Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Writing with Ease: Strong Fundamentals - Instructor Text” as Want to Read:
Writing with Ease: Strong Fundamentals - Instructor Text
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Writing with Ease: Strong Fundamentals - Instructor Text (The Complete Writer: Writing with Ease)

4.13  ·  Rating details ·  254 Ratings  ·  16 Reviews
Young students who learn to write well need one-on-one instruction—something which your child's classroom may not offer. In The Complete Writer series, Susan Wise Bauer turns every parent into a writing teacher. No experience is needed. Drawing on her fifteen years of experience in teaching writing, Susan lays out a carefully-designed sequence of steps that will teach ever ...more
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published August 17th 2008 by The Well-Trained Mind Press (first published June 30th 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Writing with Ease, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Writing with Ease

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Sally Linford
Oct 12, 2008 rated it it was amazing
I left this review on Amazon:

Susan Bauer's opening essay on the writing process and how to teach it is the most cogent, informed explanation I've ever read:

"Writing is a process that involves two distinct mental steps. First, the writer puts an idea into words; then, she puts the words down on paper.

INARTICULATE IDEA ---> IDEA IN WORDS
IDEA IN WORDS ---> WORDS ON PAPER

. . . The pianist practices first the right hand, and then the left hand, before putting the two together; the young write
...more
Catherine Gillespie
Feb 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
Bauer is a professor at William & Mary, which is a rigorous school (my little brother went there!), but she notes that increasing numbers of her students are abysmal writers. In looking into why, Bauer unpacks the component skills required for good writing, and considers the best way to build those pieces in a way that will not frustrate the child. She notes that prematurely asking kids to combine handwriting, sentence structure, analysis, and composition organization is not a good idea, bec ...more
Deann
Jul 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: homeschool
I read the 2015 printing. I have and use in our homeschool the 4 levels of workbooks. They are wonderful themselves, but I had the desire to understand the mechanics a bit more. Writing With Ease Strong Fundamentals provides just that. This book will be helpful in pinpointing exactly where my child needs more practice, and allow me to obtain that from our other studies. There is some information on the next two stages of writing in middle and high school so the reader understands what we're movi ...more
Jean
I borrow this book on a whim with the hope that it would give me tips to help my children's writing. While I can edit for style, I cannot teach young children the basic building blocks of writing in a manner that my kids would understand. However, this book gives me ideas based on the appropriate age level as well as exercise to help them improve the basic skills such as copywork and narration, later dictation. While I don't think this is the end all be all, it definitely gives me additional met ...more
Gemma Esprey
I can see the basis for this and respect the ideals of the plan. In practice, after a full school day, I'm not sure how it would go down. However, I shall be thinking about the principles of copy work and dictation with more fun projects such as writing letters and stories or sentences from her favourite books, which is more likely to engage my daughter. Also, I shall think more carefully about the questions I ask her when we are reading together. A good read but very structured.
Allyson
Jul 14, 2011 marked it as to-read
I'm hoping to use this for TyTy. He was late to read so we are just beginning the process of learning to write now. He hates writing at the moment and still struggles with simple things like capitalizing the first word in a sentence or proper nouns, and punctuation. I love Bauer's Story of the World series and this series comes highly recommended by one of my homeschooling friends who has five boys.
Meredith Henning
Nov 19, 2009 rated it really liked it
This one is actually really nicely laid out. I really like pretty much all that Bauer has to offer, so I'm not surprised that I like this one as well. I will use bits and pieces of it to round out Matthias' and Seamus' grammar lessons. I really like how she breaks down the copywork, dictation and narration into small pieces. For a beginning home eucator, this would make an excellent foray into these methods! Very CM with a classical tilt :)
Christine
Apr 03, 2010 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed the opening essay in this book. We've had some visual perception issues here and Bauer's plan reinforces the training "prescription" recommended to me for my child. I borrowed the book from the library, but now plan to purchase it. The author has done all the copywork selections for me and that - in and of itself - it worth it.
Saraelizabeth
Feb 22, 2010 rated it really liked it
I read this in researching what writing curriculum to use for oldest daughter next year. I like her ideas of narration, copywork, and dictation for the early years. This author always does a good job of laying it all out for the parent to see exactly how it would be done. I like that for starting out until I get comfortable enough to do my own thing.
Liz
Jul 25, 2012 rated it really liked it
Good writing curriculum. I've never thought about the two steps involved in writing--forming thoughts that can be written, and writing them in correct form--as two things you could teach separately. Turns out there was a reason old-school schools taught dictation. We should bring it back, I think.
Angela Wade
Jul 30, 2012 rated it it was ok
Shelves: homeschooling
Put together well and meticulously thought-out, but not the right fit for us. Too repetitious and dull to hold my child's attention, which turned spelling/handwriting into a seriously un-fun chore.

Probably better when paired with the classical approach.
Ellen
Oct 06, 2013 marked it as to-read
Jenni has this
TheRose
Sep 21, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: education
I'm currently researching English/Writing curricula, and this is the one I've decided on. Its scope is exactly what I've been looking for!
Jennifer
Jul 31, 2015 added it
Shelves: homeschooling
We won't be using this curriculum this year, but it looks like an easy way to help with the mechanics of writing.
Juliana Lyon
Aug 23, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: educational
This IS a good program. It just gets a little monotonous...
Julievila
rated it really liked it
Aug 08, 2011
Barefoot Homeschooler
rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2013
David Powers
rated it it was ok
Apr 08, 2016
Melody
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2011
Shauna
rated it it was amazing
Sep 05, 2016
Jaime Treadwell
rated it it was amazing
Feb 08, 2017
Katie
rated it really liked it
Mar 11, 2017
Jen Moore
rated it liked it
May 17, 2012
Vanessa
rated it liked it
Mar 05, 2012
Chelsea
rated it really liked it
Sep 10, 2011
Marci
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2013
Korin
rated it really liked it
Jul 13, 2009
Susan
rated it really liked it
Feb 04, 2013
Kath
rated it it was amazing
Sep 10, 2012
Vanda
rated it really liked it
Feb 03, 2017
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • First Language Lessons for the Well-Trained Mind: Level 1  2
  • The Kingfisher History Encyclopedia
  • The Handbook of Nature Study
  • Climbing Parnassus: A New Apologia for Greek and Latin
  • The Well-Adjusted Child: The Social Benefits of Homeschooling
  • Drawing with Children: A Creative Method for Adult Beginners, Too
  • You Can Teach Your Child Successfully
  • 100 Top Picks for Homeschool Curriculum: Choosing the Right Educational Philosophy for Your Child's Learning Style
  • Life of Fred: Apples
  • Home Learning Year by Year: How to Design a Homeschool Curriculum from Preschool Through High School
  • The Latin-Centered Curriculum: A Homeschooler's Guide to a Classical Education
  • Exploring Creation: With Astronomy
  • The Core: Teaching Your Child the Foundations of Classical Education
  • Writing Road to Reading: The Spalding Method for Teaching Speech, Spelling, Writing, and Reading
  • Pocketful Of Pinecones: Nature Study With The Gentle Art Of Learning:  A Story For Mother Culture
  • Read for the Heart: Whole Books for Wholehearted Families
  • For the Children's Sake
  • The Usborne Internet-Linked Encyclopedia of World History
482 followers

From the author's website:

Publications
Susan’s newest book for Norton, The Story of Western Science: From the Writings of Aristotle to the Big Bang Theory, was published in May 2015. The History of the Renaissance World: From the Rediscovery of Aristotle to the Conquest of Constantinople (2013), is the third in a multi-volume series providing a narrative world history; the first volume, The History
...more
More about Susan Wise Bauer

Other books in the series

The Complete Writer: Writing with Ease (5 books)
  • Writing with Ease: Workbook - Level 1
  • Writing with Ease: Workbook - Level 2
  • Writing With Ease: Workbook - Level 3
  • Writing with Ease: Workbook - Level 4