Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ephemeral Summer” as Want to Read:
Ephemeral Summer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ephemeral Summer

by
3.67  ·  Rating details ·  24 ratings  ·  9 reviews
After the death of her parents, Emalee is sent to live with her aunt who spends her summers on an idyllic lake in Upstate New York. To cope with her loss, Emalee becomes emotionally detached from everyone around her. As she enters adulthood, Emalee struggles to maintain this façade while trying to navigate relationships with the men in her life: Peter, an artist and close ...more
Paperback, 206 pages
Published May 2nd 2014 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (first published May 1st 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ephemeral Summer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ephemeral Summer

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
Average rating 3.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  24 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Ephemeral Summer
Martha
May 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Relatable and real, reflecting the depth and complexity of the relationships that shape our lives: family, friends, and lovers.
Anne Parrish
Nov 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
Surviving a family crisis, finding oneself, and the splendor of Upstate New York are the themes and gems of Sheila Myers’ debut novel, Ephemeral Summer. Youth and its uncertainties, particularly love, are ably detailed as protagonist Emalee Rawlings discovers the lure and attraction of the opposite sex.

But Emalee has many interests other than boys, chief of which is science. She has a gift for observation and detailing what she sees. Her passion takes her far and wide, to Australia and the
...more
Melanie
Oct 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
I won this book free from the Goodreads giveaway.
After Emalee loses her parents in a tragic murder/suicide at fifteen, she goes to live with her father's only sister, her aunt Audrey at her summer home on Canandaigua Lake. She has always been drawn to it and always looked forward to visiting at the end of the school year.
She hangs out with her friend Peter, an artist who never finishes one project before starting another, and Stuart, the philosopher, whom she has a crush on. Emalee also works as
...more
Suzy Rogers
Feb 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
I think of Ephemeral Summer as a coming of age story.

Emalee Rawlings is a young adult with a heavy past. She’s lost her mother and father in a single day and a single instance—a murder/suicide. Despite this, she moves on with her life. It is fascinating to follow this young lady in her pursuit of a new life, on her own, and happiness. Independently and with the quiet despair of person who has faced great loss, she persists through difficult friendships, confusing relationships, and even more
...more
Myla Stauber
Nov 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I love this book! I am very familiar with the area and I feel the book captured the area perfectly. When a place is indelible on your heart...
I love the mix of science and relationship narrative, the quotes at the beginning of each chapter. I had a relationship with the St. Lawrence River that was exactly like Emalee's relationship to her beloved Finger Lakes... I know the feeling to love and ache for a place!

I liked the depth of emotion plus science plus water... all made for one colorful,
...more
Martha
Feb 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
Ephemeral Summer is an unexpected love story. The first "love" is with a place that the author captures perfectly. What I especially enjoyed was how that love evolved into the narrator's love for herself, as she is. I found the unselfconscious voice refreshing and mature. The author treats readers like we don't have to be hit over the head, and so we get to experience a sense of discovery that is lacking in a lot of novels that deal with love.

Ephemeral Summer by Sheila Myers
Jaclyn
Jul 29, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
*I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

You can't help but root for things to work out for Emmalee after the death of her parents. The author truly captures the magic of summer in a place that is dear to one's heart - I have never been to the area in this book, but can relate where I spent my young adult summers to the emotions conveyed. The characters are full of life and their relationships are believable. A great summer read!
Pam Mooney
Jun 05, 2015 rated it liked it
A wonderful coming of age story as a young woman works through love and tragedy at a very young age. Lovely descriptions of the lake and relatable characters who are trying to make decisions as they step out to make their way in the world. I enjoyed very much. A good read.
Joan
Jun 17, 2015 rated it really liked it
This book provides great
deal of information about the ecology of the Finger Lakes and Lake Erie. The story of a young woman's growth is well told.
Lana Blum
rated it liked it
Feb 18, 2019
Brigid Judge
rated it really liked it
Sep 14, 2018
Thomas A. Mosier
rated it it was ok
Aug 26, 2015
Melissa Morse
rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2016
Martha
rated it liked it
Jul 02, 2019
Mary D'andrea
rated it it was ok
Apr 17, 2019
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Jun 15, 2015
William Lembach
rated it it was ok
Jun 28, 2016
Sharon
rated it it was amazing
Jul 20, 2015
KATHERINE FEGAN
rated it it was ok
Sep 09, 2016
Elizabeth Davis
rated it really liked it
Jul 20, 2017
Mary
rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2017
Ellen
rated it liked it
May 19, 2019
Linda Curran
rated it it was ok
Nov 28, 2014
Kathy Fears
rated it it was amazing
Feb 19, 2020
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2015
Pat Eells
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2015
Cynthia Schwarzer
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2015
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2015
Carla
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2015
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Sandra Beck
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Ted
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Teressa
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Barbara
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Dasha
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Julie Drucker
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Max
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2015
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2015
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2015
Nikki Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2015
Phyllis Krall
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2015
Leland Lee
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2015
Carrie Mau
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2015
Jan
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2015
Elaine Needelman
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2015
Dawn Kieser
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • From Where We Stand: Recovering a Sense of Place
  • The Solitude of Self: Thinking About Elizabeth Cady Stanton
  • Sisters in Spirit: Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Influences on Early American Feminists
  • Foundations of Color
  • Seneca Falls Inheritance (Glynis Tryon, #1)
  • Foundations of Design
  • The Secrets Between Us
  • The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
  • The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life
  • Precious and Grace (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency #17)
  • Animal Architecture
See similar books…
69 followers
Sheila Myers is a Professor at a college in Upstate NY and an award winning author of four novels. She is a member of the Women's Fiction Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society. When she is not teaching she likes to write, swim, and hike. Not always in that order.




“I know this feeling, when the temperature, just right, makes it so I do not know my own movements in the water. My skin has no sensation to compare with anything outside of its own climate.” 3 likes
More quotes…