Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Other Side of Eve” as Want to Read:
The Other Side of Eve
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Other Side of Eve

by
4.05  ·  Rating details ·  42 Ratings  ·  20 Reviews
This enchanting narrative shares two abstract tales as one singular journey. Entwined by action and consequence, the key protagonists are teenagers Evelin Boots and Belleny Vera. Both girls exist and are placed in time across two lands. One is reality as we know it, the other is created as a metaphysical realm where its fate is destined by the energy of the ethereal and th ...more
Paperback, 590 pages
Published March 23rd 2015 by Gaze Akarr (first published March 6th 2015)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Other Side of Eve, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Other Side of Eve

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Sebastian
Feb 02, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebook
I really really REALLY wanted to love this book but to be honest I had quite a hard time getting myself to finish reading this book. I fell in love with the concept of this book right away and even now that the book left me rather disappointed I could still spend hours browsing the author's website looking at all these amazing illustrations and pictures of the finished copies which are simply stunning.

What I liked:
- this book might be one of the 5 prettiest books I've ever read and I love absol
...more
Maraia
I wanted to love this book because of the gorgeous illustrations, but it's a disaster. It's clear that writing doesn't come naturally to the author, nor does he understand proper comma usage. I tried to look past the hundreds of missing commas, but I can't force myself to suffer for a single page longer. Poor grammar aside, the writing doesn't flow properly, often sounding stilted or awkward. As an artist, Paul Ikin excels, but that's the only positive thing I can say about his book. I hope that ...more
Victoria
Jul 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I am beyond in love with this book. Excellent,extraordinary and very creative story. Once I started it was difficult to put down.
First of all I must say I love the cover. It is simply gorgeous.
Paul Ikin writes beautifully and his characters are so real you can almost touch them. Eve was enjoyable character to read about. And her dialogues with Weatherman were amazing!
The only problem was lack of a map,but I found it here - http://theothersideofeve.com
I would recommend this book for anyone who is
...more
Annina | Blattzirkus
May 20, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Plot
The Other Side of Eve is a book about Eveline Boots, a thirteen year old Teenager who struggles with anxiety. She copes with it by creating another world within her mind, the world of Princess Belleny Vera. Belleny has to struggle on her own to defeat the evil witch and to safe the kingdom of Mare-Marie by going on the biggest adventure of her life. With her friends, creatures called the Orphans and her new arrived friend, the two-tailed Bateau, she manages it to first free herself from her
...more
GC MacQuarie
May 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
When I venture through a bookshop, I never know what I'm looking for. I don't have a preferred genre or a list of authors I exclusively read. Mostly, I wait for a book to jump out at me. Within the world of on line book stores and social media, it becomes completely visual. For the other side of Eve, it was a simple Twitter post.

Paul Ikin's illustrations are expertly bold and eye catching, so much so it made it impossible for me to scroll through my endless Twitter feed without stopping to find
...more
Stef
Mar 07, 2016 rated it liked it
I wanted to like it. I was so hyped, I love the illustrations and the creative character designs. Basically what I didn't like was that it suffered from a dire need of an editing job. I didn't want that to affect my feelings, towards the overall story - even the biggest grammar snob has to look over a few formatting errors for the greater good, right? - but it did. If you're one of those people, good for you, you'd probably like this book. It is wildly imaginative and I definitely felt for the c ...more
Josh
May 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
A sort of Lewis Carroll meets Narnia; I enjoyed the quest narrative thread & the two stories are woven together marvelously.

If yoy enjoy fantasy novels I recommend this.
kashbot
Apr 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
The Other Side of Eve is a beautifully illustrated book inside and out, but most importantly a beautiful read.

The Other Side of Eve traverses two contrasting worlds: the familiar modern-day world occupied by Eve Boots, and the fantasy kingdom of Princess Belleny. When Eve's own thoughts (and anxieties) begin to affect Princess Belleny's world, this interwoven story takes off in surprising and exciting ways. The novel is full of adventure, humour and tenderness and also gently addresses issues of
...more
Sarah Carter
Firstly, this would be a 4 star book were it not for the fact that the Kindle edition is full of typos. Clean it up guys.

This is a hugely ambitious book - Evelin Boots is coping, or rather not coping with her anxiety. In therapy & on medication, she tries to make sense of her world.

In another world Princess Bellany lives only in her rooms, not venturing outside, until the day everything changes and she sets out on an impossible task.

The author does some interesting stuff with both worlds, Ev
...more
Dana
DNF at page 110. The illustrations are wonderful and I wanted to love this book, I just couldn't read anymore.
Renée
Apr 29, 2015 rated it really liked it
The Other Side of Eve by Paul Ikin is not just a story, it’s two distinctly different journeys of discovery, following both the fantastical quest of princess Belleny Vera from the land of Mare-Marie, and the mental journey of thirteen year old Evelin Boots from Yellow Tree, as she struggles to battle the wars within her head and accept her place in the world. How their worlds connect is partially up to the reader to decide through the use of metaphors and similarities in both girl’s worlds and l ...more
Patrick Day
Nov 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Calling The Other Side of Eve anything but a modern fairy tale would do it an injustice. I wouldn't call it a young adult book, though I'm sure it fits into that category. The book switches between two protagonists(Eve in the contemporary world & Belleny of a more fantastical one), and a journey that fits the rolls of two young girls in both worlds. The opening of the book states that the two won't interact, and they really don't, though it's left to interpretation I think how the two worlds ...more
A. Hunt
Jan 01, 2017 rated it really liked it
Every person needs a form of escape from life. For Eveline Boots, she actually creates a life1 Full of magic, adventure and the craziest of situations, The Other Side of Eve, by Paul Ikin, is a book of stories of two different people- but the same person, finding self and a cure for what bothers one the most.

I found the novel while causing Youtube. The book's trailer was so amazing, I reached out to Ikin, via Goodreads.com. He sent me to book and I began a journey, akin to Alice in Wonderland
...more
Katie
Mar 30, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Actual 4.5
So, this book, in my opinion is Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children meets the whimsical qualities of Lewis Carrol's Alice in Wonderland. The concept for this book is quite unique and was very entertaining to read. And Paul Ikin's writing displayed this concept in a very eclectic and beautiful way.

The character building in this book was REALLY amazing! Ikin did not sugarcoat any of the character's personality's, such as the princess with her twisted side of herself. But, it's not
...more
Jay
Mar 19, 2016 marked it as to-read
I need this book so badly.

It also has 80+ illustrations, all by the author!

You can look at some of them here



Jamie
Jun 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
There's so much that could be said about this book but i think it's best to read it and experience story with the characters. All i will say is that I fell in love with the characters in this book. It's an adventure fantasy with fantastic characters. Looking forward to reading more from this author.
D.L. Perching
Sep 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Excellent fantasy story with unique characters. Reminds me of The Never Ending Story. Love MC and how author uses story to portray her anxiety issues.
Dawn
Dec 29, 2016 added it
This book needs a good edit.
Gianina
Mar 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
it took me awhile, but it was a good book
Irving Ayala
rated it it was amazing
Jul 30, 2015
Daniela
rated it liked it
Apr 02, 2015
Scoutaccount
rated it liked it
May 20, 2017
heather :)
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2015
Karey
rated it it was amazing
Oct 03, 2015
Alexis Drake
rated it liked it
Oct 26, 2015
Aubrey
rated it really liked it
Jan 11, 2018
James Lynam
rated it it was amazing
Jul 01, 2015
Elena
rated it really liked it
Nov 27, 2015
Lynne
rated it it was amazing
Sep 14, 2016
Mai
rated it liked it
Aug 26, 2015
« previous 1 next »
  • The Bagman (The Abigail Cobble Trilogy, #1)
  • Shadowbloom (Rhyme of the Willow, Book 1)
  • Underwood (Tales from the Other Side of Real #1)
  • War-Bringer (Twinborn Trilogy, #0.5)
  • The Devil's Kitchen (Crown Phoenix, #2)
  • Mildred's Resistance (The Network Series, #0.5)
  • Aesop's Secret (Athenite, #1)
  • Songstruck
  • Map of Dreams
  • Anyone But Ivy Pocket
  • The Wizard of Time (Wizard of Time, #1)
  • The Broken Lands
  • Little Boy Lost (The Librarian, #1)
  • The Listener
  • Playing on Yggdrasil
  • Moomin
  • Facing the Hunchback of Notre Dame (The Enchanted Attic #1)
  • Attic Clowns: Volume One
125 followers
Paul Ikin is an illustrator by trade & author based in Melbourne, Australia.
More about Paul Ikin

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Bright Smoke, Cold Fire, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Gold-Son
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Trail of Dead (Scarlett Bernard, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Regulars
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Childhood's End
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Mirror
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad, #1)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Voyage to Magical North (The Accidental Pirates)
    $5.67 $2.99
  • Raven's Peak (World on Fire, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Swords and Deviltry (Lankhmar, 1)
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Rebel Wing (Rebel Wing #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Garden of Stones (Echoes of Empire, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Dracula [Kindle in Motion]
    $1.99 $0.99
  • The Autumn Republic (Powder Mage #3)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Thickety: A Path Begins
    $6.24 $1.99
  • Stinger
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Lost Voices
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Blade Itself (The First Law, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Extracted (Extracted Trilogy #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Dragon Haven (Rain Wild Chronicles, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Isle of Blood and Stone
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Spirit Hunters
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Haven (War of the Princes, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Immortal Circus (Cirque des Immortels, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Brilliance (Brilliance Saga, #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Immortal Circus: Act Two (Cirque des Immortels, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • A Better World (Brilliance Saga, #2)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Written in Fire (Brilliance Saga, #3)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Immortal Circus: Final Act (Cirque des Immortels, #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Secret of the Sirens (The Companions Quartet, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Ocean of Storms
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Shannara, #1-3)
    $19.99 $2.99
  • Artful
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles, #2)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Chains of Command (Frontlines, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Angles of Attack (Frontlines, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Lines of Departure (Frontlines, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga #2)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Into the Dim
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Terms of Enlistment (Frontlines #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Altered Carbon (Takeshi Kovacs, #1)
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Kull: Exile of Atlantis
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Fury (Blur Trilogy #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Gears of War  Aspho Fields
    $11.99 $1.99
  • City
    $7.99 $1.99
  • You Suck (A Love Story, #2)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Chocolate Touch
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Storm (Elemental, #1)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • A Perfect Blood (The Hollows, #10)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Mama Day
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Dreamfall (Dreamfall #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Imitation (Clone Chronicles #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Infinite
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Boundary Lines (Boundary Magic, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Mermaid's Sister
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Space Between Heartbeats (Betwixt #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Boundary Crossed (Boundary Magic, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Boundary Born (Boundary Magic, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Warded Man (Demon Cycle, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Kissed by Darkness (Sunwalker Saga, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Dragon Marked (Supernatural Prison, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Blood Kissed (Lizzie Grace, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • A Glimmer of Hope (The Avalon Chronicles #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Celia and the Fairies
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Best Served Cold (First Law World, #4)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Valor (The Faithful and the Fallen, #2)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Last One
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Genesis
    $11.99 $1.99
  • To Honor You Call Us (Man of War, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hunter's Trail (Scarlett Bernard, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Abyss Beyond Dreams (Commonwealth: Chronicle of the Fallers, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Wool: The Graphic Novel
    $7.99 $2.99
  • And I Darken (The Conqueror's Saga, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Ticker
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Barsk: The Elephants' Graveyard (Barsk, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Dead Spots (Scarlett Bernard #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Concealed (Lakewood, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
“Monstrous shiny black beetles the size of goats unfurled their wings, writhed and festered at the very top of the sharp rock formation.” 0 likes
“It started off as such a pleasant day, how did it come to this? thought Bernard Chamberlain,” 0 likes
More quotes…