Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Exiled: Kenly's Story (Talented Saga, #5)” as Want to Read:
Exiled: Kenly's Story (Talented Saga, #5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Exiled: Kenly's Story

(Talented Saga #5)

by
4.19  ·  Rating details ·  506 ratings  ·  68 reviews
*2015 Next Generation Indie Book Awards Winner- Best Young Adult Novel*

Kenly Baker is on the run. As one of the Created, a new subset of Talents whose powers were exponentially increased with a synthetic substance, she is being hunted by the government.
Kenly travels across the Atlantic Ocean to the slums of London, where she finds tentative acceptance among a group of ou
...more
Kindle Edition, 428 pages
Published September 2nd 2014 by Dabber & Baehr (first published June 30th 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Exiled, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Exiled

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  506 ratings  ·  68 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Crystal
Sep 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Remember Kenly?

Talia's protégé she was teaching? The one that Donovan helped train? Ring any bells?

She's on the run. When DC and TOXIC was brought down she ran just like Eric told her to. She hopped a plane and landed in soggy England. It's not the England that we know though, it much worse. If running from UNITED was bad, the dangers on the other side of pond are fierce. Being "Created" makes her bad ass though, right? Hmm...maybe not as much as she thought.

After meeting a band of chromes, aka
...more
Jennifer
Sep 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I LOVED the latest book in this great series by Sophie Davis! And I was terribly dismayed when I completed the last page, I literally yelled out "NO!" upon realizing the book was finished (and scared my husband, LOL!) I don't know how I will be able to wait for the next installment! As usual, this book is full of rich detail and colorful descriptions, the author really pulls you into the story. I wasn't sure I would like it as much as the previous books, as the main character, Kenly, was not my ...more
Autumn
Sep 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc, 2014
I received this book to give an honest review.
So when when I was offered this book I knew I had to read it. I have enjoyed all the Talented books. The story line and the characters are just awesome.
I started reading and the first thing that came to my mind was umm who is Kenly? I kept racking my brain as to who this character was. And finally within the story I got my answer. She was the protege of Talia.
With Exiled we follow Kenly and how is she on the run from UNITED. If you remember from b
...more
Barbara Gordon
May 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved Exiled!! I loved it more than any other in this series, and it's tied for my favorite Sophie Davis book with Pawn (another great read, if you haven't checked it out yet you totally should!).

I reread the first 4 books of the Talented Saga before I read Exiled, just so I would be "caught up" in my head (in case I forgot a few things). Exiled starts pretty soon after Created left off, with Kenly having traveled to London to try to escape from UNITED because they are hunting the Created. On
...more
Crystal
Sep 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sophie has really outdone herself with this incredible addition to this series. Kenly has developed into such a strong character that it amazed me how much she has grown.I loved this story right from the beginning. It is one of those beginnings that is written in a way that captures your attention. Sophie did just that with Exiled. I am looking forward to many more installments to the Talented Saga.
Andrea Heltsley
May 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-read, 2018-read
I have to admit, EVERYTHING these girls write is awesome! Kenly's story was no exception. This was a fabulous tie-in to the talented series. I loved the addition of new characters to the Talented world. Then there was James. Le-sigh . . .(queue swoon) . . . what a fantastic love interest! The end of this book was the perfect way I could have even imagined it to possibly be. This is a must read in the Talented series. Five glittery stars because there aren't ten glittery stars allowed!
Em
Sep 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Having been hooked on the previous books in this series, I was excited to see this world from a new perspective. I was definitely not disappointed. There’s still the random typos and grammar mistakes scattered throughout, but those are easily ignored once you get pulled into the story. The book’s pacing is great; the author establishes the London setting and gets right into the action and introducing new characters. This is a story that will pull you
...more
Heather Stanley
Sep 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: loved
I have loved all of the Talented Books and this one was no different!!! This is all Kenly, I enjoyed to be able to see her as Talia must have when she took her under wing!!
Kenly’s character at first is adrift and just trying to make it another day free.... ( if you have read the other books in this series, it is after Created-book #4 right). I love that the beginning of the book was spent on Kenly’s thoughts about everything that happened since escaping the events in DC and being the run from UN
...more
Crissy
Sep 05, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Exiled was a great read. Kenly is in London trying to lie low and not attract the attention of any united agents. She spends her time in a bar where she met Willa and Tug. Willa has been keeping an eye on Kenley without her realizing it because there’s more to Willa than Kenly knows. Willa, Riley, James and Honora save Kenly from the poachers who capture anyone with talents and sell them to the highest bidder for personal use. They all have special talents so they know how to stay hidden from po ...more
Kami
Kenly has left The McDonough School for the Talented and is on the run. She is in hiding in London. This is a fast paced and well-written book. I have read two books by Sophie Davis, the original Talented with Talia and Pawn. Talented wasn't my favorite book by Sophie Davis, I gave it three stars and I gave Pawn four. I was liking this book and I feel like Davis' writing style has improved since the original Talented. UNITED is hunting Kenly and others of the Created, who they have labeled terro ...more
Mark
Sep 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Kenly's Story (A Talented Novel) written by author Sophie Davis, the lasted part in her Talented series, tells the story of a character named Kenly.
I found myself actually enjoying Kenly's story and it's characters as the story progressed.
Overall I considered this an interesting, unique novel and well worth the five stars I'm rating it. Now it's time to re-read Talented, and begin on the rest of the series.
Kristin
Jul 25, 2017 rated it it was ok
Annoying main character.

This book is told from a different perspective than the rest of the series thus far. Kenly is supposed to be a "Brain" but this entire book is about her making one idiotic decision after another. Can't stand her!! Also, be aware that this book is filled with grammatical errors. Makes it difficult to read at times.
Debra Kelly
Sep 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Awesome

Sophie Davis doesn't disappoint. This Talented saga installment is filled with the same suspense, action, and love that the first four novels are. I highly recommend this book.
Joy Thompson
Sep 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved it. Can't wait for the next book.
Jonathan Wells
Exiled is a really cool "Break Book." The first 4 (and a half) books of the series are a perfect pacing of story, action, and mystery. Before starting the series, I was already curious about this Kenly person, given she had an entire book reserved for "her story." I got excited when I was finally introduced to Kenly, and even more intrigued that Talia just took to her for "some reason" making me feel that Kenly was a different type of "special" than I'd seen in the series so far because of Talia ...more
Linda
Oct 23, 2016 rated it liked it
3.5 Stars

On the one hand, I liked the book. On the other hand, it wasn't my favorite and the reason for that is Kenly.

Like others who have left reviews have said, make sure you read the books in order and timely. If you're like me and you read the other books before this one came out and it has been months and many other series between those books and this one, you may find yourself working really hard to pull up details from the previous books. Especially since this one is from Kenly's perspec
...more
Mo Diaz
Aug 01, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
While the story in itself was good, and you learned more about Kenly, as well as being introduced to some new characters, I found that this book took me longer to get through. The narration was great, but I wasn't devouring this story as quickly as the others. I found myself impatiently waiting for Talia and Erik to appear in the story. A lot of people love reading / hearing about Kenly's story, but personally, I felt like the book was unnecessary as a main book of the series. I would have label ...more
Amanda
Dec 14, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
When I saw that this book was from the perspective of someone other than Talia or Erik I was super bummed. To be honest, I spent the first half of the book wondering if I could just skip it and go to Marked.

I am not 100% convinced that this book was necessary to the overarching plot of the Talented Saga, but I’m glad I read it in the end. Davis shared new information (we will see how relevant the information is in later books) in a new setting with new characters that was loosely connected to w
...more
Kat
Jun 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This entire book is in Kenly's perspective. It took a while to get used to her POV instead of Talia's, and it got pretty exhausting. It all made sense though, that in her POV Talia was the traitor, but it was still infuriating to me since it wasn't true. Kenly was also not the smartest even though she's a Brain -- she doesn't think objectively enough to be considered a Brain in my opinion. She makes lots of stupid mistakes and doesn't know how to use her powers at all. I do appreciate this thoug ...more
Dana
May 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
My favorite so far!

This is the second time I am reading the series to get ready for the final book this summer, and I'm angry with myself for skipping this book the first time. Kenly's story is incredible and I loved being in her head. I didn't think I could love anyone as much as Talia but Sophie Davis changed that!

You must read this to witness the disgusting acts committed against the talented outside of the US. We also get a new cast of lovable characters including some that we love to hate
...more
Michelle VanDaley
My review is based on the audiobook.
Book 5 of the Talented Saga tells Kenly's story after the fall of Toxic. Her journey is an exciting one filled with action, adventure and even a little love. I wasn't a huge Kenly fan but I am now, I am completely invested in her story. As with the other books in this series my attention was held captivated from start to finish. This is the type of series and writing that I can immerse myself into the story and forget about the real word for a little while. I
...more
İrem Ayyildiz
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Elizabeth Ashley
Overall: Great new storyline intertwining well loved characters with new ones!
Characters: Kenly, Willa, James, Honora, Riley
Page Turner: Sometimes
Series Cont.? Yes
Book Boyfriend: James?
Genre: Sci-Paranormal Romance with slight dystopian feel
Sex Scenes: Nope
blog- http://beautysinbreakdown.blogspot.co...

Overall-
This book, like all the others is pretty fast paced with lots of action and twists and turns. I loved having the original team of characters mentioned and involved, (hopefully bringing toge
...more
Cathy
Aug 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Different storyline, but powerful and emotional

This book told the story of how other talented have had to live in the world, and how they were treated, mistreated, abused, sold, killed, etc. Definitely off the path from the previous storyline, but still really good, and the storylines cross paths back together in the end. In to the next one to see what's next ! 👍
Dave T
Aug 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Good story.

This was a great story and definitely got really interesting at the end but the sudden departure from the main story line was a little perplexing. I'm really glad that I stuck with it though.
Amber
Dec 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
Interesting divergence from the series

I enjoyed the different perspective this book offers. It does contain several typos though, which is distracting. Overall, an interesting read.
Laura Witte
Apr 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great Side Story!

This was such a great series, and I really enjoyed being able to read Kenly’s story after the sh*t hit the fan. As always, great character depth and plot twists!
Bree Murphy
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Love it

Can't wait to read the rest of the series they are so good can't wait to see what happens next
Shannon
Jan 29, 2018 rated it really liked it
I wasn’t sure about Kenly at first. I wanted to jump right into what was going on with Talia and Erik but it turned out good.
mac
Mar 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
Not as awesome as Talia's story. Kenly is an engaging character, but the British dialogue is... sometimes hard to read without laughing. Still want to read the next book though!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Sinopsis en Español // Synopsis in Spanish 1 2 May 01, 2015 03:20PM  
5th talented book? 2 12 Aug 09, 2014 11:39PM  
  • Fated: The Epic Finale (Talented Saga Book 8)
  • Found (Penny Black #1)
  • Point of Origin (The Survivors, #2)
  • Willow Man
  • Reborn (Lost Children, #3)
  • The Gates Saga Omnibus, #1-2.5 (Hell on Earth, #1-2.5)
  • Protected (Ariya Adams Trilogy, #1)
  • The Redeemable Prince (Star-Crossed, #7)
  • Original Sin (Crimson Shadow Series)
  • Impulse Control (Talent Chronicles, #0.5)
  • Darkness Betrayed (Torn #2)
  • Make You See Stars (Stardust Erotic Romance Series #2)
  • Stardust
  • Daddy's Boy (Risk)
  • Anja's Star (Outer Settlement Agency, #1)
  • The Ultimate Team (Juxtapose City 4)
  • Drama Queen (Sweet Valley Jr. High, #25)
  • United (Exalted, #3)
772 followers
"Sophie Davis" is the pseudonym for two best friends, roommates, and now writing partners. The pair met at Dickinson Law and instantly bonded over their love of great books and bad horror movies. After they graduated, when one longed for the ability to read minds so she wouldn't have to study for the bar exam, a Saga was born. When the Talented Saga went on to be an internationally bestselling ser ...more

Other books in the series

Talented Saga (8 books)
  • Talented (Talented Saga, #1)
  • Caged (Talented Saga, #2)
  • Hunted (Talented Saga, #3)
  • Created (Talented Saga, #4)
  • Marked (Talented Saga, #6)
  • Privileged (Talented Saga, #7)
  • Fated: The Epic Finale (Talented Saga Book 8)