Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Down from the Mountain” as Want to Read:
Down from the Mountain
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Down from the Mountain

3.67  ·  Rating details ·  432 ratings  ·  126 reviews
Eva just wants to be a good disciple of Righteous Path. She grew up knowing that she’s among the chosen few to be saved from Armageddon. Lately, though, being saved feels awfully treacherous. Ever since they moved to the compound in Colorado, their food supplies have dwindled even while their leader, Ezekiel, has stockpiled weapons. The only money comes from the jewelry ...more
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published March 1st 2015 by AW Teen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Down from the Mountain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Down from the Mountain

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  432 ratings  ·  126 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Down from the Mountain
Lola
Jul 16, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: religion, fast-paced

If someone had summarized this story for me, out loud, and had tried to convince me that this is something I don’t want to miss out, I would not have believed them. Because it never sounded like my type of book. And even now, after having turned and rigorously read all of its pages, I’m still irked by a couple of things – including one or two characters. But, overall, really, it surprised me.

Well, surely, you need to know that there’s no romance. You think that there might be a little of it… you
...more
Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
Eva has been a member of the "Righteous Path" since she was five years old. Her mom joined up because she and Eva's dad were going through a nasty divorce and she wanted something "right" in their lives.

Enter brother Ezekiel.


Brother Ezekiel talks to God. He had been told by God that he is to take all the wives of the men that were his followers and marry them himself. He needs that son that will become the "prophet". Just so happens that Eva's mom becomes pregnant by him.


Eva is fourteen
...more
Paula M. of Her Book Thoughts!
Dec 29, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, for-review
Down from the Mountain is the first book that's I've read about cults. And to be honest, this book is still haunting me. I've never expected that it was gonna be that honest and shocking. My knowledge about cults is limited, I just know that they exist and that's it. So when I first read the blurb of Down from the Mountain, my interest was piqued and I just know that I have to read it.

Elizabeth Fixmer's writing is really vivid. It feels like you are right there along with the main characters
...more
Lea
When I requested Down from the Mountain on Netgalley, I thought this book would be about a girl who goes against everything she's ever been told.

It's not an easy thing to do. Most of us never question what we accept as a reality and truth. Sure, we might rebel against going to school or eating vegetables, but who's going to question the most basic facts of life? Clothes? What for ? A roof on our head ? Well, yeah, that's kind of normal.

Truth is, nothing is "normal". It's normal because we accept
...more
Charlie
Feb 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow this was intense!! What a freaking emotional rollercoaster.

One of the best YA books I've read this year.

I was fully invested in Eva's story. It was real and very emotional. I really felt for her, all her doubts and disappointments.

I was really satisfied with the ending. It was maybe a little too neat but honestly, after everything Eva went through she deserved some peace.

**I received a ARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**
Sophie
Mar 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
You can find this review along with many others on my blog!




Upon starting this book I began to panic a little bit. Reason being cause this book does revolve around religion and I'm one that evades the delicate subject every time I get the chance. I don't really have a specific reason for it, I just do. Although, I do dislike it when books get preachy. Fortunately, that wasn't the case with this book. It turned into one of the wildest roller coasters of emotion that I have ever experienced.
...more
Allison
I recieved an advanced copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

(Review will be cross-posted onto my blog closer to release date.)

Down from the Mountain was an incredibly quick and enjoyable read. I have read several memoirs dealing with religious groups (or cults) such as the Righteous Path and was impressed with how well Fixmer portrayed the setting, characters, and tensions. There were sections of the story that were written the same as the rest, but with the
...more
Brittany
Dec 06, 2014 rated it liked it
*ARC provided by Netgalley*

I actually really enjoyed this book, but the ending killed a four star rating. Other than that, the up points that can be found here are so incredibly worthwhile.

Between the writing style and feeling like I was actually with Eva in Righteous Path, enduring her pain and torment, this book was a very quick read (once you got past the first thirty or so pages). This is the first book I've read about a cult, and the attention to detail is SUPERB. You really feel immersed
...more
Claire (Book Blog Bird)
I received a copy of Down from the Mountain in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to Albert Whitman Teen and Netgalley. A copy of this review is also on my blog: www.bookblogbird.weebly.com

Down from the Mountain tells the story of Eva, a fourteen year old girl who lives on a ranch in Colorado with her mother, her best friends Annie and Jacob, a dozen or so additional mothers and the Prophet Ezekiel, God’s representative on Earth and the one man chosen to lead four hundred and forty-four souls
...more
christine danielle (Bibliophilic Madness)
FOR MORE REVIEWS AND GIVEAWAYS, DO CHECK OUT MY BLOG:
 photo bun3_zpsa210610d.jpg

Cover: 5
Plot: 4
Characters: 4

 photo bun2_zps0ef512fa.jpg

Down From the Mountain was a book I never expected to like. It talks about religion and the heroine is part of a religious group which was lead by Ezekial who marries all the women there old and young saying it was what God wanted. Which was utter crap by the way. At first I thought that if the heroine wanted to get out of that weird cult/religious group then she can but while reading I learned that when
...more
Kristen Cansler
Mar 02, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: net-galley, r2r
What a strange book! I really loved the premise before I even started this book. Religious cults?! Sign me up. But I was let down with the delivery of this book. For starters, I was really confused by the inclusion of The Chronicles of Narnia. I know what it's like to have a deep love for a piece of literature. Yet the way that the author included Narnia was really strange. It didn't fit into the story. It didn't read like the rest of the story. It stuck out like a sore thumb and really slowed ...more
Jami Sailor
This is the second "girl escapes from cult" young adult novel I've read in the last 6 months.
Shane
May 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
I saw Down from the Mountain on Netgalley and instantly became intrigued because of the religious cult plot. I've only read a handful of these books and was curious as to how Elizabeth would deliver this story. She did a great job.

Eva is this young girl, like many others, living in an isolated community led by a lunatic self-proclaimed prophet of God. Now, I've always found it to be mind-boggling as to how people could give up their freedom (because basically that's what they're doing without
...more
Jennifer
May 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Down From the Mountain was such an eye opening book. People actually believe in prophets and cult like situations. It is scary to think that someone could put THAT much trust into another persons hands. At first, I didn't think I would enjoy this book. After I received the book I got the image in my head that it was about religion and a girl life in a cult. Instead it was actually about a girls struggle with her religious beliefs and her trying to figure out right from wrong. But I can say that ...more
Vanda Sharma
Dec 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
The author has a beautiful writing style that captivates the audience, the plot had me craving for more!

The story follows a 14 year old girl, Eva/Lily, who is taken by her mother after a nasty divorce, into a contrived religious cult called The Righteous Path, where Ezekiel, a 60 something year old is the 'prophet'. Ezekiel proclaims that God 'speaks' through the 'prophet' and demands that he marries every female in the group until she comes of age, that being 15 years old. Eva/Lily is a
...more
The Reading Rabbit
Jan 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
Interesting plot line! Great pace to the story, longer review to come!
Peggy Geiger
May 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
ARC courtesy of author and publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: YA

Lily's parents are divorced. Lily's father, is going away on a teaching assignment in China for two years.

Lily, age 4, listening to her daddy tell her goodby;

Excerpt from the book:

"But only two gifts stand out in my mind. One was a red-and-white tube with ribbon on both ends. The other was a little box with a bow on it.
I tore open the first but Daddy had to explain what it was. "It's a calendar for two
...more
Kelly
May 18, 2018 rated it liked it
3.5 stars.

Thoughts:

- Down from the Mountain felt weirdly familiar, even though I'm 98% sure I've never read it before. Then again, like the author, I devour books on cults, so.

- The writing skews young, which seems appropriate given Eva/Lily's age and general naiveté. Yet I felt like certain, more adult concepts were perhaps watered down or skirted around as well (e.g., like the systemic rape found in cults).

- No way would Eva be allowed to wear the burgundy top pictured on the cover.
Amy
Oct 12, 2015 rated it liked it
Recommended for: Grades 7+

Readalikes: Devoted by Jennifer Mathieu, Armageddon Summer

Full disclosure: I love books about cults. Fiction, non-fiction, academic press, uber-moralist, vague, it does not mattter. If the book is about a highly regimented religious community, then you can bet I will read it.

Book talk:

Righteous Path is a religious community with its own set of bizarre rules. Ezekiel is the only one who can hear prophecies from God, there are only 444 spaces in heaven for the holy. While
...more
Nicole
Jan 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc
Growing up, it is hard to fit in. Your mind is harder on yourself than it really should be, but what if you don’t have the trappings most teens have? What if, in fact, you aren’t in school? What if almost all you know is what you have learned from limited schooling, approved by Father Ezekiel, prophet of the Righteous Path? What if you are told anything that interests you is sinful and will lead you to Hell without the sanction of the Righteous path? Elizabeth Fixmer tackles this concept in the ...more
Cassie
Jan 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2017-read
Finally a good book I’ve read so far in 2017! Cults have always been an interesting subject for me, and reading books like this fascinates me. This book was about a girl named Eva who is a part of the cult Righteous Path, along with her mother. The leader is Ezekiel, a man who is married to almost all of the women there. The book starts with Eva having to recite a psalm in her chapel, which she does perfectly. If she hadn’t, she would have gotten paddled. And this is when after years of being ...more
Erin
Apr 08, 2015 rated it liked it
To be fair, this is probably more like 3.5 stars.

I'm weirdly interested in polygamy and cults and so a young adult novel about a girl living in one pulled me in. There's a brave young female main character who believes in the power of education. This book, despite it being about a polygamous cult is pretty much squeaky clean (a swear word or two, Eva/Lily makes a reference to her growing chest) so I'd give it to a mature 7th grader.

There are somethings I would have changed. Trevor's
...more
Adele
Oct 09, 2015 rated it did not like it
Down From the Mountain seemed like a really interesting book. Not only is the books cover really pretty but both cover and book synopsis were intriguing to me.

Unfortunately, I can't finish this book. The story gives me some pretty bad anxiety. I won't deny that there are some good parts in the 25% of the story that I did manage to read though. Like Eva's interactions with her cabin mates.

Fixmer's writing is alright, and she wrote some good descriptions of stuff. Like how different the world was
...more
Rachael
Jan 08, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley-arc
This is the story of Eva, a fourteen year old who has spent almost 10 years living within a religious cult. As she is allowed a little bit of interaction with the outside world she begins to question some of the rules and decisions their leader makes, ultimately leading Eva to a situation that requires her to face her doubts and make choices that could change all of their lives forever.

There were moments when the book seemed just a little bit slow, and other times where it seemed like the scenes
...more
Nefertari
May 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This is a beautiful addition to the YA genre of children growing up in cults. I saw some complaints that Lily was slow to question her faith. I think this is a wonderful depiction of someone gradually working their way out of a cult. There's the initial question, then allowing the veil to slip back over one's eyes. Bit by bit, a person slowly gets to the point where they are in full-blown rebellion. It's a gradual process, and I loved that there was no romance bringing Lily out of the cult - ...more
Cheryl
Dec 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this story. The characters felt real and our heroine was quite likeable. A story taking place in the odd world of a religious cult was different and made for a page turner of a story. Fans of YA fiction will like this book!
Sarah
Jun 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jolien
Feb 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2015
Originally at The Fictional Reader

When I read the premise of this book on Netgalley, I requested it immediately. I don’t really know why, but the idea of a religious cult fascinates me. I can’t ever wrap my head around the fact that people join the cult and believe the leader is their prophet. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because it is so far removed from my reality. Whatever the reason may be, it fascinates me. So I thought this book would be perfect for that!

Down from the Mountain was definitely
...more
Yuiko
Mar 03, 2019 rated it did not like it
Straight up bored with this culty book
Kalia Winters
Sep 21, 2017 rated it it was ok
It was inappropriate
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Sister Wife
  • The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
  • Spellbook of the Lost and Found
  • The Silver Eyes (Five Nights at Freddy's, #1)
  • Wake (Wake, #1)
  • The Demon's Lexicon
  • Pinned
  • Escape
  • The Great Hunt (Eurona Duology, #1)
  • Gated (Gated, #1)
  • The Curse of the Campfire Weenies and Other Warped and Creepy Tales (Weenies series #3)
  • The Chosen One
  • 23:45
  • 23:45 Re;
  • 初恋カウンターアタック [Hatsukoi Counter Attack]
  • Breaking Free: How I Escaped My Father-Warren Jeffs-Polygamy, and the FLDS Cult
  • Alive (The Generations Trilogy, #1)
  • You Will Be Mine
See similar books…