Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Enemy of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #5)” as Want to Read:
Enemy of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Enemy of Rome

(Gaius Valerius Verrens #5)

4.34  ·  Rating details ·  490 ratings  ·  25 reviews
A gripping, adrenalin-fuelled historical page-turner from bestselling author Douglas Jackson. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!

"Once you have started you will want to read every volume in this exciting series [set] during one of the most turbulent times in Roman history" - 5 STARS
"Douglas Jackson undoubte
...more
Paperback, 496 pages
Published July 30th 2015 by Corgi (first published August 28th 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Enemy of Rome, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Enemy of Rome

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.34  · 
Rating details
 ·  490 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Enemy of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #5)
Jane
This series just keeps getting better and better! The decent and honorable Valerius is torn between his friendship for Vitellius and his feelings of duty to support Vespasian, the latest contender for the purple. Valerius fights for Vespasian, even commanding a legion temporarily, then is tasked by General Primus to go to Rome and to pursuade Vitellius into surrendering his office. To rescue his lady love, Domitia, and to destroy his rival for her affections, Valerius ends up fighting for Vitell ...more
Michal
good book, but severely overpriced (at least for kindle ebook). Turney's books cost fraction and they are of the same quality (or even better). Something tells me that it's the publisher and not the author to blame... ...more
S.J.A. Turney
Sep 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Valerius Verrens is back, guys, and back with a bang! Those of you who are following the series will remember that book 4 (Sword of Rome) had ended in something of a cliffhanger, as though the book hadn’t ended but rather hit an advert break. Well ‘Enemy’ picks up seamlessly where ‘Sword’ left off, continuing to tell the story of the Year of the Four Emperors from Verrens’ point of view.

In my review of book 4 I analogised the plot with a pinball machine, Verrens being twanged and shot back and f
...more
Sherry
Oct 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Author Douglas Jackson took on a huge challenge in Enemy of Rome: to write clearly and cogently about Rome’s chaotic Year of Four Emperors. Actually, Nero and Otho are both dead when this episode begins, so there are just two rivals for the throne -- Vitellius and Vespasian. Vitellius has been proclaimed Emperor in Rome; Vespasian, the pretender, lurks in Judea with his troops. Neither man personally leads the legions that mass in northern Italy to battle on their behalf. Both, at various times, ...more
Speesh
Mar 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: roman-empire
Book Five and not only the series, but the readers are beginning to flag…

not a bit of it!

This is, to quote another blogger, "brilliant!” This could be the exuberant first novel from a fresh new author, this could be the final novel in a long series where everything comes satisfactorily together. This could be the best novel in the series - so far (#5 is as far as I’ve got).

This period of Rome’s history is fairly well populated with authors just now. I’ve come across people like Robert Fabbri (hi
...more
Nimrodds
Welcome to Rome :)
Peter Knights
Mar 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Without doubt another thrilling read about the life, times and tribulations of our hero Valerius Verrens. He's becoming the cat with nine lives, each time escaping death by a whisper. It seems that only the reader can see his honourable intentions and his unconditional loyalty to Rome. This particular book tracks his dichotomy between two rival competitors for the Purple. It contains a lot of warring and fighting, a profound understanding of friendship and even a touch of romance. Douglas Jackso ...more
Dilys Guthrie
Amazing, brilliant! Verrens is now competing with Macro and Cato!
Nick Brett
Feb 16, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The fifth book in a very entertaining series. This is set amongst the Roman civil war and it is legion against legion, and stuck in the middle is our noble hero Verrens. I say noble because, at a time where everyone is swapping sides and allegiances, Verrens remains focussed on what is good for Rome. A bad time to be an honest man.

So it is in dangerous times that we have Verrens, along with his lethal Spaniard bodyguard, dodging between different factions but also getting stuck in on the battlef
...more
Jim
Oct 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: historical
I have run out of superlatives for Douglas Jackson and the Valerius series,so i just repeat myself,Great,Brilliant,Fantastic.Enemy of rome (No 5 in the series)fellows-on from Sword of Rome with the same pace of the other four books,all of which had me page turning way into the night. As with all Douglas Jackson books you get right into the action from page one and then he adds the ingredients of the period with great research and then tops it off with writing of the highest quality. So once agai ...more
Kate
The quality of this superb series never wanes and Enemy of Rome takes it to even higher heights. Valerius is an honourable man. This makes it more difficult than ever for him to survive in these brutal, dangerous times. Superb.

Hart Roussel
Jan 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am hooked on the GVV series. Detailed descriptions of day to day life amd intrigue in imperial Rome make visualizing characters and context easy.
Jeff Jones
Apr 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another brilliant book proving that Mr Jackson is right up there with the best of them if not the best.
Gary Clark
Sep 24, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Year of the Four Emperors

This book continues the year of the four emperors and the Roman civil war. Verrens is caught in between with his loyalty and duty and unfortunately a belief in a Rome that no longer exists.

He is once again paired up with Serpentius whom saves his life on a couple of occasions.

This book is descriptive with its battle scenes and should be read after the previous book to get a better feel for what is happening and I would recommend it for those that have read the previous
...more
Yassemin
Feb 03, 2020 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
This was a gamble that didn't pay off for me.

Although the book was written well enough and lead me to DNF at a later stage than I thought I might, it failed to really grab my interest. I went into this knowing this was about civil war however that was literally all the book was about- no other interesting story- just battle after battle and it just fell short and became a bit repetitive and boring for me.

Not for me.
...more
john temple
Aug 15, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Eminently readable

Verens seems to be used by every side in this instalment, however he remains true throughout as his character would only allow. This doesn't stop him fighting for all sides and at various times being outed by various people on all sides. It's very enjoyable and very readable and we leave Verens on the threshold of execution and the also vegetarian dynasty
...more
Bob Lamb
Feb 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Roman History Comes Alive

Douglas Jackson does a marvelous job weaving the protagonist into the amazing history of Rome. The historical figures come to life with wonderful action and political intrigue. A terrific series.
Robert2481
I already bought the next book in the series.
Keith C  Hotard
Dec 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great Historical Fiction

A real pager turner set against a great historical back drop. A great series that will keep your interest Read!
David Slater
Jul 25, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Such a great series. DJ really is one of the very best.
Andrew Bowles
Mar 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This character and his side kick certainly grow on you.
Debayan Das
Sep 03, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Poor. The loyalties of Verrens keeps changing at will. Too much naked sentimentality in this novel. Verrens is awfully naive and impractical for a career soldier. Domitian is portrayed poorly in the mould of the senators of old who had him assassinated. Clearly the author has not been updated on the modern revision of Domitian. Verrens did too much harm to all the sides in the civil war yet is spared the executioner's blade too often to not be convenient.

For me, this is the last Gaius Valerius
...more
Angel Serrano
Nov 14, 2015 rated it really liked it
La lucha por el poder en Roma continúa. Vitellius ha llegado a la capital del imperio, pero Vespasiano ha sido aclamado como César por sus legiones. En medio de esas traiciones, Valerius intenta reunirse con su amor Domitia, con la muerte en los talones.
David Miles
Nov 30, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good book, clear storyline.
Cory Barnett
rated it really liked it
May 05, 2018
Eoghan Mac
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2016
David Smith
rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2020
Mark Kearney
rated it it was amazing
Sep 18, 2014
D M
rated it really liked it
Aug 27, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Return
  • Civil War (Marius' Mules #13)
  • Britannia World's End (The Last of the Romans #2)
  • Emperor of Rome (Vespasian, #9)
  • The Emperor's Exile (Eagle #19)
  • Traitors of Rome (Eagle #18)
  • Lions of Rome (Praetorian #4)
  • The Centurions (The Centurions #1)
  • Revolt Against Rome (Tribune Valerius & Centurion Marcellus #3)
  • Bodies in the Tiber (The Sertorius Scrolls #3)
  • Roxolani (The Thrice Named Man, #8)
  • Return of the Eagles (Tribune Valerius & Centurion Marcellus #2)
  • Legionary (The Thrice Named Man, #2)
  • Altar of Blood (Empire, #9)
  • Emperor's Knife (Imperial Assassin #2)
  • Eagles of Dacia (Praetorian #3)
  • Emperor's Axe (Imperial Assassin #3)
  • Rome: The Emperor's Spy (Rome, #1)
See similar books…
172 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.

Aka James Douglas

Douglas Jackson turned a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans into his first novel, Caligula. He was born in Jedburgh, in the Scottish Borders and now lives in Bridge of Allan. He is an assistant editor at The Scotsman.
...more

Other books in the series

Gaius Valerius Verrens (9 books)
  • Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #1)
  • Defender of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #2)
  • Avenger of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #3)
  • Sword of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #4)
  • Scourge of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens, #6)
  • Saviour of Rome: (Gaius Valerius Verrens 7)
  • Glory of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens #8)
  • Hammer of Rome: Gaius Valerius Verrens 9

Related Articles

As this strange summer of staying put winds down, one thing remains truer than ever: Books offer us endless adventure and new horizons to...
57 likes · 30 comments