Jump to ratings and reviews
Rate this book

Hide #1

Untethered

Rate this book
When Keegan finally gets away from his brutal mother on his sixteenth birthday, things go from bad to strange as his father picks up a hitchhiker in the desert during their escape.

The strangeness of the day gets scary as Keegan notices the hitchhiker’s odd behavior. But with Keegan’s failing memory and bizarre dreams of a red wind, he can’t be sure about what his father’s gotten them in to as they make their way to the creepy Arizona town of Sedonia Falls.

This is the first episode of a five-part serial.

82 pages, Paperback

First published August 25, 2014

Loading interface...
Loading interface...

About the author

Jax Spenser

17 books59 followers
BORN JUST outside of Gunnison, Colorado in a government research facility called Area 52.5, (truth be told, Mom, a government astrophysicist, was in her last trimester at Area 51 when she was abruptly transferred), Jax Spenser spent his early years wondering if Dad was the meek and mild-mannered man living at home or if he really existed in the distant twinkle of a far off alien’s gaze.

AFTER AN AWAKENING during his teen years (some would call it puberty packing a lead pipe), Jax spent the rest of his life filled with the absolute belief that not only was the truth out there but that his real father looked proudly down on him in hopes that his baby boy Jax would one day find his way back to whatever distant corner of the Universe Pops beamed in from. Until that day, Jax has dedicated his time to writing possible scenarios in which the two might one day meet again.

Check out more of work at http://www.wattpad.com/user/JaxSpenser.

Ratings & Reviews

What do you think?
Rate this book

Friends & Following

Create a free account to discover what your friends think of this book!

Community Reviews

5 stars
37 (29%)
4 stars
28 (22%)
3 stars
36 (28%)
2 stars
20 (15%)
1 star
6 (4%)
Displaying 1 - 27 of 27 reviews
Profile Image for Angela.
675 reviews1,395 followers
July 13, 2015
Since these are short stories there are just far too many unanswered questions. Excited to see where this story goes. (Review for the series as a whole will be posted once I'm finished will update with link when that time comes)
Profile Image for Jill MacKenzie.
Author 3 books54 followers
September 4, 2014
I have to admit that when I first picked up Jax Spenser’s HIDE: UNTETHERED I didn’t think I’d love it. Admittedly, I’m not usually a fan of Science Fiction books and often have a hard time getting through them. But to my surprise, I was pulled into HIDE immediately and felt connected to the main character, Keegan, as he deals with the repercussions of an abusive mother and of a father who has let it all happen. The entire first installment, actually, surprised me with unexpected twists, fresh dialogue, and vivid characters—all of which made me forget the story was even SCI/FI to begin with. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a compelling, fast-paced read. Can’t wait for the next installment!
Profile Image for David.
3 reviews2 followers
August 14, 2014
This book sucked me in immediately from the very first line... I felt like a passenger in the car along with the main character and couldn't catch my breath as Keegan experienced not just the abuse from his mother in the flashbacks but also from the truly creepy elements of plot like the introduction to the hitchhiker and then finally the arrival at the town, Sedonia Falls, where he and his father end up in.

I can tell they are in for a s*it storm. I can not wait for the next book!

This entire review has been hidden because of spoilers.
4 reviews
August 28, 2014
Hide is a quick, mysterious and suspenseful read that captures your attention from the outset. Although our hero's storyline is initially troubling, the first volume of the series leaves you feeling good for our hero's future and you can't wait for volume 2.
47 reviews2 followers
October 17, 2014
This was a fascinating book. To start off with, the cover is just so epic-ly good and with my love of sci-fi books I was immediately drawn in by it but I was also very pleased with the story. We open in the car with Keegan Roe and his dad driving somewhere, anywhere as long as it’s far away from the violent mother that beat Keegan senseless. When they picked up a hitchhiker along the way that displayed bizarre behaviour I felt myself wanting to scream at Billy to just kick this weird man out of the car! I believe that we should always trust our instincts and this was how Keegan felt too but they kept on driving and what a mistake that was. They find themselves amongst a host of strange characters living a new life. What happens next is something I am really curious about! I am very intrigued by this series and hope to read more.
Profile Image for Alison.
169 reviews
October 4, 2014
I won this one from Goodreads Giveaway program, too. Stylistically, it seemed to focus on more of a middle-grade/young adult level, but content-wise, it left even me feeling unsettled. It is only part one of a five part mini series, so I'm sad that I can't just jump into the next four parts, as many questions are certainly left unanswered. I was able to read it in (mostly) one sitting (I saved the last chapter for after a nap, but other than that I truly just plowed right through it). I liked the overall concept, and will definitely have to get my hands on the next book.
Profile Image for Medeia Sharif.
Author 21 books447 followers
April 15, 2015
Keegan and his father are on the road headed to Arizona when they pick up a strange hitchhiker named John Bruce. Along with the creepiness of this man, Keegan has to contend with horrendous memories of an abusive mother. The tale was eerie, haunting, and bizarre as the three made stops and the creepiness factor intensified. I wanted to read more, but this was part 1 of a serialized YA novel. Because of the length, it ended all too fast. I will have to pick up the rest of the series to find out what happens next.
Profile Image for Amanda B.
767 reviews81 followers
October 2, 2014
Part one of a serialized YA novel. Especially recommended for reluctant teen readers looking for something fun to read on their ereaders or phones. Fans of James Patterson would enjoy this bizarre and suspenseful story.
Profile Image for Mitsy.
407 reviews19 followers
November 3, 2014
Excellent depth. Keegan is a fascinating teenage boy. Keegan's story is mysterious. Brilliant start to a new series. For sure, I've found a new favorite and can't wait to read more. Highly recommended.
Profile Image for Kerry Cerra.
Author 3 books71 followers
August 14, 2014
As a critique partner of Jax, I've seen this book grow from an idea to the phenomenal, suspenseful read it is now. If you're looking for an unputdownable thriller, this is the book for you.
Profile Image for CherylBCz .
633 reviews2 followers
October 24, 2014
At 52 pages, the first episode in this series only whets one's appetite for what is sure to be a favorite in the YA/horror/sci-fi section of my library.
Profile Image for Nik August.
Author 4 books2 followers
October 2, 2014
Can I just say the writing of Jax Spenser is incredible! From the first few words you're taken away on a young mans journey both physical and emotional. I'm looking forward to more.
2 reviews3 followers
February 3, 2015
Dunno

Stupid because I haven't read the booklet so how can I create it huh give me a break ok yeah




Profile Image for Joy  Cagil.
322 reviews6 followers
August 4, 2018
This publication is advertised as a first book in a series. Wrong! It is a long excerpt. When I get a book, free or paid, I look for a full story with believable reasons and a beginning, a middle and an end.

On the other hand, the protagonist is a likable character and his specific voice alone kept me reading. Although I found the plot construction lacking, the author did a good job in going into the main character’s head.

In the beginning, the main character Keegan, a teen, is brutally beaten by his mother on his sixteenth birthday. His mother wasn’t brutal to start with, but she turned brutal. Why? The reason is missing.

Then, Keegan’s father picks him up, without calling the police on the mother since he has a soft spot for his ex-wife, and drives him away toward a place where she can’t get to him; however, neither the boy nor his dad has a clue on to where they are headed.

On their way, on the desert, his father picks up a hitchhiker who is going to somewhere in Sedona. As they drive, Keegan checks his journal for things past and also writes about what’s happening in it. Then, because he worries about the hitchhiker, Keegan runs away and falls down on concrete and gets hurt even more. When he opens his eyes, he is in a bizarre place like a hospital and their hitchhiker is an important person in that place. Moreover, his father finds work and a fancy home for them in that very weird town among the hitchhiker’s friends.

From the way, Keegan told the story, I came up with the impression that he was either a wimp or a paranoid maniac; however, his voice and the sincerity in it could be the saving quality for this series, should the writer tie up the loose ends better and give convincing reasons for things that take place, within the same volume.
38 reviews
February 16, 2017
Incomplete story

Another book that ends in no where ville to get you to buy series. This one has no hold from beginning to end it is disjointed and blasia. I have no desire to know what happened next as there was never any engagement to read further. This book might have pulled itself out of ho him but we will never know as for some crazy reason this author chose to make a sequal that I would only read if paid to do so. If it was truly a full novel I might have continued reading hoping it got better.
54 reviews
May 31, 2017
This is a blurb, not a book. Annoying and I will not bother with any others. Good storyline.
Profile Image for Sian.
42 reviews1 follower
August 10, 2020
A great short book with plenty of suspense

I ended up purchasing to whole set to see what it is all about. Easy to read and not too complicated but has got me intrigued.
Profile Image for Daniel James.
19 reviews1 follower
December 14, 2020
I NEED to know what happens next! I got this first book free on Kobo but none of the others are on there! Aaaargh! I’m off to hunt them down on other formats now.
Profile Image for Leigh.
84 reviews2 followers
March 4, 2021
Loved part 1 of this story. I'm really intrigued as to what the heck is going on in Sedonia falls. Just downloaded part 2. I'm going in.
1 review
March 6, 2021
Not sure what I think about this yet. Unfortunately it is to short to make a decision.
Profile Image for Janice Stinnett.
380 reviews1 follower
December 11, 2016
Ok

I don't know where the book is going plot wise or anything. There could be a million different ways there story could go. That's why I gave it a three. Will have you set how it progresses in the next episode.
61 reviews
May 1, 2017
Book 1, 10 pages. Not even a novel. A bit of suspense, except we have no empathh for the character.

But this is not a book.
Barely a chapter.
I guess I got what I paid for.
Ibwont bother with the other chapters. Or books. Whatever.
Displaying 1 - 27 of 27 reviews

Join the discussion

Can't find what you're looking for?

Get help and learn more about the design.