Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Pure Vegetarian: 108 Indian-Inspired Recipes to Nourish Body and Soul” as Want to Read:
Pure Vegetarian: 108 Indian-Inspired Recipes to Nourish Body and Soul
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Pure Vegetarian: 108 Indian-Inspired Recipes to Nourish Body and Soul

4.16  ·  Rating details ·  19 ratings  ·  8 reviews
An inspired vegetarian cookbook with 108 recipes inflected with the practices of Ayurveda and mindfulness practices derived from a bhakti yogic lifestyle.

Food is so much more than nourishment for the body, and health is not just a results-oriented goal. Lakshmi Wennakoski-Bielicki, the creator of PureVege.com, creates food that is healthy, tasty, ethically sound, and spir
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published July 21st 2015 by Roost Books (first published May 12th 2015)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Pure Vegetarian, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Pure Vegetarian

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  19 ratings  ·  8 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Cherie
Jan 09, 2019 rated it liked it
Lots of yummy Indian pure veg recipes.
Radha Gopinath
Oct 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
As a recipe collection, Pure Vegetarian offers an interesting read for any Western vegetarian. I like that the author doesn’t claim that the recipes are 100% authentic, but admits that many of them she has developed by tracing back a food memory. Many of the preparations, especially on the sweet section, follow the standard of Hare Krishna restaurants around the world; anyone who has ever eaten in one knows that the desserts are satisfying, and often less sugary than the ones served in India.

Bei
...more
Brandy
Jun 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review**


This is easily the most gorgeous cookbook I have ever seen, let alone own. The care put into it is obvious from the moment you get it in your hands.
As far as content/recipes go, I haven't had the opportunity to try any out yet, and I have never even eaten any of these foods anyway, so I'm not sure I could ever properly critique that aspect. Truthfully, I had never heard of many of the ingredients. I am a little skeptical
...more
Divya
Sep 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I bought Pure Vegetarian while on vacation and read all non-recipe parts on my flight back home--it was so interesting! Now I'm trying the recipes, and they are not only satisfying but motivating for me to experiment with her ideas of ingredients and spice combinations. I also love the way Lakshmi helps us relate to food beyond consumerism, bringing our attention to the social and spiritual aspects preparing and sharing food.

Well-structured and beautifully illustrated, delicious recipes with cl
...more
roxi Net
Feb 06, 2015 rated it really liked it
Drool. Over veggies? Totally!

I really enjoyed reading Pure Vegetarian and sampling the recipes. I've always been a big fan of Indian recipes and I was excited to see how yogic cooking was described in this book; I had reviewed a different cookbook regarding yogic cooking and it was nothing like Pure Vegetarian with its beautiful color photographs, drool-inducing food shots and descriptions of food, etc.

I was also excited to see recipes that included foods not found in normal grocery stores - I h
...more
Jules
Jul 08, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cookbooks, arc, netgalley
A wonderfully executed and artfully restrained cookbook. Wennakoski-Bielickie uses 108 vegetarian, Indian recipes to take readers through a gastronomic yoga practice. Building block recipes early on (butter, ghee, spice mixes) are used later to create satisfying dishes and main meals. Clean and simple dessert recipes close the book on a satisfying note and leave readers feeling invigorated and inspired.

Notes: Beautiful pictures, recipes look great. I've been cooking long enough to know by sight
...more
Colleen
Jun 24, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Disclaimer: This is a First Reads review

This is a beautifully put together cookbook of ‘Indian-inspired’ recipes. I'm not enough of a connoisseur to know how traditional the recipes are, but it seems that she’s put her own twist on a lot of them. The photos alone are enough to make you want to try the recipes. She takes you through making basics (yogurt cheese, paneer, etc) into more complicated dishes. I tried her paneer recipe and it was surprisingly easy and turned out just as expected.
Chris Loop
Jan 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
Simple, clean and healthy recipes with a Indian twist. I feel all cookbooks should have great drool worthy photos and this book comes through. Great for anyone who wants to expand their helathy options
Elizabeth
rated it it was amazing
Feb 21, 2018
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Jun 15, 2015
Meg
rated it liked it
May 21, 2017
Abigail
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2015
Purnaprajna Dasa
rated it it was amazing
Oct 03, 2015
Monique
rated it liked it
Mar 31, 2017
Candence Myrick
rated it liked it
Nov 09, 2018
Alondra Ramirez
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2015
Tammy
rated it liked it
Jun 23, 2016
Tanyasaric
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2018
James Lynam
rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2015
Andi
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2015
Aldene
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2015
Bookschatter
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Juili
added it
Mar 13, 2015
Josey Harvey
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Marilyn
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
A.J.
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
J
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Gordon Bingham
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Scott
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Debbie White
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Claire
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Micielle
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Dale
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Diana Skvorak
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Dawn
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Reem
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Amanda
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Kirsten
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Alaina
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Darlene
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Aisling
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Amanda
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Tammy
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Therese Wiese
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Once Upon a Time It Was Now: The Art & Craft of Writing Historical Fiction
  • The Road to Becoming: Rediscovering Your Life in the Not-How-I-Planned-It Moments
  • Don Quixote: A BabyLit® Spanish Language Primer
  • Buddha For Beginners
  • Sex After . . .: Women Share How Intimacy Changes as Life Changes
  • 50 Pincushions to Knit & Crochet: Stash Your Sharps in Something Cute and Handmade
  • Shakespeare's Cats: The Complete Sonnets for the Literary Cat-Lover
  • The Phlunk
  • Beijing Bastard: Into the Wilds of a Changing China
  • Peking to Paris: Life and Love on a Short Drive Around Half the World
  • Holding Silvan: A Brief Life
  • The Heritage: Black Athletes, a Divided America, and the Politics of Patriotism
  • Mumbai New York Scranton: A Memoir
  • The Wisdom of Hair
  • Pierogi Love: New Takes On An Old-World Comfort Food
  • Going Solo in the Kitchen
  • The Enchantingly Easy Persian Cookbook: 100 Simple Recipes for Beloved Persian Food Favorites
  • Eat Like You Give a Damn: Recipes for the New Ethical Vegan