Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Moonlight on Butternut Lake (Butternut Lake Trilogy)” as Want to Read:
Moonlight on Butternut Lake (Butternut Lake Trilogy)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Moonlight on Butternut Lake

(Butternut Lake #3)

by
3.87  ·  Rating details ·  1,137 ratings  ·  140 reviews
Reid Ford vivait à cent à l’heure, jusqu’à ce terrible accident de voiture. Désormais, le corps brisé, il habite un chalet isolé au bord du lac de Butternut, où ses nuits sont hantées par d’épouvantables cauchemars. Comment ne pas s’aigrir dans ces conditions ? Odieux, Reid voit défiler avec indifférence les aides-soignantes qu’il terrorise... Jusqu’au jour où se présente ...more
Kindle Edition, 387 pages
Published May 12th 2015 by William Morrow Paperbacks
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Moonlight on Butternut Lake, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Moonlight on Butternut Lake

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.87  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,137 ratings  ·  140 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Susan
I love visiting Butternut Lake. It's like being with family in our lake cabin for summer vacation. I love the lake community and how they watch out for each other. MOONLIGHT ON BUTTERNUT LAKE deals with some very hard and life altering challenges. I found myself so wrapped up in Mila and Reid's lives and really wanted to see them get over their pasts and learn to be happy again. Mary McNear has been on my author radar since the very first book in this series. She knows how to engage the reader r ...more
Chris Conley
Jul 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I would like to live near Butternut Lake.
Anna
Apr 03, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the third installment of the Butternut Lake series. Reid is suffering from injuries from a tragic car accident. He is surly and uncooperative, wishing to be left alone. Having already scared off two home health care aides, his brother Walker is getting desperate for an aide that will stay. Mila, running, and in hiding from an abusive husband accepts the challenge. She relishes the solitude and isolation of the cabin on Butternut Lake. With time she learns not to jump and cower at every n ...more
Karyn Niedert
RELEASE DATE: April 22, 2015

RATING: 3 Stars Worth requesting at library or buying in paperback

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

AUDIENCE: Fans of Susan Wiggs, Sherryl Woods, and previous Mary McNear novels will enjoy “Moonlight on Butternut Lake”.

SERIES: Butternut Lake Trilogy

SUMMARY: Blurb from Edelweiss:

“From the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Up at Butternut Lake comes the third novel in the Butternut Lake series—a dazzling story of two wounded souls seizing a second chance a
...more
Raven Haired Girl
This book resembles a Sleeping with the Enemy vibe. Abused woman fleeing her violent husband. I enjoyed Mila, she’s a sweet likable character. I was disappointed this smart, sweet young lady fell for Brandon’s controlling and abusive temperament. He strikes her and yet she marries him complete with misgivings and overt abusive behavior. I wish McNear presented this aspect differently.

Reid, could there be a bigger example of a man baby? Yes, his accident was a traumatic event but enough with the
...more
Andrea Guy
Ah Butternut Lake, how I love thee! I'm really sad that we've reached the third book in this trilogy because I absolutely love these books. This is Mila and Reid's story. Fans of the series know Reid from the first book, Up At Butternut Lake.

This is really a story of two wounded souls who find each other.

I loved this book and I loved how we got to see Allie and Walker in this story. Mila has trust issues because of her last relationship, and why wouldn't she? But for some reason she trusts Reid.
...more
BJ
Took me a little while to finish this one, other books kept getting in the way! I am enjoying this series with 2 more to go (so far). This was Reid and Mila's story. Reid has been in a terrible accident and needs home care. Mila is running from an abusive husband and needs somewhere to hide out. I felt like I knew what was going to happen (a little bit Sleeping with the Enemy?) but I enjoyed it anyway.
Darcy
Aug 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
enjoyed following more residents of the Butternut Lake community!
Nicole
Aug 11, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another enjoyable installment in the Butternut series. Each book draws me in a little more. It will be interesting to see if there are more.
Marlene
Jun 09, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Originally published at Reading Reality

Butternut Lake is definitely second-chance lake. In the first book in the series, Up at Butternut Lake, both Walker and Allie get a second-chance at happy ever after in the wake of the loss of her husband in Afghanistan, and the death of his first child and the breakup of his first marriage.

In Butternut Summer, Jack and Caroline get a second chance at their marriage to each other. Jack is finally clean and sober and has grown into the man he should have bee
...more
Faye
Jun 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is my favorite so far. I loved Mila from page 1. Sweet girl so deserving of the life she got in the end. That boyfriend/husband of hers got his just dues! Again, I could not put this book down, I read until 4 am when I reached the end! I liked that the original characters were featured; we got to know Reid more and of course lovely Mila made her appearance. It might not be a real place but it seems so real the way Mary McNear describes it; you can picture yourself right there, enjoying the ...more
Barbara
Jul 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book sat on my shelf for some time. I normally read ebooks but didn’t want to take my tablet to the water park, so I grabbed this book. It hooked me from the start.

McNear definitely knows a lot about domestic violence. I was impressed with her accurate depiction of Mila and her relationship with Brandon, her abuser. I’m a domestic violence overcomer, and even though I got out of that relationship over 30 years ago, I related to every single thing Brandon did to try and keep Mila under her c
...more
Rachel
Jul 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: chick-lit
I love books like this. It’s cheesy and not overly complicated, but it’s the perfect type of summer read. I read the first book in the Butternut series but didn’t realize this was the third. You don’t need to have read any of them though. There are some repeat characters, but that’s it. I don’t think I missed anything plot-wise by not reading book 2. This is a cute romance/family drama set in a small town, so if that’s your thing, I recommend this!
Vickie
I enjoyed the third book in this series. Mila Jones is running from an abusive marriage and finds a HHA position far away from Minneapolis. Reid Ford is recovering from a life-threatening car accident at his brother's home on Butternut Lake. I enjoyed meeting up with Walker and Allie. Although the end was somewhat anticlimactic, the story did a great job with the anguish of PTSD as well as abuse.

Go Cards! L1C4!!
Pam
Aug 14, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mcls-audio, dnf
I listened to the audiobook; the narration was fine - clear, easy to understand. The Minnesotan accents were thankfully toned down from book 2 in the series. I did not finish the book because I found Reid such an unpleasant character that I gave up on it early on.
Marissa
Mar 05, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good story and attachment to characters is good. It was a fun, easy read that I enjoyed. Felt a bit like Hallmark wrapping up at the end with the lovey dovey ending, but sometimes girls need that, right? Lol
Carolyn
Feb 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio
Carrington Macduffie is one of the better audible readers. I chose this one following the first in the Butternut Lake series because it is such an easy listen and a sometimes I am in the mood for a predictable happy ending.
Anne O'Brien
Aug 02, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good read. Did not know when that I bought this book that it was a series. I would recommend this book.
Robin
Aug 11, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a simple, quick read. Even though I knew how the story would end at about 40 pages in, it really didn't matter, I still really enjoyed it. I guess I'm a sucker for a love story.
Deann Doolittle
Oct 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance
Great read! Love this series.
Elizabeth Meadows
I think this is my favorite book of the series so far!
Nancy
Nov 30, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good series
Margaret
Jul 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A rapid read, good characters we can root for. Reminiscent of a lighter-weight version of Me Before You.
Diane Sallans
Jun 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
this one had a good story - more of a romantic suspense than the others in the series.
Alice
May 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Interesting read, bit of suspense, like main character Mila, and her relationship with Heather. Easy read.
Academicsupport
Enjoyable novel in a great series. Read it quite a while ago.
Amanda Green
Mar 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
this maybe one of my all time favorite books. the suspense, romance, storyline...in love
Jill
Apr 29, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Meh
Sherri
Feb 07, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
predictable, but I wanted a book that didn't require any effort on my part, and this filled the bill
Beth Ralph
Nov 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really love the characters and setting if these books!
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Proof of Angels
  • Betting the Rainbow (Harmony, #7)
  • Last Chance Family (Last Chance, #8)
  • Twelve Nights (Blue Moon Lake, #1.5)
  • The Divorce Diet
  • The Cottage at Firefly Lake (Firefly Lake, #1)
  • Better Than Chocolate (Life in Icicle Falls, #1)
  • A Cold Creek Noel & A Very Crimson Christmas (The Cowboys of Cold Creek)
  • The Real Thing
  • The Cougar Club
  • 33 Valentines
  • How to Bake a Man
  • The Last To Know (Lakeview, #4)
  • The Matchmakers of Butternut Creek
  • Starting Over (Nugget, #4)
  • Wonderful You (Enright, #2)
See similar books…
203 followers
Mary McNear is the author of the New York Times and USA Today Bestseller Up at Butternut Lake, published by HarperCollins. Up at Butternut Lake was the first book in the Butternut Lake series. The second Book, Butternut Summer, is now available. The third novel in the Butternut Lake trilogy, Moonlight on Butternut Lake, will be published in May 2015. A novella, Butternut Lake: The Night Before Chr ...more

Other books in the series

Butternut Lake (6 books)
  • Up at Butternut Lake (The Butternut Lake Series, #1)
  • Butternut Summer (The Butternut Lake Series, #2)
  • The Space Between Sisters (The Butternut Lake, #4)
  • The Light In Summer (Butternut Lake #5)
  • The Secrets We Carried (Butternut Lake, #6)