself. I mean, sometimes you just want to turn the page and see what's going to happen. Sometimes you're reading just because you want to reach the end of the book.

I think that a sort of family tree at the beginning of the book would have helped absent-minded readers like yours t
...more
Kelsey Wheeler
Oct 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book was way more than I expected. I finished this book in one sitting because I just couldn't put it down. It was so enjoyable and steady paced I just couldn't stop reading. There never really was a dull moment especially once they get to the castle that's when everything starts to kick off and unfold and it will have you trying to solve this mystery murder right along side the characters. 

It kind of reminded me of a less gruesome Stalking Jack The Ripper plus a little time tra
...more
Sharon L
Apr 30, 2015 marked it as 30-next-up
I am somewhat intrigued.
There doesn't seem to be that much hint for romance so it might be OK and not turn into a fluff fest. \

However, I do wonder of one thing- How can one ignore what one knows is true and how can one not believe in what stands infront of one's eyes?

She tried to ignore them. But some things won’t be ignored.

Kat Preston doesn’t believe in ghosts. Not because she’s never seen one, but because she saw one too many.


I mean, I can see how she ref/>
...more
Andover Library
Sep 23, 2015 rated it liked it
I recieved a copy of this book from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I'm glad I did! This book was an enjoyable read aimed at the YA audience. Part ghost story, part time travel (and an interesting way of doing so) part teenage agnst the story romped along at a good pace.

Kat - our 'girl who ignores ghosts' is a likeable and capable main character and her supporting cast are well written too.

A few bits towards the end of the book felt a little too easy, a little contrived but this di
...more
Andrea Stephenson
Mar 29, 2015 rated it really liked it
This book had me hooked from the first page. I was immediately drawn into the world of Kat, who has always seen ghosts but who, for her own survival, has been forced to pretend they don't exist. But when she's drawn into a research project to investigate a murder from the 19th Century, she can no longer push the ghosts aside and becomes far more involved in solving the murder than she could ever have imagined. This is a fast-paced read, with a very engaging heroine and a plot that will keep you ...more
Carrie
Aug 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: indies, ya
I seldom read YA novels, but I thought this book had all the elements a young adult crowd would enjoy: spunky characters, romantic innuendo, and a centuries-old curse that must be broken. On top of that, a New England island makes for a perfect setting for a story involving ghosts. A fast-paced, enjoyable read. A nice, crisp writing style too.
Rebecca McNutt
Filled with mystery, originality and featuring an interesting (though sometimes rather pretentious and odd) main character, The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts is a very strange and gripping story about those who get involved with the paranormal.
Rina
Sep 01, 2017 rated it liked it
The Girl Who Ignored Ghost by K.C. Tansley is about Kat Preston, a teenage girl who can see ghosts. Since a young age Kat has been surrounded by ghosts and has even been possessed. Years later, Kat becomes a very academically focused student who is trying her hardest to earn a scholarship to college. As a result, one of her teachers gives her a difficult assignment to write a paper on a murder mystery that took place in the late 1800s. In order to complete her research Kat must go to the crime s ...more
IP Scrap
Oct 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
I love this book. It’s an easy read and it keep me trying to get to the end. It’s YA story.
Shelby
Sep 07, 2017 rated it liked it
Thanks to Netgalley for the copy of this

Love the 129 year mystery, parts of this book were confusing but overall I liked it. Someday I'll read book two just to see how the story progresses.
Lisa
ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley.

2,5 stars


Meh. Plot and characters were only mildly interesting, couldn't really grab my attention.
Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
This was the perfect book for me. Full of ghosts, magic, curses, and a little time travel. The book had a great pace and kept me wanting to read more and more. I can't wait to read book two.

Huge thanks to the author, KC Tansley, for sending me this book. I plan on doing a review on my blog for both books once I finish book two.
Wendy
Aug 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
Recommended to Wendy by: Goodreads/First Reads
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts" is a unique blend of murder, mystery, the paranormal and magic that begins when eccentric but likeable Professor Astor at McTernan Academy assigns his research team of four - Evan Kingsley, Kat Preston, her friend Morgan and Seth Fitzgerald to investigate the mysterious disappearance of Cassie Mallory and Sebastion Radcliffe from a blood splattered room on their wedding night in 1886. Their research is important because of its connection to a family curse that bring ...more
Alicia (aka Rozzie) Chamberlain
I am convinced that this book could totally be a movie. It can either be really creepy or it could even be made out like one of those CW teen dramas that could easily hook the masses. I received a copy from NetGalley for my unbiased opinion from the publisher. I am seriously hoping that I get approved for the second book in the series which just came out October 2017. It is just so cool. This book did a really great job in combining an unsolved murder mystery, time travel, spells and curses.

Kat
...more
Tracey
Sep 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Visit my blog Review @tfaulcbookreviews

*This ARC was received in exchange for an honest review*
This is the YA story of Kay Preston who since she was little she would always see ghosts, but the only way to protect herself is to stop believing and they then can’t harm you.
Kay is asked to join a research project team to a private island to investigate the Radcliffe Curse. Joining her is Morgan, Seth, Joshua and Evan. But when they get to the castle on the island things start happening and Kay an
...more
Sage Knightly
Sep 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now I wonder why I didn't pick it up sooner!

Kat ignores ghosts. In her childhood she embraced her power and acknowledged that she could help the lost souls around her. A possession left her scared and she was forced to forget about them in order to keep safe. Now however, as she researches the death of a young couple for school with a group of knowledgeable classmates, she gets sucked back into t
...more
Empress Reece (Hooked on Books)
"The Unbelievables" Do you believe in "The Unbelievables?" I definitely think that is a more fitting title. I even prefer just the series name, "The Unbelievables" better then I do "The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts." It just doesn't seem catchy enough to me, but hey that's just my opinion and really the only thing I didn't care for about this book. It was a fantastic debut!! The story was very entertaining and well-written. I don't want to call it an actual "ghost story" because it doesn't have the c ...more
Veronica
Aug 17, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of this book for free from Goodreads competitions.

Kat is an unusual girl. She has always been able to see ghosts otherwise known as "the Unbelievables" since she was a little girl but was forced to disbelieve in them after almost becoming possessed by one. Fast forward a few years when Kat is a teenager. She is in her junior year at McTernan Academy where she is doing a research project for a professor. The project brings her face to face (so to speak) with the ghosts she has
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Horror Aficionados : [Ends Oct 26] Just in Time for Halloween! 1 16 Oct 19, 2015 06:25PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Rosemary's Gravy (We Sisters Three, #1)
  • The Child Taker & Slow Burn
  • Deadly Proof (A Victorian San Francisco Mystery #4)
  • Tsura (Tsura, #1)
  • Vermilion Witch: A Short Story
  • The Lost Girls: A Bella DeFranco Mystery (Suburban Murder, #2)
  • The Witching Elm (Memento Mori #1)
  • The Paul Mcdonald Mystery Series Vol. 1-2: With Bonus Short Story!
  • The Chronicles of Mara Lantern Series: Books 1 & 2
  • Bear Fur The Princess (SHIFT Squad, #4)
  • Onyx Webb: Book One: Episodes 1, 2, 3
  • Highway Thirteen to Manhattan  (The Six Train to Wisconsin #2)
  • Hometown Hearts
  • Cinderella's Cowboy (This Old House, #4)
  • Winter in Ireland (Montana Sweet Western Romance, #5)
  • The Key to Midnight
  • Cold Fire / Hideaway / The Key to Midnight
  • Mr. Murder
See similar books…
382 followers
K.C Tansley lives with her warrior lapdog, Emerson, and two quirky golden retrievers on a hill somewhere in Connecticut. She tends to believe in the unbelievables—spells, ghosts, time travel—and writes about them.

Never one to say no to a road trip, she’s climbed the Great Wall twice, hopped on the Sound of Music tour in Salzburg, and danced the night away in the dunes of Cape Hatteras. She loves
...more

Other books in the series

The Unbelievables (3 books)
  • The Girl Who Saved Ghosts (The Unbelievables, #2)
  • The Girl Who Loved Ghosts