Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Melchisedec: A Character Study” as Want to Read:
Melchisedec: A Character Study
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt

Melchisedec: A Character Study

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  26 ratings  ·  11 reviews
The Priesthood of Jesus Christ is patterned after Melchisedec! This makes Him important and you should know about Him!

See what the Bible actually says about Melchisedec.

This book takes each of the characteristics that the Bible ascribes to Melchisedec and examines them. The study of these attributes is then compared with those of Jesus Christ.

* Melchisedec is only named tw
...more
Paperback
Published February 13th 2013 by ChristLife, Inc.
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Melchisedec, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Sylvia He is a priest from the heavenly order. His name means "king of peace". If Jesus is the prince of peace who would you think he is?
There is no record…more
He is a priest from the heavenly order. His name means "king of peace". If Jesus is the prince of peace who would you think he is?
There is no record of his birth or death.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-55
4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  26 ratings  ·  11 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Brian Eshleman
Sep 20, 2016 rated it liked it
I may be tough on the author to prove my objectivity, as this book was a gift which he was honest in asking me to rate. Jesus, my Melchizedek, obviously gets as many stars as I've got to give for eternity. So far as the book points to Him, these are thoughts worth dwelling on.

The author's lesson is well thought out and biblically based, and if the tone of a lesson on a particular topic is what he wanted, he's got it. I could have been drawn into the topic a little more by how he chose it, how th
...more
Robert Dallmann
Mar 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Recommends it for: Any serious Christian
Shelves: influences
While conducting research for a different project I was reminded of Melchisedec. I was powerfully moved by the fact that the Bible says that Jesus' High Priestly ministry was patterned after Melchisedec.

He is mentioned by name only eleven (11) times in the Bible and seven (7) of these state that Jesus' ministry is patterned after Melchisedec!

It was a great joy writing this book, and the character study that has resulted in "Melchisedec - A Character Study" has deepened my understanding of Jesus
...more
Lawrence Shawbrooks
Sep 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book is seriously well worth reading. For me, its opening and obvious love of the Lord is excellent. It reads well throughout addressing its subject matter interestingly and in depth.
Sheba Hall
Aug 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Get to know Melchisedec/Melchisedek in relation to Jesus Christ. A truly inspiring and educational awareness!
Rosamaria Noel
Aug 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I won this book via a good-reads giveaway contest.
This book is an interesting comparison of Melchisedec and Jesus Christ.
The author sheds light on this mysterious character in the Bible, Melchisedec is only mentioned a mere handful of times in the Bible, 2x in the OT and in one entire chapter In Hebrews in the NT.
I would recommend all to read this.
Many times we remember the stories of the Biblical historical figures that are constantly spoken of (Abraham, Lot, Noah, Moses, Jesus, John, Luke, M
...more
Sheuringd1988
Nov 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent Bible Study

A closer look at Melchisidec brings deeper understanding of Jesus and God's plan of salvation. The author makes a strong case for Melchiisidec being a pre-incarnate appearance of Christ, and the passages used enable Christians to recognize God's direction and power from Genesis throughout the entire Bible. Well-researched and written, 5 stars.
Audrey
Jan 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The occasional times I ever considered Melchisedek I would be puzzled who He might be. When I came across this book I was intrigued and decided to read it. The author makes it very clear that Melchisedek is none other than Jesus Himself. All of my questions have been answered. It is so clear that what the Bible says is true!
Dawn Weiss
Dec 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great resource

Melchizedek is a hard to understand person in scripture. The author does a great job supporting his supposition that Melchizedek is the pre incarnate Christ. Nicely done.
Ruth
Oct 02, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: give-away, owned-book
The author writes this book under the premise that Melchisedec is a pre-incarnate appearance of Jesus Christ. To the author's credit, he does state at the end of the book, that this belief is not a requirement to the believer. I do believe in pre-incarnate appearances of Jesus, but I did not end up convinced of this one. Whether you end up convinced or not, this book is full of scripture references that you can use for personal study. I received a copy of the book for review purposes.
Jackie Beaudry
Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I have to admit, previously I glanced over the character of Melchisedec in the Bible, mainly due to my lack of understanding. But this study makes the case that he was not just a “mere king” but the pre-incarceration of Jesus. The author uses scripture to clearly show the servanthood, and the continual and consecrated life of our High Priest.
Louisa Black
This is a detailed and thorough look at the Priest Melchisedec.

Little is known about him and the books Genesis and Hebrews is where this author concentrates on getting his information and putting his case across.

This is a character study, not a novel or formatted to read through as a piece of non-fiction as you might be used too, but a format that breaks down the scripture and tries to join the dots up regarding the authors clear argument of what he believes the Bible tells us about Melchisedec.
...more
Titan Rozario
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2017
Jami
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2015
Will
rated it liked it
Mar 13, 2014
Apuca
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2017
Leonard Dupree
rated it really liked it
Oct 05, 2017
phillip
rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2017
Sylvia
rated it it was amazing
Dec 26, 2016
Diane Y.
rated it it was amazing
May 27, 2015
Ronald
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2018
Debbie
rated it really liked it
May 21, 2016
Christine
rated it liked it
Dec 02, 2016
Tristana
rated it it was amazing
Dec 16, 2015
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Aug 18, 2014
Mary
rated it it was amazing
Mar 25, 2015
Brenda
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2014
Deborah
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2014
Vincent
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2014
Claudio Boezio
marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2014
Danielle Johnson
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2014
Rand
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2014
Octavia D. Thompson
is currently reading it
Mar 06, 2015
Mark Googe
is currently reading it
May 05, 2015
Amy Moore
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2015
Mabeldemello
marked it as to-read
Mar 10, 2016
LG
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2016
Rob
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2016
Tiffany
marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2016
ethereal
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2016
Carrie Bourgeois
is currently reading it
Sep 06, 2016
Sigma
marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2016
Jeanie
marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2016
Lin Vasquez
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2016
Allen
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2017
Anne Galloway
is currently reading it
Mar 08, 2017
Larry Goble
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2017
Jonathan J
is currently reading it
May 12, 2017
Kent Raymond
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2017
Michael Brennan
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2018
Skye Morris
is currently reading it
Mar 13, 2018
Tracy Wainwright
is currently reading it
Sep 05, 2018
Dawn  Green
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2018
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2014

Readers also enjoyed

  • Excavating Jesus: Beneath the Stones, Behind the Texts
  • Shrewd: Daring to Live the Startling Command of Jesus
  • Understanding the Difficult Words of Jesus (REV)
  • Take and Read: Spiritual Reading (An Annotated List)
  • God Dwells Among Us: Expanding Eden to the Ends of the Earth
  • The Philosophy of Jesus
  • How God Became Jesus: The Real Origins of Belief in Jesus' Divine Nature—A Response To Bart Ehrman
  • Hard Sayings of Jesus
  • Beginning at Moses: A Guide to Finding Christ in the Old Testament
  • Killing Jesus: The Hidden Drama Behind the World's Most Famous Execution
  • Just Give Me Jesus
  • One Perfect Life: The Complete Story of the Lord Jesus
  • A Glimpse of Jesus: The Stranger to Self-Hatred
  • The Gospel: How the Church Portrays the Beauty of Christ
  • Jesus: The Greatest Life of All
  • Jesus: 90 Days With the One and Only
  • Jesus: A Theography
  • Love Walked Among Us: Learning to Love Like Jesus
See similar books…
124 followers
Robert (Bob) Dallmann was born in a small town in upstate New York, and lived a bit of a "wild life" until late 1983. In December of 1983, Bob repented of his sinful ways, and accepted Jesus' death, burial, and resurrection for him. Since that time, Bob has sought to live a fully devoted Christ-glorifying life. The following is a list of some of the things that have helped create Bob's writing sty ...more