Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cyberbully Blues” as Want to Read:
Cyberbully Blues
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cyberbully Blues

by
4.1  ·  Rating details ·  10 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
Autonav cars, housebots, cybercurrencies, and drones are commonplace in 2037. Join Dakota Hamilton in Mayberry, an idyllic Southern California town, as she searches for her father and struggles through high school. Feel her emotional anguish, physical pain, and intellectual frustration as she deals with a first crush, cross country, and computer science. This is a coming o ...more
Paperback, 282 pages
Published February 5th 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cyberbully Blues, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cyberbully Blues

Community Reviews

(showing 1-40)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Carolyn Young
Mar 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
Cyberbully Blues is an entertaining Young Adult novel set in the future. It is a coming of age story about a high school student, Dakota, who is cyberbullied for a long period of time and faces a lot of challenges because of it.

I empathized with Dakota quite a bit. She was a well-developed character. I felt her pain, but she was very strong and fought through her issues. Some of the other characters were a little less clear to me, and I didn’t fully understand their motivations at times, but mo
...more
Cy Wyss
Mar 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Cyberbully blues is the coming of age story of Dakota (aka Kodi), a California girl. The book follows Kodi from just beginning high school to the first year of college as she makes major changes. The changes include transforming herself through hard work and self-discipline from couch potato to athlete, from mathophobe to computerophile, and from girl to woman. Her change from geometry dunce to math and computer science whiz is truly inspiring, not least in part because it is out of necessity du ...more
K.S. Ferguson
Mar 13, 2015 rated it really liked it
Author Johnson draws an interesting picture of a small California town in the near(ish) future. With technology moving at such a rapid pace, it's tough to predict what gadgets might be in use, or how being constantly connected might shape our lives. Johnson gives us a believable look into that future.

From statements made by the author, his intention is to provide a role model for girls interested in STEM fields. Dakota Hamilton, the main character does an admirable job of this. She's a typical t
...more
Taylor Lavati
Jun 01, 2015 rated it liked it
3.5/5

First I want to mention that I definitely agree with other reviews who state that this is like a PSA or warning-book. It is. It reads like it also. But I appreciate the author writing in this way because it gets her point across obviously and sends a message to whoever reads it.

Pace: I think I was at about 27% and nothing had really happened. There's a lot of building up from her track to soccer career, the magazines, Bobby, and her father. A lot is thrown at you, but it's never really exp
...more
Elizabeth Rose
Mar 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fiction
I was fortunate enough to serve as a beta reader for this prequel to Johnson's previous work, Well-Oiled. Cyberbully Blues expands futuristic Mayberry, making it seem more vivid than before. Like its predecessor, this Mayberry Mystery is also more concerned with action than characters, putting it firmly in the category of popular fiction.
This book focuses on Dakota "Kodi" Hamilton's life leading up to the events in Well-Oiled. Shy and bookish, Kodi uses her high school experience to broaden her
...more
Russell Atkinson
Jun 14, 2015 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: girls 12 - 14
This sweet, engaging coming-of-age story follows Dakota "Kodi" Hamilton as she enters high school and through the next few years. The setting is 2037 in a world of housebots, commdots and holos. She suffers many tribulations, including cyber bullying, physical injuries, unfair school discipline, an unrequited first crush, and a lecherous boss. She also has a fear of math and is as insecure as most freshman girls. She is raised by her mother with no knowledge of who her father is. She perseveres ...more
T.K. Rapp
May 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
Cyberbully Blues follows the high school student Dakota (Kodi) Hamilton through freshman year of high school through the beginning of college. It's set in the future where technology runs every aspect of our lives. (Not too far from reality ;) )

I thought the concept was quite original and though some of the terms became hard for me to follow, I felt that the story is an important one.

Almost instantly, Kodi is cyberbullied and through manipulation and rumors, she is blamed for the incident and pu
...more
P.J. McDermott
Apr 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
Cyberbully Blues is set in the near future. The main character is Kodi, and the story follows her life through high school and into the first year of Caltech. I liked Kodi and felt some rapport with her, although she's a bit too good and sweet to be true at times. She certainly seems able to charm everyone she meets - except for the appropriately named Principal Ratchett, who is doggedly determined to convict her of cyber vandalism and bullying.
There were parts of this story I really enjoyed -
...more
K. Kumar
May 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
Cyberbully Blues is a story about the future with relevancy in the present. It is a story about a young girl, Dakota, who is bullied by way of technology and is forced to confront a hidden enemy that threatens her education and relationships. Despite the difficult subject matter, Cyberbully Blues is a hopeful story.

The story starts out as Dakota starts receiving magazines as a prank and then later she is accused of bullying her classmates through internet postings. She is penalized and the story
...more
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Mar 29, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Issabella Huynh
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Carla
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Kelley
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Jason
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
J
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Pam
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Scharlie
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Wonderliv
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Erin
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
June
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Donna Schubert
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Davia Taylor
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Sandra
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2015
Raymond Stone
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Frances
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Kristin
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Judy
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Ann Cary
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Brianna
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Sydney
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Cheryl Wood
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Paula
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Anna Franks
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Steven Schaedel
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Mary
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Nancy Marcho
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Why 319?
  • Over the Deep
  • The Great Timelock Disaster (The Adventures of Pete and Weasel #2)
  • Knot of the Slain
  • Theft at the Speed of Light
  • Small Fish Big Fish: A Coming of Age Novel
  • I Will Breathe
  • Ten Hours 'Til Spring
  • The Particular Appeal of Gillian Pugsley
  • Finding Laila
  • Paper Hearts
  • The Summer Set
  • The Verdict
  • Wrong About the Guy
  • there is no goat
  • Harry Potter: Night Journey
  • Hunting for Sparrows
  • How to Survive Anything: A Visual Guide to Laughing in the Face of Adversity
10 followers
Intent on squashing memories of his formal academic education, Rubin took to the road for over a year of adventure travel—backpacking first across Africa, and then across Asia.

Being schooled by the world enhanced life lessons and fostered even more appreciation of history, economics, science, and literature. With luck, some of these ideas inform Rubin's writing.

Rubin is an avid endurance athlete h
...more
More about Rubin Johnson

Fiction Deals

  • Mercy Among the Children
    $14.99 $1.99
  • West of the Tularosa
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Love and Ruin
    $12.99 $3.99
  • Siddhartha
    $10.95 $2.99
  • The Orphan Daughter
    $4.99 $1.99
  • When We Were Worthy
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Somebody's Daughter
    $5.99 $2.99
  • A Night Divided
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Book of Disquiet: The Complete Edition
    $24.95 $2.99
  • The Cherished Quilt
    $8.99 $2.99
  • To Find a Mountain
    $3.99 $1.99
  • I'll Be Your Blue Sky
    $12.99 $1.99
  • The Lotterys Plus One
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Buddha
    $13.99 $1.99
  • The Falls (P.S.)
    $8.74 $1.99
  • Broken Pieces
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Love Held Captive (A Lone Star Hero's Love Story)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • The Girl Who Came Home
    $11.99 $1.99
  • When Jesus Wept (The Jerusalem Chronicles, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • In the Name of the Family
    $13.99 $1.99
  • The Man He Never Was: A Modern Reimagining of Jekyll and Hyde
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Hired Man
    $14.99 $1.99
  • Crimes Against a Book Club
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Girls of the Great War
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Map of Love: A Novel
    $14.99 $2.99
  • Wish Me Home
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Every Tongue Got to Confess
    $10.24 $1.99
  • A Golden Age
    $9.24 $1.99
  • Serena
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Dreamland
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Holy Fools
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Tampa
    $11.49 $1.99
  • The Beloved Hope Chest
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Fifth Avenue Artists Society
    $11.99 $1.99
  • All That's Left of Me
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Labyrinths (New Directions Paperbook)
    $15.95 $2.99
  • Palm Trees in the Snow
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Tell The Wolves I'm Home
    $12.99 $1.99
  • Mary
    $14.99 $1.99
  • A Map of the World
    $14.99 $2.99
  • The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Chemistry Lessons
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Last Flight of Poxl West: A Novel
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Come Home to Me
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Year We Left Home
    $11.99 $2.99
  • The Whip
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Touching Spirit Bear (Spirit Bear, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Written on the Body
    $13.99 $2.99
  • Dragon's Teeth (The Lanny Budd Novels)
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Journey's End (Gilded Promises)
    $3.99 $1.99