Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hearts in the Storm” as Want to Read:
Hearts in the Storm
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hearts in the Storm

by
3.96  ·  Rating details ·  57 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Struggling with loss and regret, Trista sets out for North Carolina’s Outer Banks, hoping to find peace in her stormy life. Fate and an old golden retriever set her on a path toward healing with an unlikely hero, the man that the locals call “Duck.” Despite his careless and irresponsible behavior, Trista is drawn to him.

Trista discovers that Duck is haunted by the ghosts o
...more
Paperback, 217 pages
Published 2014 by Bay Rivers Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hearts in the Storm, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hearts in the Storm

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  57 ratings  ·  8 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Courtney Whittamore- The Moral of our Stories
Throughout my entire life, my mother has always had a one sentence fits all solution to any situation I seemed to find myself in when it came to feeling sorrow or loss. Whether it was enduring what I thought was the greatest heartache I would ever know in the fifth grade when the boy I liked didn’t return those same feelings, to being all grown up on the outside, but still feeling like that fifth grader on the inside and feeling like you somehow still don’t measure up after a series of unfortuna ...more
Valesha
Nov 28, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a touching and heartfelt tale of love, loss, and healing. Duck and Trista both have heartbreaking histories and are dealing in their pasts in very different ways...although both methods are similar due to their destructiveness The two are drawn to each other and eventually find they have more in common than they think.

I read this entire book in about 4 hours. It started very slowly, but by a little over halfway in I realized I was hooked. I needed to know what would happen to them. My he
...more
Sheri
Sep 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Hearts in the Storm by Elmer Seward

On the Outer Banks of North Carolina, while hurricane Renee is about to hit Trista is there vacationing and trying to deal with her tragic loss from five years earlier. There she meets Duck, a man who is also struggling with a tragic past.

The two meet and Tirsta hires Duck to take her on his boat so she can find closure. But they do not expect to be on the ocean in the middle of a horrific storm. Secrets are revealed that were buried deep and they affect both
...more
Nicola
Jan 25, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-books
Two suffering souls meet at the seaside. Neither of them are looking for anything more than survival. How can one move forward without being able to forgive them self? How can one move on while continuing to fight their demons on a nightly basis in their dreams?
Trista and Duck have given up on having a productive life. Through tragic events both have lost the will to fight. Duck willingly takes the blame, and hatred, of those around him. Trista longs to reunite at least a part of herself with h
...more
Joood Hooligan
It took me a bit to get into the story. It wasn't that I wasn't liking it, but it was a bit slow for a little while and there are some issues with the editing. But after I did finally connect, I was quite drawn in.

I really liked how the author gave glimpses of the past to help you gradually understand more of what was going on. It made it easier to feel an emotional connection. I'm also quite a fan of an unexpected ending, so that was a bonus as well.

I've had a couple friends who read this book
...more
Meagan Taylor-booth
I was lucky enough to read an advanced copy of this novel, and I really enjoyed it! It had the perfect combination of detail-rich characters and a well-delivered plot. This is the perfect book to read on the beach or tucked on your couch with a warm cup of coffee. It has a little bit of everything - mystery, romance, some funny parts that will make you laugh out loud, and some parts that will fill your eyes with tears. I just loved it.

True story - I was about 3/4 of the way through Hearts in the
...more
elaine m. suda
Sep 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Deep, emotional and exciting

I really enjoyed this story. It was emotional most of the time because so much was kept hidden by Duck. He carried a lot of guilt, but worked his way through it. Tristan had a lot of guilt also but was also freed. The storm was scary and exciting....the rage of hurricanes can leave a lot of destruction and heartache. I truly enjoyed this story and look forward to reading more of Elmer Seward's work.





Bridget
Nov 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Enjoyed

This was a nice story. It was worth the read. It was hard to put down once I started reading.
Patsy Fox
rated it really liked it
Oct 02, 2014
Natasha Hatman
rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2015
Janet Hollenback-mcdaniel
rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2014
Chris
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2014
Ted
rated it really liked it
Sep 20, 2014
Katie
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2015
Janis Murphy
rated it it was amazing
Aug 01, 2014
Christine
rated it really liked it
Oct 13, 2014
Patricia
rated it really liked it
Sep 21, 2014
Felicia
rated it really liked it
Feb 09, 2019
Ruth Besterman
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2016
Christy
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2014
Denise Boal
rated it it was ok
May 12, 2018
Tiffany Roberts
rated it it was amazing
Oct 03, 2014
Gillian
rated it liked it
Sep 18, 2014
Angeliki
rated it really liked it
Jan 11, 2016
jean
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2016
Linda
rated it did not like it
Sep 07, 2014
Emily Cahill
rated it really liked it
May 27, 2014
Lanelle
rated it liked it
Jan 13, 2015
Nancy Knox
rated it really liked it
Dec 02, 2014
Kagna
rated it did not like it
Sep 05, 2014
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Devil Makes Three (The Devil You Know, #1)
  • Wishing for Wonderful
  • Spiritually Aligned Leadership, Becoming SELF Centered
  • I Am So the Boss of You: An 8-Step Guide to Giving Your Family the "Business"
  • The Bitcoin Blockchain
  • Collapse of Dignity: The Story of a Mining Tragedy and the Fight Against Greed and Corruption in Mexico
  • Count Me In: How I Stepped Off the Sidelines, Created Connection, and Built a Fuller, Richer, More Lived-in Life
  • Cinderella's Secret Slipper
  • The World
  • Choose Joy Devotional: Finding Joy No Matter What You're Going Through
  • The Siren Project
  • Tongues of Angels
  • How Wendy Redbird Dancing Survived the Dark Ages of Nought
  • Change Control Diet
  • Kings of New York
  • I'll Be Back Right After This: My Memoir
  • Fish Perfume (Cozy Harbor Marina, #1)
  • Kekaju and the Hidden Swamp
“Duck wasn't sure if it was optimism or fantasy, but hope had been such uncharted waters for him recently that he was having difficulty navigating them.” 0 likes
More quotes…