Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Bridesmaid Blues” as Want to Read:
The Bridesmaid Blues
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Bridesmaid Blues

by
4.03  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  20 reviews
Luce knows she should be thrilled when Jenna asks her to be bridesmaid – after all, they’ve known each other since childhood and Jenna is the best friend any girl could have. But it’s hard to get excited about weddings when you’re terminally single and the best man is the boy who broke your heart: Jamie, the groom’s dashing and irresistible brother. How can she face the ma ...more
Kindle Edition
Published July 28th 2014
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Bridesmaid Blues, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Bridesmaid Blues

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.03  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  20 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Gaele
Different from what I’m used to from this author, Luce isn’t a typical ‘romance heroine’: she’s full of self-doubts and contradictions, single and hating it although unable to find the ‘right’ man, and initially more broken record than dedicated to changing her life for the better. With many nights curled up with too much wine and friends, she’s untethered if unable to make positive changes. Enter her friend Jemma, demanding that Luce step up and help with her wedding and be a bridesmaid, even a ...more
Lori
Aug 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
The Bridesmaid Blues is not a typical chick-lit novel. Luce, the main character, is not super-glamorous - she’s normal. She doesn’t have a glamorous career (she works in a film shop), or a glamorous lifestyle. She doesn’t have a trail of devastatingly handsome suitors either. She’s got a flat, a cat, and lots of friends who are getting married. The story mainly focuses on the wedding of Luce’s best friend, Jenna. Luce is asked to be bridesmaid. The groom’s brother is going to be the best man. Un ...more
Adele
Aug 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2016
This is the first book I’ve read by Tracey Sinclair and I absolutely adored it. A perfect read for fans of Bridget Jones and Lindsey Kelk. A smart, sassy, funny romcom with lots of northern charm. From the first chapter that had me laughing through the words to the very end of the book I was hooked by Luce’s plight of Bridesmaid Blues and boyfriend woes.

Tracey Sinclair’s northern wit and humour shone throughout the story. Tracey has created instantly likeable characters especially Luce, an ordin
...more
Clare Williams
Aug 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I love Tracey's stories. She always writes characters you like and can relate to and as always within a chapter of starting it, I just wanted to find a quiet corner, with an endless supply of tea so I could read it in one sitting, with no interruptions. I also have to wait a couple of days before starting a new book as I'm not ready to let go straight away.
Lainy
Feb 09, 2019 rated it liked it
Time taken to read - as and when over 2 days

Pages - 227

Publisher - Indie

Source - Review Copy

Blurb from Goodreads

Luce knows she should be thrilled when Jenna asks her to be bridesmaid – after all, they’ve known each other since childhood and Jenna is the best friend any girl could have. But it’s hard to get excited about weddings when you’re terminally single and the best man is the boy who broke your heart: Jamie, the groom’s dashing and irresistible brother. How can she face the man who dumpe
...more
Maria
Aug 16, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is a chic lit story, but full of contradictions and a low self-esteem; with Luce as the main character, a sweet woman that will make you want to laugh and hug her on every page. Because being a bridesmaid doesn't have to mean you have to have a partner, simply to love the bride and the groom, and enjoy the day, of course!
Let me say this had been a quick read, since I started I couldn't put it down; the freshness of the plot and the sweetness and complexes that Luce had, made me want to know
...more
Jennifer
Jun 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
“The Bridesmaid Blues” is a quick and fantastic read that leaves you feeling good and optimistic about love and finding Mr. Right. Tracey Sinclair’s writing flows perfectly and is descriptive enough to easily imagine the characters, setting and what everyone is doing. Being that I am not from the U.K., I will admit I did have to look up a few words and expressions, such as a “Geordie,” because I had no clue what that meant, lol! But that did not take away from how much I loved this book! I only ...more
Chiomaah Ugo Nwachukwu
Aug 30, 2016 rated it really liked it
Deliciously funny, fabulousy entertaining and highly engrossing plus Lucy was very likeable.
This was a wonderful read. Highly worth it.
Read the rest of my review here: https://upcloseandliteral.blogspot.co... and find out more about my love-affair with Luce here: https://upcloseandliteral.blogspot.co...
I know. That was fast, right?
Linda Jameson
Aug 28, 2014 rated it really liked it
Great fun. Well-paced rom com set in Newcastle. I can totally relate to Luce and liked her haphazard approach to life :-) bit of a drama queen though!
Kathryn Allen
Oct 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
Not my usual genre but Tracey Sinclair does always write well hot male characters. Thoroughly enjoyed as I devoured by the pool in Crete.
Helen J
Oct 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
I was hooked from the outset - a great, fun and engaging read. The main female character is fun, feisty and northern - what's not to like? Well worth the time.
Zoé-lee O'farrell
I want to start off and say I loved Luce! She is so real and down to earth and in her lowest moments just reminded me of…well me! Yes I know I am married, but even being married with a child, when the boy is away on tour, you feel lonely, Saturday nights by yourself as all your friends are with their loved ones and family. Living so far away from friends and family unable to go out and enjoy yourself it’s tough and again it’s lonely. Which is how Luce explodes one drunken night, making her just ...more
Lynn (Ellesea Loves Reading)
Aug 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
A romantic comedy set in North East England, I was chuckling to myself right from the off, as I dived into The Bridesmaid Blues.

Luce is a Geordie, a Bridget Jones kind of lass. She's single, carrying a few extra pounds thanks to her lack of exercise and bad diet. When her friend Jenna announces her wedding to Michael, she's happy until she finds out his brother Jamie will be his best man...her ex. Still, she has six months to win him back or find a new man...no problem. Until, Hali, a long lost
...more
Louise
Nov 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Not your average 'chick-lit' but all the better for it! Thoroughly enjoyed this, it has a great story and plenty of humour. Luce is a completely relatable character, and I love the fact that she comes to her own conclusions about what she wants from romance without the 'you don't need a man to make you happy' idea being really thrown in your face. The last few chapters possibly felt a little rushed but that's probably because I simultaneously wanted to know what was going to happen without wanti ...more
Pat Cavill
Aug 08, 2017 rated it really liked it
I was the very fortunate winner of a giveaway of this book and thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters were very true to life and the storyline very lifelike and believable, Such a pleasure to read a book that seems very much of the current time rather than bygone eras. I will make a special attempt at reading more of Tracey Sinclair's books as this was my first experience of her work. Thoroughly recommend for a light, easy read.
Sharon
My first book by this author and I was really pleased I chose to read it.  Luce is asked to be bridesmaid for her best friend, Jenna.  She’s trying her best to be excited about it, but when she’s been single for as long as she can remember and the last love of her life, Jamie, is the groom’s brother, it’s really hard for her.  But Luce sees this as an opportunity to win Jamie back, so she has 6 months until the wedding to put her plan in place.

I really enjoyed this book and loved Luce’s characte
...more
Anne Hamilton
Apr 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
Jenna's getting married to Luce's ex's brother. Hali's getting married, but Luce hasn't seen her for years... Luce is going to be bridesmaid for both of them, and she hasn't got a plus-one or size 8 body. Does it matter? How will Luce deal with it all? The Bridesmaid Blues is an engaging read about people who seem just a bit more real, a bit more realistically-flawed, than your average chick-lit characters, and they are all the more appealing because of it. The location is a refreshing change to ...more
Christina
Jun 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: romantic-fiction
Witty and well-written, this is an intellectual Bridget Jones-esque romance.

Luce is stuck in a rut and when her best friend announces she's getting married and she wants Luce to be her bridesmaid. Luce decides that this is the trigger she needs to get herself a date and a life to woo back the best man who broke her heart. Of course, her gorgeous, much younger colleague and the smooth new American in town may create more trouble than she anticipated...

Hilariously witty and self-depricating, this
...more
Lynne
Jul 29, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kindle
Great fun, fabulous characters - could identify so much with Luce! Signs of a misspent youth ;) No wonder then that I loved this story. Nice to have a novel set up north too, will definitely be recommending it to friends. (the bit about the beach hut in the update was a copy and paste mistake and can't get rid of it!!!)
Kate
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2018
Pat Olver
rated it really liked it
Mar 10, 2015
Jen
Apr 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Well not real but people a reader can actually relate to with no sheiks or a Greek billionaires in sight. A love triangle and dilemma for bridesmaid and BF Luce who wants to win back her ex boyfriend best man who really isn't worth it. Fun all round
Lady E
rated it it was ok
Jun 26, 2015
Belinda Whitehead
rated it liked it
Aug 21, 2014
Ian
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2018
Ellie Steele
rated it really liked it
Sep 30, 2016
Skip
rated it liked it
Sep 12, 2016
Eliza
rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2014
Denise
rated it it was amazing
Jul 26, 2017
Jo
rated it really liked it
Oct 14, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
71 followers
Tracey Sinclair is a freelance writer and editor. Her first novel and collection of short stories (Doll and No Love Is This, respectively) were published by independent publisher Kennedy & Boyd. Other books include the romantic comedy Bridesmaid Blues and the paranormal series Dark Dates/The Cassandra Bick Chronicles.

Her work has appeared in magazines as diverse as Sky, Printer’s Devil, Yours
...more