Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Not If I See You First” as Want to Read:
Not If I See You First
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Not If I See You First

by
3.93  ·  Rating details ·  6,822 ratings  ·  1,297 reviews
The Rules

Don't deceive me. Ever. Especially using my blindness. Especially in public.

Don't help me unless I ask. Otherwise you're just getting in my way or bothering me.

Don't be weird. Seriously, other than having my eyes closed all the time, I'm just like you only smarter.

Parker Grant doesn't need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That's why she created the Rules:
...more
Hardcover, 310 pages
Published December 1st 2015 by Poppy
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Not If I See You First, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Virginia To the best of my understanding, they are simply 2 more rules.

Rule #11:
Dont worry that I won't give you any second chances. I will. I might even
need…more
To the best of my understanding, they are simply 2 more rules.

Rule #11:
Dont worry that I won't give you any second chances. I will. I might even
need some from you.

Rule #12:
Don't jump to conclusions. You and me both, but mostly me. (less)
Tate Thurgood Yes. Not an obscene amount, I suppose (like not every other sentence), but the f-bomb is used a few times and other swear words are used throughout.…moreYes. Not an obscene amount, I suppose (like not every other sentence), but the f-bomb is used a few times and other swear words are used throughout. It was more than I appreciated but not as bad as some books(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Emily May
Jan 09, 2016 rated it really liked it
Have you ever read a book and not realised you were expecting it to be bad until it’s actually pretty good and you’re surprised? That’s how I felt about this.

There's been a lot of hype and starred reviews for Not If I See You First, but I think I had it in the back of my mind that it would be yet another The Fault in Our Stars-style book. I was subconsciously predicting that this would be to blindness what TFiOS was to cancer and All the Bright Places was to suicide. A contrived, forcefully-phil
...more
Emma Giordano
Mar 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this read. It had a nice balance of light-heartedness and intensity. I had never read a novel with a blind protagonist before, but I believe it was a perfect introduction.

Parker is a badass. An absolute badass. Her narration was the highlight of the story. I just loved how unapologetically herself she is. I also loved watching her grow and heal after her father's death. It was a unique and complex journey and I feel it was executed well. I obviously cannot speak for the blind re
...more
Kelly (and the Book Boar)
Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

I’m always on the lookout for YA books with a fresh approach. When Not If I See You First popped up, I thought maybe it would be something special. I appreciated that the blurb clearly pointed out there was potential for some romance in the storyline, and the double-bonus was it was clear that Parker would be going through some grown-up stuff – mainly the fact that her father just died and that she is blind. Sadly, this book ended up b
...more
C.G. Drews
This a really difficult book to review because I liked it a lot while reading, but every time I put it down...agh, my brain found SO MANY PROBLEMS. Whyyyy is reviewing so complicated. omgggg. Obviously this calls for a like vs dislike list and we'll go from there.

(But this is only the second book I've read with a blind protagonist; She Is Not Invisible being the other one. WHY IS THIS? WE NEED MORE OF THESE KIND OF BOOKS OUT THERE.)

L I K E S:
• Obviously the fact that Parker is blind and I felt l
...more
Taylor Knight
I'm so pleasantly surprised by this book! I wasn't sure what to expect when I started it but Not If I See You First is definitely one of my favorite of 2015!
I love the writing of this book. It's written really realistically. The dialogue and characters are very real and honest.
I liked Parker a lot. She wasn't always likable but it was realistic. She had her ups and downs but who doesn't?
I just loved reading about her. And her character development was great. It was a little rushed at on point
...more
emma
wowow i read a whole ass book and i didn't even update it on goodreads...i totally forgot. when has that EVER happened??? who even am i?? i don't know myself.

reading this was an extremely odd experience, and actually i'm just going to link to Cait @ Paper Fury's review b/c it is perfect and completely covers my thoughts and then i'll just rehash some of them here i guess for the sake of "actually writing a review, kind of." or whatever.

but really, again - you should just read Cait's.

so Not If I
...more
Sarah
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins UK, Children's and NetGalley.)

Rule #8: Don’t treat me like I’m stupid or a child. Blind doesn’t mean brain damaged.



This was a YA story about a blind girl, with a dash of romance.

Parker was quite a prickly person really, and her rules were pretty unforgiving – no second chances with this girl (because obviously she never makes mistakes). I actually felt quite sorry for her friends and famil
...more
Kate (GirlReading)
3.75* Not If I See You First was funny, adorable and heartbreaking, whilst also being continuously informative and enlightening to someone who hasn't experienced being blind, nor read a book with a blind protagonist (which is something I definitely need to read more of!) I really enjoyed Parker as a character, she was a tough, honest, witty teenage with flaws. Yes, my heart broke for her, due to everything she'd had to deal with, but it also cheered her on. She was definitely frustrating at time ...more
Aditi
“Have enough courage to trust love one more time and always one more time.”

----Maya Angelou


Eric Lindstrom, an American author, has penned a terrific debut young adult contemporary fiction called, Not If I See You First that revolves around a blind teenage girl, who recently lost her father and since then she hasn't cried at all, and she loves to play by her strict rule book, and if anyone breaks those rules, then there is no second chance for that person, but lately, this girl is finding it r
...more
Cody
Jan 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Not If I See You First was an exceptional debut that managed to captivate me from page 1 and not let go until long after reading. Lindstrom creates a MC that refuses to let her lack of sight get in her way, she’s downright ferocious at times. Parker is strong, funny, and sarcastic, she wants to be treated like any other teenager. This book will make you laugh, cry; both with joy and sadness and more profoundly change your outlook on life, I can’t think of a better way to start your 2016 than wit ...more
Odette Knappers
Oct 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017
Before I started this book, I was doubting my love for YA, because I'd read some predictable books. But this book made me fall in love all over again with YA. This is a perfect contemporary, and I love it to pieces.

I understand why people want to underline things in books, but I'm glad I did not started it, because at one point I would have had three completely marked pages.

I'm almost sad I got this book from the library and I did not buy it.

I recommend this if you like a diversity, out of yo
...more
Jen Ryland
Okay, I loved 99 percent of this book. I love prickly, super-snarky characters and if anyone deserves to be snarky, it's Parker. She's got a pretty tough life and she uses her snark as a defense mechanism to keep others at a distance.

So if you don't like snarky characters, rest assured that Parker does experience some character growth. However, given that character arc (which is also linked to the romance) I found the ending pretty unsatisfying. I'm not that reader who insists on a HEA - I don't
...more
Kitty
May 03, 2015 rated it it was ok
Shelves: ya


You know what the most frustrating part about this whole novel is? You can tell the author was totally writing it to Make a Point. Recently there has been, deservedly, quite a bit of side-glances thrown at YA romances. I think it's because, for the most part, it seems like editors and writers both can't seem to fathom a YA book about, oh, let's say cancer, or record collecting, or a crazy road trip, or going to the prom, that DOESN'T involve a romance. Like, I get that love is a huge thing in mo
...more
Jen
Oct 09, 2017 rated it liked it
Now, let me explain the only 3 stars for my review.

This book was well written, the characters were real, the time and place were drawn well and, though I am not blind so I am not sure how someone who does not see would feel, I think the MC being blind and how she dealt with it was realistically done.

The part that made this only three stars and toss the book down about a third of the way in? The teenage drama. Blind teens have the same drama as those with sight. They aren't any different from an
...more
Maddie
Jan 16, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arcs, stand-alones
This was definitely a fun read because of its concept. I've always wondered about the logistics of being blind and it was great to explore in this book and gain some empathy, even if the main character was overly whine-y. Cute but unsatisfying romance too.
Shae McDaniel
You know that one GIF of Emma Stone crying and taking a photo with a camera? That's me right now. This book is so beautifully, mind-blowingly perfect, I don't know how I'm functioning. And yes, this is Shae saying these things about a contemporary. I know, apocalypse is nigh, right?

THINGS I LIKED:

-Parker. PARKERRRRRRRRRRRR. Parker is awesome. I loved so many things about Parker. I loved that she very firmly did NOT fall into the "sainted disabled person" trap. I love that she's blunt and sarcast
...more
CW (The Quiet Pond) ✨
This book is not about blindness. This book is about a girl who is blind.

Though the differences between the two above may seem minute, it is an important distinction to make. If you approach this book with the former, you will probably be disappointed. Conversely, if you approach this book with the latter, you may enjoy it as much as I did.

Not If I See You First is as surprisingly delightful debut. A largely character-driven book, it offers layers and layers of character development that pairs a
...more
Imillar
May 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya
Parker Grant may be blind, but she's the girl we would all liked to have been in high school: cool, smart, outwardly fearless and with a bullshit detector that she wields like the weapon it is. She's got the usual teen problems around boys, and a great group of friends, as well as some pretty entertaining frenemies. But what really makes this book terrific is her determination, in a completely unsentimental way, to not let her blindness interfere with her life. This comes across as part of her i ...more
Vivian
Feb 01, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3,5 sterren: erg leuk boek dat jammer genoeg wel een beetje vaag was. De schrijfstijl is lekker vlot maar soms een beetje té, de hoofdpersoon is heerlijk stoer en toch heel kwetsbaar en onzeker. Ik vond het erg goed hoe het blind-zijn beschreven wordt, en dan vooral de fantastische schateren en grinniken-humor. Uitgebreide recensie: http://thebookreview.nl/recensies/con...
Alaina
I FREAKING LOVE PARKER SO FREAKING MUCH!

Her character was everything plus having a blind MC was refreshing! I totally want to be her best friend after reading this book - well actually, while reading this book. Either way I want her for a best friend because I loved everything about her character.

Then there's Hazel, who I loved but I felt so bad because her parents were embarrassed when people asked what her oxygen mask was for. Like why the hell are acting embarrassed?!? They don't have to wear
...more
Aimal (Bookshelves & Paperbacks)
Parker lost her sight in a car accident that killed her mother when she was young. Since then, her father was her everything. They had a close-knit relationship, and he was her best friend. But three months before the novel takes place, Parker’s dad died of an overdose on anti-depressants. She had no idea he was even on them. Now living in her dad’s house with her aunt and her aunt’s family, Parker hasn’t cried ever since the day he died. Not even once. And Parker shrouds herself in a thick armo ...more
Jeann (Happy Indulgence)
I really couldn't connect to Parker, who was prickly and rude. Fair enough she had a reason to be, but when people are trying to be considerate to you and you never really give them a chance, that just means you're mean. The high school drama in this book was also a bit much.

---

This review appears on Happy Indulgence! Check it out for more reviews.

Not If I See You First was an eye-opener when it came to blind characters. Although she can’t see, Parker doesn’t need anyone’s help or pity, and she
...more
Drew
Jan 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
“He still looks at you like he used to, even before you got together, like you’re the most important thing in the world.”

This book took some warming up to.

In the beginning the main character, Parker, was a real jerk and her attitude put me off. But when I finally pushed past the first few chapters I realized that's the way she was supposed to act. She was a naturally blunt, honest, and rude person. A big part of the book was dedicated to Parker figuring out that she was mean and self-centered
...more
Barbara
Feb 16, 2016 rated it liked it
That was kinda cute. I'm not overwhelmed, but it was better than I expected it to be.

Update: Changed the rating to 3/5 stars. My opinion remains the same, it just wasn't fair to my other 3-star books ( like they would mind it)

- Review : http://banosaur.blogspot.pt/2016/03/n... -
Kaila
Oct 25, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2018
3/5 stars

I really had no idea what to expect from this book, but I’ve come out really pleasantly surprised. There were really some things that I absolutely loved and some things that weren’t my favourite. I really enjoyed the exploring Parker’s relationships with her friends, and to be honest, that was probably my favourite aspect of the book altogether. This is also the first book that I’ve read from the perspective of someone that’s blind. I found it both interesting and eye-opening to read fr
...more
Laura (bbliophile)
Oct 06, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: diversity
I loved the main character, but there were quite a few comments that made me feel very uncomfortable (like "she'd be very pretty if she lost some weight").
Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookworms
This review was originally posted on (un)Conventional Bookviews
Not If I See You First was both delightful and sad. Very real, and with a dash of drama thanks to Parker and the way she thought about herself first - like many other teenagers tend to do.

Review - (un)Conventional Bookviews

I'm not sure why I kept Not If I See You First for so long on my kindle without reading it - it was as if it was hiding in plain sight! Parker was a very prickly heroine, and some might not enjoy her at all. I found her to be refreshing in some wa
...more
Figgy
Actual rating 4.25

I know it was an accident. Oxycodone for your back, then some more when it didn’t work along with some ibuprofen for swelling, plus some Xanax, and then a couple beers that made you forget you already took them and you took more, and extra Xanax because you were having a bad week, all adding up to stop your breathing sometime between one and three in the morning. I know you wouldn’t have left me here alone on purpose, no matter what the cops or the insurance people or my close
...more
Rachael ( RachaelRexds )
Jan 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Actual rating : 3.75 stars!
( Trigger warning for grief )

Going into this novel, I had really high expectations since I've been hearing such amazing things about it and even though I am a little disappointed with the way the story turned out to be, I still really enjoyed it :)

Not If I See You First is a YA contemporary novel but it focuses more on character growth and friendship rather than romance. There is a tad bit of romance which I enjoyed but I definitely wished there was a little more! Apar
...more
Linda
Mar 30, 2016 rated it liked it
One thing I’ve never read so far? A book starring a blind protagonist. Happy to say I’m pleasantly surprised. The moment I figured out Parker was blind, I just went “Damn,” and I was certain the book would go downhill; I just had a gut-feeling. Glad to deny that fact though, because it’s a pretty good book.

The aspect from someone who is incapable of seeing is written splendidly. You really get an insight on the struggles and hardships a blind person faces, yet it doesn’t really put them down. Yo
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • A Step Toward Falling
  • Don't Fail Me Now
  • Rules for 50/50 Chances
  • What's Broken Between Us
  • Right of First Refusal (Radleigh University, #2)
  • The Last Leaves Falling
  • Placebo Junkies
  • First & Then
  • Footfree & Fancyloose (Bass Ackwards and Belly Up, #2)
  • Drowning Is Inevitable
  • You and Me and Him
  • Dead Ends
  • The Lies About Truth
  • Boys Don't Knit (in Public) (Boys Don't Knit, #1)
  • Perfectly Good White Boy
  • Girl Against the Universe
  • Faceless
  • How It Feels to Fly
239 followers
In addition to writing Young Adult novels, Eric Lindstrom has worked in the interactive entertainment industry for years as a creative director, game designer, writer, and usually combinations of all three. As Editor and Co-Writer for Tomb Raider: Legend he received a 2006 BAFTA nomination for Best Video Game Screenplay, and then as the Creative Director for Tomb Raider: Underworld he received a 2 ...more
“Seeing is not believing” 10 likes
“She said she wasn’t worried about labels. I said that was both wise and foolish. She agreed. “What” 2 likes
More quotes…