Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids: 500 Activities to Encourage Creativity in Kids Ages 2 to 12--Play, Pretend, Draw, Dance, Sing, Write, Build, Tinker” as Want to Read:
The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids: 500 Activities to Encourage Creativity in Kids Ages 2 to 12--Play, Pretend, Draw, Dance, Sing, Write, Build, Tinker
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids: 500 Activities to Encourage Creativity in Kids Ages 2 to 12--Play, Pretend, Draw, Dance, Sing, Write, Build, Tinker

by
3.64  ·  Rating details ·  42 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Winner of the 2015 Parent's Choice Award

The perfect starting point for creative play, this is the ultimate book of ideas for arts and crafts, building and tinkering, writing and rhyming, singing and dancing, and more! For parents who don't feel they are creative, this book provides an easy entry point for raising creative kids.


Creativity is an essential ingredient for a h
...more
Paperback, 400 pages
Published March 24th 2015 by Roost Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.64  · 
Rating details
 ·  42 ratings  ·  15 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Bryant Schumacher
May 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: etec-545-class-6
“Dance like a tree in the wind.” From dance and crafts to songs and jokes, The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids: 500 Activities to Encourage Creativity by Bobbi Conner and illustrated by Denise Holmes is a simple how-to book filled with fun ideas. The book goes from category to category stirring creativity in every side of children, and aims for simplicity in each activity. Step by step, the book is very easy to follow for children as young as 6 years old, but it should be noted that there is q ...more
roxi Net
Dec 09, 2014 rated it liked it
I have a 2 1/2 year old niece that I'm absolutely crazy about. She's such a physical whirlwind that I was hoping to (selfishly) save myself the cost of a bulk bottle of Advil by sitting her down and having some creative activities that didn't involve a 32 pound child hanging off my neck.

The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids had some great suggestions that were cost effective. I really enjoyed reading the importance of fanning child creativity and I did enjoy the crafts (my niece was able to pay
...more
Debbie
A fun little primer in fostering creativity in children.
Brandie
Mar 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
The Giant Book of Creativity for Kids is exactly what the title says it is: a giant book full of lots of things for kids (and their parents) to do.

I know, I know ... you're thinking, do I need another book full of art projects? And the answer is yes! This book goes above and beyond.

In the beginning of the book is a section for parents on how to encourage creativity in your kids, how to model it, and believe in them. All parents want to do this, but this author provides some concrete ways to do
...more
Jaclyn Harrison
Nov 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The books is broken into 3 chapters: age 2-3, age 3-5, and age 6-12. Each chapter is then broken into several sections: art, building, music, dance, pretend, and words. I only read the chp. for 2-year olds, but there are 3 reasons I liked this book. 1.) There are not many resources for creativity for kids as young as 2 even though they are more than capable and this is the perfect age to start fostering creativity. 2.) Some of the activities are common sense (like coloring), but some are things ...more
Karen Santhanam
Mar 18, 2015 rated it really liked it
This giant book is filled with ideas to build more creativity into your kid’s day. Some are simple while others are more involved. I like when Connor says the secret to success for family creativity is the focus on fun for everyone.

Divided by ages, there are ideas for art, building, music, dance, pretend and word creativity. Interaction is key with all the activities for younger kids. The older set, especially once they can read, can take on some of the creative activities on their own. Many of
...more
Meredith
Mar 18, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: books-i-ve-won
I received this book through a Goodreads giveaway.

This book has so much to do. There are so many ideas and activities for all different ages. I have a four-year-old nephew and two-year-old niece who had a blast with the different activities. The activities are so diverse that any child would be able to find one that they like. There are indoor and outdoor activities, which is great if you need to get the kids out of the house, or if you have to stay inside because of the weather. I highly recomm
...more
Reading Fool
Mar 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: giveaways, 2015
I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

This book has many great ideas for activities that parents can do to foster creativity in their children. The great thing is that it can be used as the child gets older (the book lists ages 2-12). Many activities are cost-effective. This comes in handy for those parents who have run out of ideas for what to do inside on a snow day. And it makes everyone put away their electronic gadgets.
Holly
Mar 24, 2015 rated it liked it
The title is very reflective of the content. It has many great ideas for inspiring creativity, almost too many! I would use this book as more of a reference when I needed it rather than a cover to cover read. I would have liked a little more color inside as well. I found myself skimming most of the content and not being drawn into the information provided.

I was provided an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.
Zachary
Mar 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed the book and the little activities it had in it. The two things I think that would make it better is if there was a way to give an idea of how much the project might cost and maybe put an index in the back with the ingredients so you can look up projects by the ingredients you have on hand.
michella
Dec 26, 2015 rated it it was ok
this would be a good book if you struggled with creative projects or had no background in it but most of it seems pretty common. I liked the idea of family creative night where you take turns picking a project to all work on together. if you are stumped on ideas for little ones this might be a good start.
Makenzie
Mar 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I love this book! I have 2 girls who are four and six so keeping them entertained is a challenge itself, especially when you're stuck indoors during the winter! This book has some fun crafts to do, as well as songs to sing and nursery rhymes. It also has great ideas for games and crafts to play at Birthday parties. I would highly recommend it to others!
Dana
Mar 31, 2015 rated it liked it
This book has lots of interesting and fun activities to do with children and families. From songs and nursery rhymes to crafts and other activities, there is a large variety of fun and interesting things to do with children ages two to twelve. I think it is a nice reference book and can be useful to new parents or caregivers of children. I received this book free to review from Netgalley.
Milka
Aug 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Lots of good ideas and projects for kids of all ages. Can't wait to try a few.
Linda Hagedorn
May 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
Great source book for preschoolers and teachers or parents who like to provide unique opportunities for young children ages 2-12.
Lori Cameron
rated it it was ok
Sep 05, 2015
Cariadne
rated it it was ok
Feb 06, 2015
Virginia Campbell
rated it really liked it
Jun 07, 2015
Justin
rated it liked it
Nov 24, 2015
Maryam AlQassim
rated it it was amazing
Aug 20, 2018
Heather
rated it it was amazing
Jun 08, 2017
Alyssa Brown
rated it liked it
May 26, 2018
Diane
rated it really liked it
Apr 07, 2015
Amanda
rated it liked it
Aug 22, 2015
Denise
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2015
Megan
rated it liked it
Apr 28, 2018
Talitha
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2019
Janine
rated it really liked it
Sep 06, 2017
Wendy
rated it it was ok
Feb 27, 2018
Yara
rated it liked it
Feb 14, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Healthy Mind Cookbook: Big-Flavor Recipes to Enhance Brain Function, Mood, Memory, and Mental Clarity
  • The Soup Club Cookbook: Feed Your Friends, Feed Your Family, Feed Yourself
  • Comfort Food Fix: Feel-Good Favorites Made Healthy
  • We Love Nature!: A Keepsake Journal for Families Who Love to Explore the Outdoors
  • Saving Tarboo Creek: One Family’s Quest to Heal the Land
  • Everyday Detox: 100 Easy Recipes to Remove Toxins, Promote Gut Health, and Lose Weight Naturally
  • Lens of War: Exploring Iconic Photographs of the Civil War
  • Muffins and Mayhem: Recipes for a Happy (if Disorderly) Life
  • 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names
  • Grow Your Value: Living and Working to Your Full Potential
  • Mama Gone Geek: Calling On My Inner Science Nerd to Help Navigate the Ups and Downs of Parenthood
  • Washington Burning: How a Frenchman's Vision for Our Nation's Capital Survived Congress, the Founding Fathers, and the Invading British Army
  • We Laugh, We Cry, We Cook: A Mom and Daughter Dish about the Food That Delights Them and the Love That Binds Them
  • G.I. Joe & Lillie: Remembering a Life of Love and Loyalty
  • Salad Love: 260 Crunchy, Savory, and Filling Meals You Can Make Every Day
  • A Bowl of Olives: On Food and Memory
  • Sunday Suppers: Recipes + Gatherings
  • Taste & Technique: Recipes to Elevate Your Home Cooking
4 followers
Bobbi Conner is the creator and host of the award-winning syndicated radio program, The Parent's Journal, broadcast for an hour each week, nationwide since 1986, on public radio stations. Conner is known for her in-depth interviews about child-development and parenting topics. Her program, books, and articles have been featured in Newsweek, Parade, USA Today, The Washington Post, Redbook, Parents, ...more