Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Overture” as Want to Read:
Overture
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Overture

by
4.06  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  17 reviews
For ebook purchase links, go to zaidewilliams.com/overture

Meet Elma--classical pianist, resident of the Safe Side of the Street, and practitioner of a dependably dull existence. Her love life is meh, her piano is her home, and her best friend is her vicarious source of fun. Everything is in harmony until blade-like fangs dig into her flesh to obliterate everything she ever
...more
Paperback, 260 pages
Published February 2014 by Createspace
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Karyn Niedert
I am extremely excited about winning this book through Goodreads Firstreads. Can't wait to receive it in the mail!

Updated December 23, 2014

Procured via: Goodreads

Book Title and Author: “Overture” by Issa Puppi

RELEASE DATE: June 16, 2014

RATING: 3.5 Worth requesting at library, downloading for free, or buying in paperback

GENRE: Fantasy/Romance/Paranormal

AUDIENCE: Fans of Stephanie Meyer, Charlaine Harris, and Anne Rice will truly enjoy this book.

SERIES: Overture Series Book #1

SUMMARY: Blurb from
...more
Angel
Apr 11, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Issa Puppi via Goodreads group Lovers of Paranormal.

I Loved this book.
Elma is a talented pianist, passionate at what she does. She is in a relationship with Esteban who is now living in Asia. The long distance thing really isnt working out for either of them.

Elma’s best friend Mill’s is very outgoing and encourages Elma to enjoy life more and insists she needs to get laid.
Mill's gives Elma a puppy which is where our sexy vet Mike comes
...more
meghann
Apr 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: r2r
***I received this book in exchange for an honest review from the goodreads group LOP, or Lovers of Paranormal.***

I thought this was a great story, and I loved all of the characters. Elma is talented and passionate about what she does, but she tends to play it safe. Mills is outgoing and fun and is constantly encouraging Elma to experience more in life. I thought the pacing of the story was perfect. There's no instalove and Elma isn't just going to believe in vampires and things that go bump in
...more
Skylar
Oct 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This was an amazing book. It was well written in my opinion. When I found out I was getting this book I was over the moon with joy. I absolute fell in love with this book during the first chapter and now I can't wait to get the second book. :)
Stacy
Mar 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Time for Book Two!
Karen Voitik
Sep 11, 2016 rated it really liked it
>Book Review – Overture –

>This is the first book in a series and ends in a cliffhanger. Elma and Mills are 2 young professionals who are friends and roommates. Boyfriend issues cause a new realm to exist for Elma. She is unsure who to trust and what is the truth. The author tends to trick the reader by staying vague on who is who. For example, a therapist and a vampire are speaking throughout the story, but their true identities aren’t revealed until nearer the end of the book.

>The who
...more
Ramona Plant
Apr 16, 2015 rated it really liked it
Issa has a very nice reading style, that reads with ease. This book is quite different from any book I have read. It covers the preternatural in a new way, which I always enjoy. Overall it has a very good flow to the story, not rushed nor dragged out. There were however a couple of times when I was confused about changes in the plot and location.

The main characters are a nice mix. Elma does need a little help. As a heroine she confused me a little. In this story I definitely preferred Everest wh
...more
Maria Dodd
Apr 12, 2015 rated it really liked it
I was given this book in exchange for an honest review via Lovers of Paranormal.

This was a really interesting book. It covered many aspects from music, via Elma's piano skills, animals via Mike the vet and vampire counselling. All blended in well and had enough background and description to really add something deeper to the story.

There was even a couple of twists thrown in. I only got one of them right which was a pleasant surprise too :-)

The most important and enjoyable part for me was that i
...more
Amanda
Nov 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
I was surprised! I really enjoyed this book! I can't wait for the next one. It was full of humor, action. adventure,and romance. I loved the character development,and I didn't want to put the book down, so I didn't. I may have found a new favorite author.
Elma is funny. She has an equally funny roommate named Mills. She has some boyfriend issues that get crazy as you read into the book. She meets Mike, her dog's vet, and things heat up, but appearances aren't always what they seem. Finally, Hend
...more
E.A. Walker
May 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
What a pleasant surprise this was! Erotic romance isn't usually my thing and I tend to have low expectations in this genre. But the outstanding quality of the writing makes this a winner. Issa Puppi is witty, funny, imaginative and her sex scenes and imaginings are erotic without being pornographic. At times she seems to be a bit spare with words, as if she's in a hurry to get to the next part of the story, but this just moves the book along fast. I don't give five stars unless I think it's a bo ...more
Locs and Lenses
Apr 14, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A good introduction book

I received this as a book to review. I really enjoyed this book. The writing was smooth, fun and believable. Elma is a cute character and she has a fun side about that I enjoy and the decisions she makes are pretty believable as well. The connection between her and Roan is building but it is definitely not a quick rush romance. It got slow around the middle but picked back up for a good conclusion to a first in a series. We are left wanting more because we have just been
...more
Charlotte Johnson
Nov 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I was taken for an incredible journey with Issa Poppi's very witty and knowledgeable writing. I find her to write similar to Laura K. Hamilton in her early Anita Blake series. I laughed out loud, felt concern for the characters, felt aroused with the hotness of sex and desire that the characters partook in. I simply love Issa's Writing style and I'm holding my breath waiting for the next book . Thank you for giving me a chance to read this book.
Rochelle Webb
Nov 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This was a exciting book. At first the words would throw me off. So I would re-read it and I couldn't stop. I can't wait till book 2. Thanks Issa Puppi for the book.
Kristie Payne
Nov 07, 2014 rated it really liked it
Kidnapping, murder, and mayhem, oh my! Loved this paranormal romance and can't wait for book two!
Jordan
Nov 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2014
I truly loved this book! I didn't know what to really expect going into it but it turned out wonderful. I can't wait to read more from this author!
Frederick Allen
Nov 10, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I like to read. My personal favorites are Clive Barker, JRR Tolkien, Frank Herbert, and George R.R. Martin (not necessarily in that order). Consequently, I not only cut across the major Fantasy Genres, I am specifically a huge fan of world building. However, at the same time I do love a good pulp read, especially in the ‘Horror’ genre. I’m a big fan of Zombie novels, such as Dead City or Plague of the Dead, but I also quite enjoyed Lovecraft. In addition, I have worked my way through Anne Rice, ...more
Melissa Rothman
I received this book in a giveaway and I liked the unique cover and the friendship both girls have with on another that's all I liked about it I felt like there wasn't anything unique about the story and had read many others just like it I didn't care for this book.
Tracy
rated it liked it
Feb 04, 2017
Gerardo Bastian
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2015
Subhajit Das
rated it really liked it
Dec 04, 2018
Debby
rated it really liked it
Dec 13, 2018
Zaide Williams
Nov 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Stewart Joslin
rated it it was amazing
Mar 23, 2014
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Feb 24, 2015
Zelda
rated it liked it
Nov 09, 2014
Kristi Lewis
rated it really liked it
Jan 28, 2017
☺~Tina~☺
rated it liked it
Jun 15, 2014
Kelly Loughner
rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2014
Jessica
rated it really liked it
Jan 11, 2015
Claire
rated it liked it
Jun 02, 2014
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Urban Fantasy: Sirens and Snark 1 6 Dec 01, 2016 08:41AM  
Beta Reader Group: Beta Readers Needed for Paranormal Urban Fantasy 1 13 Oct 27, 2016 03:56PM  
Indie Authors Mon...: R&R: Issa Puppi Book Title: Overture 1 9 Oct 05, 2016 06:29PM  
Lovers of Paranor...: R2R {659} Overture OPEN 23 105 Aug 26, 2016 01:54PM  
Paranormal Romanc...: Paranormal Romance--would love your thoughts (free read currently) 2 29 Jul 26, 2014 10:51AM  
About the Book 1 6 Mar 23, 2014 06:13PM  
  • Accepting Fate (Others of Seattle, #3)
  • The Quell (The Harrow Book Two)
  • Credere: "Latin for 'To Believe' that we mature not by age, but by stories." 2nd Edition coming Dec. 25, 2017
  • At Yomi's Gate
  • 98: The Witch's Prophecy (Rise of the Battle-Bred, #2)
  • A Call to Love
  • A Thousand Forests in One Acorn: An Anthology of Spanish-Language Fiction
  • The Warriors (Michael Parson & Sophia Gold, #4)
  • The Venetian Pearls
  • The Remarkables (The Remarkable Owen Johnson, #1)
  • The Breath of Peace (The Hawk and the Dove #7)
  • Tomris: October 1942
  • Fatal Call (New Breeds #4)
  • Grizzly (The Realms, #1)
  • Wishing Too Hard
  • My Greek Drama: Life, Love, and One Woman's Olympic Effort to Bring Glory to Her Country
  • The Skills of Pleasure: Crafting the Life You Want
  • The Wanderers of the Water Realm
23 followers
Zaide Wlliams is a corporate executive with a background in the study of literature. For the past decade, she has been working through the ranks of operational management in the public and private sectors, but over the last few years has gradually begun to turn back to her first love--writing. In addition to her novel Overture, which is currently available on Goodreads and other major ebook sites ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »