Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Saigon Tease: So, What Did You Do in Nam, Dad?” as Want to Read:
Saigon Tease: So, What Did You Do in Nam, Dad?
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Saigon Tease: So, What Did You Do in Nam, Dad?

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  5 reviews
"Catch-22" was the first classic farce about American military life. "M*A*S*H," set later during the Korean War, continued that tradition. But few books have chronicled the behind-the-scenes absurdities of the Vietnam War.

In the tradition of "Sgt. Bilko" and "What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?" SAIGON TEASE follows the misadventures, narrow escapes, and anguish of an 18-y
...more
Kindle Edition, 194 pages
Published July 31st 2014 by John Wood
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Saigon Tease, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Saigon Tease

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-14
4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  5 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Kendi Thompson
Mar 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this one.

This memoir is able to enlighten readers about the author's life as a soldier during the Vietnam war, and spin his personal experiences and mishaps into a read that is both humorous and sad. I liked that despite the chaos and uncertainty of war, the author was able to inject humor into his daily adventures and focus more on the goings on around him rather than experiences specifically related to the war. It's a coming of age story, and the descriptive settings and use
...more
Angeline Brown
Mar 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This is not the kind of book I usually go for but wow, what an interesting read! The author engages you from page one about his time in the army when at 18 years old he joins up and is trained as a stenographer before being sent to Saigon. What I liked about it immediately was that it was wrote with an 18 year olds viewpoint and not as an older man looking back and this really works for the book. Onto Chu Lai and other places we’re given an in-depth look at army life with the author keeping a go ...more
Devi Ansevi
Feb 29, 2016 rated it really liked it
Mr. Wood is a wonderful writer, and Saigon Tease (Part 1), the first 9 chapters of this 10-chapter book, knocked my socks off. It reminded me of the characters John Irving created in A Prayer for Owen Meany, who experience the world slightly differently, in a magical, wonderful way from the rest of us. It also had a dollop of the humor from Good Morning, Vietnam, especially in the way our young hero's character interacted with and accepted the locals at face value.

The book is presented as an au
...more
Charlie B.
Mar 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing
If, like me, you were alive during the Vietnam conflict, even though, like me you lived in Europe at the time and your country wasn't involved, you like me, will have a whole plethora of images come to mind whenever Vietnam is mentioned. this was the most filmed and reported conflict in history. Every night news was broadcast into the home with the latest film. No Iraq war censorship then. So when I began to read this book I felt I already new Vietnam intiomatly though I'd never been there.
John
...more
Anthony Stancomb
Apr 23, 2016 rated it really liked it
An interesting mix. It’s a memoir/coming of age/war story that follows the author through his days in Vietnam in which, with wry self-depreciating wit, he recounts his experiences of the war and of the sex trade. Engagingly frank and with a light pen, he is able to convey the fear and the confusion of both the fighting and of his first fumblings with the opposite sex. In fact, most of the book is taken up with the latter, but then that’s what occupies the mind of an eighteen-year-old, and memori ...more
Megan
added it
Sep 07, 2014
Sandy Harris
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2014
C.L. Hoang
marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2015
David
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2015
Jb3
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2015
Amer
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2016
Christie Claire
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2016
5 followers
I'm an author, writer, and former magazine editor based in Los Angeles. A UCLA grad, I'm a Vietnam vet who served in Japan and Vietnam from 1966-1969.

I was the senior articles editor for Modern Maturity magazine for 18 years, and in 1992 a special report I edited was nominated for a National Magazine Award.

I’ve sold travel and humor pieces to such publications as National Geographic Traveler, Isla
...more