Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Cost of Living” as Want to Read:
The Cost of Living
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Cost of Living

by
4.01  ·  Rating details ·  277 ratings  ·  28 reviews
A brand new zombie/survival horror story from the author of the best-selling AUTUMN and HATER novels (optioned for film by Guillermo del Toro).

The world is dying. An abhorrent epidemic is sweeping the globe, destroying everything it touches. Contact with even a single drop of contaminated blood or saliva is enough to spread the disease. Within hours even the healthiest
...more
Kindle Edition, 173 pages
Published May 28th 2014 by Infected Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Cost of Living, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Cost of Living

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.01  · 
Rating details
 ·  277 ratings  ·  28 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Cost of Living
Greg at 2 Book Lovers Reviews
Every once in a while I am looking for that dark, depressing book, the one that does not have the happily ever after; because lets face it, life is not all rainbows, lollipops and unicorns. Whenever I am in that kind of mood, David Moody does not let me down.

Stuart is a family man. He has the house, the wife, the two point five kids (actually three) and the family cat. When the world starts to go to hell, Stuart pays attention, he gets ready. Stuarts family will survive.

I love the double entente
...more
Netanella
GABBY
SATURDAY 9 MAY 11:38am
And Im just looking at him thinking, did you really just say that? Its a pair of bloody supermarket leggings, Stu, thats all.


Bloody good times, ha ha! Except there's really no blood in this one, and it's not really good times, it's creepy, depressingly silent end-of-the-world as only Moody can do it. "The Cost of Living" details the lives of a British family of 5 - anal retentive dad Stuart, mom Gabby, teenaged Nathan, and two young girls - as society around them
...more
Jonathan Echevarria
This was a very fun short read. Reading this one reminds me of how much I loved his older novel series like Autumn and Hater. David Moody has a real talent for writing superiors novels about the living dead. I dropped one star only because I wasnt a huge fan of the narrator, but he did a decent enough job. My attention didnt waver too much with this audiobook, and I had a lot of fun guessing what direction the story would lean towards. Surprisingly David kept me on my toes and guessing all away ...more
Gatorman
Mar 11, 2016 rated it really liked it
Strong, compelling novella from Moody about a father fighting to save his family when faced with the end of society as a deadly contagion spreads through the world population. The zombie-like humans known as the "infected" are roaming the population trying to turn the healthy survivors into one of them. The father decides to hide his family from the infected by shutting themselves inside the homeowner complex in which they live but the reality of the situation begins to affect each member's ...more
Neil
Jun 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: amazon, horror, kindle, novella
Thats the question posed by the novella TCoL. After a virus outbreak a man decides to hide his family in their home in a newly built housing estate. Hes convinced they can ride it out. However, with ever dwindling supplies was this the right thing to do?

Its written like a diary and this reportage style works really well and sets the pace perfectly.

David Moody has been on my reading radar for a while now so when I saw TCoL as a stand alone novella I decided I would read it. Glad I did, so will be
...more
Martin
Jun 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
http://Bookbloke.weebly.com

For me David Moody is the master of the British, zombie subgenre. His Autumn and Hater series are some of the most gripping, horrific, emotional and absolutely brilliant books I have read. The cost of Living, Moodys latest release does not disappoint.

A cost of living is a novella, following the life of Stuart, an everyday man, his wife, and three kids. On a trip to the supermarket, they witness a disturbing attack by an elderly woman, the woman is sick; the woman is
...more
Mkittysamom
A zombie tale with a lesson

It almost seems like one of Aesop's Fables! It was a sad story but a true one. One that addresses what can really happen when the whole world shuts down. A virus..spread by mucus, sneezes, spitting..is pretty hard to avoid. Worse than trying to avoid a zombie bite. A diabolical pathogen is really scary!

I like the different endings, how the author gives us different views of everyone's point of view. Inevitably it seems that either you fight or you run/hide till your
...more
A.A. Abbott
Oct 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing
READABLE AND BELIEVABLE - ALTHOUGH IT'S ZOMBIE FICTION

Like Stephen King in 'Salem's Lot' (OK, that was vampires, not zombies, but...), David Moody begins his story in an ordinary suburban setting. A cash-strapped family are shopping at the supermarket when they witness a disturbing incident. Gradually, horror and tension build until the extraordinary becomes commonplace (alas, not in a good way). Very readable and believable - which is somewhat amazing for zombie fiction.
Marcus Blakeston
Jun 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I like short books. Books where things happen on the first page and continue happening until the end. Those are the sort of books I grew up with, but then someone came along and decided all books had to be at least 500 pages long, with extra padding that did nothing to further the story. So books became boring and everyone stopped reading them. This is a short book. Stuff happens. Theres no boring bits. The world needs more books like this.
...more
John Houlihan
Jun 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
David Moody got me again! Amazing read!

Story was brilliant and characters even better each making the story come more to life after every chapter. A must read for not only David Moody fans but for all apocalyptic fiction readers
Kimberly
Jan 11, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: zombies
What can I say? I like a good zombie story and Mr. Moody is an apocalypse artist.
Carol
May 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Another brilliant book from David Moody.

An epidemic has swept the globe, destroying everything it touches. Contact with even a single drop of contaminated blood or saliva is enough to spread the disease. Within hours even the healthiest people are transformed into zombies. They hunt out the uninfected, their sole purpose to continue spreading the infection.

On a housing development Stuart will stop at nothing to protect his family. His garage is stocked high with supplies, the doors and windows
...more
Gayle Noble
Nov 25, 2017 rated it really liked it
A fairly short but excellent zombie/post-apocalyptic novella. I felt the author really got to grips with the swift breakdown of society and the thin layer of 'civilisation' we have. A layer which can all too easily be swept away, and then it's every man for himself. Will definitely check out some of the author's other work.
Barbara
Oct 10, 2018 rated it it was ok
Not very exciting

It was ok. Not as action packed or as gory as I like my Zompoc to be. And the alternative endings were just confusing and ultimately pointless, as each one wasn't really any different to the others. Not one I'd recommend really - a bit boring
Bogdan
Dec 27, 2017 rated it liked it
Another take on the zombie genre, but with a dark and surprising ending.
Sabrina
Jan 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2018, kindle
What defines living and how is that different from existing? This is a story about one family's survival.
Dave Lightfoot
Aug 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Once again David Moody has shown why he is a leading name in Apoc Horror.
His way of making a zombie outbreak both believable and engrossing is second to none.
Awesome story that had me gripped from the start.
Juuliimarino
Jan 06, 2017 rated it it was ok
raro, muy raro.
Teresa Dowson
Aug 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing
As with all David Moody's offerings; loved it.
Lori Norris
Mar 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Horrors

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. For a while now I have been sloshing my way through zombie after zombie. The story line was fresh and very creepy!
Mat Soole
Aug 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Moody does it again! Another cracking book, little different to his usual stuff but a brilliant read all the same!
Jo Fisher
Apr 08, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: challenge-2015
Zombies and a great ending! Couldn't ask for me...just sad it's ended!
sonia gardner
Oct 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
Thrilling and fast paced.

really enjoyed this zombie apocalypse story and recommend it to anyone who wants lots of action and zombie gore stuff.
Dawn Gossard-lissa
Aug 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Love this author

I read Hater first and I just cam across it at the book store and I have been hooked ever since. I am now reading anything I can find from David!
Rebecca Besser
Mar 21, 2015 rated it really liked it
Official review coming soon!
Robert Rojo
Aug 28, 2014 rated it really liked it
Great little read. You can really tell how enclosed the characters are. Interesting twists and a great way to introduce yourself to David Moody.
Toby
rated it really liked it
Apr 25, 2015
Lori Chandler
rated it really liked it
Oct 05, 2014
April
rated it really liked it
Mar 18, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • BioHell (Combat-K #2)
  • Ways to Die in Glasgow (Sam Ireland Mysteries #1)
  • Rub a Dub Dub
  • Hunted on the Fens (DI Nikki Galena, #3)
  • Crime on the Fens (DI Nikki Galena, #1)
  • Fire on the Fens (DI Nikki Galena, #9)
  • Shadow Over the Fens (DI Nikki Galena, #2)
  • Darkness on the Fens (DI Nikki Galena, #10)
  • Poison Orchids
  • Pandemic (The Retreat, #1)
  • Suicide Forest (World's Scariest Places #1)
  • The Dark Ship
  • The Darkening
  • The Neutronium Alchemist (Night's Dawn, #2)
  • Legends
  • Killchain (Year of the Zombie #1)
  • Sharp Ends (First Law World, #7)
  • Salvation (Salvation Sequence #1)
See similar books…
1,078 followers
A pioneer of independent publishing, DAVID MOODY first released HATER in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, Breaking Bad) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth). Moody's seminal zombie novel AUTUMN was made into an (admittedly terrible) movie starring Dexter Fletcher and David Carradine. He has ...more

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our list,...
2 likes · 0 comments
“The quiet this evening is unsettling. I hadn’t realised how loud life was until it all stopped.” 3 likes
“Maybe it’s not that it’s too quiet now, maybe it was too loud before?” 1 likes
More quotes…