Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “La vita sessuale delle gemelle siamesi” as Want to Read:
La vita sessuale delle gemelle siamesi
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

La vita sessuale delle gemelle siamesi

by
3.49  ·  Rating details ·  3,799 ratings  ·  346 reviews
Nell'America di oggi, ossessionata dal successo, dalla celebrità mediatica, dalla perfezione del corpo, può accadere che una personal trainer di Miami Beach finisca sotto i riflettori della televisione per aver disarmato e immobilizzato un uomo, grazie a una testimone che ha avuto la prontezza di riprendere tutto con il telefonino. Le due donne sono Lucy Brennan, l'eroina ...more
Paperback, Narratori della Fenice, 432 pages
Published July 10th 2014 by Guanda (first published May 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about La vita sessuale delle gemelle siamesi, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about La vita sessuale delle gemelle siamesi

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.49  · 
Rating details
 ·  3,799 ratings  ·  346 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
F
Mar 24, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: usa, 2014, scotland
Was interested to see him write from a female protagonist, not only that but from an American and not his usual Scottish writing.
I was sceptical but he did it so well and still kept me interested. Loved how he changed the chapters of point of view from both protagonists. He usually jumps and rarely is a full book by him from the point of view of one character and I love this style.
I hated both Lena & Lucy but I doubt you were suppose to like them.
Strong characters and fucked up situations is
...more
Michael
May 11, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2014, contemporary
Irvine Welsh has always been an author that I have wanted to read, but he always seemed to sit on the backburner. I have Trainspotting on my bookshelf and I’m sure I’ll get to it eventually. His new novel The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins seemed like just the right amount of filth and bizarreness for me at the time. The novel kicks off questioning American’s obsession with numbers, from statistics, ratings, western culture seems to measure everything with numbers. From crime rates, percentages to e ...more
Adrian Deans
Let me begin by saying that Irvine Welsh is my favourite writer of the last 25 years. I was blown away by Trainspotting, The Acid House, Ecstasy, Glue and Filth. I didn’t particularly enjoy Marabou Stork Nightmares but I could appreciate its ambition and power…it haunts me still. I loved Porno, but after that he started to seem a tad jaded. If You Enjoyed School You’ll Love Work was trying too hard. The Bedroom Secrets of the Master Chefs was a confused mess. And Crime left me cold (with too muc ...more
Paul
Apr 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
When Lucy Brennan, a Miami Beach personal-fitness trainer, disarms a gunman chasing two frightened homeless men, the police and the breaking-news cameras are not far behind and, within hours, Lucy is a media hero. The solitary eye-witness is the depressed and overweight Lena Sorensen, who becomes obsessed with Lucy and signs up as her client – though she seems more interested in the trainer’s body than her own. When the two women find themselves more closely aligned, and can’t stop thinking abou ...more
Cbj
Jan 24, 2014 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
One of Welsh's lesser novels. Yes, its worse than CRIME. Somehow, Welsh is not at his best when he is out of his comfort zone - writing about the Scottish working and middle classes. Irvine Welsh writing a novel set outside Scotland is like Martin Scorsese making a movie which is not about Italian Americans.

Frankly, a lot of Welsh's commentary on American society is trite and antiquated. So Americans are religious and gluttonous and philistine and TV addicted. A million articles and novels have
...more
Casey
May 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow. In this novel, Irvine Welsh has created some of his most engaging characters. I love the fact that he doesn't mind writing from the female point of view, and he doesn't mind making his characters incredibly fucked up. As always, no character is inherently bad. There's motivation, and even if you don't muster up empathy, there's at least some sympathy. This book is definitely twisted, and I loved every minute of it. "Vince Vaughn eyes" is one of the greatest descriptions I've ever read, and ...more
KatieMc
Would you want to read a book where the protagonist is fitness fanatic professional who uses abuse and shame to kick her victims clients into shape?

Do you enjoy when this sort of thing happens?


Me neither. And it's a shame because this was actually a good dark and twisty tale that kept me quite entertained. Writing extreme characters is tricky, they can quickly turn into caricatures and any growth or development feels contrived. Lucy is as tough as nails, disciplined, angry and has a potty mouth.
...more
Nigeyb
Aug 25, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Much better than I was expecting

Irvine Welsh is my favourite contemporary writer. Since reading 'Trainspotting’, around the time it came out, I have read most of Irvine Welsh's books and, to one degree or another, enjoyed them all.

On 4th May 2014, I went to see Irvine Welsh in conversation with (the nearly as brilliant) John Niven at the Brighton Festival. It was around the time 'The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins' was published. Everything I heard that night suggested this would be another Welshia
...more
Kerry
May 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
When I spotted this on the new releases shelf of my local library, I was baffled of the idea of Welsh having written this book, set in Miami, about two women in their early thirties, one of which is a body obsessed fitness obstructor. What could the author of Trainspotting and Filth tell me about these people, and this place?

I was absolutely blown away. From the Americanisms in the pov voices of the two main protagonists, to the female experience of sex, image, experiences and our placement with
...more
Lee Anderson  drunk_on_bookz
Mixed martial artist and serial calorie counting personal trainer, Lucy Brennan, finds herself in a car accident on a highway one night.
Things spiral out of control and before Lucy knows it she's disarming a gunman and pinning him to the ground until the Police arrive.
Meanwhile all is caught on camera by another motorist.
Meet camera woman, extremely overweight artist, Lena Sorensen. Who soon becomes obsessed with Lucy. But as their lives carry on, who really is obsessed with who?
Both women ha
...more
Hayley Gullen
I've always enjoyed Irvine Welsh's female characters - they've always been the dry-witted, long-suffering and ruthless counterpoints to his male wasters. It was good to see a book where they took the lead.

Having said that, however, I struggled with the believability of the two lead characters. Lucy, the almost psychotic personal trainer, is just that bit too ruthless. Some of Lena's decisions towards the end, in addition, didn't chime with the knowledge of her that I'd established in the first
...more
Elaine
May 24, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the first time I have ever read anything of Irvine Welsh and I must say it was quite confronting. I wouldn't think this would be a read for the "fainthearted". It really was quite in your face with language and themes that were shocking and dark. Whilst not disliking it I'm not really sure what I thought of this book. I didn't really like the characters and I'm not sure that I'm satisfied with the resolution of the story. I guess though as the blurb says this book has it all...food, sex, ...more
Mauoijenn ~ *Mouthy Jenn* ~
*NetGalley book review*

Nope. I made it about 40% into it and was still baffled by what I was reading. Not for me.
Ray
Oct 21, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
Lena and Lucy are thrown together by a random event. They are like chalk and cheese, one is a stick thin personal trainer the other a blob of an artist. Both women are damaged, scarred by the past, and each has a different coping mechanism - eating to excess or compulsive exercise and casual sex.

They begin a strange friendship in which the power balance is constantly shifting. This being Welsh we also have a mounting tension and escalation of seemingly innocuous trends until we reach a crescendo
...more
Jennifer B.
This is the first book by Irvine Welsh that I have read. Just the name alone suggests a trashy novel, but it's written by the same guy who wrote "Trainspotting", so it should be good, right? As for "Trainspotting", I haven't read the book, but I've seen the movie. I found it overrated and quite silly, honestly.

Then again I often find sad things funny and funny things sad.

In short, it's got nothing on "Requiem For a Dream", which is a great book and a great movie.

Anywho, I was intrigued by the
...more
Anastasiaadamov
At times I found this book to be deeply offending and disturbing piece of literature. To read it trough is to go trough a series of thought provoking and nerve wrecking chapters. Some times reading was a battle and an up hill climb.
In the end it was not what I expected and I'm glad for it
Neil Harkins
Reading an Irvine Welsh book is like a literature osmosis of certainty for me. No matter what the genre, era, location, characters or dialogue; I will love it!
It took me about two weeks of post-reading reflection to admit it but I just didn't love this book. Loving something makes leaving it hard, not thinking about it harder and never having it again devastating.

That's how I know I didn't love this book.

To keep things in perspective, I read it cover to cover (or 0% to 100%) in a little over a
...more
JK
Jan 22, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My favourite thing about Welsh's writing is that every single one of his characters are fundamentally flawed. In fact, most of them are close to monstrous, and he explores their dispositions to a wonderful degree. Seeing these psychopaths dissected on paper is absolutely delectable, and it's these scrutinisations of incomprehensible psyches that attracts me to Welsh time and time again.

I wasn't disappointed in Lucy and Lena. They each had their necessary depravities, and the plot moved itself al
...more
Robert
Jul 06, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

I'm not sure if it's my impression but ever since Glue my interest in Irvine Welsh as been going down and with each subsequent book I've experienced nothing but disappointment. Disclaimer one - I thought Porno was a ton of fun. Disclaimer 2. I haven't read Crime or Skagboys but they are on my to be read shelf.

When I found out that Welsh was publishing another book this year, I thought I'd give him one more chance and if I disliked The sex lives... I would stop investing in his books.

As it turns
...more
Gina
Jul 08, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Three stars a bit generous but two too harsh.

Read this for book club. Haven't read anything else by Welsh and, as other reviews have intimated, this probably helped me to view it more generously as I believe this fares poorly compared to Trainspotting, Filth etc. TSLOST seemed to me to be a way for Welsh to channel some of his more sadistic fantasies under the guise of a compelling novel. Positives: it is more original than other crime/thriller novels and not predictable, which has to be a good
...more
Reading Badger
Jan 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
“The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins” came as a surprise for me. While you can see strong female characters throughout Welsh’s books, this was the first one for me where there were two female leads, each strong but fucked up in their own way.

The story begins with one of the protagonists, Lucy Brennan, personal trainer extraordinaire, disarming a gunman chasing two unarmed men. Her bravery is recorded by the second protagonist, an overweight artist, Lena Sorensen, who quickly begins to idolize Brennan
...more
Sam
May 07, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is an excellent book. I was excited that this was the first time I got to read my favourite author's new book as soon as it was released and it didn't disappoint.

Much has been made of the fact this is the first novel Welsh has released that doesn't contain any reference to his native Scotland (Crime was set in the States but still had ties by virtue of Lennox being Scottish and featuring himself in Filth). I'd say he's executed the 'transition' beautifully although much of that is owed to t
...more
Eddie
Aug 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Irving Welsh has moved from Edinburgh to America and based his latest book in Miami. At its heart though it is still about how we live and if one has read his previous books there is a comparison to be drawn between the nature of an addition to drugs, as with his Leith novels (Trainspotting etc), with the nature of an addiction to fitness.

The main character Lucy is tough and uncompromising. She works as a personal trainer and is obsessed with calories and exercise. Her own workouts are hard, box
...more
Matthew Vaughn
I think I liked this more as an audiobook than I would have just reading it. The narrators did a fantastic job.
AMASHI
Jan 09, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Irvine Welsh's competence to originate fierce and feisty alpha females is thrilling.
Blair
Jan 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It's no secret I am an Irvine Welsh fan. A huge fan. And after reading this novel, I remain so. By removing the action from his native Scotland, Welsh becomes only slightly (infinitesimally) less luminous and shocking in his writing than when he is comfy at home. And so is the case for "The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins", which sees the setting shift to the USA. South Beach, Miami to be precise.

This adventure was unlike Welsh's other works that I had previously enjoyed, yet it was perverse enough
...more
Ro Capriles
The novel's most interesting trait was the effort the author had to make to emulate an American woman's discourse. It was entertaining, but sometimes it was too excessive, like it was trying too hard. For example, the email exchanges sometimes felt very out of the blue and didn't contribute to character development (as I'm sure it was what they were intended to do).
Catherine M
Jun 28, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, kind-of-meh, 2017
I had a customer come into my bookstore the other day, and we talked about our opinions on The Girl on The Train . I, of course, loved the book while she thought it was uninspired. Her words were, "I'm in my 70s. I don't have all that much time left and there so many other books worth reading more than this." And while I disagree on that particular book, I still think the sentiment remains, even for me who (hopefully) still has quite a lot of time left.
That idea was kind of stuck in my head whi
...more
Jessica
Jul 27, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book has had a lot of bad reviews and I suppose I can understand why -- however, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it was very hard not to put it down.

Firstly I'll start with what I found to be the biggest and most frustrating flaw;

The dialogue - the dialogue was sometimes confusing because the author didn't use conventional ways of presenting it through quotations marks. I found it really irritating to begin with. I couldn't tell when dialogue began and where it ended and if it was conti
...more
Vince Darcangelo
http://ensuingchapters.com/2015/02/15...

Longtime fans will not instantly recognize the author in this new work. Rather than the gray-skied schemes of Scotland, the drama unfolds in sun-kissed Miami, and missing is the phonetic text and colorful British slang.

Not absent, however, are the troubled characters, existential peril and sharp-tongued satire expected from the author of Trainspotting.

In his brilliant new book, Welsh entangles the lives of a body-obsessed fitness instructor, an overweight
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Deadkidsongs
  • The Disassembled Man
  • An Accidental Light
  • Ice
  • Genius, Vol. 1
  • A Call for Revolution: A Vision for the Future
  • Darcy’s Utopia
  • All the Beautiful Sinners
  • Don't Read This Book
  • How to Think About Exercise
  • Adventure Time with Finn & Jake (Issue #4)
  • Deeds Not Words: The Story of Women's Rights - Then and Now
  • Di questo mondo e degli altri
  • Thieves Fall Out (Hard Case Crime)
  • The Pirates! In an Adventure with the Romantics
  • The Fade Out #1
  • Imperfect Spirituality: Extraordinary Enlightenment for Ordinary People
  • Sgt. Frog, Vol. 3 (Sgt. Frog , #3)
See similar books…
4,822 followers
Probably most famous for his gritty depiction of a gang of Scottish Heroin addicts, Trainspotting (1993), Welsh focuses on the darker side of human nature and drug use. All of his novels are set in his native Scotland and filled with anti-heroes, small time crooks and hooligans. Welsh manages, however to imbue these characters with a sad humanity that makes them likable despite their obvious scumb ...more
“Without this kickstart to my day, I'd be lost. A day without a morning run is a day you fumble through, rather than one you attack.” 14 likes
“Everybody talks about being a writer, angel. If every novel conceived on a bar stool made it into print, there wood not be one tree left standing on God's green Earth.” 11 likes
More quotes…