Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Never Waste Tears” as Want to Read:
Never Waste Tears
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Never Waste Tears

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  50 ratings  ·  22 reviews
Each had their own reason to leave everything they knew. The land was free—the true price—was often high, where opportunities and tragedies were in equal abundance. Those who were strong, didn’t waste their tears, but used them wisely to help wash away their grief.
Joined together through friendship and family relations, Rebecca, Nathan, Hannah, Carl, and Sarah tell one sto
...more
Paperback, 1, 406 pages
Published December 2014 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-55
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  50 ratings  ·  22 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Never Waste Tears
Helen Hollick
Jan 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book has received a Discovering Diamonds Review:
Helen Hollick
founder #DDRevs

"...an excellent job developing characters that are true to the time period "
...more
Chris
A heartwarming story of courage in the face of incredible adversity. Four young people find their way West to the plains in the post-Civil War era. Survival is paramount and this story portrays a realistic view of day to day life on the prairie with its loneliness, hardships, and triumphs.
Beautifully written, it draws you into the era and into the character's lives. It's so hard to imagine the incredible strength of character it must have taken to endure. This book brings the pioneer experience
...more
Gloria Zachgo
Jan 07, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
I'm the author of "Never Waste Tears". I've given it a five star rating because I had so much fun writing it. I hope those who read it get the same amount of enjoyment. ...more
Liza
Jan 29, 2015 rated it really liked it
Never Waste Tears from Gloria Zachgo is set during and after the American Civil War, and follows five people as they travel West to claim free land in Kansas. It starts with Nathan and Rebecca on the day the war started, they are both only children at this point so don't really know each other. Because he is the youngest, Nathan is left to take care of the family business and his mother.

When the war ends and his father comes home a changed man, he was against every thing Nathan had done and made
...more
Sandra Whiteside
Suspense in Daily Life of 1860 Frontier

Gloria Zachgo captured the 1860 pioneer in rural Kansas in a manner that would not let me put down the book. The hopes, disappointments, and challenges of her characters are realistic. The characters are not modern characters sat in a rough environment. They portray the real settler and the challenging life they faced.
Jan Thorne
May 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed Never Waste Tears. I felt like it was probably an accurate description of the hard life the settlers lived, complete with heartbreak. Because the main characters were the narrators, it was easy for me to become involved in their day-to-day lives. I have read that the author may return to this story and take it further. Count me in!
Georgianna Simpson
Feb 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Never Waste Tears is a historical novel by Gloria Zachgo, it takes place in the 1800’s. The first part is just as the announcement of civil war between the North and South is declared. Told in journal format, it describes the times and feelings of several people and their lives.
The story begins in Ohio as civil war is declared. It takes Nathan’s father and two brothers off to war leaving Nathan (13) and his mother to run the family mercantile store by themselves. Nathan learns to haul and lift
...more
Steph Warren
Mar 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
*I received a free copy of this book. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*

From the start Never Waste Tears reminded me of the Little House on the Prairie books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, not just because of the homesteading aspect of the plot, but also the honest, hardworking children running stores and farms speaking directly to the reader through their own narrative segments.

I loved how we are initially introduced to Rebecca and Nathan only, in alternating slots, then Carl and Han
...more
Audiobookreviewer
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. This book is a B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree.



Never Waste Tears is a historical fiction of the aftermath of the civil war on some families and the move westward for young and old. This story focuses on Nathan, Rebecca, Carl, Hannah and Sarah as they move to Kansas where the land is available for the taking and plentiful. They leave all that they knew and loved beh
...more
Tracy Simmons
Feb 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
An imagined account of post-civil war settlers in Kansas, Never Waste Tears reads like the real thing and leaves you thinking, yes, those must be exactly the kinds of people who made homes here when Kansas as a state was just beginning. Rebecca and Nathan are newlyweds, and their story begins when they are just children. Nathan stays behind to help his mother mind the store when his father and two older brothers leave to fight. They meet Carl, a war survivor, and his wife Hannah on the wagon tra ...more
Terry
Jan 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorite-author
"Never Waste Tears" is a historical novel which takes place during the beginning of the Civil War in 1860's Kansas.

Written from multiple characters points of view in a diary format, it easily keeps the reader's attention. The author is in control of the dialogue well enough so that it is not confusing, and also does not restrict the personalities of the characters. The characterizations are written expertly enough that you feel what they feel. Individual voices are written skillfully - it starts
...more
Roberta R. Carr
Jan 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Never Waste Tears is a historical novel set in post-civil war Kansas. It tells the stories of two families who struggle to rebuild their lives and follow their dreams. The author took a creative approach of using a diary / narrative style to tell the story. She labels the character who is speaking, but it’s almost unnecessary because each voice is so consistently distinct. The unique syntax made me feel like I had time-traveled back to the year 1861, riding in covered wagons, living in dirt-wall ...more
E
Jan 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Never Waste Tears, by Gloria Zachgo, is the story of five people who traveled to Kansas to make a new life after the Civil War. Their story is told alternately in each of their voices and clearly presents their perspectives on their new lives. Just as they each had their own reasons for leaving family and the places they had known as home, they also had hopes and dreams for a new future. Vividly described is the constant hardship they faced and how they dealt with it. The reader follows the well ...more
Nancy
May 25, 2015 added it
I added this book a few days ago but relied on memory for the title and got it wrong! This is a wonderful historical fiction book that is told in the distinct voices of the five main characters. It gives the reader a realistic picture of what homesteading in western Kansas was like in the late 1860's. I found it to be a real paget turner. Although it is nearly 400 pages, I finished reading it in two days. Kudos to author, Gloria Zachgo, for writing such a good story. ...more
Tricia
Nov 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I found myself thinking about the characters and what the future held for them. I could not put this book down. It was a great read and I felt like I was right beside them in their struggles and their joys. It took a strong person to be a pioneer on the Kansas prairie. Bravo to author Gloria Zachgo! Excellent work! I can't wait to read your next book! ...more
InD'tale Magazine
Gloria Zachgo has written a well thought-out outline for what could become a wonderful book if it could be more fleshed out.

Read full review in the 2015 April issue of InD'tale Magazine.
...more
gj indieBRAG
Aug 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
We are proud to announce that NEVER WASTE TEARS by Gloria Zachgo is a B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!

Jim Potter
Nov 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Big Risk, Big Reward
Never Waste Tears, a historical novel by Gloria Zachgo, is a moving story of pioneers on the Kansas prairie. By using a diary format to tell the personal stories of the individuals, Zachgo successfully keeps the novel—with its tension—moving forward.
Zachgo took a huge risk and it paid off. Her characters speak in a historically appropriate dialect that’s engaging to the reader.
Never Waste Tears is an exemplary book written by a talented author. I’ll miss the courageous pion
...more
April
Never Waste Tears
by Gloria Zachgo

I enjoyed this historical fiction in the form of journal entries. It follows several people, couples and singles that make their way to Kansas after the civil War. The struggles and happy moments are shared. I didn't want to put it down, because I wanted to know what was coming next.

This book was recommended by a librarian friend that knows the author.I must say "Thank You," for the entertaining read.
...more
Michelle M.
Jan 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt like I got to know the characters in such a way that made them family. I can't imagine the struggles that settlers went through during that time. They really were strong individuals. I highly recommend this book and will for sure be setting this aside for a re-read later! ...more
Connie White
Jul 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: history, romance
A fictional account of pioneer Kansas as recorded through journals of five characters. Excellent representation of the history of the time, and wonderfully written. This is the author's second novel, and I look forward to reading more of her works.
...more
Kathy Inlow
rated it really liked it
Mar 31, 2017
Cheryl Jackson
rated it really liked it
Jun 10, 2017
Patricia Lawrence
rated it it was amazing
Mar 20, 2017
Barbara Knouf
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2018
Betty
rated it really liked it
Aug 15, 2017
Sandra Riley
rated it liked it
Jan 23, 2016
Sherry
rated it it was amazing
Mar 15, 2019
Ginny Cromer
rated it it was amazing
May 21, 2017
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Shana M. Essig
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
J
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Pam
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Donna Schubert
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Kelsey
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Erin
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Linda
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Tammy Pooser
marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2015
Sandra Beck
marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2015
Cynthia Schwarzer
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2015
Davia Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2015
Sandra
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2015
Erin
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2015
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2015
Kellie Fitzgerald
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2015
Carla
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2015
Jason
marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2015
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2015
Teressa
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2015
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2015
Brandi Nyborg
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2015
Manda
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2015
Sandra Prime
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • More Than Words
  • The Sisterhood of the Coin
  • Misty's Twilight (Misty, #4)
  • The Writer's Guide to Psychology: How to Write Accurately about Psychological Disorders, Clinical Treatment and Human Behavior
  • "I Give You My Body . . .": How I Write Sex Scenes
  • Brighty of the Grand Canyon
  • Kansas City Story: From Trading Post to Cowtown to Cosmopolitan Crossroads
  • Copper Sky
  • War Brides
  • The Last Correspondent
  • This Magnificent Dappled Sea
See similar books…
52 followers
It’s a natural for Gloria Zachgo to write stories with Kansas settings. She grew up on a farm in Lincoln County, where she attended one of the last one-room schoolhouses in the country. After graduating from Brown Mackie Business School, she married her high school sweetheart.
Living out of state for several years, Gloria and her husband moved back to their Kansas roots. While their children were
...more

Related Articles

It's June, which means it's time to celebrate Pride month in honor of the LGBTQ+ community! This year, we wanted to highlight the...
265 likes · 56 comments