Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity: How to Regain Your Sanity After You've Been Cheated On” as Want to Read:
The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity: How to Regain Your Sanity After You've Been Cheated On
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity: How to Regain Your Sanity After You've Been Cheated On

by
4.61  ·  Rating Details ·  67 Ratings  ·  20 Reviews
The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity is for anyone who has ever been played for a fool, lied to, and left as carrion for the divorce lawyers. Here's a book about infidelity that is not about saving your marriage single-handedly -- it's about saving your sanity. Based on the writings from her popular blog "Chump Lady," Tracy Schorn's guide is the decoder ring you nee ...more
Paperback, 124 pages
Published June 26th 2014 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (first published June 25th 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Alex Rettie
Jul 11, 2014 Alex Rettie rated it it was amazing

If there’s one thing North Americans are good at, it’s pretending that misfortune is a Good Thing That Can Make Your Life Better. Got cancer? You’re a survivor. Been laid off? This is your chance to make a new life. Lost thousands of your citizens in a seemingly pointless foreign war? USA! USA! Been cheated on? Your marriage is about to get a whole lot better.

You know what? Misfortune CAN be the first step in building a new life, but first you have to acknowledge that it is misfortune. If you’re
...more
Twinsdad
Jul 09, 2014 Twinsdad rated it it was amazing
I discovered Tracy's (Chump Lady) blog last year. It has helped me so much to recover from my soon-to-be-ex-wife's affairs. Tracy is an extremely talented writer and cartoonist. She writes with compassion for us Chumps while at the same time helping us to see that we must take ownership of our chumpiness in order to move on to "meh" (indifference toward the cheater). I have read (I think) almost everything on infidelity (in English at least) and have found Tracy's blog and her book to be one of ...more
A Reader
Jul 15, 2014 A Reader rated it it was amazing
If you read one book on infidelity, let it be this one.

Most folks who discover that their spouses are unfaithful suddenly find themselves caught up in insatiable investigation. When your world is entirely exploded by the unfathomable but real fact that the person you trusted most in the world, and to whom you made covenantal life-vows, has used you and abused your good faith -- well, then, you're very likely to experience a deeply disorienting period of massive instability.

If that's what brough
...more
Tom
Jul 21, 2014 Tom rated it it was amazing


The First and only Book you should read for infidelity advice.









description







Eva Gorman
Jul 16, 2014 Eva Gorman rated it it was amazing
I'm not a huge fan of self help books but I knew this one would be no risk because I am a huge fan of the author's website, chumplady.com

The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity is succinct and to the point and filled with one helpful gem after another. It quickly gets down to the nitty gritty of facing what's happened to you, accepting it, and moving on from it -- all while acknowledging that while it will be painful and difficult, it won't last forever.

This book has a break-the-glass-in-cas
...more
Diana
Jul 20, 2014 Diana rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Anyone whose been cheated on
Shelves: infidelity
The author has insight, coupled with humor and wit that is very helpful in recognizing the abuse and betrayal of infidelity for what it is. She gives advice on finding your self and setting your boundaries in the aftermath of the train wreck. If there were ever an antidote to the Reconciliation Industrial Complex, Tracy Shorn is it. She pulls no punches, she doesn't want you to spend years waiting for your spouse to remember he/she loves you, only to be betrayed again. Her message is one that ha ...more
Jam
Jul 23, 2014 Jam rated it it was amazing
I read the book from cover to cover in one sitting - it is that compelling. Tracy's survival guide is a MUST for anyone struggling in the aftermath of the unfolding of a nightmare. If you have been cheated on, you grasp immediately that her goal is to help you navigate through a crisis by pointing out the landmines.

If you are reading these reviews, you have either been cheated on (or know someone who has been cheated on). My heart goes out to you because the receiving end of infidelity is extrem
...more
Moneypoorbookrich
Jul 23, 2014 Moneypoorbookrich rated it it was amazing
When I discovered I had unwittingly become a member of my "soul mate's" harem, reduced from being his one and only beloved, without my knowledge, of course...and that I had been sharing him with another woman for a year and a half (!!!), I was totally devastated. I felt like a bomb had gone off in my face. I didn't know how to handle the incredible shock and pain of being so deeply betrayed by the person I trusted with my heart and soul.

I searched the libraries, bookstores, and the internet for
...more
Marianne Rose
Aug 05, 2014 Marianne Rose rated it it was amazing
This writer is consistent, clear and so real that after reading her blog for many months my instinct has come to trust her. The anguish around this subject makes life a surreal and unrelenting walk through hell. I'm grateful to her and her bloggers who take time to share their experiences with humor and guts. They are role models even if escape from a marriage trap of kids/finances/logistics may seem impossible. I'm glad there's an easy access to her info with this book; I'm not sure if I found ...more
Maria Shapiro
Jul 23, 2014 Maria Shapiro rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
If your find yourself with a cheating spouse, this book is your lifeline to a better world. In plain, no-holds-barred language, it directs you, step by step, through the confusing maze of emotions and distractions to a place of happiness, dignity and respect. There is a ton of empowerment packed into its 124 pages and I cannot recommend this book strongly enough. It is, without a shadow of a doubt, the ONLY resource you need when faced with infidelity.

There are many books out there that push you
...more
Julie
Jan 11, 2015 Julie rated it it was amazing
Shelves: healing
There isn't a better book or blog out there that is a no holds barred discussion on infidelity. A friend told me about the blog a few months ago, and to hear it told in a way that can completely relate with you is indispensable at a time in your life when you probably need it most.

So yes - big big BIG fan of the blog. The book explains a lot of blog words and it's helpful in itself on how to deal with infidelity, help you get yourself back from the brink.

It's funny, witty, and some of the langua
...more
Willow
Jul 26, 2016 Willow rated it it was amazing
This is a must read for anyone who has been cheated on. It is a straight talking, intelligent and humorous guide designed to help you through the nightmare that is infidelity. This book is full of practical advice that will support you through that tunnel of pain and trauma and out the other end to the land of "Meh" where there is indeed light, hope and promise of a brighter future.
Jennifer
Jul 23, 2014 Jennifer rated it it was amazing
An excellent but frank look at a painful subject.
Curly_wurly
Mar 08, 2016 Curly_wurly rated it did not like it
The book's (and her blog's) main appeal is its humour/contemptuous mockery schtick...when we laugh it creates a positive release of tension and eases the angst however I genuinely feel this authors use of humour allows the negativity element to bypass the inbuilt natural aversion most of us have to hostile communication. It presents itself as self help but having read it I personally think this book would be better suited as a stand-up comedy routine in an off-beat night club.

Psych studies have
...more
Connie Lewis
Oct 20, 2014 Connie Lewis rated it it was amazing
If you dealing with infidelity, this is THE book for you. It's a must-read.
Bridget Jeffries
Dec 01, 2014 Bridget Jeffries rated it it was amazing
It's been ages since I picked up a book where, upon turning the last page, I found myself asking, "That's it?!" Not because the book was bad, not because the conclusion was ill-suited for the pages that preceded, but because the experience of reading it was so good, it couldn't be time for it to end. There had to be more. Please, could there be more?

Such was my experience reading Tracy Schorn'sThe Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity.

If you've recently discovered that your spouse or partner w
...more
Ariane
Apr 15, 2016 Ariane added it
The Chump Lady Survival Guide deserves to be an all time best seller - full stop!

Tracy Schorn delivers with on point observations and encouragements for people who have suffered infidelity. Its simply a must read. I was chumped twice just like Tracy in exact same circumstances. My life will be led from now on by me through the corrections to wrong thinking that this book offers. All therpaists should offer this book to their chump patients! Im buying a copy for mine today. You will not be disapp
...more
Sari Friedman
May 15, 2016 Sari Friedman rated it it was amazing
"The Chump Lady Survival Guide to Infidelity" became the hand-holding, wise-cracking, love and reassurance-supplying, lifeline I needed. This book is funny (yes, it is possible to laugh when you're devastated... weird, right?); and not only is the book funny, it is "right." Somehow this hilarious, warm, sweetheart of an author has managed to cull out the crap and figure out what is absolutely real, helpful and important after you've had your romantic partnership stomped by someone you thought wa ...more
Eleni Tsaika
There is Tracy Schorn and there are all the others. Truth vs the "reconciliation complex" that just wants your money and your suffering. Tracy has saved many lost souls by her blog (including mine). She also has this cathartic humor most necessary for us chumps. But her crystal clear mind can earn you years of therapy! Because she speaks the only trouth about infidelity: leave the cheater gain a life! A life much deserved! Don't spend years in limbo. You can do it and break free from a cheater's ...more
Crystal L. Verbeke
GREAT READ!

I haven't read a book through in a couple of years (a shame, I know it). I read this in a few hours!! And there's a blog too. I can't wait for more. This is exactly what I needed!
Liz
Liz rated it it was amazing
Nov 16, 2014
Danette Schiavone
Danette Schiavone rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2015
Linda Hanselman
Linda Hanselman rated it it was amazing
Nov 14, 2014
Naomi
Naomi rated it it was amazing
Oct 09, 2016
Shalon Bull
Shalon Bull rated it it was amazing
Jul 03, 2014
Raymond P Kester
Raymond P Kester rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2016
Nick
Nick rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2015
Jennifer Ellison
Jennifer Ellison rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2015
Markita Foster
Markita Foster rated it it was amazing
Dec 01, 2015
Jaime Lynn
Jaime Lynn rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book



“I’ve learned from my mistakes and I’m sure I can repeat them exactly.” —Peter Cook” 2 likes
“the only people who are worth spit are the people who aren’t afraid of your pain, who’ll walk into your cracked open heart and not blame you for it.” 1 likes
More quotes…