Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Stray (Spark, #2)” as Want to Read:
Stray (Spark, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Stray

(Spark #2)

by
4.30  ·  Rating details ·  729 ratings  ·  132 reviews
It’s hard to remember hating anything as much as I hate Affinity; a bone-deep loathing for the faceless unknown and the concrete walls of my own DNA.

Evie is a Shield: designed to kill in order to protect, and the Affinity Project have finally come for her. But Evie isn’t ready for the sinister organisation to take control of her life, her body, her mind. She isn’t ready to
...more
Paperback, 425 pages
Published September 1st 2015 by Walker Books Australia
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Stray, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Rachael Hi there, Annalee!
I am sitting here a little gobsmacked by your utterly lovely message. I am just delighted to hear that you enjoyed the books so much…more
Hi there, Annalee!
I am sitting here a little gobsmacked by your utterly lovely message. I am just delighted to hear that you enjoyed the books so much and tickled pink that they made your heart race. Music to my author-ears. Shield is scheduled for release in September this year. Eep! Is that too long to wait?? There are free e-short stories available on my website if you need something to tide you over. In the meantime you can stay up to speed on Spark related news through my newsletter. Thank you so much for taking the time to message me. You've rather made my day.
~Rachael :-D <3 Xxx(less)
Rachael hi there, Jazmine. I'm thrilled to hear you are loving the Spark series. Just between you and me, Stray is my favourite (though I love them all!)…morehi there, Jazmine. I'm thrilled to hear you are loving the Spark series. Just between you and me, Stray is my favourite (though I love them all!) Currently, I am working on a new standalone novel called Black Water Cull which is completely separate from the Spark series. However, I would love to return to the world of Spark one day. You can read about my new book on my website. Be sure to subscribe to my newsletter there to stay up to date on book news. <3 Xxx(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jeann (Happy Indulgence)
What a fast paced and exciting adventure!! I just love Evie and Kitty's supportive friendship and the snarky lines and humour! AND JAMIE WHAT A HOTTIE. This one is filled with twists and turns and pure awesomeness and I can't wait to let you guys know how much I loved it in my full review!

--

This review appears on Happy Indulgence! Check it out for more reviews.

If you’re looking for a YA sci-fi read with a unique concept and lots of action, then the Spark series is perfect! The first book intro
...more
Kelly (Diva Booknerd)
http://www.divabooknerd.com/2015/09/s...
Harder, faster and far more intense than Spark. I fell in love, then I fell apart. Emotional, fierce and I loved every moment.

Stray was explosive! Superhero teens with strength, speed and skill beyond the realm of human DNA. They walk among us, belonging to a ruthless organisation simply known as The Infinity Project, abiding by their rules in order to survive. Evie is a Spark, an engineered protector who only recently learnt that her life has been a lie.
...more
C.G. Drews
Aug 05, 2015 rated it liked it
WOW THAT WAS INTENSE AND EXCITING. Stray sure turned the heat up a notch from Spark which just pleases me like 900%. And I'm in love with the cover AND how the spines of this one and the first book are making a tree. Hopefully there will be 9 books, right, so we can have a massive tree? JUST THINKIN' OUT LOUD.

Okay, okay, I'll shush and get on with the review.

So while I DO love these books and I adore the story...I always spend a good portion of the book confused. Oops. I'm 99% sure this is my f
...more
Grace
Dec 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2016, favorites, reviewed
GOODBYE EVERYONE I HAVE DECIDED TO LEAVE EARTH BECAUSE THIS BOOK JUST THREW MY SOUL INTO THE DARK ABYSS AND LEFT IT TO DIE
I thought the first book was amazing. This one was even better.
I can't even begin to describe what I am feeling right now.
This book filled me with so much hope, and then grief, and THEN utter disbelief + more grief. It was the perfect book to start the year off with and I am so glad that I had the amazing opportunity to read and escape into this phenomenal world yet again. It
...more
Ryan Buckby
Oct 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing
THIS BOOK HAS BLOWN MY FREAKING MIND!! I NEED TO BUY THE LAST BOOK IN THE SERIES!

i literally thought the first book was good but this book took me on an adventure where there was no point of return, everything that i wanted at the end of the first book i got in this book and i loved every single page.

The character development and story progression were on point in this story it was a serious step up from the first book. Evie's character in this book has changed so much from the first book, all
...more
Lulai
Dec 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I'm kind of a wreck with this ending.
Abbey
May 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Oh my... Rachael Craw, you wonderful author you, have done it again. Wait until you read this one!!!
Els (Tragic Romantic)
A little disappointed in myself for not giving Spark four stars so that I could top that with five for Stray because let me tell you; Stray tops that. Review below also appears at http://elspethlamorte.wordpress.com.

---

Sequels are tricky. They are tricky because you're not just trying to impress a new audience, you're trying to keep the one you already have. Intentions have changed because the reader knows the characters, they know the setting, and consequently there is more room for plot.

Person
...more
Lexi // libraryoflexi
Dec 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Emily Mead
Dec 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: five-stars, sci-fi
Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. My poor heart.

GAH, I'll save some of my thoughts for the actual review, but guys, you're going to LOVE this. It's so much darker and more intense and there's the PROXY who is such a cool character and Kitty (LOVE KITTY) is sassy as ever and I just aslkjdlkdsldkf.

I loved it so much <3
Sam Whitehouse
Oct 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
So apparently I forgot how this book ended because this is my second read and I'm a mess? Like, the tears everywhere, sore eyes kind of mess. Uh Rachael, how dare you? Also, I'm hopelessly attached to this series. I am so scared and excited to read Shield!! I love Stray, mostly for its complex relationships...you learn so much about every character. Oh man. The book hangover right now is in full swing!
Cassie
Time taken: 8 hours. (with some interruptions)

Full review coming soon...with many gifs
Renée
Mar 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Okay. LET ME JUST CALM MY HEART BECAUSE I LITERALLY JUST HAD THE MOST INTENSE ROLLER COASTER OF A READ!!!

First of all, this took me a long time to read because unfortunately sometimes when you're in your final year of school and it's the most intense time of year with all the homework ever *sigh* you have to put some things before books. (Which makes me sad!) BUT! Regardless of how long it took me to read it, I STILL LOVED STRAY SOOOOO MUCH!!!



Stray is the second novel in the Spark Trilogy by Rac
...more
Bethany
Feb 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I have no idea where to begin. First off, it was really good. I just loved it! Probably the best sequel I have read in a long time. It's a shame that I still technically went it blind as I forgot what exactly happened in Spark. Oops. But oh well. I still enjoyed. I started remembering what happened in Spark because as I continued, I remembered Evie's determination to protect Kitty from her brother, Aiden. And her looooooooove with Jamie~

Oh yeah, Aiden. Tears were spilt. Why did HE have to die??
...more
Sophia Fregona
I loved it
Steph Cuthbert
Sep 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing
It took me 2 days to read 80% of this book. Then it took another 3 days to read the rest because I was sure it would kill me.
Thankfully I'm alive (barely) to give Stray a 5 star review.
I feel like Rachael punched me in the face and then tossed me onto the street where I was trampled by a huge crowd of people, and then I managed to get to my feet to hurry to safety, only to stumble into oncoming traffic and be hit by a truck.

And that is Stray in a nutshell.

Ya'll should read it. Good times. Good
...more
Jananee (headinherbooks)
Sep 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2016-reads
For more reviews, check out my blog --> www.headinherbooks.wordpress.com

The Rating: 5/5 Stars

This book was PHENOMENAL, FANTASTIC, SUPERB and every other synonym you can think of. I am not even exaggerating - I mourned every time (damn you, real life) I had to put this book down because I just wanted to be back right there with the characters and in the world that Rachael Craw so wonderfully crafted.

This book continues on from where Spark ended, showing how Evie deals with some of the huge
...more
Sophie
Jul 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
To celebrate the release of Stray, I asked the delightful Rachael Craw to share some thoughts on predestination and faith: check out her guest post on my blog Imaginary Misadventure here.

Rachael Craw catapulted the Spark series into the stratosphere with Stray. Grander in scope in every aspect, Stray's pacing is accelerated and its emotional stakes higher. The romance is sexier and more anguished, the menacing Affinity Project more insidious.

Evie remains a formidable heroine, determined in her
...more
Sophie
Nov 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
K now I finished Stray and are extremely angry at Rachael Craw!!! Stray was amazing and now I understand why people say it was killing them because it does!!!! A great sequel to spark and now I can't wait for SHEILD! BUT ITS LIKE 7 MONTHS TILL IT COMES OUT! Anyway so I'm just gonna have to die sulking in a corner with the rest of the Spark fans until flipping Shield comes out! I totally recommend it it is amazing!
Trisha
I swallowed this up. It's easy to read, and the action and the suspense builds very nicely.

I need to post my review to Megan's blog first, but when I do, I will link it back here.

But trust me, it's all the good things!!

Not out till September.

Update: So it's September 1st, and Stray is out today. And my review is now over at Children's Books Daily. Thank you Megan for letting me ramble on.
Pauline
Jul 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow this has accelerated the action and pace. Full review to come later. My only problem was that I should have gone back and reread Spark just to remind myself of some of the complexities - has been a while between books for me. Looking forward to reading book 3. Thanks Abbey from Walker for my advance copy!
Sass
Aug 12, 2015 rated it it was amazing
So I loved Spark. Stray is so much better than Spark. And worse, in a distinctly "is it possible to sue authors for emotional distress at the hands of a paperback?" kind of way. I need Shield NOW, the wait is going to kill me.
Audrey
Jul 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: finished
It's so amazing and it's perfection!!! It made me so speechless, the sweetness the bitterness the suspense and oh my god! Hands down the best book I've read so far this year (and most likely my book of the year) absolutely worth saying up for!! My love for this series just grew <3 <3
Fleur Ferris
Mar 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Wow! I was left shell-shocked and breathless after reading this book. I loved Spark and expected Stray to be just as good, but WOW! Craw out did herself.

This series, this book, is outstanding. It has everything - romance, mystery, supernatural, excitement, twists and turns
and thrills. There's nothing I don't like. Highly recommend!
Kate
See my blog for guest post with author Rachael Craw!

After anticipating the release of Stray for so long I was anxious to see if it would meet my rather high expectations.

Truth is it doesn’t meet them – it exceeds them in every way possible.

Spark ended with Evie starting a relationship with Jamie, neutralizing the threat against Kitty and generally being a bit of a bad-arse. So where does a story with such a strong beginning go from here?

To a fancy dress party of course!

Craw does a fantastic job
...more
Veronica
Sep 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Everyone!
I can't even!
I absolutely love this series. Rachael Craw is a fantastic, original and creative writer; and it shows in her writing. In both Stray and Spark, I've felt a real connection to the characters -not the genetically modified parts of course!
You get such a vivid image of the characters' personalities and inner thoughts, you feel like you really know them because there is so much character and relationship development. It's subtle but you can see the changes in the characters over time. Ev
...more
Lily
Jan 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Reread 24/08/2016; still made of awesomeness sprinkled with glitter and served with a side of chocolate cake. Craw is a cinnamon roll of brilliance and I bow down to her genius.





Wow. Rachael Craw has done it again. This series is epic and all sorts of awesomeness and exactly the kind of thing that I adore. If you like science fiction, awesome kick-ass characters, genetically engineered super-soldiers, covert government agencies, plenty of high octane action and a dash of swoon-worthy romance then
...more
Aimee
I was sent a copy of Stray by Walker Books Australia. I really, really liked Spark but Stray was so freaking good! I couldn't put it down. When I saw how fast I was getting through it I wanted to slow down because the next book, Shield, isn't out till next year but I just couldn't stop.

The Affinity Project seem a bit much, there are some really abusive things they do to keep
their "assets" in line. But at the same time I can see why an orginisation is needed to help the kinds whose mutated DNA
...more
Tassha Cox
Apr 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Sweet baby jesus! The biggest regret held was putting down this book because my god!!! I can't fully grasp how a book can be this amazing!! Thank you so much Rachael for somehow making this series more amazing than it already is!!!
Ella
Jul 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
THAT. ENDING. RUINED. MEEEEEE. MY HEART OMG MA HEARRRRRRT. RACH HOW COULD YOU DO THAT TO ME???!!!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
The Spark Army: STRAY Quote Graphics 5 10 Sep 23, 2015 02:18AM  
The Spark Army: About Time! 4 15 Aug 27, 2015 09:20AM  
The Spark Army: STRAY! 56 29 Jul 07, 2015 03:18AM  
  • The Disappearance of Ember Crow (The Tribe #2)
  • V for Violet
  • Risk
  • The Boundless Sublime
  • The Minnow
  • Corruption (Disruption, #2)
  • Iris and the Tiger
  • In the Skin of a Monster
  • Deception (Pandora Jones, #2)
  • The Road to Winter (Winter, #1)
  • Pieces of Sky
  • The Last Shot
  • Goldfish (Girl out of Water, #1)
  • Protected
  • Clancy of the Undertow
  • Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark #1)
  • The Moonlight Dreamers
  • The Astrologer's Daughter
373 followers
Rachael is a reader, dreamer, joker, singer, believer, writer and lover of words.

Author of award winning #Spark, #Stray & #Shield available in AU & NZ, published by Walker Books Australia. #TheRift is set for release in Nov 2018

She lives in NZ and teaches part time while writing her next novel.

#Griffindor
#Buffy
#Supernatural
#SpeculativeFiction
#YA

Chat with the #SparkArmy https://www.goodread
...more

Other books in the series

Spark (3 books)
  • Spark (Spark, #1)
  • Shield (Spark, #3)