Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Jonesbridge (Echoes of Hinterland, #1)” as Want to Read:
Jonesbridge (Echoes of Hinterland, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Jonesbridge

(Echoes of Hinterland #1)

by
4.06  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  15 reviews
In this world-building series, perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury's FAHRENHEIT 451 and Hugh Howey's WOOL, to survive a grim island prison a young man and woman must work for the Complex. To escape it, they will need to destroy it.

Myron enters the Jonesbridge Industrial Complex as a worker, a prisoner, commanded to harvest the scant resources that enable the powers that be to
...more
ebook
Published July 7th 2015 by Diversion Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Jonesbridge, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Jonesbridge

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.06  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Jonesbridge (Echoes of Hinterland, #1)
Peter Tieryas
Mar 21, 2015 rated it it was amazing
It was my pleasure and honor to blurb this really entertaining book from M. E. Parker:

"Hinterland casts aside YA tropes to weave a compelling narrative that is hopeful, tragic, and uplifting all at the same time. Myron and Sindra make for unlikely heroes, but their plight makes it clear this isn't just a dystopia of geography, but that of the human condition, ravaged by history. Their journey is a revolt against the destitution of their world and M.E. Parker is a cartographer of the spirit,
...more
 Reading Divergence
REVIEW: JONESBRIDGE [Echoes of Hinterland #1] by M. E. Parker

I wrote in a review not long ago that there is dystopiana, and then there is DYSTOPIANA. The former you can read of, close the book, and forget. The latter will never leave you. JONESBRIDGE falls into that latter category: from the brutal reader's hook of the first several pages, the alert reader is steeped in the oppression, regulation, and pointless suffering. I've had nightmares that scared me much less than the mere thought of
...more
Amanda
Mar 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
Normally I'm a sucker for much lighter fare and opt for purely escapist literature, but this dark, unpredictable, and rather harsh dystopic story offered a well-written and interesting foil to my standard brain candy.

Parker has created a brutal world whose description and inner workings are skillfully woven throughout the story--as opposed to residing in giant chunks of exposition lesser writers often use to bludgeon their readers. I often found myself thinking, "They just can NOT catch a
...more
Kurt Baumeister
Apr 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
M.E. Parker’s The Nethers: Frontiers of Hinterland follows his 2015 novel, Jonesbridge: Echoes of Hinterland. A literate (though still taut) series, Parker’s Hinterland trilogy is slated to end next year with Bora Bora: Escape from Hinterland.

Known to the literary community as former editor and publisher of the esteemed journal Camera Obscura, Parker brings the same sharp editorial eye to his own work. Refusing to settle for simple genre content, this is sci-cli-fi at its best, literary quality
...more
Elena Alvarez Dosil
Dec 08, 2016 rated it really liked it
My original Jonesbridge audiobook review and many others can be found at Audiobook Reviewer.

Jonesbridge is in a secret location, a place where the slogs are kept in subhumanconditions, working twelve hour shifts and watched 24 hours a day by the called ghosts. The story is set more than 200 years in the future, after the Zealot War, which started with what looks like an enormous EMPpulse. The slogs in Jonesbridge are instructedto protect the Alliance with their work, and try to salvage spare
...more
Patricia Kaniasty
Jun 03, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Over all, I really liked this book. Had some unique scenarios mixed in with the right amount of grit. However, the ending started to go flat, but surprise...……...twist at the end.
Suanne
Mar 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: young-adult, sci-fi
From the intensely chilling opening scene of torture combined with brain-washing, Parker builds a unique dystopic world. A “patriotic slave” like many more of Jonesbridge’s residents, Myron works as a slog in the Jonesbridge Industrial Complex. Like prisoners of war, they are fed just enough to keep them functioning. Women are sterilized. Slogs are worked to death, recycling anything they can to fuel a never-ending war against the Eastern Bloc, a holdover from the Zealot War in 2043, “the year ...more
Kasey Cocoa
Jul 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book starts out with a slap and never lets up. The whole read has that dark gritty feel, really setting the stage and then keeping it there the whole way through. I enjoy dystopian but I'm picky about my reads. This book ticked all the check-marks for a fun yet dark read without the need for filters or blinders. The setting is just far enough into the future that it feels like it could actually happen in your lifetime. The horrible things people have to endure really add to the dark feel. I ...more
James R.
Jul 12, 2015 rated it really liked it
In the darkness of Jonesbridge, eternal lights shine bright: a woman's love for the child within her, a man's hunger for freedom. The timeless dystopia of the world created by M.E. Parker reveals transcendant truths about human nature. Love, above all, survives oppression, grinding labor, hopelessness. Parker's inventiveness, never overblown, always understated, makes the bleak world of Jonesbridge hauntingly real. "Trial by stockade," the omnipresent ghosts, the slogs--little, plain words like ...more
Garrett Calcaterra
Jan 30, 2015 rated it really liked it
Jonesbridge is a solid debut novel that combines elements of dystopian and post-apocalyptic fiction with a touch of steampunk. My only critique is that the pacing and prose move too fast for me at times. I personally would like to seen more development of the dark world M.E. Parker created. All in all, a fun read, though. The ending is particularly great, as you get to see how the world of Jonesbridge ties into the history of our own world, very much in the vein of A Canticle for Leibowitz.
Whitney Ford
Aug 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
A captivating story set in a dystopian future where environmental destruction and war have forced citizens into deplorable work camps. Through telling the story of struggles and love under conditions that make the Hunger Games districts seem like luxury, Parker created a page turning adventure well worth reading.
Jonathan H.
Mar 15, 2016 rated it it was ok
Shelves: fiction
A dystopian world with two factions at war. I never got a really good grasp of the premise and who the two factions were. I found the grammar errors throughout the book distracting, too: like using "peddle" for "pedal." And the main characters kept making really bad decisions throughout—if they weren't the protagonists, they would have been dead.
Gina
I received this book as a First Read. The pace is slow and the characters are a bit one dimensional. The story is interesting and paints a vision of a fairly credible dystopian future. Fans of Starship Troopers will enjoy this book.
Bob
Oct 25, 2015 rated it it was ok
It was okay. Seemed kind of repetitive. The story is fairly depressing and there's not a ton of the imagination I usually enjoy from science fiction.
Brenda Geraghty
Sep 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I read half of it the first day, then had to force myself to slow down because I wasn't ready for it to be over.
James Lynam
rated it it was amazing
Apr 25, 2015
Katie Allen
rated it liked it
Aug 07, 2015
Pam Barrett
rated it it was amazing
Apr 08, 2019
M.E. Parker
Aug 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Jan Wanek
rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2018
Kelly
rated it liked it
Aug 15, 2015
Chelsey
rated it really liked it
Nov 13, 2018
Ola
rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2015
Kate Parker
rated it it was amazing
Jul 13, 2015
Alvena
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2018
Diversion Books
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2015
Naomi
rated it liked it
Jul 30, 2017
Kari Coon
rated it liked it
Jul 14, 2015
K
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2015
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Apr 23, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
32 followers
If you've run out of gas on a stretch of road where the telephone poles have turned to pillars of salt and you reach at last the intersection where history meets the future, take off your shoes, wade into the ditch, pull aside the carrion and you'll find M.E. Parker's Hinterland Trilogy. M.E. Parker searches for beauty and love in rust and salt, for meaning and truth in the facades of wind-blasted ...more