Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rite of Summer (Treading the Boards, #1)” as Want to Read:
Rite of Summer (Treading the Boards, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rite of Summer (Treading the Boards #1)

by
3.61  ·  Rating details ·  150 Ratings  ·  45 Reviews
There are terrors worse than stage fright. Like falling in love.

Violinist Stephen Ashbrook is passionate about three things—his music, the excitement of life in London, and his lover, Evander Cade. It’s too bad that Evander only loves himself. A house party at their patron’s beautiful country estate seems like a chance for Stephen to remember who he is, when he’s not tryin
...more
ebook, 392 pages
Published June 2nd 2015 by Samhain Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Rite of Summer, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Tess Bowery Thank you so much -- I'm glad you're enjoying it! The cover models are about the closest we could get to Stephen (front) and Joshua (back).

In my…more
Thank you so much -- I'm glad you're enjoying it! The cover models are about the closest we could get to Stephen (front) and Joshua (back).

In my head, mind you, Stephen looks much more like Sebalter (Swiss violinist) with longer hair, and Joshua has always been Rupert Penry-Jones. <3

(Can I put links in here? Let me try.)

Stephen:

http://esctoday.com/wp-content/upload...

Joshua:

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/...

(And I think Alex Pettyfer would make a brilliant Evander, don't you?)

http://cdn2.crushable.com/wp-content/...(less)

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
K.J. Charles
I really enjoyed this. It's very sex-heavy, which is fine and well done, though I honestly felt it would have worked with less. Stephen and Joshua are both lovely characters, and Stephen's relationship with Evander is very well done. What's super special about this is the historical grounding, though. All the MCs are artists, not aristos, and the Georgian gay underworld is really well delineated. I don't think I've seen the Vere Street Coterie mentioned in a romance before now, and the consequen ...more
Kaje Harper
Nov 05, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: historical, m-m, m-m-m
I enjoyed this historical romance, particularly for the grounding in the historical gay society of the era. I appreciated the way historical events like arrests and punishments of those caught out in sodomy, were shown to have a devastating effect on the men to whom they were casual friends, and perhaps past sex partners. And a chilling effect on any gay man of the era.

The romance proceeds slowly, and felt realistic. I liked that the men weren't wealthy or powerful, but ordinary starving artist
...more
Amy Cousins
If you don’t like open relationships in romance novels, this one is not for you. I loved Tess Bowery’s story of two boyhood friends who have been making their way in the world as a composer/violinist partnership and somewhat rocky romantic pairing too, until they meet an artist whose temporary addition to their bed changes everything. Bowery does a terrific job up ratcheting up the tension by including news of a real-life police raid that resulted in the arrests of dozens of gay men, and the dea ...more
Veronica of V's Reads
I really enjoyed this historical M/M/M romance. London 1810.

Evander and Stephen have been together for nearly a decade, living the gay life in London. Evander is a composer and Stephen a violinist. Evander has a patron, the Earl of Coventry who invites Evander and Stephen for a six week holiday at his country estate. Stephen doesn't want to go, he hates being confined in places where he can't be himself, and being openly gay is not possible on the earl's estate. Plus, he has to suffer the consta
...more
Lauraadriana
Jan 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
Excellent historical. A bit angsty and a LOT hot! Reading the sequel for sure!
Katie
Three stars. Not saying this was bad. It wasn’t. More like…it was okay but not exactly my cuppa. It’s a bit of a personal reminder that, with very few exceptions, I’m not a huge fan of Regency Romance or historicals in general.

***Mildly Spoilerish so hiding the rest***

(view spoiler)
...more
YAFGCRich
May 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I got an ARC from the author so I was lucky enough to get an early look. Now, interestingly Romances are not my thing, but I quickly got thoroughly engaged with the characters!
They read like real people. I didn't feel so much like I was being told a story as I was drawn in and experiencing it with them.
The history is well researched and realistic -including slang terms, professional jargon - Nothing pulled me out of the moment.

Joshua sounds like a professional artist (something I know somethi
...more
Andrea Goodell
Aug 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
What I think I enjoyed most about this book was it was about average guys. Most period books I’ve read normally feature a Lord of the realm and a servant of some type. Or two Lords, but this was about two and then three different artist types trying to make a living and surviving as best they knew how. Even if it meant breaking a heart or two along the way.
The dynamic between the three is great. Stephan shows so much growth in the end you can’t help but love him. Evander, you want to dislike but
...more
Rose A
Dec 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I have to admit that I approached this novel with a little trepidation because M/M/M is well outside my reading comfort zone; however, I needn't have worried. The quality of Bowery's writing makes her subject matter engaging even to a novice of the genre. All the characters grabbed me from the beginning from Joshua, Stephen and Evander to more minor characters. In fact, one of the things I really loved about this story was the feeling that it did not exist in a vacuum. The protagonists were obvi ...more
Page Crusherz
Jun 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I cut my romance-reader teeth on Regency romances, albeit the ones with corsets and raven tresses, so when I find a delicious looking Regency featuring breeches and more breeches, I jump at the chance to read it.

I expected a light romp in the 19th century, but Bowery's tale was much more than that. Don't get me wrong, it was not at all light on the sex...and the sex was HOT. The many sex scenes from M/M/M to M/M left me feeling "...mmmmmm." They were great, and definitely fit the story appropria
...more
Adrienne -kocham czytać-
"...and the hottest six weeks of summer the nineteenth century has ever seen."

*chuckles* Yes, please.
Lena Grey
Jun 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
“Never love anybody who treats you like you are ordinary.” ~ Oscar Wilde

Evander, of 'The Rite of Summer' by Tess Bowery, loves Stephen when they run away from home years ago, but as time goes on, he becomes more concerned about himself and being successful than anything else, including Stephen. Stephen knows Evander has changed—he chalks up his controlling ways to Evander's desire to make a “better man” out of him. Stephen is completely under his thumb When Evander is issued an invitation to spe
...more
RoloPoloBookBlog
Rite of Summer by Tess Bowery
Book #1: Treading the Boards Series
Source: Purchase
My Rating: 4/5 stars
My Review:

Stephen Ashbrook and Evander Cade are a package deal and have been since the moment they ran from their respective homes. Life in London has brought them a couple of things, the freedom to quietly be together and a much larger and more receptive audience for their music. Every composer needs a muse and according to Cade, Ashbrook has always been his. Their professional life is progressi
...more
Debbie
Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian, I Dig Good Books.

Stephen Ashbrook, talented musician and Evander Cade, composer, come as a pair. Evander manages to garner an invitation to a summer party, lasting six weeks. Stephen isn't sure this is a good idea, but what Evander wants, Evander gets. Once there, though, they meet Joshua Beaufort, painter. Joshua has been smitten with Stephen since he heard him play a year before. When the invtation to join Stephen and Evander in their bed comes along,
...more
Book Gannet
This is a sumptuous historical romance that’s equally rich in detail and man-on-man action. Featuring three male artists (painter, musician, composer) eking out their own existences at the start of the 19th century it’s full of emotional angst and tribulations, the rush of new love, the pain of old friends, the fear of homophobic laws and the strain of patronage. In essence my thoughts on this book are pretty simple: Oh, Stephen. Oh, Joshua! Urgh, Cade.

In a way that’s both the pain and the pleas
...more
E.
May 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
4 out of 5 stars


“The Rite of Summer” by Tessa Bowery is an erotic m/m and m/m/m historical romance that is the start of the ‘Treading the Boards’ series. Stephen Ashbrook and Evander Cade are an established couple who have managed a comfortable life under the patronage of the Earl of Coventry, who is impressed by Evander’s talents as a composer but merely tolerates Stephen as an accompanist. A house-party changes the duo’s lives forever, as an encounter with painter Joshua Beaufort, who has admi
...more
Bo
Jun 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Not Such a Menange

This one will catch you right away--the intense love making between the young composer Evander Cade and his "muse," the extraordinary violinist and his lover Stephen Ashbrook, will toss you for a loop and send you into an orbit of a tale that leaves virtually no stone unturned when it comes to digging into the swamp that is Regency England in 1810.

But Evander is the dominant one in the relationship and practically orders Stephen to accompany him to a six-week long vacation at t
...more
Nick F
May 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I received an ARC of the book, read it and here is what I have to say.

Tess Bowery’s “Rite of Summer” is beautifully written historical erotic M/M novel where you are taken to a completely different world, whether you are reading this at home, on the train or wherever you might be. Bowery’s ability to take you through the lives and scenes of people in this time and place is truly amazing and so accurate that you feel as if you are there with the characters, not just reading their story from a boo
...more
Kameron
Sep 18, 2015 rated it liked it
(request submitted by author for an honest critique)

Two men shagging - Three men - Masturbation: Tess didn't falter in delivering some rather heated scenes. For me, Joshua masturbating was more erotic than all the other scenes combined. However, I'm just a gal who enjoys self-loving and watching others pleasure themselves. *winks*

As stimulating as those moments were, I have one small complaint --- the overuse of the word, "PRICK". In erotica tales, it's hard (no pun intended) to create elabora
...more
Missy Fern - BFD Book Blog
May 31, 2015 rated it really liked it
This book is the first book in the Treading the Boards series and is a mm historical. Stephen Ashbrook and Evander Cade are a couple impacted by meeting a painter, Joshua Beaufort, at a summer party. The book steams up a bit when Joshua joins them in their bed over the summer..when all is said and done two of them are together, but I won't tell you which two.

The writing was wonderful, but the persecution of these men who follow their hearts was not. Society's intolerance of their lifestyle has a
...more
Miss
Mar 09, 2016 rated it it was ok
Shelves: lgbtqia
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Misty
Apr 08, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: regency, mm, 2015-publ, mmm

** 4.5 Stars **

I liked it a lot, it was different!
Lillian Francis
Dec 16, 2015 marked it as to-read
Recommended to Lillian by: K.J. Charles
Blaming KJ and her review for purchasing this one.
Lydia Andres
I haven't read a single Tess Bowery book that I haven't loved, and Rite of Summer was no different. Not only was the romance lovely and super steamy, I really enjoyed finding out what happened to everyone in the epilogue and even the author's note was sweet.
Curtis
[Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.]

Stephen Ashbrook, violinist, is at the top of his craft. And he's also the muse of his lover, composer Evander Cade. When the two of them are invited to a house party and lengthy stay at the home of their patron, it seems like their future is set. Also at this party is artist Joshua Beaufort, a man who has harbored a crush on Stephen for some time. And when he spies Stephen and Evander
...more
Sally Malcolm
Nov 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: m/m historical romance fans
This is a really different take on regency romance that is intensely character driven. Most of the story takes place over six weeks at a country estate, where the heroes—a musician and an artist—have been commissioned to entertain the guests.

Stephen Ashbrook, a violinist, is already involved with his musical partner, the composer Evander Cade—a relationship that was once liberating but that has become confining and damaging over the years. Joshua Beaufort, the artist, has been infatuated with St
...more
Kristen Westfall
Dec 18, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: read-2016
Very well written, but it never really grabbed me. Excellent growth from the MCs, and historically accurate.
TiChall
Jun 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Disclaimer, I received an advance copy of “Rites of Summer – Treading the Boards”

This is a wonderful book. The character are engaging, have a great deal of depth, and striking personalities.

The story develops well and naturally, establishing the characters, the setting, and the situation easily. Tess Bowery has does an excellent job of detailing the period for the story's setting.

The two main characters are well drawn and the growth of their love and affection develops well, from initial phys
...more
Lorraine
Sep 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is a really good story, set in Georgian England, where being Gay is a threat to your very existence.
Stephen and Evander have been together for years, since they ran away from their village to London, Evander a composer and Stephen a Violinist, making their name in small concert venues in London. By the time the story starts, they have a benefactor, Lord Coventry, who invites them to a house party in the country, also invited is Joshua Beaufort, a painter who is also starting to make his nam
...more
Allison
Feb 29, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2016-reads
Too long, weak editing, and repetition upon repetition drove me crazy. I would only vaguely refer to this as m/m/m as I was expecting the threesome to work out, which (spoiler) ... it didn't. It shouldn't have, and I'm glad it didn't, but still I expected it to be a working poly story not what it was. (end spoiler) The sex was overdone and more frequent than necessary. I enjoyed that it was about every day people trying to make a living at the arts and that the aristocracy was peripheral to the ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Enlightened (Enlightenment, #3)
  • A Minor Inconvenience
  • Sharp Love (Gambling on Love, #2)
  • Mending Him
  • The Reluctant Berserker
  • The Shepherd and the Solicitor
  • Dark Economy
  • Objects Of His Obsession
  • Blowing Off Steam
  • Captured Shadows
  • Tempting a Sinner (The Sinners Club, #2)
  • Love Me Like a Rock (Bend or Break, #6)
  • Cherry Bomb (Mercury Rising, #2)
  • A Gentleman's Position (Society of Gentlemen, #3)
  • Talking Trouble
  • Another Place in Time
  • Craving's Creek
  • The Door Behind Us
136 followers
Tess has been a fan of historical fiction since learning the Greek and Roman myths at her mother's knee. Now let loose on a computer, she's spinning her own tales of romance and passion in a slightly more modern setting. Tess lives on the east coast, with her partner of fifteen years and two cats who should have been named 'Writer's Block' and 'Get Off the Keyboard, Dammit.'

Sign up for my mailing
...more
More about Tess Bowery

Other books in the series

Treading the Boards (3 books)
  • She Whom I Love (Treading the Boards, #2)
  • That Potent Alchemy (Treading the Boards, #3)

Romance Deals

  • Protected (Deadly Secrets, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Plain Fame (Plain Fame #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Crazy Little Thing (Bell Harbor, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Safe Haven
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The King (Masterpiece Duet, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Along the Broken Road (The Roads to River Rock, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Avalon
    $14.99 $1.99
  • Down the Hidden Path (The Roads to River Rock Book 2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • My Kind of You (Trillium Bay #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • How to Say I Love You Out Loud
    $7.09 $2.99
  • The Queen and the Cure (The Bird and the Sword Chronicles, #2)
    $5.95 $2.49
  • If You Stay (Beautifully Broken, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Moonlight Over Paris
    $10.74 $1.99
  • Crossing Hearts (Cross Creek, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Exposure (Midnight, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Burned by Her Devotion (Rogue Vows, #2)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • The Trouble with Dukes (Windham Brides, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Crossing the Line (Cross Creek #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Yours Until Dawn
    $6.74 $1.99
  • Fallen Crest Forever (Fallen Crest Series #7)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • I See London, I See France
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Dragonwyck
    $14.99 $1.99
  • While You Were Mine
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Falling Star (Shooting Stars, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Suddenly in Love (Lake Haven, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Seconds to Live (Scarlet Falls #3)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Her Darkest Nightmare (The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Passing His Guard (Against the Cage, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Hour of Need (Scarlet Falls, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Minutes to Kill (Scarlet Falls, #2)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Sharp Edges
    $6.72 $1.99
  • Our Now and Forever (Ardent Springs, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • #Starstruck (#Lovestruck, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Beauty of Us (Fusion, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Law of Moses (The Law of Moses, #1)
    $5.95 $2.49
  • Emerald (Red Hot Love #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • She Can Run (She Can Series)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • 13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelope, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • White Heat (Firefighter Book 1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • His First and Last (Ardent Springs, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Softhearted (Deep in the Heart, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Goodbye Bride (Summer Harbor, #2)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Reed (Cold Fury Hockey, #10)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Wedding Chapel
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The Raven Prince (princes trilogy)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Maggie's Turn
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Cover of Darkness (Suspense Series, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Always
    $13.99 $2.99
  • After You Left
    $4.99 $1.99
  • How the Cowboy Was Won (Cupid, Texas, #6)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Don't Let Go
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Magnolia Nights
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Her Last Goodbye (Morgan Dane, #2)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Filthy Rich (Blackstone Dynasty, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Tempting the Beast (Breeds, #1; Feline Breeds, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Saving Abby
    $4.49 $1.99
  • She Can Kill (She Can...#5)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Gone (Deadly Secrets, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Trust in Advertising
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Fatal Pursuit (Aegis, #3)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Changing Lanes
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Doing It Over (Most Likely To, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Cowboy Bold (Longhorn Canyon, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • The Love Letter
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Running Barefoot
    $5.95 $2.49
  • Provocative (White Lies Duet, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • An Obsession with Vengeance (Wanted Men, #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Promise of Provence (Love in Provence, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Crash (Crash, #1)
    $4.24 $1.99
  • A Matter of Grave Concern
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Duke's Holiday (The Regency Romp Trilogy, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Stay (WAGs, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson, #7)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Hello Love
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Be Mine Tonight  (Brotherhood of Blood, #1)
    $1.99 $0.99
  • A Darker Dream
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Someone like You (Someone to Love, #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Murder Notes (Lilah Love, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Since You've Been Gone
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Laws of Gravity
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Dangerous Waters (Barkley Sound, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Dating (Not Quite, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Mine (Not Quite, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Only for You (Sugar Lake #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Salvation of Vengeance (Wanted Men, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Stay With Me
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Fired (Worked Up, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Things We Know by Heart
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Styxx (Dark-Hunter, #23)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Affair
    $18.99 $1.99
  • Someone for Me (Someone to Love, #3)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire (Love at Stake, #1)
    $1.99 $0.99
  • The Secret of a Heart Note
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Love with a Perfect Cowboy (Cupid, Texas, #4)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Internet Famous
    $7.80 $2.99
  • Kissing in America
    $9.99 $1.99
  • A Love of Vengeance (Wanted Men, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Someone to Love (Someone to Love, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Best Man (Alpha Men, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Never Love a Cowboy (Rogues in Texas, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Wrong Question, Right Answer (The Bourbon Street Boys #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Bent (Back to Brooklyn, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Stone Cold Cowboy (Montana Men, #4)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Suddenly Dating (Lake Haven,  #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Embrace
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Suddenly Engaged (Lake Haven #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Shadow Fall (Tracers, #9)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • She Can Hide (She Can, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Crush
    $7.99 $2.99
  • After the Game (The Field Party, #3)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • More to Give (Anchor Island #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Up to the Challenge (Anchor Island, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Color of Secrets
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Home to Stay (Anchor Island, #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Gone to Her Grave (Rogue River, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Someone Like Her (K2 Team, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Crushing on Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, MD #4; The Bradens #16; Love in Bloom #35)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Thrill of Love
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Perfect (Not Quite Series, #5)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Enough (Not Quite, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Mighty Storm (The Storm, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • River of Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, MD #3; The Bradens #15; Love in Bloom #34)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Forever (Not Quite, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Hellion (Wicked Wallflowers, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Roomies
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Whisper of Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, MD #5; The Bradens #21; Love in Bloom #36)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Crazy for Her (K2 Team, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Left Drowning (Left Drowning #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • All I Need Is You (Thrillseekers Anonymous, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • How To Keep Rolling After a Fall
    $7.09 $2.99
  • No Love Allowed
    $7.09 $2.99
  • Midnight Sacrifice (Midnight, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Obsession (Midnight, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Betrayal (Midnight, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Meant to Be
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Love, Chloe
    $3.99 $1.99