Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “UnConventional” as Want to Read:
UnConventional
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

UnConventional

by
3.61  ·  Rating details ·  72 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
Santiago Durán walks straight out of Di Monroe’s dreams--crutches and all--into her heart. There’s only one problem: she’s already married.

Di’s parents died suddenly when she was nineteen, leaving her shattered and grateful for Stephen’s rescue. Over the past ten years, her identity has faded into her husband’s logical, controlling shadow, but with familiarity lies comfort
...more
ebook, 279 pages
Published October 14th 2014 by Loose Id (first published October 13th 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about UnConventional, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about UnConventional

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
He110Ne0
**Full disclosure, I actually talk to the author of this book regularly on Twitter and consider her an Internet friend. I did purchase my copy of this book, and I'm hoping my review doesn't cost me an Internet friend but I promise to be fair and civil in my likes and dislikes.**

UnConventional is a book about finding love and what makes you happy. For the main character, Di (pronounced Dee, not Die) this happens while she is unhappily married to a man who, for lack of a better word, is a dick. At
...more
Katie
Oct 25, 2014 rated it did not like it
I had really been looking forward to reading this novel, because I am a fan of stories involving love interests who are disabled. Unfortunately, I found this one to be disappointing.  I should have been forewarned there were problems when the first few pages contained a bunch of acronyms that immediately left me confused along with somewhat excessive and dull work talk.

The main problem lay in the protagonist Di.  She was intensely unlikable, rotating between doormat and cheat with a little bit o
...more
ItsAboutTheBook
Feb 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2shay
Review can be read at It's About The Book

I had a little trouble connecting with Nadine Monroe. Even from the blurb, I knew she was going to hit a trigger of mine; I don’t like cheaters. Sheer curiosity about Santiago Duran and the disease that had him on crutches is the sole reason I read this book, knowing I probably wouldn’t like the heroine.
I was wrong. I liked Di (pronounced Dee, not Die) almost immediately. She lost her parents when she was nineteen years old. Her future husband, Stephe
...more
Serena Fritz
Jan 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Love love love

This book was wonderful. Read it trust me you won't be disappointed.

This book does have cheating but I honestly never thought she was a cheaper she shouldn't have been in her marriage.

This book does touch on a few delicate subjects so be warned
Miriam
***weak spineless selfish annoying heroine****

I am a big fan of disabled hero books. If the heroine, Di, didn’t annoy me so much throughout most of the book with her stupid insecurities, constant blushing/flushing, and music (did I need to know what song she was listening to throughout the whole book? It felt like I was reading a freaking musical or something!!! So annoying,,,,,). I would’ve rated this book a 5 star read.

Di grew up in a loving household. Her parents got killed when she was 19.
...more
Lori
Jan 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Christina Quintana
Oct 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
I don't usually read romance, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was impressed with the depth of story that accompanied the vivid sexual play of this novel. The first portion of the book was sheer anticipation; Di's battle between her attraction to Santiago and loyalty to her troubled marriage all too palpable.

Aleman paints an incredibly vivid character in Santiago Duran and a fascinating picture of the sexuality of disability. As a New Orleanian, I was particularly drawn to the accurate de
...more
Molly Mirren
May 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Beautifully written, almost poetic at times. And the hero had such a lovely soul and was so passionate and sexy. Loved the realistic portrayal of his disability. This author has a lot of talent, and I look forward to reading more from her in the future.
Millie Nielsen
Jan 31, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great Book

I enjoyed the interaction between the main characters and the fact that it was the female who was not single. I would have liked her ex husband to meet Diego at some point and to know how she handled being pregnant.
Anna
Nov 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
First time reading this author; what a find!
This book will definitely be read again; the ending could have been longer though it was kind of perfect like this.
Lyn
This book was a very frustrating read because of the annoying female character (who doesn’t deserve to be referred to as a heroine). If she wasn’t flushing or blushing, she was being selfish, needy and crying. Honestly she didn’t deserve, Diego, the hero in this story. He had his own problems, yet he was always consoling her, always doing for her. He even listened to her crappy music, which I found the constant reference to in this story ANNOYING. Really, I can’t express how self-absorbed, annoy ...more
Radhive
Dec 15, 2014 rated it it was ok
Just go and read He110ne0 review
Natasha Jackson
Nov 20, 2014 rated it did not like it
I love books with disabled heroes. I just could not get into this book. I really did not like the heroine. She was cheater and I couldn't sympathize. I couldn't see her husband being this bad person described. It seemed like the author was trying to make home horrible just to make the heroine look good. He was out working not cheating on her. He had his stupid moments especially about the new job but could have been solved by the heroine standing up for herself years ago. It was made to seem wha ...more
K
rated it liked it
Oct 28, 2014
Leticia
rated it it was amazing
Jul 23, 2015
Maria
rated it liked it
Jul 14, 2015
Rhonda
rated it really liked it
Nov 28, 2015
Lisa
rated it really liked it
Mar 06, 2015
Laura
rated it it was ok
May 02, 2017
Mona Saleh
rated it liked it
Apr 30, 2018
Brittany Robinson
rated it really liked it
Apr 27, 2016
Sue Payne
rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2016
Jane Wheeler
rated it really liked it
Sep 14, 2015
Kate80
rated it it was amazing
Jul 07, 2015
Ines
rated it really liked it
Oct 18, 2014
Nicole Vallotton
rated it it was ok
Jun 27, 2016
Pam Lunney
rated it it was amazing
Mar 06, 2016
S
rated it liked it
Mar 04, 2015
Melissa Bennett
rated it really liked it
Oct 27, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
14 followers
Chie Alemán has lived all over the US, though in many ways, New Orleans will always be home. Her work explores themes of family, personal responsibility, and identity, often pulling from her cultural background as the daughter of Cuban immigrants. She is particularly drawn to portraying unique characters, who, despite their disease or disability, are still interesting and sympathetic individuals d ...more
More about Chie Alemán
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“You can't fall in love with someone in a day."
"Romeo and Juliet did," Melanie says, tugging me toward the exit.
"Yeah, and then they killed themselves a few hours later. Thanks for the pep talk, Mel.”
3 likes
“Sometimes the only thing keeping you from happiness is yourself.” 2 likes
More quotes…