Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Muse: A Pride and Prejudice Variation” as Want to Read:
The Muse: A Pride and Prejudice Variation
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Muse: A Pride and Prejudice Variation

by
4.07  ·  Rating details ·  320 ratings  ·  57 reviews
Elizabeth Bennet, the newest corps de ballet dancer at Ballet Theater of New York, dreams of rising through the prestigious company’s ranks to become a prima ballerina. When she’s cast in superstar choreographer William Darcy’s newest work, she believes she’s one step closer to realizing her dream—until she meets him.

William Darcy, the former dance legend and ballet bad bo
...more
Kindle Edition, 298 pages
Published December 9th 2014 by Meryton Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Muse, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Muse

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  320 ratings  ·  57 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Nissa | Of Pens and Pages Book Blog
This review was originally posted on Of Pens and Pages.

The Muse, one of the first ever modern P&P stories I've ever read, paved the way for my obsession with modern P&P retellings. You don't have to read P&P to appreciate this gem. It works perfectly as a stand-alone contemporary romance.

A story of pride and prejudice in the world of ballet, The Muse stars Elizabeth Bennet, a corps de ballet dancer at the New York Ballet theater, and William Darcy, a blue-blooded, renowned ballet pro
...more
SueBee★bring me an alpha!★


A modern day Pride and Prejudice in the world of ballet!

Stand-alone
Blurb:
Elizabeth Bennet, the newest corps de ballet dancer at Ballet Theater of New York, dreams of rising through the prestigious company’s ranks to become a prima ballerina. When she’s cast in superstar choreographer William Darcy’s newest work, she believes she’s one step closer to realizing her dream—until she meets him.

William Darcy, the former dance legend and ballet bad boy, is a jaded perfectionist whom dancers both fear
...more
Ceri
This review was first published on Babblings of a Bookworm: http://babblingsofabookworm.blogspot....

Having seen wonderful reviews for this book I was really excited to read it. It’s an updated version of ‘Pride & Prejudice’ set in the world of ballet. Here, William Darcy is the former principal dancer of the New York Ballet Theater who has come back to the company as a choreographer. He is talented, of New York ‘aristocracy’, rich, gorgeous, and breathtakingly arrogant. Elizabeth Bennet is a
...more
Ahnya
Elizabeth and her older sister Jane are corps de ballet dancers at Ballet Theater NY. They have been cast in the former dancer now turned choreographer Mr. Darcy. Elizabeth is not a typical looking ballet dancer, but Mr. Darcy sees something in her dancing that he is looking for, and uses her for his choreography even though she is not a soloist. The principal dancer and sister to the director Caroline Bingley really doesn't like that.

This book is like the movie Center Stage meets Pride and P
...more
Katrin
What a wonderful book. Full of sparks, emotions, fun.
Such fun to search for all the P&P-characters and how the author has translated them into modern - very well done, in my opinion!
This is going on my favourites list!
Sara
May 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: jaff, k-unlimited
There is a lot to love in this modern tale. I enjoy dance romances and this did not disappoint. The angst and chemistry between Darcy and Elizabeth is great. Even if you don't know anything about the ballet moves you still feel the tension and the angst oozing off the pages. Fellow reviewers have done a good job explaining the plot so i will not do so here. I will just say that I was transported into this world and loved it. I never wanted it to end.

In fact, the reason this is not rated higher
...more
J. W. Garrett
“Dance is the hidden language of the soul” Martha Graham

I checked Amazon’s reviews to see how readers were responding to the story. There were 42 reviews, 67% were 5-stars, and 26% were given 4-stars. That’s pretty darned good. I just want to say, I love the cover it is most excellent. I can just see her as Elizabeth Bennet. Good choice.

This was an Austenesque type of story. It was a Pride and Prejudice variation and it was placed in the world of dance. There were names similar to the P&P n
...more
Erika
An exciting modern P&P

Jessica Evans is a new author to me. I had seen this being posted on a fanfiction site, but never got to read it until now. This is just another modern P&P that keeps knocking away at my dislike of modern P&Ps. Oh, I still love my Regency P&Ps better, though more authors are writing more tolerable moderns lately.

In The Muse, Elizabeth is the newest corps de ballet dancer at Ballet Theater of New York. She has idolized William Darcy since she was younger, an
...more
Candy
Nov 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Wow! I loved The Muse! This modern Pride and Prejudice variation is set in New York City, where Elizabeth is a dancer at the Ballet Theater of New York, and Darcy is a choreographer for the ballet.

Darcy is harsh and curt as he corrects his dancers. He wasn't there to make friends, and the dancers should appreciate his attention. Elizabeth has caught his eye, and he is quick to instruct her. She awakes his creative juices, and soon, unknown to her, she becomes his muse. Of course, this doesn't s
...more
Monique V
Oct 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book is perfect for all pride and prejudice fans!

I am a big pride and prejudice fan, so when I see anything that says pride and prejudice retelling I read it! This book was so cute and i love that o could tell how both books corelate. I loved this modern take on it and respect it showed towards the original!
Miss Rail
Another GREAT Pride & Prejudice's retelling recommended to me by Nissa!!
Here's her awesome review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
If you're looking for P&P retellings definitely check her shelves! ;D
Christina
Feb 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved loved loved! Fabulous modern reimagining. Hot. Clever. Likeable.
Sophia
I was excited to read this book for two reasons- new to me author and new to me setting. I was curious about a contemporary ballet setting.

Now before I dive right in with my thoughts on the book, I will say that a reader doesn't have to already have read Pride and Prejudice even though this is a retelling. If you read contemporary romance, then this would be a good possibility read. I should also say that you can be fairly ignorant about dance (like moi) and get along just fine as the book ment
...more
Maria
William Darcy is a dance legend. Despite his career ended abruptly after a knee injury, he is still considered a great artist, and also earned respect and admiration thanks to his work as a choreographer. However, he feels he cannot show all of his emotions through the dancers that work with him, as if something held him back. Until he meets Elizabeth Bennet. If on one hand she entices him with her strong personality and alluring traits, on the other they seem to have no chance at having any rel ...more
Christina
Feb 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Christina by: Austenprose
I've read Darcy as a pirate. A lawyer. A vampire. A werewolf. But a ballet dancer? I wasn't sure when I first read about this online years ago but soon bought into the premise. Easily. And "The Muse"The Muse: A Pride and Prejudice Variation has since become one of my favorite modern adaptations of "Pride & Prejudice".

This story, based on Jane Austen's masterpiece, is sensual, thoughtful and fresh. Evans thoroughly fleshes out the Austen characters we love and makes them work for this adaptat
...more
Susan
Feb 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent modern adaptation of P&P. I loved every minute of it. I don't know much about the world of ballet, but I've heard from several people who do and they loved the book, too. Fresh, original, compelling.
Abigail Bok
Apr 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ballet is not my thing. In fact, my sweetie once asked if he could get me tickets to the ballet for my birthday, and I told him that ballet tickets would be a gift to himself; if he wanted to give me a present, he should buy me tickets to a Lakers game! That’s my notion of ballet.

So it’s not surprising that some aspects of The Muse went right over my head. I can’t picture the different moves, or even really understand the emotions they are supposed to evoke. What I was able to understand was the
...more
Stacy
Jul 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved this one! The ending felt a little rushed, but that might also be because I didn't want it to end.
NicoleLynn (PopCrunchBoom)
Dec 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: books-i-own
*This review was previously published on my blog: PopCrunchBoom Books*


Need to Know
1. Modern-day retelling of Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen focused on a aspiring soloist for the Ballet Theater of New York, Elizabeth Bennet, and a former dance legend turned choreographer, William Darcy.


2. Both Elizabeth and Darcy are fresh takes on the classical characters with a great look into backstage ballet companies. Darcy shows more aspirations and insecurities through his POV narration–making him mo
...more
Warmisunqu Austen
Nov 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reseñas

-------------------| Blog | Facebook | Twitter |-------------------


Chassés, pliés, tendus, battement, jetés, frappes... son parte del lenguaje usado en esta adaptación moderna, con un sinnúmero de movimientos de piernas y brazos en una coreografía. De todas las adaptaciones modernas que llevo leyendo, que no son muchas, es la que más me ha gustado, de momento. Siento debilidad por la música clásica y por las actuaciones de ballet, aunque soy una simple aficionada, ha sido un deleite esta histori
...more
Natalie
Dec 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
I loved this book. It is one of the best P&P stories I have read this year. It is a flawless blend of brilliant new ideas and everything I loved from the original Jane Austen. It made me laugh out loud with shocked, horrified humor more than once, but also made me sigh at some lovely moments of pure sweetness.

This is a very modern, no-holds-barred take on Darcy and Elizabeth, to warn those who prefer the more traditional adaptations. Elizabeth gets drunk and does stupid things, Darcy appears
...more
EM Clark
Oct 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved this! But there better be a damn sequel!

The ending really didn’t satisfy me. That’s a good thing though! I loved this so much, I needed to see what would happen!! I mean, they’re Lizzy and Darcy! I need some solid, no angry Lizzy stomping out on the relationship commitment. The ballet was beautiful and had me watching male ballet dancers on YouTube, much to my husband’s chagrin. (You should too when you read this, because the strength of those men paired with elegance is just jaw-dropping!
...more
Noémy
Jul 04, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition



Dude, I love finding out little gems such as this book completely by accident; I'm relatively easy when it comes to P&P fanfiction and/or modern retellings : I buy them all. But sometimes if I'm lucky i'll find ones that will stay with me for a long while; ones that I go back to from time to time with barely hidden pleasure (which, let's be honest, is quite often. When i'm in a funk, a good dose of old Darcy will do the trick). The Muse for me, was such a book. And I'm so very glad I discove
...more
Beau North
Jun 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Absolutely could not put this book down! I read until I was late for work, and it was all I thought about all day. Funny, sexy, charming, evocative, and so real! I know nothing about ballet but by the end of this book I could feel my calves aching and blisters on my toes. Jessica Evans plunks the reader down right in the middle of this world of dance and yet the reader, even an uninitiated one like me, never falters. Wonderfully updated variation from a truly gifted voice.
Margie's Must Reads
Why did I quit ballet at age 6?!?!? I could be dancing for Darcy at the Ballet Theater of New York right now!!!! I loved this book sooooo much!!
http://margiesmustreads.com/?p=565
K-Heart-Books
Dec 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
Read as fan fiction......it's a good one!
Meredith (Austenesque Reviews)
It is a new and exciting season at Ballet Theater of New York – Elizabeth Bennet is starting out in her newly acquired position as a corps de ballet dancer, her sister Jane Bennet is in a budding relationship with the Associate Artistic Director of BTNY Charles Bingley, and the famed prodigal son of BTNY, William Darcy, is returning this season to choreograph a new ballet. While happy to be cast in the illustrious William Darcy’s ballet, Elizabeth Bennet bristles at his practice of barking corre ...more
Sheila Majczan
Feb 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I read that this book was being read by Anji on Meredith's blog about Austen Admirers so decided to buy and read it. I purchased it late yesterday and could barely put it down at 1 AM today. Finished it today and loved it.

I am not a dancer and so did not have the ability to interpret the moves/steps described in the various performances in this story, but even with this deficit I was able to understand the competitiveness, the politics, the funding, etc. in this world of ballet. And I found it f
...more
Evil Mommy
Jan 10, 2015 rated it liked it
Somewhat interesting, but lacks something

It's obvious that the author has seen the movie "Center Stage". I also picked up some notes of "All That Jazz" and/or "A Chorus Line". It sort of works. Choreographers tend to give off that pompous vibe naturally so putting Mr. Darcy in there makes sense. Caroline as a prima ballerina makes sense. Elizabeth as someone so concerned about what others think and being kind of bleh and unhappy throughout the book does not make sense. There was no wit to her. T
...more
Madenna U
This is a modern Pride and Prejudice based in the world of ballet. Jane and Elizabeth are sisters who are both in the corps of the Ballet Theater of New York. They meet Darcy who comes to town to choreography a new show and are not quite sure what to make of him. Even though Elizabeth isn't the typical ballerina or maybe because she isn't, Darcy is drawn to her. The reader will recognize the cannon plot line as our dear couple negotiates through their feelings. The author did an amazing job work ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
  • Longbourn's Songbird
  • Boots and Backpacks: Pride & Prejudice on the Appalachian Trail, Roughly
  • 1932
  • The Journey
  • Lucky 13: Matchmaking and Misunderstandings
  • Echoes of Pemberley
  • He Taught Me to Hope (Darcy and the Young Knight's Quest #1)
  • The Darcys of Derbyshire: A Pride & Prejudice Variation
  • The Red Chrysanthemum
  • The Coming of Age of Elizabeth Bennet
  • Fitzwilliam Darcy: An Honourable Man
  • Pirates and Prejudice
  • Bluebells in the Mourning
  • When They Fall in Love: Darcy and Elizabeth in Italy
  • The Houseguest A Pride and Prejudice Vagary
  • Pride's Prejudice
  • Promises
  • Sketching Mr. Darcy: A Pride and Prejudice Alternative Journey
38 followers
Jessica Evans cut her writer’s teeth in various fan fiction forums starting at fifteen. Although she discovered Jane Austen’s novels as a college sophomore, she didn’t begin writing Austenesque until several years later. The Muse: A Pride and Prejudice Variation is her debut novel.

Jessica teaches sixth grade English in a New York City public school. In her spare time, she reads a lot of romance,
...more