Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lifer” as Want to Read:
Lifer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lifer

by
3.57  ·  Rating details ·  77 ratings  ·  20 reviews
The Bourne Identity meets Under the Never Sky in this intergalactic tale of love and deception from debut novelist Beck Nicholas.

Asher is a Lifer, a slave aboard the spaceship Pelican. A member of the lowest rung of society, she must serve the ship’s Officials and Astronauts as punishment for her grandparents' crimes back on Earth. The one thing that made life bearable was
...more
Paperback, 300 pages
Published December 16th 2014 by Month9Books, LLC
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lifer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lifer

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  77 ratings  ·  20 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Helen Lacey
Jun 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! Great characters in Asher and Blank and so much mystery I simply had to keep reading. Am looking forward to more from this author.
J. Ford
Oct 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommended to J. by: Month9Books
Fans of Sci Fi and Young Adult fiction will love this book.

Over the past couple of weeks I had the pleasure of reading LIFER by Beck Nicholas. Now, most of you know I’m not a fan of Sci Fi. I like watching Sci Fi movies, but I’ve never been a big fan of reading the genre. However, when Month9Books approached me with the opportunity to read a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review, I couldn’t pass it up. I mean, look at that cover! It’s amazing! And then when I read the blurb: Bo
...more
Angela C
Nov 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: review-copy
A free copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Lifer is so darn easy to read.

There are some books that are just smooth, you know? Books where the characters are consistent but still capable of surprising you, the world building is solid and doesn’t raise questions, the plot never drags, the writing flows seamlessly. Books that you don’t want to reach the end of, because it feels so right to read them. Lifer is one of those books.

Beck Nicholas’ debut is wo
...more
Bri
Oct 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
What I liked: I really liked Asher, she was a strong character who did things I hadn’t expected of her and who’s character I grew to really enjoy over the course of the novel. Blank was an interesting character all unto himself, because he remembers nothing yet you can learn a bit about who he was before his memory of who he is and where he’s from is gone. He’s a survivor for sure, and knows how to fight so that gives us some clues if we try to connect him to Asher’s part of the story…of course, ...more
Lauren
Nov 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This was a novel that crushed the depths of my soul and I'm still trying to glue it back together. Asher is our main character, a strong young woman who is in a forbidden love affair with Samuai, a boy born of a higher social class. Samuai loves Asher despite her social status and even wants to help bring down the walls of oppression that the Lifers have lived behind for many years. Everything changes when Asher's brother and Samuai are pronounced dead. Asher is quickly summoned to be the Lady's ...more
Jennifer Bardsley
Sep 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
If you are a “Battlestar Galactica” fan then you’ve got to read Lifer by Beck Nicholas. This is one of the best books I’ve read in 2015. It’s clever, suspenseful, and full of so many surprise twists that I found myself shouting out loud and disturbing the person sitting next to me.

Lifer has two separate storylines playing out concurrently. Asher is a slave, or “Lifer,” aboard a spaceship heading for Earth. The book opens with her mourning the death of her high-class boyfriend, and being tormente
...more
Anelise
Jan 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
This book blew my mind away. I mean seriously, I loved it. I was instantly hooked, and I very much liked the dual PoVs between Asher and Blank. Both PoVs helped the story, and it all wove together and made sense rather than the PoVs clashing against each other and not helping the story.

One of the things I liked the most about Lifer is that it wasn’t overly predictable. I hate it when books are too predictable and you can predict most of what’s going to happen in the book, but that doesn’t happen
...more
Sara
Jan 09, 2015 rated it really liked it
OK that ending did not leave me satisfied. Please tell me there will be a sequel, because I can't find any info on it.

Asher is a lifer that becomes a stronger lead as the story progresses. I really liked her. Davyd has a lot of mystery still about him and I wish some of the story was his pov. Maybe in a sequel??

The story seems to take place over just a few days, maybe a week or two, which confused me. With all that happened, especially with feelings between characters, I would think it should h
...more
Shala
Apr 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
This was an enjoyable sci-fi read! I could have used a little more back story about how we got to where we were in this novel, but I hope that is to come in future novels.
The characters are loveable, and I love how things played out. I'm excited for the next book in the series!
Fallon
Oct 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Review to come.....
Eleni Konstantine
Wow, this was an amazing read.

Asher, a slave girl is in mourning but has questions of how the two boys she loves most have died. Blank wakes up with no clothes, no memory, a dead body next to him and of course questions.

The two are well drawn characters set on seperate paths to find answers, all the while doubting, wondering, and discovering.

The world building was well thought out - a class system that divides and a Company that divides.

Nicholas' does a great job of interweaving these two se
...more
NK Howell
Dec 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Excellent read, could not put it down. Anyone who loves YA SciFi read it now.
Ken
Dec 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Fantastic story. Recommend to anyone who loves YA SciFi
Holly
I honestly feel there are not enough good things I can say about this book. About halfway through the book, I tweeted some of the Month9 folks, and Ms. Nicholas, expressing how much I was obsessed with reading. I could not put the book down! My husband passed me in the hall at about 10:00 at night the first night I started; I was standing at the top of the stairs, in the dark, with my Kindle Paperwhite the only light to guide me – I had intended to go downstairs but got caught up reading and cou ...more
Take Me Away To A Great Read
Jul 17, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya, young-adult
I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with a review copy for an honest review.

Lifer is a unique sci-fi, dystopian where Beck wrote an amazing hierarchy system that really worked for this future world. The rotating POV’s kept me intriquged between what was going on and the mysteries surrounding them. I have not read a great dystopian in awhile and if you haven’t either then definitely try this one.

The first POV we get is from a girl named Asher. She has just been through the loss o
...more
Jamie (Books and Ladders)
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

See my full review on Books and Ladders

Lifer didn't end up being what I was anticipating. I haven't read Under the Never Sky but I know the general premise of it and I've seen the Bourne movies so I guess I was anticipating a bit more mystery and suspense and not as much "Okay I know a lot of what will happen" I think that a lot of it was pretty predictable but it was still a good science fiction novel and I am intr
...more
Christine
I wanted to like this book, but the characters and plot, not to mention the writing, just didn't work for me. Asher is too weak of a character, who miraculously gains strength just when it's most useful for the plot. I couldn't understand why she was suddenly calling the shots when the leader of the ship's rebels was standing right there.

Blank was more interesting and relatable at the beginning of the book. I particularly liked the idea that even he didn't know if he was a bad guy or not. Other
...more
Melanie McFarlane
Jun 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book was amazing. If you liked Matched by Ally Condie or The 100 by Kass Morgan you will LOVE Lifer (OMG it's so good). The elements of sci-fi are carried out wonderfully, the YA romance is just right, and the mystery is timed perfect with the plot. Two POVs allow for the reader to see the two worlds as they get closer and closer into melding into one. The story leaves you on an upturn, so you're left excited to see what happens next, and not bummed that you have to wait. I cannot wait for ...more
Cody Roecker
Jan 27, 2016 rated it did not like it
Disclaimer: I recieved this book from Month9Books in exchange for an honest review!

1.5 Stars

oh, this.book. I have lots to say. I loved Blink's POV... but sadly Asher's lacked for me.

The storyline was interesting though!

i'll have a full review up soon!
Jenna
Sep 18, 2014 rated it liked it
I thinks that this was a good read but the writing fell short a couple off times and made me give this book a 3 star instead of a 4 star read.

I can't wait to read the sequel.
Charity
rated it it was amazing
Jan 25, 2018
Yudp
rated it it was amazing
May 04, 2016
Hailie Childs
rated it liked it
Feb 05, 2017
Danielle
rated it really liked it
Jan 23, 2015
Britani
rated it liked it
Mar 10, 2015
Patricia
rated it did not like it
Aug 27, 2014
Hailie C
rated it really liked it
May 17, 2016
Jessica Kenyon
rated it really liked it
Sep 30, 2016
Camille Cheng
rated it it was ok
Jun 23, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Dead, Actually
  • Soul Stealer (The Anomaly #3)
  • The Recruit (The Morcai Battalion, #2)
  • Table For Eight
  • Magical Redemption
  • Nothing to Fear
  • Freaks of Greenfield High (Freaks, #1)
  • Secrets in Time
  • His Until Midnight
  • Lost Cause (Daisy Dunlop Mystery, #1)
  • Never Surrender
  • The House on Burra Burra Lane (Swallows Fall #1)
  • Poison Kissed (The Shadowfae Chronicles, #3)
  • A Whispered Darkness
  • The Golden Apple (The Dark Forest, #1)
  • Beyond Our Stars
  • What Matters Most
  • The Uncrowned King (King Rolen's Kin, #2)
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »