Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Kynetic: On Target” as Want to Read:
Kynetic: On Target
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Kynetic: On Target

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  24 ratings  ·  7 reviews
Sometimes you're the hunter. Sometimes you're the target...

The amateur superhero Kynetic knows what she wants: her own vigilante license from the government and to be partners with Failstate, both as heroes and romantically. And what Kyn wants, she usually gets.

But this time, she's facing an obstacle, namely Failstate's girlfriend, Charlene. If only
...more
Kindle Edition
Published June 30th 2014
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Kynetic, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Kynetic

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 4.13  · 
Rating details
 ·  24 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Kynetic: On Target
Adam Graham
Jul 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Unlicensed vigilante Kynetic has a plan to get her license but it's not what anyone would call heroic. She plans to become the sidekick and girlfriend of licensed hero Failstate by ensuring that his existing girlfriend Charlotte breaks up with him. To do this, she actually befriends Charlotte and hatches a scheme with small time supervillains to confront a heavy hitting supervillain with the goal of setting Failstate up to have to break a big date while trying to secure a license for herself. ...more
H.S.J. Williams
Sep 08, 2014 rated it really liked it
I've been wanting to read the Failstate series for a while, so when I saw this short story for free, I picked it up.

I can certainly see how this is an entertaining and engaging superhero series! Kynetic makes for an interesting protagonist because her primary goal here is--seduce the hero. Indeed, her scheme of "break his heart, so I can have it" is villain worthy. But don't worry--while Kynetic might not recognize this as wrong at first, the author does. So without giving away any s
...more
K
Sep 08, 2014 rated it really liked it
This is the first book I've read from John Otte (besides a sampling from "Numb"). I didn't realize that it was a novella when I got it and don't usually care for the shallowness of typical novellas, but this one was worth it. It had a great voice, written from the viewpoint of a high-school girl with superhero powers. It left me wanting to read more and guess what! There are three other books in the Failstate series! My only detractor would be that it was somewhat predictable, but one can only e ...more
Amy
Jul 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
I'm about halfway through the first book in the Failstate series but when this mini-adventure came out for Kindle, I jumped into it and really enjoyed reading it. You can definitely follow the plot even if you haven't read the previous books. It's a quick, entertaining, worthwhile read if you enjoy fantasy/superheroes at all. Now I need to go back and catch up on the rest of the series!
Michelle R. Wood
Oct 25, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: series, superhero
While John W. Otte's superhero trilogy centers on his original hero Failstate, he has given readers more insight into secondary characters through the release of short novellas between each installment. This latest one focuses on a female superhero introduced in the second novel. It largely succeeds as a fun romp in between his larger stories.

The Failstate novels are solid YA territory, and this novella continues in the same vein. Teenage romance and problems at school all circulate
...more
Josh Olds
Dec 22, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya-thriller
QUICK HIT – In this short story, John Otte returns to New Chayton to further flesh out the series he’s created. Kynetic: On Target reads like just another day in the life of your average high school aged vigilante. It’s a fun and quick tale, a great way of getting in Failstate’s world between full-length novels.

A few years ago, Marcher Lord Press (now Enclave Publishing) signed on this Lutheran pastor named John Otte with a story about a teenage superhero wannabe who gets his chance
...more
C.J. Darlington
My first intro into Otte's writing, and I was pleasantly surprised! I'm a sucker for good superhero books, and I now need to get my hands on Otte's other books in this series. Perfect for the YA audience, but also great for the young at heart (and those who love Marvel movies!) Great balance of action, angst, and Christian threads.
Lahuan Xiong
rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2017
Michael Ritz
rated it it was amazing
Feb 21, 2017
Laurin
rated it really liked it
Oct 28, 2014
Georgina
rated it really liked it
Oct 08, 2014
C.M.
rated it it was amazing
Apr 23, 2016
Jason
rated it it was amazing
Jul 01, 2014
Kate
rated it liked it
Jun 04, 2017
Jeremy
rated it really liked it
Sep 14, 2016
Nathaniel Benke
rated it it was amazing
Dec 29, 2014
Alina
rated it liked it
Sep 17, 2014
Laura Smith
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2015
Cheryl Green
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2018
Brenda S Anderson
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2014
Carol R.
rated it really liked it
Sep 13, 2017
Edith
rated it really liked it
Jul 08, 2015
Octavia
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2015
Natasha Ray
rated it really liked it
Jul 24, 2017
Maryclare Fawver
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2014
Daniel Beals
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2014
Jason C.
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2014
Betty Macy
marked it as to-read
Sep 07, 2014
Valerie
marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2014
Robert Mullin
marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2014
Lady
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2014
Janine Islam
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2014
Marnie Eichele
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2014
Amber Frechette
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2014
Selina Gonzalez
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2014
Jill
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2014
Teddi Deppner
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2015
Carol Collett
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Fire
marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2015
A.C. Williams
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2015
Jeanette
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2016
Alea Harper
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2016
Becky Van Daniker
marked it as to-read
May 09, 2016
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2016
Skye
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2017
Claire
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »