Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “High Strung: A Glass Bead Mystery” as Want to Read:
High Strung: A Glass Bead Mystery
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

High Strung: A Glass Bead Mystery

(Glass Bead Mystery #1)

by
3.77  ·  Rating details ·  987 ratings  ·  120 reviews
When Jax’s Great-Aunt Rita dies and leaves her an old Craftsman-style house in Seattle, it has this provision: You must live here, and find your creative passion. Jax, along with her cat Gumdrop, leaves her unfulfilling life in Miami and discovers that the house, with its huge sunny studio, quirky neighbor Val, and a newly realized love of glass beadmaking are just what sh ...more
Kindle Edition, 199 pages
Published July 8th 2014 by Vetrai Press (first published July 2nd 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about High Strung, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about High Strung

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
LORI CASWELL
Feb 21, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2017
Dollycas’s Thoughts

Jax O’Connell gets the chance to follow her dreams when she inherits a house and a bit of money from her aunt. She packs as much as much as her new VW Bug can hold including her cat and leaves Florida behind and heads for Seattle. The house has been converted into a duplex but needs a little TLC. Jax fixes up a few things so she can work on her beads and jewelry from home and makes some friends in the bead-making world. She is excited when she is invited teach a class and show
...more
Lisa Ks Book Reviews
HIGH STRUNG is a fun, fast mystery that I couldn’t put down!

I really like books where I am not only entertained, but where I can learn new things as well. My time spent reading HIGH STRUNG contained both.

Author Janice Peacock has created a series and protagonist that really captured my imagination. Jacqueline “Jax” O’Connell is a strong, intelligent character who is a pleasure to read. From her passion for making glass beads, to the way she handled investigating a murder, I enjoyed getting to kn
...more
Amy
Jul 09, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The author's detail in describing the process of making glass art and beaded jewelry was incredible. That being said, I felt that the mystery itself was lost in the process. The murder didn't occur until much later in the book and I found myself feeling like I had to finish it out of respect for the author's hard work for writing about her passion in bead making.

I will give the next book in the series a chance, perhaps the mystery will be easier to follow.
Erin Mcmillen
Jun 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
As a glass beadmaker and also being from Seattle, this was an amazingly fun read for me! Looking forward to the next!!!
Nada Sobhi
Sep 10, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Note: I received a free copy from Booktrope Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

High Strung by Janice Peacock is the first instalment in the Glass Beads Mystery series. The novel begins with Jax O'Connell receiving a letter from the lawyer of her late aunt Rita, who offers to give her her house in Seattle, on the condition that she – Jax – must do what she loves.

The letter, contains two of the most beautiful lines in the novel:
"I know inside your tired heart is a woman waiting to start
...more
Andrea Guy
What a fun quick cozy mystery. This is the first book in the glass bead mystery series and it is a wonderful introduction to this series.

Jax moves from Miami to Seattle to the house she inherited from her aunt. The characters are all believable and some are quiet eclectic. I really loved Jax's friend Tessa and Dylan was really great too and I loved how he tied in with the mystery.

This is definitely is a first in the series book. There was a lot of buildup before the first crime, and yes there we
...more
Teresa Kander
Aug 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cozy-mysteries
First in a series, and I can hardly wait to read more. Jax O'Connell, the main character, is fun and personable. During a weekend of festivities at a local bead shop opening, she finds herself in the middle of the investigation of a murder and an attempted murder. There is no lack of suspects, and Jax is just as confused as the police--until pieces start to fall into place.

I enjoyed all the information on bead and jewelry making throughout the book. The interaction between all the characters is
...more
Sabrina
Dec 01, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
*** This book was received for free through Goodreads First Reads ***

HIGH STRUNG is the first entry in Janice Peacock's new cozy murder mystery series taking place in Seattle, the glass bead capital. Jax O'Connell is a likeable heroine who ends up embroiled in the attempted murder of local bead shop owner Rosie Lopez. It's up to Jax and her best friend and bead mentor Tessa to unravel the mystery, lest they risk being accused of the crime themselves. Light-hearted and pleasant to read (although
...more
Richard
Feb 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
For me, this was kind of an artsy/crafty squee fest from end to end. I'm familiar with the Seattle area; the cast is super cozy and amusing; and the author seems to know her glass pretty well... I felt the first-person narration has a high believability index: it's not too "literary", but sounds quite real and is not excessively polished, as one would expect from a narrator who is artsy and smart—but not necessarily steeped in a high-falutin’ literary tradition—setting out to tell her story. To ...more
Julie
Apr 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A fun, light read that the beader and animal-lover in me thoroughly enjoyed. Definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.
Suzanne
Oct 22, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a quirky book from the start. Jax O'Connell inherited a house and money from her great Aunt Rita. Only stipulation, Jax has to live in the house. Ok, but Jax lives in Miami and her Aunt Rita lived in Seattle. After looking at her life she decides to shake it up and move and follow her dream of making jewelry.

What starts out in the first chapter as the letter from the lawyer, and her deciding to move and the second chapter, is a few years later.
Thankfully as the story progresses we do ge
...more
MaryAnn
Sep 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a fun, easy read that had a good mystery and lots of very interesting information on making beads. I loved all the information about the beads because honestly, I guess, had I stopped to think of it, I'd have assumed they were all made in some factory in China. It was exciting that the author worked so much of her art into the book, seamlessly, so it didn't feel as if the reader was sitting at a lecture. Quite frankly, now I want someone to make me some special beads in the colors I lov ...more
Lisa Morin
Feb 03, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
They say beading is a nice way to relax and be creative. Well, if you're Jax O'Connell, you might not feel that way, especially after the harrowing experiences she had.
After inheriting a house from her Aunt, Jax makes a big move and is happy and content creating beautiful bead jewelry.
When Jax is offered the chance to display her pieces during a weekend event at another store, she is not only thrilled and honored, but she finds herself in the middle of a murder. Jax forgot she offered to let a
...more
Cathie Whitmore
May 18, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An enjoyable easy read.

Jax is a likeable and very relatable main character I found myself drawn to from the start. I loved the casual feel of this entertaining and engaging story, filled with many twists and turns as the plot thickens. In the most part light-hearted and humorous, with a bit of murder and mayhem thrown into the mix to keep the reader guessing to the end. Jax’s passion for glass bead creation is an interesting concept which I thought added a unique touch, culminating in a very enj
...more
Jeff
Jul 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mysteries
Great cozy mystery. Jax leaves her bum of a boyfriend to start a new life in Seattle and gets involved in the murder of a local glass beadmaker. Lots of crazy characters, a couple of potential love interests, and a tricky mystery. Looking forward to the rest of this series.

I read a proof copy, but it's now available on Amazon.
DelAnne Frazee
Feb 05, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Title: High Strung - Glass Bead Mystery Book 1
Author: Janice Peacock
Published: 8-31-15
Publisher: Booktrope
Pages: 220
Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense
Sub Genre: Women Sleuths, Cozy Mystery
ISBN: 978513700649
ASIN: B0140HQ483C
Reviewer: DelAnne
Reviewed For: NetGalley

.
Hugh Strung may be a cozy mystery that takes a while to get to the murder, but you really don't notice until it happens. You are so caught up in the storyline and characters that they draw you in and you can't put it down. Jacq
...more
Carla Johnson-Hicks
High Strung is the first instalment in the Glass Beads Mystery series. After reading this one, I am looking forward to the next.

The book begins with Jax O'Connell, living in Florida with her deadbeat boyfriend, receiving a letter from the lawyer of her late aunt Rita. She has been left in her will her house in Seattle, with one condition. She must move there and live in the house. The letter she is sent reads: "I know inside your tired heart is a woman waiting to start living." Then she sets th
...more
FangirlNation
In High Strung by Janice Peacock, Jax O’Connell has moved to Seattle after inheriting her great-aunt’s home and sets to work making amazing and intricate glass beads. She is excited to be invited to participate in a high brow bead show, but getting there, she discovers that Rosie, the woman staging the event, is the meanest person around. Putting up with Rosie, Jax and her best friend, Tessa, do their best to enjoy the opening evening. But then Jax hears the screams of Rosie’s 20-something daugh ...more
RO G'ma
Nov 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Janice Peacock has written an intriguing storyline with realistic, well-developed characters. While some of the characters are not likeable, all of them are believable. This book is well thought out and written with just the right combination of mystery, family life, and humor. I found this book to be an easy read that had me laughing while still being caught up in the mystery that kept me guessing until the reveal. The bead descriptions were so vivid I felt I could actually see and feel the bea ...more
Terri Crossley
Dec 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great new series!

I really enjoyed this book! Jax is giving a second chance when she is left a house in Seattle the one stipulation is she must do something creative and live in the house! Since her life is not going the way she hoped she packs up her belongings and starts off a new adventure ! Her creative outlet is lampwork beads and she is getting ready for a big weekend and hoping that sales will be great! When the weekend starts out with a fellow bead maker being killed and another one almos
...more
Cassidy
Nov 24, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a fun read. I liked Jax and enjoyed reading about how she created a new life for herself as a bead-maker. She is smart, talented and good-hearted. The bead-makers in the story made for a quirky collection of believable characters. Some endearing, others downright unpleasant. The story was rounded out by her close friendship with Tessa and the introduction of a potential romantic interest into Jax’s life. All in all, the plot was nicely developed, with twists befitting a cozy mystery.
As
...more
Kelly
May 21, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
**I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review**

This was an interesting book. The characters were well written, and I loved the little cat-astrophe early on in the book. The mystery had a nice pace, and some good minor twists.
Jolina Adams
I was so excited to read this book because it involved flame-worked glass bead making. I enjoyed that very much, but it felt like a first book. I liked that it was not long or drawn out. I look forward to reading more from Janice Peacock because I make glass beads and jewelry too.
Lynda Lafond
Jun 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Pure awesome

A little bit of mystery and mayhem rolled up with beads, glass and lampworking. Perfect summertime reading for mystery fans, crafty folk, art lovers & pet fans!
Carlin
Jul 30, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: on-kindle
This was a fun first book in the Glass Bead mystery series. While I enjoyed descriptions of making glass beads (which the author does when she's not writing mysteries) it took me awhile to sort out all the characters. Jax, the protagonist, has inherited a house from her aunt in Seattle with the stipulation she must live in the house. She is able to live out her dream of making glass beads and designing jewelry in the studio she created in the back of the house. A murder and an attempted murder o ...more
Dora
Sep 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
High Strung

Jax is in a go nowhere relationship and has a dead end job when she receives a letter from her Aunt Rita's attorney notifying her that she has been left her house with the contingency that she has to live there. Her aunt wants her yo live her creative dreams.
Jax is a bead artist who is participating in a juried bead show and demonstration over a weekend. Rosie, the owner of Aztec Beads who is sponsoring the bead show, has anger issues. She is nearly strangled to death by her necklace
...more
Darcysmom
Jul 30, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Jax O'Connell inherited her aunt's Seattle house and moved across the country to find her passion, a requirement of the inheritance. Jax fulfills her dream of creating lampwork beads and designing jewelry. The story begins two uears after the move, and Jax is well on the way to establishing her business. When a body is discovered after a party for jewelry designers, Jax has to figure out the killer before her best friend, Tessa, is arrested for murder.
High Strung is a truly enjoyable cozy myster
...more
Deidrah
Sep 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book needs to come with a warning label. I knew nothing about glass beads before I read it. Now I know how much I need to save to get started in this craft and belong to a few facebook groups on the subject. lol The book was really interesting. I like the characters and the plot was intriguing. If you know nothing about beads you'll at least have a beginning foundation on the subject. I like how the descriptions were included in the action without disrupting the flow of the narrative or sou ...more
Dottie
Oct 06, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mysteries
This was a fairly quick read for me, but oh so worth it. The
Characters are colorful and realistic and the story is engaging.
I figured out "whodunnit" about halfway through the story but the author kept me wondering if I'd made the right choice up to the reveal. I enjoyed how Jax, the main character, told her back story and how she had gotten into glass bead making. I am used to the murder taking place within the first few chapters, but I like how ms. Peacock waited so that the story was set prop
...more
Monica
Aug 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Chillingly Charming

As a handmade jewelry designer with a love of mystery, I enjoyed this story. The setting in a bead store and references to making lampwork glass beads made it even more cozy. The charming part is the endearing friendships between beaders that are also around my same age. The mystery murder seems to drag out longer than it should without much detail, but with all the talk about beading, I was fine with that as it lends itself to how we creative's are easily distracted by sparkl
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book Giveaways: Giveaway! High Strung, A Glass Bead Mystery 1 5 Dec 04, 2015 05:58PM  
Cozy Mysteries : Book Country Interview with Janice Peacock 1 18 Aug 13, 2014 09:54AM  
  • Wicked Stitch (Embroidery Mystery, #8)
  • Never Say Pie (A Pie Shop Mystery #2)
  • Burnout (Betsy Livingston / Pecan Bayou #5)
  • Trick or Deceit (Celebration Bay, #4)
  • The Study of Murder (Muirteach MacPhee Mystery #3)
  • Cliffhanger (The Belinda & Bennett Mysteries, #1)
  • All That Glitters (A Jake & Laura Mystery, #2)
  • Sex, Lies, and Snickerdoodles (Working Stiffs Mystery, #2)
  • Bewitching Boots (A Renaissance Faire Mystery #7)
  • Faerie Cake Dead (Luna Devere, #1)
  • Murder in Merino (A Seaside Knitters Mystery, #8)
  • Oh Say Can You Fudge (Candy-Coated, #3)
  • Sweet Pepper Hero (Sweet Pepper Fire Brigade Mystery #4)
  • Dang Near Dead (Aggie Mundeen Mystery #2)
  • Hot Chocolate
  • Dead as a Scone (Royal Tunbridge Wells Mystery #1)
  • The Skeleton Garden: (Potting Shed Mystery, #4)
  • Burnt Offerings
186 followers
Janice Peacock decided to write her first mystery novel after working in a glass studio full of colorful artists who didn’t always get along. They reminded her of the odd, and often humorous, characters in the murder mystery books she loved to read. Inspired by that experience, she combined her two passions and wrote High Strung: A Glass Bead Mystery, launching a new cozy mystery series featuring ...more

Other books in the series

Glass Bead Mystery (4 books)
  • A Bead in the Hand (Glass Bead Mystery, #2)
  • Off the Beadin' Path (Glass Bead Mystery, #3)
  • To Bead or Not to Bead (Glass Bead Mystery Series Book 4)
“We just have to sort through the junk. You know, like organising a jumbled box of beads. All we have to do is put each piece in its proper place, and we'll be able to see what we have.” 1 likes
More quotes…