Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “One Vote: Make Your Vote Heard” as Want to Read:
One Vote: Make Your Vote Heard
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

One Vote: Make Your Vote Heard

by
4.29  ·  Rating details ·  128 ratings  ·  27 reviews
Discover the True Power of the Ballot

The vast majority of Americans feel that our nation is moving in the wrong direction, but we feel powerless to do anything about it. Maybe, that’s why in the presidential election of 2012, more people did not vote than voted for either candidate. We, the people, must realize we hold the power through our one vote. If we do not exercise
...more
ebook, 112 pages
Published September 18th 2014 by Tyndale House Publishers (first published January 1st 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about One Vote, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about One Vote

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Kyle Nicholas
Mar 15, 2015 rated it did not like it
This book was outright wrong practically from page one. First of all, he claims that he showed up to a polling place just a few moments before closing and was turned away after the stroke of eight p.m. I worked as a poll book judge, one of the paid employees who worked for my county's election system. I know for a fact that poll judges CANNOT turn away a voter, even if she or he turns up at 7:59:59. If he or she demands to vote, tired as we are, we MUST allow the voter to vote. This author was r ...more
Larry Killion
May 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I have liked Dr. Ben Carson from the very first time I heard him speak at the Prayer Breakfast in Washington D.C. When he criticized the "Affordable Care Act" with Mr. Obama sitting only a few seats away from him, I thought to myself, this Dr. is a true patriot. The more I heard of him the more I liked him. When Americans all across the country started "clamoring" RUN BEN RUN, I joined in with them. His autobiography GIFTED HANDS is a must read (you should at least rent the movie). ONE VOTE is a ...more
Cyndie
Nov 23, 2014 rated it it was ok
Recommended to Cyndie by: Barnes and Noble
Shelves: own, non-fiction
A bit disappointed by this book frankly. I'd hoped it was a book explaining in a logical why each vote matters. Instead it largely consisted of a series of personal interpretations about what the founding fathers truly intended. Spoke as gospel about many things that are controversial and highly debatable. He belittles the difficulties of finding ways to vote if you have trouble getting an ID or getting off of work to vote. He describes FOX news as a unbiased news source. For so many of these re ...more
Wyatt Martinson
Jul 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Ben Carson gives good, practical advice on how to make your one vote count for elections whether they are at the local, state, or federal level. He also gives you websites to use to help you look at your politicians views, voting patterns, etc. and things that help you determine what and whose side your on when it comes to political issues
Callie
Oct 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2014
I would call this book a great guide for those who don't think voting is that big of a deal. Carson writes this book from a bipartisan perspective - he doesn't get into specific issues, but he goes over our system of government, and gives advice and resources on becoming an informed voter. This was a short, inspiring read, and I think it would be a perfect gift for new voters especially.
Christina
Oct 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Very concise and inspiring to see the importance of being educated in order to contribute to the democracy our nation was built on. I really enjoy Carson's value on education and passion for politics.
Nicholas Konz
Jan 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Loved it. I think everyone who loves this country should read it. It gives an excellent description of why our votes are important and how to inform ourselves to use that vote. I would recommend this book no matter where your political view is.
Kelly
Oct 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Brilliant!
Jeanna
Jul 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
Some good stuff no matter which way you lean politically, in my opinion.
Patrick
Aug 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
Simple, and straight to the point.
Talea
Great book to teach the importance of voting to middle schoolers and up. Love the resources listed to find information on politicians and current events.
SFC Timothy
Dr. Ben Carson honored the research performed by Alex de Tocqueville during the 1830's before this extraordinary author wrote his book, "Democracy in America". As Dr. Carson shared with us in his own book, "One Vote", this Alexis Tocqueville, a Roman Catholic Frenchman and 19th Century Philosopher from Paris France was extraordinarily inspired and impressed by the American People and its Founding Father's USE of BIBLES in every Public School to teach morals and values with amazing recognition of ...more
Summer
Nov 07, 2014 rated it really liked it
I got this on Election Day. I enjoy his general but honest take on our duty to vote. He gives some great, non-partisan references, webistes, etc. to check out your preferences, despite what you may think you are and then several websites that show you senators that believe similar view points. Which to me is genius for whoever created those websites.

Overall, the book was a good review to someone that has always voted and a smart plea to those who haven't or don't see the use, and/or are disillu
...more
Mr. Turner
Although Dr. Carson is running for President, this book was written before the campaign. It was a well crafted, easy-to-read/understand, quick read that does a great job of imploring American citizens to vote. What a wonderful right, freedom, and privilege we have to be able to vote for those that run our government. Government often feels like a big machine that is under no one's control, but Dr. Carson clearly makes the case that our vote counts and is what we exercise to make changes. If you ...more
Alisha Torres
Oct 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
A thoroughly clear and concise explanation of how to find your representatives and what questions you should be asking them, discover how they've voted, and how to find politicians whose values align with your own.

Every adult should read this for comprehension and then let their children read it. This is the best description of how we can again become an educated citizenry and civic minded. Our forefathers saw that our participation in local politics is where real democracy occurred. This book w
...more
Kimberly Blackadar
Sep 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book inspires the reader to make an educated decision when exercising his right to vote, and therefore, would make a great addition to social studies classrooms across America. As someone who has read several of Dr. Carson's books and follows him on social media, I was pleased with his recent release and his ability to write about American politics with a hopeful tone.
Timothy Werth
Nov 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Great little book. Gave me perspective and ideas for resources to look at before casting the ballot, as well as greater appreciation of our government structure. Dr. Carson takes a common-sense approach-- chapter 2 is essentially urging the reader to read often in order to become a more intelligent, critical voter.
Melanie
Dec 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
A very good book! It tells of the importance of your one vote and how every America that can should make their voice heard by voting. And do your research. Don't vote blindly or take just listen to what the media says. Go to the candidates' websites and read their policies. :)
Michael Eickhoff
Feb 22, 2015 rated it really liked it
A short and to the point book from Ben Carson. Doesn't take sides - just lays out a thoughtful perspective on the history and importance of voting. Great reviews on helpful websites to further educate yourself as a voter.
Kathi Salter
Sep 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
Reminds us the importance of our "one vote" and how we can, collectively with our one vote, make a difference. Good book and good man!
Joan
Oct 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
Excellent book.
Megan
Mar 31, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A great, little book! It makes you realize how important your vote can be and why you should never not vote. Definitely something I recommend to all Americans, or anyone who votes similarly.
Pam
May 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book is useful for any voter, young or old. The author recommends ways to educate yourself on candidates and their stance on issues. Voter registration and voting by mail is also discussed.
Kelsey
Jan 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This is a handy little tool, especially with this being an election year.
Diana Coe
Sep 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Easy read with some good insights on voting and becoming more educated with website recommendations for becoming more informed.
Isaiah
Dec 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
Great principles, great author, nice, short read.
Ashby
rated it it was amazing
Oct 19, 2015
Brian Caldwell
rated it liked it
May 27, 2015
Audrey Cekalski
rated it it was amazing
Sep 28, 2016
Lee Lee
rated it did not like it
Dec 08, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
  • Uncle Eric Talks About Personal, Career, And Financial Security
  • Unlikely Heroes: Ordinary Men and Women Whose Courage Won the Revolution
  • The Mainspring of Human Progress
  • Hubener vs. Hitler: A Biography of Helmuth Hubener, Mormon Teenage Resistance Leader
  • The Landing of the Pilgrims
  • The Fallacy Detective
  • Politics - According to the Bible: A Comprehensive Resource for Understanding Modern Political Issues in Light of Scripture
  • The Lincoln Hypothesis: A Modern-day Abolitionist Investigates the Possible Connection Between Joseph Smith, the Book of Mormon, and Abraham Lincoln
  • Sounding Forth the Trumpet: God's Plan for America in Peril--1837-1860
  • Henry Ford: Young Man With Ideas
  • The Tyranny of Clichés: How Liberals Cheat in the War of Ideas
  • Speak Like Churchill, Stand Like Lincoln: 21 Powerful Secrets of History's Greatest Speakers
  • The Proper Role of Government
  • The Home Ranch (Little Britches, #3)
  • Quit Digging Your Grave with a Knife and Fork: A 12-Stop Program to End Bad Habits and Begin a Healthy Lifestyle
  • The Making of America: The Substance and Meaning of the Constitution
  • Screwed!: How Foreign Countries Are Ripping America Off and Plundering Our Economy-and How Our Leaders Help Them Do It
  • The Second Amendment:: Preserving the Inalienable Right of Individual Self-Protection
577 followers
Benjamin Solomon "Ben" Carson, Sr., M.D. is an American neurosurgeon and the Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital. He was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award in the United States by President George W. Bush in 2008.