Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Royal Regard (Sailing Home #1)” as Want to Read:
Royal Regard (Sailing Home #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Royal Regard

(Sailing Home #1)

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  50 ratings  ·  23 reviews
When Baroness Bella Humphrey returns to England after fifteen years traveling the world with her husband, an elderly diplomat with only months to live, she has plenty of surprises in store: a new title and sizable fortune, the attentions of the marriage mart, and a budding friendship with the new King, George IV.

As she settles into her new life, this shy, not-so-young lady
...more
Paperback, 306 pages
Published November 28th 2014 by Whaley Digital Press (first published November 27th 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Royal Regard, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Royal Regard

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  50 ratings  ·  23 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Lucinda Brant
Offers so much more than the usual Regency Romance fare, ROYAL REGARD is complex, witty, and thoroughly entertaining. Highly recommended.
Jude Knight
Nov 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Royal Regard is a five star book. The characters are well drawn, the plot exciting, with many twists and turns, and a building sense of suspense, and the dialogue excellent.

Bella returns from overseas with her elderly husband Myron, who has come home to die after 15 years representing England in many foreign lands. The couple are friends of the recently crowned King George IV. Bella is painfully shy, but has learnt to hide her insecurities behind a mask of competence. Myron and the King are worr
...more
J. Kahele
Sep 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Please Dear Lord let there be a second!

The book begins with Bella attending a party of her cousins in London. After traveling with her husband for Doreen years abroad, the last thing Bella wants to do is spend time at some party with a bunch of snobby socialites but she does it to appease her cousin. It is here we are introduce to Nick.

Nick is a man in his forties and is best known for bedding married women. He is entranced by Bella instantly, not for her good looks as she is known to most as b
...more
Heather King
Jan 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Royal Regard is not your typical Regency novel. Mariana Gabrielle has skilfully created a cast of characters which defy many of those conventions other authors rely on. Her hero and heroine are neither very young nor classically beautiful, but they work their way into the reader’s affections with effortless ease. The villain is as oily and despicable as any romance reader could wish and the supporting players are all clearly defined.
The plot starts steadily, then builds and builds as the story u
...more
Lori
Dec 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is an era I really don't know that much about. Between Bess, and Victoria I really haven't ever cared about the time periods in between, especially in Fiction. Pride and Prejudice, basically any of the Jane Austin novels never did anything at all for me. However, I found myself excited through out most of this book The little attentions to details made me easily find myself within the realm the author created, it was easy to step within this world in my dreams. That to me is the sign of an ...more
Stacy Jones
Feb 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow. Royal Regard is not your typical regency romance. The plot is thick. It requires a bit more focus and attention than most romances do because the characters are deep and thoughtful. They come alive on the page. This is my kind of read! I do like my heroine to be a bit stronger, but that is not necessarily appropriate for the period, and the accuracy here is top notch. Bella is definitely a woman of the era while still managing to be someone a modern woman can respect. She is a damsel in dis ...more
Joseph Scott Amis
Mar 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I'm used to writing reviews for books that fall into genres of usual preference: historical and literary fiction, history, and topical nonfiction. Reading Royal Regard, a Regency Romance novel, and writing a review have been ventures into the unknown and mysterious.

Happily, I can say that Royal Regard was a most enjoyable experience. Author Mariana Gabriele is a proven professional writer and editor, and my high expectations for quality of writing and editorial excellence were soundly met. The s
...more
Angela Withrow TheArdentReader
Bella is a breath of fresh air! London is in need of her unstinting wit, although I think the matriarchs of the ton may not agree. Lol
I don't think she is ready for the attention she gets from the rogues of London. As a matter of fact, I think she would rather be just about anywhere but London for the season.

Her husband has the King's ear and so they must remain. She must deal with 2 suitors, both waiting out her husband's failing health.
Two Dukes no less. Both very forthright, both handsome,
...more
Lori D
I have just tuned the last page and feel bereft. It seemed a lifetime passed in the pages of this amazing story and I did not want it to end. Skillfully plotted with the characters coming to life off the page as I smiled and cried with them.
Myron and Bella have returned to London after being away for fifteen years. With her older husband in bad health he wanted to find her a husband to take care of her when he was gone. What you say? Are you serious? Yes and it all makes sense. Bella would be a
...more
Tina
Feb 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I’d forgotten how much I enjoy a good regency romance, and so glad that I decided to read Royal Regard. This is my first exposure to Mariana Gabrielle’s work, but I’m hooked. Her characters are well rounded and realistically crafted, and I found myself fully invested in them from the get go. What I especially enjoy about this genre, is that falling in love with someone that you’re actually married to wasn’t at all the norm. In fact, it seems that while women would swoon at the thought of a “lov ...more
Aleen ~Lampshade Reader
Original post on my blog: http://lampshadereader.com/2016/03/20...

Although this is Book #1 in the series Sailing Home, I highly recommend reading the prequel Shipmate. One will get a little backstory and more insight to the relationship between Bella and Myron. It is mentioned that theirs was not a love match. A marriage of convenience that proved to be just the thing a wallflower like Bella needed. Royal Regard takes place after their return from their many adventures abroad (After Shipmate). B
...more
Quenby Olson
Jun 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
I went into this book knowing very little about it, having only given the blurb a cursory glance. But it was Regency, and I adore Regency novels, so I bought it from Amazon when I needed a bit of comfort reading on my Kindle.

I'm very glad I snagged it. This is a more intricate, twisting tale than those I've read by Marion Chesney or even some of Heyer's work. Just when I thought everything was about to be wrapped up in a neat little bow, as I'd come to expect from other books of this genre with
...more
Crystal Cox
Feb 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
In Royal Regards,Bella Holsworthy returns to England after being abroad with her now ailing husband. Although Bella is world wise,she is not adept to the society that she has been thrust back into. She has two very determined Dukes paying her court,a king and husband playing matchmakers,and her own heart and mind to deal with.
I absolutely loved this book! Bella is such a strong,smart,witty,and loving character that you just want to step into her shoes. It will take an amazing man to match up to
...more
Literary  Chanteuse
May 06, 2015 marked it as rom-historical  ·  review of another edition
For a star rating and review please visit InD'tale magazine online, June 2015 issue http://www.indtale.com/reviews/histor...
Dee Deacon Foster
Jan 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Bella Holsworthy has much to be thankful for - having escaped an abusive family by marrying a much older gentleman (a gentleman she came to have a deep affection for) & having that husband teach her how to have confidence in herself. All while living at sea for fifteen years. Now back in London due to her husband’s failing health has Bella’s old insecurities of the ton warring with her confidence.

Myron, Baron Holsworthy, knows he is not long for this world and wants to die knowing he has do
...more
Judy
Sep 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Royal Regard by Mariana Gabrielle
Bella Clewes, Baroness of Holsworthy was never considered a pretty woman and people enjoyed telling her so. She hated Society and the one good thing about being sold as a bride to a much older man was that she got to sail away from all of it. Now after fifteen years away, Bella and Myron return to London due to his failing health. The strong woman she had become while away...was once again quiet and unsure.

Adolphe Fouret, Duc de Malbourne and Nicholas Northope, D
...more
Marcus Case
Nov 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a terrific introduction to Regency Romance! Packed with atmospheric description and impressive characterisation, and sizzling with occasional breathtaking intimacy, Royal Regard is a wonderful read.

The plot intrigues from the off, twisting and turning its way through a substantial narrative to a fascinating and satisfying climax. Above all else, the dialogue deserves the greatest acclaim and Gabrielle offers a masterclass in this respect. I'm a UK reader and found all the characters and the
...more
Jennifer Senhaji
Mar 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Royal Regard is one of the most well written historical romance novels I've ever read. The amount of detail the author infuses into the story about the life and pursuits of these wonderful characters is truly impressive. Romance cleverly weaved together with a bit of intrigue, this book kept me royally engaged from the first scene. I appreciated the strength of the main female character, Bella, and was charmed by Nick and his appreciation for Bella's intellect and independence. This is the secon ...more
Teri Donaldson
Mar 31, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I started this book in the morning and kept reading until it was finished. It was that good!
Bella and Myron have finally come home after 15 years of traveling the world. Myron, the much older husband, is not well and wants to ensure Bella's future and happiness. He sets about choosing her next husband, which fascinated me. I can't think of another book that had that particular story line.
The story moves very quickly and left me wanting more at the end. I am hopeful that Mariana continues with th
...more
bibliolatry
A very interesting story, but poorly written. A lot of the writing is vague and confusing. Sometimes important information is left unsaid or implied in conversations. I liked the hero a lot, bit the heroine was silly and way too dramatic--I did not like her at all. The major of the horse guards went from being mistrusted and almost killed to honored and a person with more authority than the hero, in the space of a quarter of a page.

I loved the two prequels but not this one.
InD'tale Magazine
3.5/5.0

The Duke of Wellbridge is witty, charming and seductive. It is easy to despise him and desire him at the same time while Bella and her cousin Charlotte are two characters that carry a great deal of the story and are immensely entertaining.

Read full review in the 2015 June issue of InD'tale Magazine.
Leticia
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2015
Kumar Shanu
rated it liked it
Jun 25, 2015
Doreen
Worth the effort

I found it difficult to get into this book, and nearly gave up a couple of times. It was difficult at first to tell who was the hero, and who the villain. Luckily I did persist. The hero started his journey to maturity, and the heroine showed she had a temper to match his. The external conflict was resolved fairly early, the internal though was not so easy, and its resolution was in doubt till the end. Every time I thought they would reach a compromise at last, they ended up shou
...more
Mark
rated it it was amazing
Sep 17, 2015
Amy Rose Bennett
rated it it was amazing
Nov 28, 2014
Tameca
rated it it was amazing
Nov 14, 2014
Tameca
rated it it was amazing
Nov 14, 2014
Mari Christie
Dec 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: mari-s-books
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
56 followers
Mariana Gabrielle is a pseudonym of Mari Christie, a professional writer, editor, and designer with almost twenty-five years’ experience. Published in dozens of nonfiction and poetry periodicals since 1989, she began writing mainstream historical fiction in 2009 and Regency romance in 2013. In all genres, she creates deeply scarred characters in uncommon circumstances who overcome self-imposed bar ...more

Other books in the series

Sailing Home (3 books)
  • Mistletoe, Marriage, and Mayhem: A Bluestocking Belles Collection
  • Shipmate (Sailing Home #3)