Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Heaven's Prey (Redemption's Edge, #1)” as Want to Read:
Heaven's Prey (Redemption's Edge, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Heaven's Prey

(Redemption's Edge #1)

by
4.22  ·  Rating details ·  55 ratings  ·  23 reviews
A grieving woman is abducted by a serial killer--and it may be the answer to her prayers.

Despite her husband's objections, 40-something Ruth Warner finds healing through prayer for Harry Silver, the serial killer who brutally raped and murdered her niece. When a kidnapping-gone-wrong pegs her as his next victim, Harry claims that by destroying the one person who'd pray for
...more
Paperback, Second edition, 318 pages
Published September 24th 2014 by Janet Sketchley (first published October 28th 2013)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Heaven's Prey, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Heaven's Prey

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.22  · 
Rating details
 ·  55 ratings  ·  23 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Paula Vince
Nov 26, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ruth Warner accepts a challenge to pray for Harry Silver, the man who viciously raped and murdered her beloved niece, Susan. While this helps ease her torturous fury and grief, Ruth's husband, Tony, cannot understand why she would pray for such a monster. One evening, circumstances force Ruth face to face with Harry, as his next intended victim.
Whoa, as a fellow contemporary fiction author, I like to think I write books that deal with challenging subjects, but Janet Sketchley has raised the bar
...more
Sara Goff
Jan 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I have never read a more profound message of forgiveness and God's unconditional love than in Heaven's Prey by Janet Sketchley. Imagine God putting you face to face with a potentially psychopathic serial killer. You have no idea where you are, other than in some musty-smelling cabin, deep within unfamiliar woods. You have one weapon: prayer. Can you look evil in the eyes and stay calm? Can you maintain faith as the days pass that God is hearing your cries for help?

Harry Silver, the man who bruta
...more
Steph Nickel
Feb 03, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: novels
Janet Sketchley has done an amazing job on her first novel. I want the novels I read to evoke an emotional response and Heaven's Prey delivers - big time!
Elma Schemenauer
Apr 18, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This novel highlights the power of God over pornography, abuse of women, and evil in general.

The main character, Ruth Warner, is a somewhat boring forty-something Christian who persistently prays that God will save Harry Silver, a rapist and killer of young women including her niece. One evening, as Ruth returns from a prayer meeting, she's mistakenly abducted by none other than Harry instead of his intended victim, a dishy blond.

What follows is a long psychological, physical, and spiritual bat
...more
Janice Dick
Ruth Warner, a middle-aged woman whose niece was brutally murdered, has been praying for the murderer in an attempt to find peace. The perpetrator, a well-known racecar driver named Harry Silver, has become a serial killer, and is about to claim another victim in a convenience store when Ruth unknowingly walks in. In the chaos, Ruth is mistakenly abducted. During the harrowing hours that follow, the characters face situations they hadn’t anticipated, as the story of Harry’s past is revealed and ...more
Violet
Dec 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The storm that 46-year-old Ruth Warner braves to attend her weekly prayer meeting is a perfect opening to Heaven’s Prey, a debut novel by Nova Scotia native Janet Sketchley. Ruth’s husband Tony can’t understand why she would go out on such a night to pray for Harry Silver, the serial killer who abducted, then butchered their beautiful niece Susan.

But Ruth’s nightmares of Silver’s destiny without salvation drive her, especially now that he has escaped from prison and other Susans may be in dange
...more
Valerie Comer
Oct 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What if your niece had been brutally murdered by a serial killer? The only way Ruth Warner can get any peace at all is by praying for Harry Silver, the famous race-car driver turned killer. At least he's behind bars…until he escapes.

Ruth stops at a convenience store on her way home from prayer meeting only to muddle into a robbery in progress. Before she realizes what's happened, she's kidnapped and in Harry Silver's grasp. He's furious that she interrupted him—he'd pegging the young cashier as
...more
Renee
Dec 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Janet Sketchley takes us where we don’t want to go, only to shine the Light of Hope on a life without none. Heaven’s Prey focuses on healing… a woman’s heart and a man’s soul.

Instead of the criminal, the author explores the man, both the dark side and the bright. She takes the reader down intricate paths of horror and elation. One moment, you’ll find yourself inside the mind of a madman, the next? A charming friend. Be careful, you may just like Harry.

On the other side, a woman’s grief’s all-con
...more
Eric Wright
Sketchley writes with rare power the kind of book that I dislike reading, a book about horror and serial killing. And yet her plot, her characterization, the skill of her writing pulled me on to the finish. Don't read this before you go to bed!
Mary Hosmar
Ruth Warner is on her way home from a prayer meeting her husband, Tony did not want her to attend. These prayer meetings, and especially praying for convicted serial killer, Harry Silver, where threatening the harmony of their marriage and, as far as Tony was concerned, not in the least necessary. Now Ruth wants to bring a peace offering and stops at the local variety store to pick up some chips. What could possibly be less threatening than that?
Janet Sketchley soon lets us know.
Heaven’s Prey b
...more
Snitchcat
Nov 07, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A good story and good writing trump all.

What would you do if you were kidnapped by your niece's rapist and murderer?

Ruth Warner soon finds herself asking the same question.

Her niece was raped and murdered. She finds peace in prayer, asking God to help this criminal. Then she learns that he has escaped prison and is on the run. Every prayer she has asked God to help him. And His answer is to deliver Ruth as hostage to this rapist/murderer.

This is a story from two viewpoints: Two characters str
...more
Mark
Feb 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I ran across this author on a Facebook group and thought her books sounded good. I commented, and that comment led to an offer to review a couple of her books. This is the first book in the Redemption Edge Series.

I believe this is the author's first book, and it is a great debut novel. The book was very suspenseful with a great Christian message woven throughout it. Although fictional, it does show how God can work in anything, even the kidnapping at the hand of a cruel rapist and killer.

The
...more
Lynn  Davidson
Aug 19, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
This was a novel hard for me to read but also hard to put out of mind. I had to know how it ended, and not only in order to write a review.

In Heaven’s Prey by Janet Sketchley we meet Ruth, the main female character who is still mourning the loss of her niece, a young woman who had been brutally attacked and murdered. We meet Tony, Ruth’s husband who refuses to accept the God to Whom his wife prays … for the killer! In a dramatic turn of events we meet the killer, Harry, who had escaped from pris
...more
Marji Laine
Mar 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: suspense, christian
I couldn't put this book down because it was so intense. And yet I had to close my eyes from time to time because of that very intensity.

Time and again, I had to stop and wipe my eyes. A normal reaction when I'm reading about the power of God and the presence of His redemption. Janet Sketchley has an amazing talent for drawing readers into the story. And once pulled in, it was easy to stay. I will say that there are a number of lengthy flashbacks through the middle of the story. They didn't both
...more
H.L. Wegley
Mar 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A gripping suspense story that peers into the heart of God

Beware! There are possible spoilers in this review.
Janet Sketchley has written a well-researched and well-written suspense novel, emphatically Christian in content and message. The message is that God’s desire for justice is balanced by His grace and mercy such that no person is beyond redemption. Sometimes God’s people reject this aspect of His heart. Forgetting how much He has forgiven them, they often judge others as being beyond redem
...more
Kel
May 04, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
This is a very well written suspense/thriller that feels as though it has been thoroughly researched.

The author's ability to weave a complex story of faith and redemption is admirable.

Due to the themes in the story I found it very hard to read certain parts of the book. This had nothing to do with the quality of the scenes, just my own personal comfort zone.

This is definitely a book that makes you take a look at yourself and that makes you question what you would do in a similar situation and wh
...more
Lauren
Apr 12, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book touches on a lot of sensitive areas, rape, murder, God and overall humanity. Harry didn't have the best childhood, but starts to turn his life around and make something of himself. But instead he chooses another path filled with destruction, and one woman's faith, Ruth, help sets him free. I enjoyed the story line, it was fast moving with lots of twists and turns. My only struggle was with how quickly Harry accepted God, after everything he did and stood for I expected more of a strugg ...more
Yvonne Anderson
Apr 11, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Beginning with the title (does heaven prey on people? is there a play-on-words going on here with prey and pray?) and continuing through to the last page, this book is seriously thought-provoking.

If you’re looking for a nice light read to help you unwind, keep browsing. But if you want a story that will make your heart race and your mind reel, click “Buy” right now and don’t look back.

This is one book you won’t put it down and forget about when you’re through.
Carol
Jan 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book had me from the first page. I intended to read it slowly, but it was hard to put down. I thought it was very brave of the author to create an antagonist who was so very evil. This is a powerful story of faith and redemption, reminding us that God even loves the most vile sinners, and that forgiveness is as much for us as it is for those who have wronged us.
Lena
Jun 05, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A good read on having absolute faith and trust in God, believing in HIM, and doing what He asks, even if it's taking the "hard" path or when it seems He's left you. I get annoyed with the overly goody-goody goodness of some fiction Christian female characters to the point of quitting the book. Though other parts of the book are certainly fiction, the heroine was likeable and honest.
Elaine Stock
Dec 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was one of the best novels I've read. I loved how the author wasn't timid to show the faith beliefs of characters as well as the realistic, gripping suspense.
Amy
Sep 30, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read the first chapter in this book on a blog a few months back and couldn't get it out of my head. I was lucky to be able to get it through my library.
This book starts fast paced! Ruth, a middle-aged woman, gets kidnapped! Her kidnapper is no random person. He is none other than Harry Silver, the same serial killer/rapist that kidnapped and murdered her niece several years ago. As a recently escaped felon, he is bent on satisfying his evil desires one more time before his flight to freedom.

On
...more
Brandi
Mar 26, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
she is kidnapped by the same serial killer that killed her niece. It is violent at times and has some vague descriptions of what he did to his victims. I liked the ending but it was too violent for me to give a high recommendation.
NATALYA
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2018
jill feltner
rated it it was amazing
Jun 07, 2014
Dorene Meyer
rated it really liked it
Mar 16, 2014
Seanclary
rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2015
Sharon Lavy
rated it it was amazing
Aug 25, 2015
Ginny Jaques
rated it really liked it
Sep 22, 2014
Marcia Lee Laycock
rated it really liked it
Oct 21, 2013
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book Promotions: Christian suspense 35% off 1 1 Nov 17, 2016 01:19PM  
Christian Readers: 35% off for Kobo 1 4 Nov 17, 2016 09:28AM  
Bonus Features 1 1 Apr 12, 2016 09:52AM  
Contemporary Chri...: Oct 21-21 99cent Christian Suspense Novel 1 8 Oct 21, 2014 11:13AM  
Christian Book Gi...: Heaven's Prey by Janet Sketchley ends October 3 1 9 Sep 29, 2014 09:25AM  
Goodreads Authors...: Christian Suspense Giveaway 1 2 Sep 27, 2014 09:13AM  
Book Promotions: 99cent Christian Suspense Novel 1 2 May 17, 2014 09:19AM  
  • Almost Sleighed (Maple Syrup Mysteries, #3)
  • Deceptive (On the Run, #3)
  • What Happened on Beale Street (Secrets of the South Mysteries #2)
  • Blind Trust (Port Aster Secrets, #2)
  • Love on the Range
  • Veil of Secrets
  • What Follows After
  • Raspberries and Vinegar (A Farm Fresh Romance #1)
  • Crossing Values (Crossing #1)
  • Trial by Twelve (A Murder in the Mountains, #2)
  • Serpent of Moses (Jack Hawthorne Adventure #2)
  • Persecuted: I Will Not Be Silent
  • Something Buried, Something Blue (The Mac 'n' Ivy Mysteries, Book #1)
  • Carolina Reckoning
  • Cleansed by Fire
  • Tailspin (Mountain Cove #5)
  • Dead Man's Switch (Dead Man's Switch #1)
  • Secret Christmas Twins (Christmas Twins #2)
47 followers
Janet Sketchley is an Atlantic Canadian writer who likes her fiction with a splash of mystery or adventure and a dash of Christianity. Why leave faith out of our stories if it’s part of our lives? You can find Janet online at janetsketchley.ca.

Random facts: Janet's super-power is untangling yarn and Slinkies™; there are over 50 varieties of tea in her house; she's Canadian but she worked at the bu
...more

Other books in the series

Redemption's Edge (3 books)
  • Secrets and Lies (Redemption's Edge #2)
  • Without Proof (Redemption's Edge, #3)
“Somebody’d better pray for him, don’t you think? He IS a lost soul.
~Pastor John Linton”
0 likes
“I don’t want God's forgiveness. And He’s not getting mine.
~Harry Silver”
0 likes
More quotes…