Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rising Stars, Vol. 3: Fire and Ash” as Want to Read:
Rising Stars, Vol. 3: Fire and Ash
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rising Stars, Vol. 3: Fire and Ash

(Rising Stars #3)

4.04  ·  Rating details ·  759 ratings  ·  25 reviews
Writer J. Michael Straczynski's superhero tour-de-force reaches its stunning conclusion as the final fate of the 113 "Pederson Specials" is revealed. The final chapter of one of the greatest comic series EVER is now available in trade paperback for your bookshelf!
Collects Rising Stars #17-24.
Paperback, 205 pages
Published October 17th 2006 by Image Comics (first published April 27th 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Rising Stars, Vol. 3, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Rising Stars, Vol. 3

Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. VaughanSaga, Vol. 2 by Brian K. VaughanSaga, Vol. 3 by Brian K. VaughanThe Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 by Kieron GillenRat Queens, Vol. 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe
Best of Image Comics
314 books — 376 voters
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. RowlingKnight of Flame by Scott EderHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. RowlingCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsThe Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
Fire
284 books — 113 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.04  · 
Rating details
 ·  759 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Quentin Wallace
Jan 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
So we finally got to see an end to the Rising Stars saga. I think my expectations were so high nothing could have matched them, which is why I enjoyed this one slightly less than the others. It was still really good nonetheless. As we probably could have guessed, we find out here the whole thing was (view spoiler)

Overall this was a very good comic series, and I would recommend all 3 volumes to any fans of superhero comi
...more
47Time
Apr 20, 2017 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Christopher Mclean
May 06, 2016 rated it liked it
Unfortunately this felt like an excellent series going out with a wimpier rather than a boom. After two excellent volumes showing a fairly realistic take on how 113 super powered people change the world, this one didn't quite keep the momentum.

This had the potential to be the most interesting and unique volume. All the conflicts between the specials are done and they are more or less living life united and in the mainstream, helping to build a better world. We see them tackling issues like nucle
...more
Bill
Sep 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
I finished the third graphic novel in the Rising Stars trilogy; Rising Stars, Vol. 3 Fire and Ash by J. Michael Straczynski Rising Stars: Fire and Ash by J. Michael Straczynski. In this volume, the Specials fight back, to use their powers for the good of mankind, even as the establishment, the corrupt government, the military machine tries to stop them. It's a very sad story at times, but ultimately edifying. Well-written series and it was nice to get back into my collection of graphic novels again. (4 stars)
Jonathan
Apr 06, 2009 rated it really liked it
NBC's Heroes wishes it was this good.
Cookie
I was thinking along the read that I would give this 5 stars. But a pity 5 stars because the read was ok but with some good parts that I enjoyed. The ending changed that for me : 5 deserved stars.

So basically everytime I think I know what will happen, it does not turn out how I actually thought it would. And that's incredibly refreshing. The reason is very simple too : this is the most realistic depiction of humanity I have yet to see in a story. We are so used in our go-happy go-lucky world to
...more
Peter
Mar 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
As I expected, this story was about the telling. I am glad that stories like this are made. The endless rehash of Marvel/DC characters in endless EARTH-X stories get old. Having stories in analog universes (think Astro City and Irredeemable and NEXTWAVE) are often quite satisfying, in that the analogs can do they things that Captain America or Batman cannot. And on the flip-side, in What-If type or the rare stories (one shot Daredevil story that I can't recall the name of or Red Son), those are ...more
Kavinay
Jan 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
A strong finish. If nothing else, JMS is a master of plotting meaningful final stakes in the last act. Is it corny and a bit reliant on deus ex machina? Probably, but if you can get past that, you have what could be considered a great counter argument to Arthur C. Clarke's Childhood's End.
Carl Phillips
Jul 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A wonderful ending to a great series.
Tetsuo
Nov 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Me emocionei lendo gibi de heroizin, eh mole?
Amanda
Not read in the Graphic Novel Book Club, but read inspired by it


The last 3rd of the story (even if it is the 3rd of 5 graphic novels), I did not know entirely what to expect going into this one. The peace and how the peace was both happening and falling apart. The continued government problems. The breaking and waking and dying of certain people busting my heart everywhere.

The last three issues. The big explosion. The last ride / The ultimate reveal for the very beginning of the story and mirac
...more
Rudra
Apr 22, 2010 rated it really liked it
Finally! I finally found how it all ended. And you know what? That's a good and satisfying ending. Just a little too quickly paced. In some ways, I liked that I literally waited years to read this. I must have read Volume 1 and 2 a few times since i picked them up. Well all that study pays off. Everybody gets a reference in the end and, most importantly, I think Stracynski really says something profound about living life to your fullest potential. I guess in some ways, he's very much bringing th ...more
April Helms
Aug 18, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: young adults (14+) and adults
Shelves: graphic-novel
Somehow, I managed to check out and read the last book first. Oops! Complete accident. So, now I know the ending in this really neat, really gripping graphic novel. Now...I need to read the previous ones.... Fans of Babylon 5 and Heroes will like this. Basically, it's about a group of children who were in utero when a meteor hit. These children were given various superhero powers. The problem is, how will they be used -- especially when they discover that the death of one special enhances the su ...more
This Is Not The Michael You're Looking For
The final act of the Rising Stars graphic novel, this book was not quite as twist-filled as the previous two, although the ending certainly caught me off guard (although it made perfect sense, once I'd absorbed it). Overall, the series was strong, an interesting look at what it would mean to have superpowers, how the world would react, and what the possibilities might be. A good change of pace story from the usual comic superhero we are used to.
Blair Conrad
Sep 15, 2009 rated it it was amazing
A high score based on the strength of the whole series. An interesting and uplifting story, not really providing tonnes of additional character insights, with one or two notable exceptions. The story proceeds quickly enough (maybe too quickly - a lot of time passes), with a number of tense and exciting moments.
diane
Jul 21, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics
I like that the whole story loops back to the beginning. I like the symmetry of it all.

Overall a good story. It's interesting to note some of the loop holes and sort of polyanna-esque ideals in the story, which I think you can get away with in comics a little better than in other types of story telling. Or perhaps it was just this one.

Glad I read them again.
C
Nov 13, 2008 rated it really liked it
Overall, while the ending to the series was interesting, I didn't find it quite as powerful as the other volumes. There was less emotional impact in the last third of this volume when there probably should have been the most.

I'm nit-picking, though. Easily one of the best comics-series ever produced. Absolutely fantastic.
Becky Haslam
An absolutely stunning story! It is very cinematic and dramatic, and brilliantly written. I must admit I was a bit let down by the ending but I am willing to forgive that because of the amazing, heart stopping journey we are taken on from the start. A MUST READ!
Timothy Boyd
Jan 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A very interesting view of what the world would do to and how it would view superhumans born suddenly into the population. A scary view of human prejudices and the cause and effect of these prejudices. Fantastic art and one of the best comic storylines I have ever read. High recommended
Michael
Nov 23, 2007 rated it it was amazing
This volume contains one of the best endings to any comic series ever. You also get great Brent Anderson art!
Leigh
Oct 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Brilliant, fantastic ending
Lindsay
Dec 05, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics, image-comics
Fantastic series. Much like the television series "Heroes".
Michelle
Jul 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
My review of Rising Stars.

As always, this story blows me away.


Keith Jones
Jan 15, 2011 rated it did not like it
Wow, crash and burn
Mike Briggs
rated it it was amazing
Aug 25, 2013
Mark
rated it it was amazing
May 10, 2018
J. Darien
rated it it was ok
Sep 18, 2012
Dan Lovegrove
rated it it was amazing
Jun 16, 2015
Zak
rated it it was amazing
Jun 23, 2013
Þórarinn Björn
rated it liked it
Apr 03, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Ultra: Seven Days
  • Irredeemable, Vol. 4
  • Girls: Emergence (Girls, #2)
  • Powers, Vol. 5: Anarchy
  • The Adventures of Barry Ween, Boy Genius 1
  • Ex Machina, Vol. 10: Term Limits (Ex Machina, #10)
  • StormWatch, Vol. 5: Final Orbit
  • Invincible, Vol. 11: Happy Days
See similar books…
Joseph Michael Straczynski (born July 17, 1954), known professionally as J. Michael Straczynski and informally as Joe Straczynski or JMS, is an American writer and television producer. He works in films, television series, novels, short stories, comic books, and radio dramas. He is a playwright, a former journalist, and author of The Complete Book of Scriptwriting. He was the creator and showrunne ...more

Other books in the series

Rising Stars (7 books)
  • Rising Stars: Visitations
  • Rising Stars, Vol. 1: Born in Fire
  • Rising Stars, Vol. 2: Power
  • Rising Stars, Vol. 4: Voices of the Dead/Bright
  • Rising Stars, Vol. 5: Untouchable/Visitations
  • Rising Stars, tome 4