Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dollar to Doughnut (Throckmorton Family #4)” as Want to Read:
Dollar to Doughnut (Throckmorton Family #4)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Dollar to Doughnut

(Throckmorton Family #4)

by
4.55  ·  Rating details ·  33 Ratings  ·  26 Reviews
~Dollar To Doughnut~
Is historical fiction set in California from 1927 to 1934. It is a story of triumphant love, emotional heartache, haunting nightmares, and the American dream. Phryne Truffaut and Leopold Throckmorton had left behind their families and friends in New York to escape retribution from organized crime. Before they can begin to rebuild their lives in Californ
...more
Paperback, 260 pages
Published February 15th 2015 by CreateSpace for Edward R Hackemer
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dollar to Doughnut, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dollar to Doughnut

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Edward Hackemer
Dec 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
(Goodreads asks the author for a review of their book.)
"I wrote it, read it and reread it ... and again just for practice."
I hope my readers enjoy this as much as I did writing it.
This is book #4 of the Throckmorton Family Novels.
Dollar To Doughnut Is historical fiction set in California from 1927 to 1934. It is a story of triumphant love, emotional heartache, haunting nightmares, and the American dream. Phryne Truffaut and Leopold Throckmorton had left behind their families and friends in N
...more
Sharon Huether
Dec 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
From 1927 - 1934 when Leopold and Phryne left Buffalo N.Y. to L.A. to seek a better life. Leopold suffered demons and guilt from his past and Phryne wanted to be in the movies. Their friend Eloise came to L. A, as well. These three were living a new dream. It was hard to put the book down. I want to read more... The author did a great job painting an intriguing picture of the characters. The author sent me this book for honest review. Thank you so much!
Coleen
Nov 19, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you like reading about the Roaring Twenties or the '29 Crash and the Depression, this story is on-point. Although Dollar to Doughnut is obviously in the middle [#4] of the Throckmorton Family series, I found it interesting without having read the previous books. Characters are realistic, and the story line is intriguing.

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway.
Karina
Jun 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaway
Set in the 1920's and 30's, this book is a must read if you love historical fiction. The author has old time music, movies and gangsters. Hackemer takes you to New York, San Francisco and even Hollywood. The story moves very well characters are either good at what they set out to do or they fail. All in all this is an awesome book to read.
Hope
Sep 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this book on goodreads giveaways. I had never read any works by this author and was very pleasantly suprised at how wonderful this book is! Even though this is the 4th part to the series I found it easy to pick up without reading the previous books. So the book reads just fine as a stand alone. This book a very interesting historical fiction from the 1920's and 1930's time frame. If you enjoy historical books from this time frame please give this book a chance! I think you will enjoy it as ...more
Charles Savage
Mar 31, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Interesting story and characters in the fun time period of the twenties and thirties.
Susan
Aug 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Certainly one of the better books I have read that is written so that it takes place in the 20’s during the Great Depression. The story has it all and the characters are very interesting. I felt as though I was actually a part of the story because the writer grips you with intense skill. I recommend this book to everyone who loves the 20’s as much as I do. This is the 4th in the series and was the first book I read with no issues.

I am sorry that I am just now getting to this review as I won it
...more
Kathy Heare Watts
This historical romance continues from A Bridge To Cross (Book 3 in the Throckmorton Family) saga with Phryne Truffaut and Leopold Throckmorton. From Buffalo, New York, they are now in California. The story starts in 1927 and goes to 1934.

I have this on my Kindle but I also won an autographed copy of this book during a Goodreads giveaway. I am under no obligation to leave a review or rating and do so voluntarily. So that others may also enjoy this book, I am paying it forward by donating it to
...more
Alaina Maxam
Oct 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was an interesting story that started out slow
Mkittysamom
Jan 29, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Throckmorton Family Fans
Wow. That was a rollercoaster. I have to add this as a Thriller because...it's not as sweet as Annie and Alex's story. This books details what happens to Leopold, Phryne, And Eloisa.. After 1927 and the crossing of the bridges to Canada. I can say this is the aftermath of Aug 28, 1927. The Throckmorton family history is unraveling into some very interesting and dangerous events. I will add more. I ,add a family Tree and have written/highlighted and wrote up all kinds of stuff in the margins so w ...more
Judie Dooley
Jun 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-won-gr
I won this book on good reads. Thank you for choosing me.I found this book very interesting and informative in a historical sence. It takes us back to the roaring 20's and early 30', up to the Depression . It's the story of friends, love, happiness and sadness. It tells the stories of each character from New York and how each one ended up in California.The book also contained a CD of music from the area.I was familiar with most of the songs having heard them before. I truly loved the Cd and will ...more
Debbi DuBose
Dollar To Doughnut is the fourth book in the "Throckmorton Family Novels". In the early 1900's, if someone said, " I bet you a dollar to a doughnut that ...... will happen", it was a sure thing. Well Edward Hackemer has a great novel in Dollar To Doughnut, and that's my definitive bet!! This novel takes place between the years of 1927 and 1934 in California. This book is mostly about Leopold Throckmorton. He can't seem to get on with his life since hearing about the tragedy that happened to his ...more
Crystal
Mar 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Beautifully written story following several different lives over a period of almost 10 years...this is not my typical kind of book, but i loved it and intend to read the other books in this series as soon as i get the money for them in my book budget....The historical aspects feel very accurate and realistic, and the characters are so human and believable....just fantastic....
this is a self published book and it shows (not in the editing, very well edited)...books pushed through the big publishe
...more
Nikki
Jun 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Dollar to Doughnut by Edward Hackemer was the second installation of his historical romance novels. From the whirlwind action and romance in A Bridge To Cross, this book was equally enrapturing. The growth in Edward's writing was exponential. Throughout this novel, I was consistently surprised by the twists of fate for Ellie, Phryne, and Leopold. In contrast to A Bridge To Cross, I felt refreshed and hopeful for the characters. Edward has made it so easy to become emotionally involved in his wor ...more
Amber
Jan 05, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this book from Goodreads Giveaway.
No Matter what she did, wether she stood, sat or laid down, her heart was on the other side of the small apartment, torn from her. I liked this line because it does explain the way heartbreak feels, so detached. It was a all right story. I did fall in love with Phryne. She seemed so glamorous and beautiful. I thought the real love story was between her and Abner. I didn't take a liking to the story of Leopold and liked the story of Eloisa even less. After
...more
Debbie Carnes
Feb 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
If you like great books that are real page turners , Dollar to Doughnut is the book for you.
Set in the 1920's and 30's, this book has it all. I'm a lover of the "old music and movies" with gangster's and great music like Billie Holiday, this book will be a dream read if you too love this time in history.
Dollar to Doughnuts is not just about gangster and music though , there is a wonderful story that will take you on a roller coaster of emotions.
This is a must read.
Donna Wetzel
Jan 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
Thanks Goodreads for my copy of Dollar to Doughnut by Edward Hackemer. The time period is the 1920s into the 1930s. It is interesting to reminisce back when there were party lines on telephones. I thought the beginning was a little slow but it picked right up and stayed interesting through the end. I am from Buffalo so I appreciated reading about landmarks throughout the Buffalo area.
Melissa B
Jul 08, 2015 rated it really liked it
Although this book does not have the amount of action as "A Bridge to Cross", it was packed with lots of history presented in a very entertaining and engaging manner. The characters were "real", folks the reader can connect with. It was a fast read, as I could not put it down. The music was a bonus, loved listening to the golden oldies!
Cathy
Jan 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
This is the second I have read from this series and was sent a copy by the author. I loved the clever conversation and play on words that are symbolic of the time period. Historically, it is a very interesting story, following the lives of three friends, mostly independently, culminating in a storyline that quickly tied together all the details. I look forward to reading more of the series.
Emiley Allen Bowes
5 STARS......A terrific slice of time. I really enjoyed this period of time,and look forward to reading the rest of the series. Goodreads gifted me with an ARC and the author included a thoughtful CD of period music to set the mood of the 20's and early 30's.
Barbara
Jan 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fiction, first-reads
My review will be posted tomorrow!
Terry
Jan 01, 2015 marked it as to-read
This is a must-read for me. I've read the first 3 books in the series, and must find out about the rest of the Throckmorton family :)
Maggie Glodowski
This was an interesting story set in California the 1930s. It was rather slow in the beginning but ended well. I would like to read the follow up by this author
Brenda
Mar 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: won
What a great trip back to the 1920's and 30's. With the details of actual places and events, along with the accompanying music, I was truly transported to another time period only to discover that the way they viewed the world back then is not so different than the way we view it today.
Kathy Church
May 21, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book from Mr. Hackemer for winning a sweepstakes on Goodreads. The book was so good. I enjoyed the story of Leopold, Phryne and Eloisa. The story took place from 1927 to 1934. I find it amazing how much things have changed over the years. This book will take you back in time to the days with party lines on land lines, the shunning of young ladies who became pregnant out of wedlock and the days of organized crime.
Michelle Olms
Apr 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great book
Marjorie
rated it it was amazing
Jul 07, 2016
Maureen
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2015
Pat Rosenberg
rated it liked it
Dec 31, 2015
Kacey
rated it really liked it
Jun 10, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Murder on a Ghost Ship (High Seas Mystery Series #2)
  • Keep Touching
  • Ricochet: Riding a Wave of Hope with the Dog Who Inspires Millions
  • Requiem For Athens
  • Dinner at Deadman's
  • The Quest (Mariposa, #1)
  • Cowgirl Thrillers (Spirit Animal, #1-2)
  • Red Sand
  • Blessed Are the Merciful
  • Babylon: Center of the World
  • Raising the Stakes
  • Her Small-Town Cowboy (Oaks Crossing #1)
  • Eternally Yours
  • The Mistaken Widow
  • Chesca and the Spirit of Grace
  • The Adventures of Lily & Ava - A Day at Play
  • Postmark Bayou Chene
  • Attorney-Client Privilege (Vernetta Henderson, #4)
180 followers
¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
Edward R Hackemer lived in Western New York for 55 years before retiring from government service and moving to North Georgia; roughly halfway between Atlanta & North Carolina.
His formal education was abbreviated by induction into the US Army in 1968. Ed's civilian employment history runs from paperboy, dishwasher, paper mill laborer, laboratory technician, wareh
...more

Other books in the series

Throckmorton Family (6 books)
  • In a Cream Packard (Throckmorton Family #1)
  • The Katydid Effect (Throckmorton Family #2)
  • A Bridge to Cross (Throckmorton Family #3)
  • The Flying Phaeton (Throckmorton Family #5)
  • Sangria Sunsets (Throckmorton Family #6)