Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Tarot Reader” as Want to Read:
The Tarot Reader
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Tarot Reader

(Vestigial Tales #3)

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  69 ratings  ·  17 reviews
Untold centuries ago, the Archipelago was ruled by the Alder—mysterious beings who vanished, leaving behind only scattered artefacts of unknown power, called Vestige. Sometimes, a person will be lucky or unlucky enough to discover that each piece of Vestige has its own tale to tell…

The Tarot Reader

“Cyan didn’t want to read fortunes.”

Cyan Zhu is the best tarot reader Riley
...more
ebook, 78 pages
Published August 7th 2014 by Penglass Publishing (first published August 2nd 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Tarot Reader, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Tarot Reader

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  69 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Tarot Reader
Sarah
Mar 25, 2017 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars

The Vestigial Tales are short stories set in the same world as Laura Lam's Micha Grey series. They give readers a bit more insight into the Vestige artefacts that were left behind when the Alder retreated from the world. The Tarot Reader actually gives us a bit more insight into Cyan, a character we were introduced to during Shadowplay. Although events in this story occur before Shadowplay I actually think you'll enjoy it more if you read it afterwards, Cyan's character is a bit of a my
...more
Laura Lam
Jul 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
The third Vestigial Tale. The first two are "The Snake Charm" and "The Fisherman's Net." They can be read in any order.

This one stars Cyan, a character from Shadowplay.


She reads the Tarot at Riley & Batheo's Circus of Curiosities.


Cyan meets a handsome sailor named Oli.


But another man, with a face that seems to blur in her memory, shows her terrifying visions that might come true.


Thank you, and I hope you enjoy the Vestigial Tale.
...more
Chloe
Jan 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020
7.5/10.

The pros: This was probably my favourite of all of the short ebooks that go with the Micah Grey trilogy. It's also the longest, and it's about Cyan, who is a character I always felt deserved a story and focus of her own. It was so nice to get to know more about her and her past. I loved seeing from her point of view.

The cons: I don't have much criticism for this one, it's very successful for what it is and not too short!

The conclusion: All of these little ebooks are a pleasant companio
...more
Tracey Rosenlicht
Mar 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is the Vestigial Tales Book #3, and was by far my favorite. We are taken into the world of Cyan Zhu who is a fortune-teller with Riley and Batheo's Circus and Curiosities. She is seventeen years young and her family has been immersed in the circus culture for generations. However, she is by far the best fortune-teller to come around since her Aunt. We see similar anecdotes and circus themes throughout the first two Vestigial Tales. However there is an enchantment aspect to this tale which I ...more
Nancy Meservier
Aug 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
The Tarot Reader is the third ebook in Laura Lam's Vestigial Tales, a series of short fiction that ties into her Pantomime universe. So far, the stories have been enjoyable reads and The Tarot Reader is no exception to that. Focusing on the character Cyan before Shadowplay, The Tarot Reader is the longest ebook in the series so far. By reading this, you're really allowed to get a better feel for Cyan, learn about her backstory, her family and what makes her tick. This is also the most romance fo ...more
Simon Cosier
Jun 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is the third of Laura Lam's "Vestigial Tales": short glimpses into unexplored corners of the Micah Grey universe. Only this time, 'short' is not the word! "The Tarot Reader" is a novella-length story, clocking in at an estimated 78 pages!

It tells the story of Cyan, the titular tarot reader, in the weeks before her introduction in Shadowplay. We may already know many of the details of this time from that book, but it's a testament to Lam's writing that I was absorbed none-the-less. And thoug
...more
Nicole Field
Aug 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
This short story happens between Pantomime and Shadowplay and follows the life of Cyan Zhu before she meets up with Micah and Drystan.

She lives in a rival circus with her family who are growing more and more concerned about her over the dreams she has and the way that she seems to be able to read peoples' minds. People who have read the main series will know that Jasper Maske is her father, and this tells the story about how she accidentally reads her mum's mind and finds out.

Also, we get to
...more
Lucy-May
Apr 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I want to read that all over again!! This tale included almost everything I could've wanted to know about Cyan's life before she met Micah & Drystan. The short story tells you about her family, her time at Riley & Batheo's Circus of Curiosities, how her powers developed & about Oli.

I've told Laura before that I'd love a full book about Cyan, & as much as I would've loved this to be longer, this has quenched that thirst! I have such a smile on my face because of knowing more about my favourite c
...more
Emily Casella
This was a really good short story! I loved seeing the past of Cyan and how she came to be. Lam is really wonderful at short stories. The fangirl in me wished they went to Micah's circus, but of course I knew they wouldn't. But it would have been so cool!! There was a lot of great moments with the old man of the stories and a lot is relieved. Nothing you didn't already know, but just how it played out which was fascinating. Overall I enjoyed this devastating and origin story of Cyan.
Kathryn
Mar 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Laura made these novellas free for a time, and I'm really grateful. I love the world of the Micah Grey books and this story is a fantastic addition to them.
Katharine (Ventureadlaxre)
Now we get to see the character Cyan who was easily the best tarot reader the circus (another one, Riley & Batheo’s Circus of Curiosities) has ever had - and for good reason. There's something a little too good about Cyan's ability, which eventually brings her more than she can deal with, both in the form of customers. One is a good kind of 'too much', a sailor, Oliver, who makes her heart tremble just a bit. But then there's another man who make her entire body tremble with fear (would make any ...more
Leah
Jul 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Cyan is my favourite character in the world of Pantomime. I absolutely adore her so it was pretty much a guarantee that I was going to love this novella too. This (I believe) is the longest novella so far in The Vestigial Tales and it's also the most recent. It completely surpassed all of my expectations and I was so disappointed when the story ended. I wanted more from Cyan and was sad to see the end of the novella pop up. I hope Laura Lam writes more from her point of view!


I loved learning mor
...more
J.B. Rockwell
Aug 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely adored this story. Fans of Pantomime and Shadowplay will love it. Those that haven't read Pantomime or Shadowplay will WANT to read them after reading this. The Tarot Reader provides the backstory for Cyan from Shadowplay, filling in a nice little 'mystery spot' The novel left. This story is beautifully written, poignant and touching. I love Cyan. I did the moment she appeared in Shadowplay. And now I love her more. Buy this. Seriously. Don't even think about it. Just buy it - it's ...more
Dumpy Unicorn
Jul 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
One of my favourite Vestigial tales to date. The Tarot Reader of course gives us some depth to Cyan's story.


The world of Ellada is one I find really compelling. The characters that Lam creates are achingly real and I can't help but empathise with them.

This story is set sometime before Shadowplay and is about Cyan's abilities and the start of her relationship with Oli.

Cyan's world changes when she reads for a mysterious character.

It is a fabulous short story go read it.
Michelle (Fluttering Butterflies)
Loved this. And loved Cyan's character even more for reading it!
Lieke
Oct 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Really like Cyan and here more about her backstory and how she met Oli. My favourite Vestigial short.
Asher
Aug 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A great piece of backstory on Cyan. Well done and just long enough and detailed enough to fill out Shadowplay and give us hints of the upcoming conclusion.
Meeni Levi
rated it really liked it
May 27, 2017
unevendays
rated it really liked it
Nov 16, 2014
Craig
rated it it was amazing
Jan 26, 2018
Cendaquenta
rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2018
Patricia Nedelea
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2016
Tehani
rated it it was amazing
Nov 16, 2014
Juu
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2019
Kelly
rated it really liked it
Oct 15, 2019
Devann
rated it liked it
Jul 26, 2016
Melissa
rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2014
Ashley Ferguson
rated it it was amazing
Oct 02, 2014
Charlie
rated it it was amazing
Oct 12, 2017
Elloise Hopkins
rated it it was amazing
Sep 20, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Mortal Word (The Invisible Library, #5)
  • The Archived (The Archived, #1)
  • Cogheart (The Cogheart Adventures, #1)
  • Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race
  • The Bone Ships (The Tide Child, #1)
  • Top Marks for Murder (Murder Most Unladylike Mysteries, #8)
  • Finna
  • The Unbound (The Archived, #2)
  • Witchsign (Ashen Torment, #1)
  • The Bronze Key (Magisterium,  #3)
  • The Emotional Wound Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Psychological Trauma
  • Daughter of Kali: Awakening (#1)
  • Starve Acre
  • The House of Shattered Wings (Dominion of the Fallen, #1)
  • The Winter's Tale
  • The Gift
  • The Light Princess
  • Castle in the Air
See similar books…
817 followers
Please contact me via the contact page on my website as opposed to GR mail.

Laura Lam was born in the late eighties and raised near San Francisco, California, by two former Haight-Ashbury hippies.

After studying literature and creative writing at university, she relocated to Scotland to be with the partner she met online when they were teenagers and he insulted her taste in books and she insulted hi
...more

Other books in the series

Vestigial Tales (5 books)
  • The Snake Charm
  • The Fisherman's Net
  • The Card Sharp
  • The Mechanical Minotaur

Related Articles

Space operas, magic, destiny, dystopia, aliens: There's a bit of something for everyone in 2020's latest offerings in science fiction and fantasy...
85 likes · 21 comments