Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “First Contact (Aoleon The Martian Girl, #1)” as Want to Read:
First Contact (Aoleon The Martian Girl, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

First Contact (Aoleon The Martian Girl #1)

by
3.99  ·  Rating details ·  154 Ratings  ·  108 Reviews
Crop circles magically appear in Farmer Johnson’s field. A mysterious light sweeps over the night sky and awakens Farmer Johnson and Gilbert, the boy next door.
Curious, Gilbert ventures out to discover the source of the light and stumbles into a beautiful Martian girl sitting in a crop circle. Farmer Johnson also investigates the strange light, and thinking that Gilbert an
...more
Kindle Edition, 94 pages
Published January 31st 2015 by Aoléon Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Aditi
May 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
“There are places on planet earth, where common sense doesn't apply.”

---- Toba Beta, an Indonesian author


Brent LeVasseur, an American science fiction author, pens his very fist children's science fiction series, Aoleon The Martian Girl, and the first book, in the series, First Contact - Aoleon The Martian Girl , traces the adventures of a regular middle-grade farm boy who accidentally meets an alien girl from Mars on his farm.

Synopsis:

Crop circles magically appear in Farmer Johnson’s field. A
...more
Christopher Lawson
Dec 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
√ "She’s an alien — a Martian! I am speaking to a Martian! This is so cool!"

Gilbert Sullivan is just a normal boy, living on a farm in Nebraska, playing with his telescope. His dull life quickly changes, however, as he spots something unusual coming toward the neighbor's wheat field. Gilbert investigates and encounters an adventuresome alien, Aoléon. Fortunately for Gilbert, Aoléon is a friendly Mars girl, practicing for her pilot's license. Gilbert is thrilled: "She’s an alien — a Martian! I am
...more
Paul Schofield
Dec 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
The opening cover illustration of Aoleon, The Martian Girl, guarantees this sci-fi-fantasy story will be exciting. This turquoise colored Martian girl poised on her hover-board is ready for action and excitement. And the first sentences prove this to be true. The story grabs you from the beginning and it’s difficult to put down. Now throw in Gilbert, the young Nebraska farm boy, and all kinds of interesting plot lines begin to open up. Why is he having such strange dreams and why did Aoleon come ...more
Jonel Boyko
Dec 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kindle, print
What a fantastic read! This fast paced, action packed story kept my attention throughout. LeVasseur’s vivid descriptions not only paint a picture for the readers but also draw you deep into this world. The way that the chapters and locales were set up I felt as if I were really on a mission with the characters. It captured my imagination. The chaos in this story is absolutely priceless. LeVasseur takes young teens causing trouble to an entirely new level. This is all wrapped around a rather in-d ...more
Cheryl
Dec 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Gilbert Sullivan has been having dreams lately of aliens. His mom says it is him playing too many video games. Gilbert awakes him his latest nightmare. He hears a noise and goes to look out of his telescope. He originally thought it was a shooting star but then realizes that it is a space ship. It has landed in the corn field. Gilbert rushes out and bumps into someone. A girl. Her name is Aoleon. She is from Mars.

I absolutely loved the graphics in this book. They were not your usual graphics. T
...more
Leslie Morgan
Dec 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing

I mentioned earlier this year that I've been trying to expand my reading to try reading a few books that I wouldn't normally pick up. Well, this book is definitely one of those! Aoleon is geared toward young adults/teenagers but I actually really enjoyed it as well. I would consider it a science fiction book because it included alien, UFOs and the like.



This book is only part one of the story so it ends in a cliffhanger but even with that, it was a really good story. The illustrations are incred
...more
M.M. Hudson
Dec 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Aoleon, Martian Girl The photos in this book are unreal!
Jeremy Gallen
Dec 22, 2014 rated it really liked it
Introduction

This first installment of a juvenile science fiction story follows a boy named Gilbert Sullivan who befriends a female alien named Aoléon and has a series of adventures. The cover art of the series’ titular character is decent for the most part, with the alien on a hoverboard over a farmfield. The minor illustration of a furry violet alien with eyes at the end of the center two of its four stalks looks believable as well.

Dreams

The first chapter introduces Gilbert Sullivan, a young bo
...more
Claire - The Coffeeholic Bookworm
Since it's the Holidays, kids are at home and are enjoying the last few days before going back to school. I thought I'd read to them a science-fiction themed kiddie book for a change. When this book was offered to me in exchange for an honest review, I let my kids read it, watched them react and told them to share their thoughts about Aoleon, The Martian Girl.

First and foremost, what really attracted my kids (and I) are the crisp and colorful illustrations by Brent LeVasseur. It became easier f
...more
Kristelle
Dec 26, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 4-stars, fantasy, sci-fi
I received a digital arc copy of this book from iRead Book Tours in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. All are my own opinion and is not compensated by any individual, organization, or company. This might contain minor spoilers.

This review originally appeared on Amiabooklover



WHAT A COOL BOOK!

I imagined myself as a kid who just loves SCIENCE, anything with SCIENCE and ALIENS. Then I read this. So of course, as a kid, I will look first at the pictures. The illustrations of this book are s
...more
Trish
Dec 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
Aoléon The Martian Girl: A Science Fiction and Fantasy Saga - Part 1: First Contact is a middle grade level children's book written and illustrated by Brent LeVasseur. It is science fiction - fantasy genre. From the cover of the book readers know they are in for a fun adventure. The bold and colorful design hints at the fun that awaits readers!

The book is 94 pages with chapters entitled: Dreams, First Contact, Flying Cows, Situation Room, Martian Megalopolis.

The novel opens with a young boy nam
...more
Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews
Dec 15, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2014, books-to-review
I would give this 4 1/2 stars

I don't normally read books aimed at middle grade aged people, but this one sounded interesting so I had to check it out. So glad I did because the book is fast paced from the beginning and doesn't stop until it leaves you hanging waiting for part 2! Gilbert is a typical boy and Aoléon is your typical Martian, I guess? Who knows what a typical Martian is like! Anyway, Aoléon takes Gilbert on the ride of his life in the spaceship and while it makes him nervous, he is
...more
Boocoos
Dec 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing



What a HOOT! This is only the hilarious beginning of a story intended for grade to middle schoolers with its action-packed can't put it down adventure, but it left me wanting more. The author has populated the pages of his story with laugh out loud goodies that adults will enjoy too. Think of the President of the United States in his underwear (bearing the presidential seal) and his bunny slippers speaking to the joint chiefs of staff including Englebert Humperdink III. There is a dog named Trip
...more
Laura Thomas
Dec 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This story is so fast paced I was dragged along like the flying cows. When you read it you’ll get the thing about those cows.

Gilbert is woken up from another weird dream . This one about killer robots. In no hurry to return to that dream, he goes over to look at the night outside through his telescope.

Spotting strange lights in his neighbors farm, the one where the strange crop circles kept appearing, he slips out to investigate and literally bumps into adventure, in the form of Aoleon, a martia
...more
Lindsay
Aoléon The Martian Girl: A Science Fiction and Fantasy Saga - Part 1: First Contact, written and illustrated by Brent LeVasseur What a cool adventure this book turns out to be. It about an earth boy named Gilbert and a martian girl named Aoléon. This story starts out on earth in Gilbert's room. Where he wakes up from a dream. We meet up with meeting Aoléon who enjoys crop circling. She shows up in farmer Johnson wheat field. Gilbert goes find out what just flew though his room brighten his bedro ...more
Sally Melia
Dec 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is a new type of book from graphic artist and writer Brent LeVasseur. instead of one book, Brent has put together a series of shorter stories featuring Aoléon The Martian Girl. They are aimed at middle grade readers, and are ideal for reading on a mobile or tablet.

Each book in the series is relatively short, the one I read (book 1) was 94 pages and about 25,000 words long. However on the plus side it has about 40 full page illustrations. And the illustrations of the flying cows on p44 is fu
...more
Kathleen Kelly
Dec 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
Aoleon The Martian Girl is a middle grade sci fi story. This review is for part one of the book. I don't usually review this genre but thought I would give it a try. I really liked it and think that most children, boys or girls would enjoy the book. The main character is a Gilbert, young farm boy from Nebraska and a young Martian girl.

There are crop circles appearing in Mr.Johnson's fields and he thinks that Gilbert is the culprit, but that is not the case but Gilbert goes to investigate and fi
...more
Christy
Dec 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This review first appeared on my blog Christy's Cozy Corners.

This book is so cute! It is not the type of book I'd pick up to read, but I am glad I was asked to do a review of it. I literally laughed out loud at several parts during this book.

Gilbert Sullivan has been having strange dreams, but when he sees Aoleon's ship, it's no dream. Aoleon and Gilbert have to make a quick escape when Farmer Johnson comes after them for trespassing in his crops. Unfortunately, that quick escape garners the a
...more
Leila
Dec 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
I have to be honest – the story line wasn’t really my thing, but it was definitely something my kids and hubby would like and it was enjoyable (just not my every day, typical normal read!)

It is recommended for middle grade and while I felt the wording may be a little difficult for my 1st grade (6 year old) son, but I think my 3rd grade (almost 9 year old) daughter would have minimal issues reading it. I am certain both of them would enjoy the story.

This is book one of five and was a quick read f
...more
Tuna
Jan 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Aoleon book one is off to a great start for an easy and fast science fiction read. The numerous color pages rendered in 3D look fantastic and work to make it an even easier and fast read. Though the images occasionally dont look as high fidelity as other 3D works in videogames and movies it is off to a great start. I think it some additional details on textures can be provided it will further enhance the visuals and make it look close to 2010 era 3D visuals than say early 00's era visuals. The f ...more
Jessica Bronder
Jan 12, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Gilbert lives in Nebraska on a farm. We start the story with him waking up from a nightmare of aliens and boarding a UFO. He sees strange lights and gets up to investigate. He stumbles upon Aoleon, a Martian that has come to create crop circles. They get chased onto the UFO to escape farmer Johnson then get chased by the US Air Force in a top secret plane.

After escaping, Aoleon get a call from her mother to come home before dinner gets cold. So, she brings Gilbert home with her to Mars. But whe
...more
Pennie
Dec 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book was a pre-order gift in exchange for an honest review.
This is part one of a series of five. Aoleon, The Martian Girl. Gilbert is a fun loving character, a farm boy from Nebraska whom is swept away into an explosive journey of adventure by an extra terrestrial girl named Aoleon.
Beautifully large color illustrations through the book that decorates lavishly it's design. If your middle-grade child enjoys YA sci-fi novels, this definitely fits the bill. It was well written, very descriptive
...more
Jessica
Sep 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
This was fast paced fun read. The graphics were nice and bright. I love it when a book geared towards middle grade readers has graphics, it helps to keep them interested and engaged in the story.

Though this is a book of fiction, the author takes the time to add much knowledge for children to learn about astronomy, geography, and physics. I love it when an author combines fiction and fact. Children don't realize they are learning, WIN, WIN!

My eleven year old liked this a lot. This morning I hear
...more
 Gigi Ann
Dec 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
My Thoughts...

First off...let me say I hardly ever read "Science-fiction and Fantasy," but since I am just a kid at heart I decided to give this one a try. It sounded like a fun read and I wasn't disappointed it was a delightfully fun romp around the earth, and what fun being chased by the U.S. Air Force over the mountains and the hills of France, and onto Mars...

It also had some humor which made this Gramma chuckle a few times. And the illustrations were fantastic and brought the story to life.
...more
Mary
Jan 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
As a retired middle school teacher, I can attest that Aoleon The Martian Girl is an incredible science fiction adventure for this targeted age group. The superb writing and exquisite illustrations are more than enough to keep students engaged.

Young teenagers always complain about being bored. Reading and sharing Gilbert Sullivan’s escapades when his boring life changes after meeting a Martian girl named, Aoleon, is priceless. The friendly alien takes Gilbert for a ride in her flying saucer. What
...more
Martin Labonte
Dec 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I just got done reading the first chapter and wanted to share my thoughts.

It is one of those book which just captures your thoughts right from the beginning. Anyone with a little imagination can easily see each character and situation play out. They are all so vividly portrait like with an artistes brush. It really reads like a movie. No details is spared including the characters we fly past. We can feel ourselves sucked into this universe. We are with Aoléon on her spaceship or immersed in the
...more
Charlotte Lynn
Dec 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
I have a middle school child and thought this sounded like the sort of book she would love. I was right, this was right up her alley. I read it while she was sitting next to me and she kept looking over my shoulder looking at the great graphics and reading the story with me. I loved that she was caught up in the story and kept asking me to turn the page so she could keep reading.

While the story was great, I have to say that I loved the graphics. I read this in iBooks and the graphics almost app
...more
Debra Schoenberger
Dec 15, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Young adults
Shelves: childrens-books
After quickly flicking through the pages of this book the thought that came to mind was “oooo! this is going to be fun!” The story was charming with quite a bit of dry humour that a young person would enjoy. Brent used vivid descriptions to describe Gilbert’s home in the Nebraskan countryside. I especially enjoyed reading them as they transported me back to my childhood living on a farm in the prairies. The artwork just popped and I felt myself wanting to see this as a film.

What is so special ab
...more
Katrina Roets
Dec 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
Learning can be fun and this book is perfect for that. Filled with super fun illustrations and a story that keeps moving, you and your kids might just fall in love with this book series. Just don't tell them that they may be learning along the way! While the book says that it's geared towards middle-grade readers, I would put it more at an upper elementary age group. It's a bit simplistic for my middle schooler and some of the words would be too complex for the early elementary crowd. Since the ...more
Vicki
Dec 20, 2014 rated it really liked it
This book was definitely not my usual type of read, but I’m so glad I decided to give it a try! The story was well written and vivid and I could see in my mind what the author was writing.

The illustrations were full of bold colors and I found most of them to put a smile on my face. I also loved the name Gilbert Sullivan, the main character, since it reminded me of the theatrical Gilbert & Sullivan, and Gilbert Sullivan the Irish singer-songwriter.

I loved everything about this book. The story
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Exile. An Action Adventure set a long time ago on a planet far far away...
  • Bridges of Paris
  • The Throne of Fire: The Graphic Novel  (The Kane Chronicles: The Graphic Novels, #2)
  • Whispers On The Dock (Postcards from Misty Harbor Inn #3)
  • Murder on Safari
  • ABIGAIL And The North Pole Adventure
  • Leo Geo and His Miraculous Journey Through the Center of the Earth
  • Villain School: Good Curses Evil
  • Mind Over Bullies: A Mob Forms
  • Inspector Dewey
  • The Battle of Castle Nebula (The Cendrillon Cycle, #1)
  • Feast for Thieves: A Rowdy Slater Novel
  • A Sky Without Stars (Quilts of Love, #15)
  • Myth Adventures! (Graphic Novel)
  • George and the Unbreakable Code
  • Star Wars: A New Hope Manga, Volume 1
  • The War of Words
  • The Surprising Adventures of the Magical Monarch of Mo and His People

Other books in the series

Aoleon The Martian Girl (5 books)
  • The Luminess of Mars
  • The Hollow Moon (Aoleon The Martian Girl, #3)
  • Illegal Aliens (Aoleon The Martian Girl, #4)
  • The Great Pyramid of Cydonia (Aoleon The Martian Girl, #5)

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • Off to Be the Wizard (Magic 2.0, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Beneath the Shine
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Stepford Wives
    $9.74 $1.99
  • Time's Divide (The Chronos Files, #3)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Long Earth (The Long Earth, #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Gilded (Gilded, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Infinity Lost (The Infinity Trilogy #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Man of Legends
    $4.99 $1.99
  • All the Breaking Waves
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Fellside
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Banished of Muirwood (Covenant of Muirwood, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Muirwood: The Lost Abbey: The Graphic Novel
    $7.99 $0.99
  • 2061: Odyssey Three (Space Odyssey, #3)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Alas, Babylon
    $9.74 $1.99
  • 3001: The Final Odyssey (Space Odyssey, #4)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Fractured (Guards of the Shadowlands, #2)
    $4.99 $0.99
  • The Queen's Poisoner (Kingfountain, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Zeroes
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Dreams and Shadows (Dreams & Shadows, #1)
    $9.49 $1.99
  • Touch of Eternity (The Curse #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Touch
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Dragon Rider
    $5.99 $1.99
  • EARTHCORE
    $4.99 $1.49
  • The Traitor's Kiss (The Traitor's Circle, #1)
    $7.80 $2.99
  • The Void of Muirwood (Covenant of Muirwood, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Dreadnought (Nemesis, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Dirty Magic (Prospero's War, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Fire Queen (The Hundredth Queen, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Red Knight Falling (Harmony Black, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Star Wars: Thrawn
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Zoo City
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Sanctum (Guards of the Shadowlands, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Unmasked (The Vampire Diaries: The Salvation, #3)
    $3.49 $0.99
  • Afterlife
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Unseen (The Vampire Diaries: The Salvation #1)
    $3.49 $0.99
  • The Dwarves (The Dwarves, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Dryad-Born (Whispers from Mirrowen, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Unbroken Line of the Moon (Sagan om Valhalla #4; Valhalla #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Blackfish City
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Supernatural: Bobby Singer's Guide to Hunting
    $8.49 $1.99
  • Silvern (Gilded #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Some Fine Day
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Random Acts of Senseless Violence
    $15.99 $1.99
  • Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (Wicked Years, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Mystic (Mystic, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Almost Girl (The Riven Chronicles, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Spell or High Water (Magic 2.0, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Uprooted
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Wormhole (The Rho Agenda, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Dragons of Nova (Loom Saga, #2)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • The Ciphers of Muirwood (Covenant of Muirwood, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Last Adventure of Constance Verity
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The Traveler (Fourth Realm, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Ancestor
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Thief's Daughter (Kingfountain, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Darkness Brutal (The Dark Cycle #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Marked (Servants of Fate, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Into the Drowning Deep (Rolling in the Deep, #1)
    $13.99 $2.99
  • Poisonwell (Whispers from Mirrowen, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Rama II (Rama, #2)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Chaos (Guards of the Shadowlands, #3)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Secondborn (Secondborn, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Rama Revealed (Rama, #4)
    $8.99 $1.99