Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Under the Shadow of Darkness (Apprentice, #1)” as Want to Read:
Under the Shadow of Darkness (Apprentice, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Under the Shadow of Darkness

(Apprentice Series #1)

by
4.26  ·  Rating details ·  61 ratings  ·  45 reviews
Magician's apprentice Bel along with a wise cracking wizard must journey under the shadow of darkness to try to discover how the fabric of reality has been rent, tearing open a gateway to the underworld and allowing the dead to walk among the living. Who did it and why? Was it intentional? Can they defeat them? Can they close the rift? Can a teenager learning the ways of m ...more
Paperback, 270 pages
Published February 24th 2014 by Sji
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Under the Shadow of Darkness, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Under the Shadow of Darkness

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.26  · 
Rating details
 ·  61 ratings  ·  45 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Bailey
Aug 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed, favorites
"In my experience evil is always defeated if we stand, face it and fight it. It is only when we give up that we lose to the darkness."
-Nes’egrinon


Please note that I received a free e-book copy of Under the Shadow of Darkness from the author in exchange for an honest review. I would like to say a huge thank you to James and Issa Cardona for this wonderful opportunity and for a copy of their fabulous book!

Rating: 4 1/2

Young Bel just graduated from the Academy of Arts and Magic and has been chosen
...more
Suellen
Aug 25, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Wow, a great fantasy story for teens and of course adults will love it too. Its set back in the time of Kings with slanguage of modern youth. Captivating and fun. I can't wait for the rest of the series.
Carmen
Jul 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
First off, I'd like to thank James for offering me this book to read. I had read his previous book, Santa vs The Aliens which I enjoyed once the bugs were worked out of it. But when he contacted me about this book, I was like, "Zip it on over dude! I'd love to read it!" These are definitely my own personal feelings on this book and they've been in no way influenced by anyone else. What you read here, is what I really feel about it, no sugar coating allowed! James is a wonderful guy and I enjoy m ...more
Sabrina Joy
Aug 24, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"Under the Shadow Darkness (Book 1)" was an interesting take on magic that was different and that I have never experienced before! At first, it's pretty light-hearted with its structure and the way the goal at large is presented, but reading into it, there are some moral and lightly-dark elements that puts you at crossword, a sort of "I need to do this, but it'll cause that" feeling.

The characters were overall pleasing and different! Though the dialogue often didn't match a particular character
...more
Keeley
Jul 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Under the Shadow of Darkness is book one in the Apprentice Series. Bel has recently graduated from a specialized school as a magician's apprentice. As an apprentice to the great Nes'egrinon, Bel has been given the opportunity of a lifetime, if he can survive long enough to finish his training that is. The only two apprentices that Nes'egrinon has had in the past have both died and as Bel continues to interact with Nes'egrinon, the mystery surrounding him grows.

After a terrifying interaction wit
...more
megHan
Apr 17, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read James' story Santa Claus vs the Aliens and enjoyed it, especially after he fixed up the ending as I, and a few other reviewers, suggested, so when he asked me to take a look at this one, I was really excited.

Bel has just become an apprentice to a great wizard, but had not had the chance to learn anything from him before they had to set off with two others (another wizard and his apprentice, a boy Bel had known in school) to find out the reason for the darkness that has swept over their l
...more
Sheila
Aug 25, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads, 4-stars
English:
It's about a boy (Bel), graduated from an Arts and Magic Academy (Lasaat), who is now the apprentice of wizard "Nes'egrinon, the great and the terrible". While, the deads are rising and killing people to get a few seconds of life. Bel and others go to a journey where they have to travel under the shadow of darkness to find out the start of the forever-Night days, and stop the situation before it gets worst.

I really liked it, is something like zombie-vampire stuff, it was fun and sad, a
...more
Sasha
Aug 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I'd like to thank James for offering me this book to read. When he contacted me about this book, I was thrilled to be able to read this book and give it my honest review. He is a very sweet person to contact me and ask if I would like to review his electronic copy of his book since I had not won a hard copy. I love reading, and it is always a pleasure to be able to read new works by new authors. I received this copy and began reading and could not stop until I was finished.
Under the Shadow of Da
...more
Marc Secchia
Apr 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Bel the magician's apprentice and his master Nes'egrinon take on the forces of darkness in this new fantasy adventure by James Cardona. Laced with signature Cardona humour and a few handy life's lessons along the way, I found this work a most worthwhile read. (I read an ARC or pre-publication copy)

Magic does not come easy to Bel. He is immediately thrust into the thick of the action as the undead creatures take a liking to those with mage blood. Bel must learn his lessons at the sharp end of the
...more
Terri Christie
Mar 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The World is falling into darkness and being over taken by Ghouls. One bite and you yourself will fall and become one too. The only hope is to find the source of the darkness and stop it! When Bel's new master, the infamous Forest Mage Nes'egrinon is approached by Muolithnon the charismatic Stone Mage to set out on such an adventure Bel is thrown into his new life head first. He is reunited with a school rival Kerlith, who is the bane of his existence and the reason why he graduated a year late ...more
Emily
Apr 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
It's not very often that I read a book and think, "This would be perfect for a teenage boy." James Cardona has done it with Under the Shadow of Darkness! That being said, I AM an adult female and I loved it, too.

It's hard NOT to compare fantasy and magic with Harry Potter, especially when you combine it with a teenage apprentice magician, but that is where the comparison ends. Apprentice Bel has to work alongside his rival Kerlith, all while proving himself to his new master Nes'egrinon and bei
...more
Mark Higbee
Sep 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
I received this book from the authors as an advanced read with an understanding that I would write an honest review.

I highly enjoyed reading this (relatively) short novel. It was engaging, fast paced and descriptive. It certainly has set up a series that could generate numerous books (much as The Ranger's Apprentice has given me countless hours of enjoyment).

The relationship between the "Fifth Year" and the Archmage barely has a chance to develop, as from the first time they meet until the end
...more
Linda Todd
Oct 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: friends
Recommended to Linda by: a gift
Wow wizards & magic can it get any better yes this story had it all. The added saying magic is life & life is magic. Now I can't wait to read more yummy,yummy stories in this wonderful series. A delightful first book in I hope will be ever better as the stories go on. Fabulous story lines well thought out characters and all the zest and a grumpy old wizard there are alot going on in this wonderful story that I think you have to read this book to get it so please go get this book it will ...more
Linda Todd
Oct 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: friends
Recommended to Linda by: gift
Shelves: my-fab
Wow wizards & magic can it get any better yes this story had it all. The added saying magic is life & life is magic. Now I can't wait to read more yummy,yummy stories in this wonderful series. A delightful first book in I hope will be ever better as the stories go on. Fabulous story lines well thought out characters and all the zest and a grumpy old wizard there are alot going on in this wonderful story that I think you have to read this book to get it so please go get this book it will ...more
Flewts
Aug 16, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. If you like ghouls, quests, magic and humor, you'll find them all here. This is a young adult book that will really appeal to male teens especially. I would have liked to have seen more of the apprentice's training, but as is explained at the end of the book (mild spoiler) his apprenticeship hasn't really begun yet. I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes in the next book in the series.

Although there is magic
...more
Stephen
Aug 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Bel a magician's apprentice along with his new Master, an old archmage, who is long past his prime, start a adventure leading them into the heart of danger, which may kill them all. Then there is the wise cracking wizard from his former school that journey with them under the shadow of darkness to try to discover how the fabric of reality has been torn opening a gateway to the underworld and allowing the dead to walk among the living. Finding out who did it and can they defeat them? Can they clo ...more
Kirsten Jany
Mar 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: young-adult
Tired of Harry Potter? Under the Shadow of Darkness is a different take on magic, complete with valuable life lessons, Christian principles, and a good dose of humor! When dead ghoul-like creatures start stalking the living, Bel and his master Nes’egrinon are faced with a twofold problem: how do you protect the living by finding the access path the dead currently have, and how do you do find...well...anything when faced with an eternal darkness? With daylight no longer breaking through, Bel and ...more
Danielle Williams
Newly graduated from magic school Bel is given an apprenticeship with Nes’egrinon an old wise wizard, arguably the best. Upon arrival at Nes’egrinon's house he encounters his old school rival Kerlith and his master Muolithnon. Muolithnon is asking Nes’egrinon to join him in searching out the darkness that is overtaking the land. After accepting the four of them soon discover that they need to depend on each other to try to defeat this darkness. It is also abundently clear that they may not be ab ...more
Joe
Aug 12, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was given a free copy of Under the Shadow of Darkness in exchange for an honest review. This is the beginning of what looks to be one of those series you can't get enough of. A great fantasy story for teens and of course adults will love it too. I can't wait for the rest of the series.
Peggy
Aug 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great new wizard series. Join Bel as he starts his journey after school. bel first day as a apprentice is not all what he was thinking it wood be or any of the days to come. I will be waiting for the next book to see what is next for Bel and Nes'egrinon.
Emily
Aug 13, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The characters of Bel , Kerlith and Nes'egrinon drive this fast paced, action packed first book of a magical new series. I can't wait to see what happens next.
Tracy
Apr 02, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was excited when the author contacted me to receive a copy of his book in return for an honest review. I have read his two other young adult novels, Santa Claus vs the Aliens, and Gabriella and Dr.Duggan's Secret Dimensional Transport Machine and enjoyed those, so I expected to be just as entertained with this novel.

I enjoyed 'Under the Shadow of Darkness' as a young adult fantasy novel. The characters were interesting. I liked the main character Bel. I thought he was believable and seemed to
...more
Gerard Bianco
"Under the Shadow of Darkness" is a young adult fantasy, and its story of wizards, wizardry, castles, magic, and ghoul-like zombie creatures is a fun and entertaining ride. In addition, its story also addresses young adult development issues.

The protagonist is Bel, a young man who is the apprentice to one of the world’s most powerful wizards. Bel, and the old wizard are caught up in a battle to find and seal a reality rift that has caused life to be turned upside down. Creatures from beyond the
...more
Laura Reading
Sep 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Light vs dark, Good vs Evil, greed, a quest, adventures, walking dead!
Just as in life at any time, it is sometimes difficult to know who you can trust and what is causing the ripples.
It is also a tale of friendship and self discovery. "Every First Year knows this."

"There is a big difference between being told to memorize something and knowing it."

This wonderful adventure novel will appeal to all ages. There may be some dark moments that squeemish may find uncomfortable, but there truly is nothin
...more
Angie Rhodes
Firstly , a big thank you to James and Issa Cardona, for kindly sending me this to review, I loved it,
Bel is a Graduate Lassat, and now become apprenticed to Master Nes'egrinon, along with Kerlith, apprentice to Moulithon, to say Bel is a little nervous is one thing, but to have Kerlith smirking as he has to do the chores he usually does is something else,
"There is talk , that Death is in the air," Mulithon, tells the old Wizard.
He is right, as Bel, Kerlith and Mulithon, ride out to the woods,
...more
Patricia Walker
Oct 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the beginning of what looks to be one of those series you can't get enough of. The characters are at times incredibly deep and at other times simplistically shallow - much like typical teenagers the worlds over. The story takes us along a journey where the two boys must become more than adults - they must also take their first serious steps towards their ultimate future - becoming Mages in their respective callings.

The story does jump about a little in this first book to give as much bac
...more
Bianca
Nov 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
To cut to the chase, this was a brilliant read!

As a lot of the reviews on here give a general description of what the story is about i will not go into that. What i do want to say is how action packed and exciting this little read was. From the very begining you are drawn into and captivated by Bel's (the main character) world. As you follow him and his teachers quest to take on the darkness you see a very different take on the magic genre which i found very refreshing (theres nothing worse than
...more
Linda
Aug 13, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was given a free copy of Under the Shadow of Darkness in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed this story and look forward to future installments of this series. I was a little put off, at first, by the modern slang coming from a old man, however, as the story went along it melded in with the characters and the story as a whole.

Bel is a boy just starting on his journey into an apprenticeship with the old wizard, Nes’egrinon. As he starts his apprenticeship, he is forced to work with
...more
Daleine
Sep 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Under the Shadow of Darkness was sent to me to read to review. I would not have chose this book as it was about ghouls, however I really enjoyed the book. A young Apprentice Bel goes to meet his new Master Meg but does not even get introduced before ghouls attack. Bel and his former school nemesis must fight beside each other along with the Mag's who they are being trained by. The Mag's must find out why the world is being overrun by the dead and stop it. The teenagers in this story had many of ...more
Lee
Feb 04, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Awesome book! I loved the adventure and magic throughout the story. The main character, Bel, a wizard apprentice, caught my attention from the beginning. It's a compelling story about the young man's adventure in learning. He goes on a journey with an elder wizard and other magical characters as they try to find out why darkness and the dead have invaded the land. I really liked this tale and look forward to more adventures of this apprentice. I highly recommend this book, as it is a fascinating ...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Orla's Code
  • Strigoi
  • Twisted (Deathwind Trilogy, #1)
  • Sun Catcher (Sun Catcher Trilogy, #1)
  • The Last Overseer (The Overseer, #1)
  • Linear Shift, Part 1
  • After the Silence (Amsterdam Quartet, #1)
  • Faezed & Confused (Dr. Wulf: Paranormal Psychologist #1)
  • Lycantis: Rage of Wolves
  • Moore Field School and the Mystery
  • The Shattered Seam (Seam Stalkers, #1)
  • The Mask of the Troll (The Adventurers, #2)
  • The Breath of Aoles (Ardalia #1)
  • Crimson Groves
  • Djinn (Djinn, #1)
  • Celtic Blood
  • Yesterday's Thief (Eric Beckman, #1)
  • The Kota (The Kota Series Book 1)
See similar books…
55 followers
James Cardona received his Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from the University of Delaware with a minor in Religious Studies.
He enjoys all things creative including the typical things such as drawing, painting, music and creative writing; and the not-so-typical such as building robots and writing computer code.
James has written five books and is planning on writing many, many more.
He also l
...more