Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mystery of the Golden Temple (Pack-n-Go Girls Adventures - Thailand #1)” as Want to Read:
Mystery of the Golden Temple (Pack-n-Go Girls Adventures - Thailand #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mystery of the Golden Temple

(Pack-n-Go Girls Adventures - Thailand #1)

by
4.17  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Welcome to Thailand!
Nong May and her family have had a lot of bad luck lately. When nine-year-old Jess arrives in Thailand and accidentally breaks a special family treasure, it seems to only get worse. It turns out the treasure holds a secret that could change things forever!

A 2014 Moonbeam Children’s Book Award Winner - Best Chapter Book Series

About Pack-n-Go Girls
...more
Paperback, 118 pages
Published June 17th 2014 by WorldTrek Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mystery of the Golden Temple, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mystery of the Golden Temple

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  35 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Mystery of the Golden Temple (Pack-n-Go Girls Adventures - Thailand #1)
Margaret Bussan
Jan 23, 2019 rated it liked it
I remember reading The Babysitter's Club books and Swiss Valley Twins books when I was in 3rd and 4th grade. What I loved about those books were two things that I loved about this book: they were part of a series so I could read more and the friendships that the characters had were what I thought was typical.

In this wonderful chapter book Jess and her family travel to Thailand. The problems begin as soon as the family lands and tries to get a taxi ride to their home away from home in Chiang Mai,
...more
Literary Classics Book Awards & Reviews
Pack-N-Go Girls Adventure series for young readers is an outstanding collection of books which instill a sense of curiosity and a fascination with travel and adventure for a youth audience. Authors Lisa Travis and Janelle Diller work in tandem to breathe life into this highly engaging and cunningly educational series. Each book within the collection includes a mind-tickling mystery which takes place somewhere outside the United States. As clues to the mystery unfold, readers are introduced to ...more
Sarah
Jun 05, 2018 rated it really liked it
Fun to read with my daughters in Chiang Mai. Love the adventuresome girl characters. My girls loved the pictures.
Kioka Tuck
Dec 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
Everyone loves a little adventure! I was very impress with how this story, not only was a fun mystery, but it introduces you to historical facts, culture, and the language of Thailand. It allows readers of all ages to dig dipper and learn more about another country. (I received this book free from Author for Multicultural Book Day, January 27) Miss T’s Book Room Approves!
Brenna
Dec 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
****I received this book free from the Author for Multicultural Children's Book Day (January 27th, 2017). ****

review is here...
http://brennam.booklikes.com/post/163...
Erin Buhr
Jun 22, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In this edition of the Pack-n-Go Girls, Jess Johnson flies with her family from Boston, MA to Thailand. Jess is well traveled due to her parents' interest in volunteer work with schools in other countries. In Chiang Mai, Thailand, Jess meets Nong May and her family. Nong May's family has been having a lot of bad luck, but Nong May and Jess are hoping to find and return the family treasure that could change their fortune. Together they brave disappointments, jungles, snakes, and more. Filled with ...more
Katie Logonauts
Jun 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Mystery of the Golden Temple follows Jess Johnson, an nine-year old African-American girl traveling with her mother and brother to Thailand. Jess is paired up with Nong May, the Thai daughter of her mom's colleague, and the story follows their early mishaps and adventures.

This was a delightful book and a quick read. At right around 100 pages and 10 chapters, it is a great fit for the emerging reader looking to move up from young fiction or easy readers into longer middle grade fiction. There's
...more
Maritza Mejia
Jan 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Mystery of the Golden Temple is more than a mystery story. The Pack-n-Go Girls series brings a fun way to get young readers to explore other cultures.

Mystery of the Golden Temple follows Jess Johnson, a nine-year old African-American girl traveling with her mother and brother from Boston to Thailand. In Chiang Mai, Thailand, Jess meets Nong May, the Thai daughter of her mom's colleague, and her family. Nong May's family has been having a lot of bad luck since they lost a special amulet. Nong
...more
Gina Hott
Nov 03, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ever since their family’s amulet disappeared, lots of bad luck has come the way of Nong May’s family. Jess and her family arrive for a visit and get lost in the Mystery of the Golden Temple – maybe they can bring some good luck back to the lovely orchid house.

Hott Review:
What I liked: “Mystery of the Golden Temple” is awesome! I loved how much I learned about the Thai language and people. There are tons of amazing facts and stories included while not feeling preachy or taking away from the
...more
Jennie Marts
Oct 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I just adore this series of fun, educational books geared toward mystery, adventure and discovering new cultures! The illustrations, the writing, the glossaries, all combine to make a really well-done series that I would recommend for anyone with young girls in their lives. This whole series is such a fun way to get young readers to explore other cultures. Great series for parents and teachers.
Marty Banks
Oct 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Have loved this series from the start for it's sense of culture and place, all set in fictional world young readers can relate to. I especially liked the What to Know Before You Go section in this book. Makes me want to travel with my young nieces!
Deena Mayhew
Apr 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
My niece LOVED this book! She really enjoyed the suspense of the characters searching for the temple through the jungle and fearing that they were being followed. She is looking forward to reading other books in the series - a home run hit with that 10 year old!
Zainab Khan
rated it it was amazing
Dec 25, 2018
Marla
rated it liked it
Oct 24, 2014
Anshul Chozzer
rated it it was amazing
Jun 16, 2019
Ro Menendez
rated it liked it
May 20, 2017
Maggie
rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2016
Scoutaccount
rated it really liked it
May 20, 2017
Assia
rated it it was amazing
Jan 26, 2019
Kjbishop
rated it it was ok
Feb 09, 2015
Mardell Hochstetler
rated it it was amazing
Feb 02, 2015
Jill Stanley
rated it it was amazing
Nov 15, 2017
Trixi Virtucucio
rated it liked it
Sep 20, 2015
Katie Fitzgerald
rated it liked it
Nov 16, 2014
Diana
rated it it was amazing
Jun 19, 2016
Ian M. Robertson
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2014
Sasank
rated it did not like it
Jun 27, 2019
Sariah
rated it it was amazing
Sep 21, 2017
Brenda
rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2017
Fran
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2016
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • To Be Taught, If Fortunate
See similar books…
46 followers
Lisa Travis dreamed of faraway places ever since she was a little girl who explored National Geographic magazines every month. Looking for ways to discover the world, Lisa studied at the University of Freiburg in Germany, traveled the USA in a Volkswagon camper, and lived and worked in South Korea. She currently finds ways to pack and go by creating global executive leadership programs that take ...more