Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Needle and the Dungeon” as Want to Read:
The Needle and the Dungeon
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Needle and the Dungeon

by
3.86  ·  Rating details ·  7 ratings  ·  3 reviews
San Francisco near the end of the 21st century. A world both familiar and frighteningly bizarre.

A young woman named Ashley MacMacmillan is haunting the darker reaches of the net in search of things even she does not fully understand. She finds what she thinks she wants in a virtual reality laboratory run by a wealthy but reclusive scientist, who is exploring his own darke
...more
ebook, 187 pages
Published October 31st 2014 by Smashwords (first published October 24th 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Needle and the Dungeon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Needle and the Dungeon

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-18
Average rating 3.86  · 
Rating details
 ·  7 ratings  ·  3 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Needle and the Dungeon
Bella Swann
Nov 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: erotica, thriller
An absolute Cornucopia of Kinky, BDSM scenes interwoven with Cyberpunk/Science Fiction Backdrop!

Wow! Fans of William Gibson, Robert Sawyer, and Neil Stephenson will be blown away by this story. It's like taking the best of parts of cyberpunk and interweaving a cornucopia of kinky, BDSM scenes using technology and VR throughout. I absolutely loved this novel! The sex scenes are smoking hot - some are pretty dark and intense but others are lighthearted and fun so there's something for everyone her
...more
J.B. Rogers
Feb 24, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2014-read
This is a generally well-written blend of obsession, addiction, kinky BDSM, philosophical explorations of artificial intelligence, and a tender love story. I do have some quibbles about a few technical aspects of the virtual reality rigs at the center of the work, but if you can set that aside, the underlying story is quite good. The action is intense, and you'll want a rig of your own.

There are very few syntax problems, and I've sent the ones I did find to the author.

(Disclosure: While I have b
...more
Michael Dalton
Oct 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: my-books
This is one of my favorite books, but it is definitely not for everyone. A great deal of it takes place inside a virtual reality system (the titular Needle), and a lot of what goes on in there is on the extreme side. If you have the stomach for it, I can promise you an intense read.
Mikey
rated it it was ok
Jan 13, 2016
TF
rated it liked it
Jun 22, 2016
Blake
rated it liked it
Apr 10, 2016
Dakota
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2017
Sophie
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2014
Karen Dillon
marked it as to-read
Oct 30, 2015
Toni
added it
Apr 25, 2016
Ângelo
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2016
Eric Ingraham
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2017
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2017
Jay Paluzzi
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2018
Boxfox
added it
Jun 04, 2019
Bill Toomy
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2019
Navin Gobardhan
marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
111 followers
Michael Dalton is a professional journalist and editor.

Michael wrote his first piece of fiction in third grade, for which he was immediately accused of plagiarism by his teacher. Since then, he has been writing more or less steadily, interrupted only by occasional demands of work and family.

Michael lives with his family and multiple pets in Southern California.

News & Interviews

In most historical romances, love and marriage go together like...well, a horse and carriage. But what if the girl part of the girl-meets-boy...
24 likes · 15 comments