Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Game Of Thrones preview” as Want to Read:
A Game Of Thrones preview
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Game Of Thrones preview

4.56  ·  Rating details ·  4,084 Ratings  ·  136 Reviews
This is a preview edition of A Game of Thrones, and contains only the opening chapters. This edition is NOT the entire book.
Preview Edition
Published January 1st 1996 by Voyager
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Game Of Thrones preview, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Mark not sure yet will be able to tell you later on when Ive finished the book

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jennifer Alvarez
Feb 13, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I can't give it less than five stars. It's impeccable even if it's not your thing. It has a driving plot, believable characters, a believable world and it's well-written. George R.R. Martin is a master of showing--not telling! The violence isn't gratuitous, in my opinion. The "love" scenes are understated.

I read the book after watching the HBO series and wish I had read it first--but HBO is how I heard about the book. They did such a fantastic job staying true to the novel, that I wasn't left w
...more
Robin Edman
May 08, 2012 rated it liked it
Yes, I finally joined the rest of this world and read this book. It's quite possibly the most skillfully written bit of useless not-quite-fantasy that I will ever read. It's like reading a history of the Wars of the Roses without the sanctimonious I'm-so-educated feeling that goes along with reading things that we are "supposed to" read.

It's a fun read, though, and the characters, though mostly disgusting, are very well-drawn and believable. It is my fondness for the little dude Tyrion that wil
...more
Paul
Apr 03, 2012 rated it really liked it
When I decided to read this book I expected it to be good as it was made into a series but I didn’t expect it to be this good. The way Martin goes away from the normal fantasy writing style, in my opinion at least, helped him make a more engrossing story. Also, the fact that he had more than one main character forced the reader to pay attention, which wasn’t hard, in order to understand whose inner dialogue it was you were reading. Now, I’ve read stories before with multiple characters where the ...more
Cheyne Willingham
Jan 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing
When J.R.R.Tolkien was in the trenches WWI he saw with his own eyes that magic had left the world & we truly were being disenchanted from what it meant to be human, & to have hope. So Tolkien set out to write a legend for the modern English reader to take part in. He created a massive universe were magic was real again & good always defeated evil in the end. Thus Lord of the Rings was born to bring magic back to the world and changing the world for good. George R.R. Martin blew that ...more
Damien Franco
Apr 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Wow. I cannot believe I waited this long to read this book. It thrusts you into such a convincing world and story line rich with deep characters. I had a very hard time putting it down.

I immediately ordered the television series and now have the second book in hand. I cannot wait to start it!
JMRZ
Apr 20, 2012 rated it really liked it
http://bibliophileblather.blogspot.co...

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, is the first book in the series A Song of Fire and Ice (title perhaps an echo of a well loved Robert Frost poem..."some say the world will end in fire, some say in ice...").

The book trots along at a rapid pace. Each chapter is short and focuses on the trials and tribulations of one of a handful of characters. Although short, each chapter still manages to wrap up with some cliff hanger specific to the character of th
...more
Debbie
Aug 07, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Wow, incredible writer! There are some authors thats just reel you in and you find yourself so woven into the story that you dream of it and think of it in your waking hours as if it is actually happening. I was lost for the fiirst few chapters as there are alot of charactors and many, many places...in fact an entire world to learn. But somehow Mr Martin pulls it off and I am swallowed into the story. i am there. It may be fantasy but if feels all too real.
kING, QUEENS, INCEST, PLOTS, SUB PLOTS,
...more
Pat
Mar 15, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I didn't want to like this - too much press, and I don't typically enjoy fantasy. But I have to say this knocked my socks off. It's an old-fashioned adventure yarn, complete with knights, brave women and an evil queen. I was completely enthralled.
Jennifer Siddiqui
May 07, 2015 rated it liked it
I actually read the regular book not the preview. Although the book was well written, I found the story confusing not only was there a lot of characters the chapters jumped around. I like the plot and will either watch the TV show or listen to the rest of books.
Jeny Robertson
Nov 04, 2011 rated it it was amazing
This was an absolutely fantastic book. At no point during the story was I bored or ready to skip any parts. I loved the character development of every single character even if they were horrible people! I love the fact that each chapter is a different character's perspective on the events taking place. I cant choose a favorite character because even the bad ones bring certain things to the story that I like. I really enjoyed the direwolves in the story, how they protect the Stark children and al ...more
Bala Ve
May 07, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I admit that this is one of the books, which made me think that may be I should just quit my job, sleep, food and everything else happening in my life just to read this entire series. One such magical book transporting to a world of fantasy. The depth of the characters and way of writing ufffff no word to describe. And every story ends at a nail biting point where I had to literally flip through the book to find how much longer I must wait to read about the continuation.

Except for the character
...more
Laura
Aug 29, 2011 rated it it was amazing
A huge, old-fashioned, I-can't-wait-to-read-what-happens-next sort of a novel. I had resisted starting this series. I feared it would be another sword opera with a lot of mind-numbing battle detail -- and the books are SO long. But I knew that I would want to take a look at the HBO series at some point and, in my world, you must read the book before you watch the movie so I started, repeating my mantra that life is too short - and there are too many books in the world - to waste any time finishi ...more
Mike
Jan 03, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This is a very good book. It reminds me of the old Dragonlance and Conan books, but more sophisticated. I was disappointed with the supernatural twist at the end. Too much I think. But the story is still good and the characters are interesting. It's an easy read too, and has a fast pace, so it's hard to put down.
Asha Gill
Sep 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I thought A Game of Thrones was an amazing book, with a lot of detail and decryption. I loved how he created such evil characters and such nice characters to give such a great contrast. The plot line sometimes got tricky to follow but I loved how he structured the book; as in changing who's point of view it was from.
George Richard
Apr 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
Read this last winter after watching the HBO series. I was amazed how much was there, I would have thought the series was 2 or 3 books. Read the second book right away and will probably read the third next.
Lora
Jun 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2015
Such a. Awesome book, but is too long.
Lisa
May 20, 2012 rated it did not like it
was recomeneded not to waste my time
John Eich
Apr 19, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Reading this series is a bit like watching a game of Risk in slow-motion. Telling the ginormous tale via multiple narrators is a deep, and richly layered way to tell a story, but it is also like running a marathon in micrometers. And yes, it's a stunning fantasy series that draws positive comparisons with Tolkien.

The thread count on this immense tapestry is mind blowing. You can practically smell the horses. This is not always a good thing, however. Martin clearly has a medieval food fetish, and
...more
Vic
Jan 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Highly enjoyable and beautifully rendered. Having watched HBO's mini-series by the same name last year I was already familiar with the story and eager to gain further insight into George Martin's fantasy world. What I wasn't expecting was how faithful HBO had been in following the book. Chapters became parts of episodes and scenes from the book were brought to life and in some cases enhanced the reading experience. The two were as one, the visual on the screen and in the mind's eye.

Wonderfully
...more
Ted Bangay
Apr 02, 2012 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: Only lovers of the genre.
Recommended to Ted by: My son, damn him!
I haven't ever been seriously into this genre. Ok, yes I tried it once, but that was a high school thing, I didn't inhale, and it was nothing more than an experiment. There. I've declared my bias.

I started GoT and got about 125 kobo-pages in but was so lost in the multitude of characters and families that I started over. What? Ned and Eddard are the same person?

Although it made sense the second time through, Game of Thrones left me cold. I mean, winter IS coming after all. I agree that it did h
...more
Aliya
It deserves a 4.5, but I will deduct .5 cause of too many names of people n details that are seemingly unnecessary. I cared more for the individual stories and characters than the main story, until I was almost at the end of the book. Besides being a little tooo long, the individual stories were brilliant. The different points of view couldn't have been more aptly done. You feel the character, even though it isn't in first person. Absolutely fantastic.

While at first you feel like the book isn't
...more
SocialTestAccount3 LastName
Jun 15, 2015 rated it really liked it
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) by George R.R. Martin
George R.R. Martin
Game of Thrones

I'd heard rave things about these series (A Song of Ice and Fire) for few years. And nothing has been exaggerated about them. I might not be the world's greatest fantasy reader but they do put the majority of fantasy series out there to shame.

This is not a light read. It did take me a year to complete it, mostly because when I came home, tired from work, sinking myself into this staggering world was a daunting task.

But I had time during my vacation and oh boy, d
...more
Lari Don
Mar 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I have a (bad?) habit of resisting books which everyone else is raving about, so all the fuss about the TV adaptation of this series put me off a bit. But I write fantasy, so I thought I probably owed it to my professional self to do some weightlifting and actually at least start the massive thing. And I was lost in it immediately. This is like no other fantasy I've ever read. There aren't really any adjectives left to describe it after all the other reviews out there. But I think for me the mai ...more
Ann
Jan 04, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I'll admit it, i became completely hooked on the HBO mini-series before I was aware of the book's existence. After a good friend set me straight and I rushed out for the first book (and it's subsequent ones), i was thrilled to note how faithful the book had been portrayed in the HBO series. The characters are extremely well-developed, and Martin never fails to end each chapter leaving the reader wanting more. He pays particular detail to the clothing and coats of arms, (sometimes exhaustibly so) ...more
Kamalia
Feb 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Although it took me 3 weeks to finish(the book is damn thick), i was really gripped from the start. Ive watched all the episodes of the tv series, and after reading this book i realised that i never fully understood what i had watched. Reading the book completely compliments the tv series, making me understand the plot more clearly and dive into the characters' mind and thoughts deeply. Thats what makes the book better than the tv series ; how you're able to explore more about the background sto ...more
Katlego
Jun 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. I read it some time ago so what I remember most is how I just couldn't stop reading it.

It was different, it still is and I couldn't get over how you can easily imagine the characters as real people going through real situations and emotions in a fictional world.

I couldn't quite pick which character I loved the most because you were given the opportunity to see things through their eyes. So whenever one dies I get sad, throw a tantrum then pick up the book again and continue r
...more
Ridgewalker
May 27, 2012 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Anyone interested in fantasy
My only negative about this book is that all the names, houses, geography are very hard to keep straight when you are reading it on an iPad. Yeah, I could flip back and forth to the Appendix and Map but sorry, too much trouble. About half way through I was enough grounded for it to keep from getting in the way, but really? It is unnecessary, for me at any rate.

Having said that, I found the book excellent for the genre. The action and tension kept increasing throughout the book. The protagonist w
...more
Miriam Majome
Apr 15, 2015 rated it did not like it
I struggled with it to say the least. Not to say its a bad book but it was just me. There was just too much going on for my little brain to keep up with. Not for the faint hearted or those into fast paced reads. I'm not particularly into racy titles either and I like depth and character in a book but this one was too deep for me way over my head. As soon as I thought I had worked my way into some kind of understanding I was torpedoed right off again and left wondering what on earth was going on ...more
Beau
Jun 11, 2012 rated it really liked it
Ever wondered what the medieval times were like? Everyone wants power and the only way people get power is if they have a daughter who is pretty, their family would come into power. Without that, their family would be nothing. Kings and queens ruled the world and with treats of other tribes planning an attack, death is certain.
Eddard Stark, the Lord of Winterfell is summoned by the king to be a head advisor while his sons and daughters are spread across the seven kingdoms. Some run wild and free
...more
Martina
Apr 22, 2015 rated it did not like it
Una trama avvincente e dei personaggi niente male completamente rovinati da uno stile pesante, a tratti fin troppo brusco, a tratti inutilmente barocco. Forse è colpa della traduzione e potrei considerare di dargli una possibilità in lingua, ma sono molto scoraggiata vista la direzione che la serie sta prendendo.

An exciting plot and a whole bunch of promising characters completely ruined by an unsufferable style: sometimes too "rough", sometimes annoyingly baroque. Maybe the Italian translation
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A Game of Thrones: Comic Book, Issue 2
  • A Game of Thrones: The Book of Ice and Fire RPG rulebook
  • Game of Thrones
  • A Clash Of Kings: The Game Of Thrones Rpg Supplement
  • The Wheel of Time: Boxed Set #1 (Wheel of Time, #1-3)
  • Gutenberg the Geek
  • The Living Image
  • BookRags Summary:  A Storm of Swords
  • Afterbirth (Strandville Zombie Series, #2)
  • Operation Desolation: The Case of the Anonymous Bank Defacement
  • Bitterroot: Part 1
  • Caramba!: A Tale Told in Turns of the Card
  • Rearview (7 Hours #1)
  • Strange Bodies
  • Flambards Divided (Flambards, #4)
  • The Wounded Storyteller: Body, Illness, and Ethics
  • The Sword of Truth Boxed Set II: Temple of the Winds; Soul of the Fire; Faith of the Fallen (Sword of Truth, #4-6)
  • The Riftwar Saga (The Riftwar Saga, #1-4)
346732
George R.R. Martin was born September 20, 1948, in Bayonne, New Jersey. His father was Raymond Collins Martin, a longshoreman, and his mother was Margaret Brady Martin. He has two sisters, Darleen Martin Lapinski and Janet Martin Patten.

Martin attended Mary Jane Donohoe School and Marist High School. He began writing very young, selling monster stories to other neighborhood children for pennies,
...more
More about George R.R. Martin...