Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Shadows on Snow” as Want to Read:
Shadows on Snow
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Shadows on Snow

(Flipped Fairy Tales #1)

by
3.89  ·  Rating details ·  644 ratings  ·  93 reviews
Once upon a time, a dark evil crept into my kingdom, stealing my loved ones and the happy life I knew. The world turned against me, and I swore to become stronger, to keep myself safe.

Once upon a time, there was a handsome prince, hair dark as ebony, skin as pure as the freshly driven snow, and I became the only one who stood between him and death.

Once upon a time, our sto
...more
Paperback, 250 pages
Published November 3rd 2014 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shadows on Snow, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Starla Huchton This book is suitable for ages 12 and up.
Starla Huchton The ebook is up for preorder right now, and the print version is already available. The ebook goes live on November 3rd (Monday). :)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  644 ratings  ·  93 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Nhi Nguyễn
Lately I’ve been ambushed by deadlines after deadlines at work; this is why it took me so long to finish this short fairy tale retelling novel (not because it was so bad that I couldn’t devour it like I had done with my beloved books before). To make the full use of a few days in which I wasn’t busy doing my tasks, I decided to resume my reading and finished this book with just one quick read in the morning :)) And I must say I am thoroughly satisfied with this first book in the “Flipped Fairy T ...more
Kate Sherrod
Dec 16, 2014 rated it really liked it
First of all, let us take a moment to bask in the glory of this cover. Bask. It is glorious. The author is a graphic designer and has a whole side business in designing glorious book covers. I plan on using her myself, when I finally get some things finished and ready to publish again (soon, I promise! There will be seven. See what I did there?).



Second, let me just say that I'm pretty sure that pretty much everything that feminists and their sympathizers have ever found to hate about fairy tales
...more
A. Carina
Oct 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Greetings folks!

Yes, I really did get picked to enjoy an ARC copy of "Shadows on Snow". So if you are curious if this tale is to your taste, I will do my best to help you decide. I will break this review down into two parts. The first will be my over-all impressions of the story and will only contain the very basics of character and plot information such as the dust jacket would have. The second half, after a nice gap, will discuss the tale in more length and will likely have spoilers. Sometime
...more
Kimber Wheaton
Nov 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: ya
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review

Let me start off by saying that Ms. Huchton just has a way with creating memorable characters-- the kind that stick with you long after the novel is over. The last book I read by her was in an entirely different genre. I am blown away by her ability to capture the heart of each genre so well. Shadows on Snow is a gender-flipped fairy tale based on Snow White. In this tale, Snow White is a prince named Leo, and the hero is a gir
...more
Mike
Oct 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

With the skill of rumpelstiltskin himself Starla Huchton spins the straw of the original Snow White story into epic fantasy gold. I haven’t plowed through a book like this in a good while, even reading one handed at times! (While cooking you pervs!)

“They are calls to action, meant to send the chosen on journeys of great importance.”

A gender bending twist on Snow White, it really has aspects from several classic tales and does a good
...more
 Simply Sam ツ
***3.5 Stars***

This is a little bit Cinderella, a smidge of Sleeping Beauty, and a whole lot of Snow White rolled into one. The best part is that it is not our fair Princess Raelynn who takes the role of Snow White but our noble Prince Leo. Instead of seven dwarves tasked with keeping the prince safe, it is Princess Raelynn and her six witchy (as in the literal sense of the word) sisters, each with their own unique magical skill set. And when I said Raelynn is fair, what I really mean is she is
...more
Jessica Surgett
Jul 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: books-i-own
I've read quite a few books by Starla now, and I've loved them all. I had high hopes for this one in particular, because I am a huge fan of fairy tales, and I thought the idea of swapping genders was really unique and interesting. I don't know whether anyone has done it before, but it's the first time I've ever heard of it and I think it's genius.
I LOVED THIS BOOK.
I have raved about her books in the past, and I'm going to do it again. This is definitely my favorite of hers so far. It is just p
...more
Rachel Barnard
Dec 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing
“Strength comes in many forms. Beauty is but one.” (Page 28).

Raelynn is both beautiful and strong and when she overhears that the Queen is in trouble, she cannot but try to help. Rae has a magical gift that helps her remain unnoticed as she attempts to help the Queen. In the form of a lowly, simple stable boy she is still able to charm the young Prince Leopold, but when he is in danger himself, she must try to save him as well. Forever late, even in birth, can Rae protect the Prince from his evi
...more
Erica
Nov 17, 2014 rated it liked it
In a re-imagined Snow White, a young prince is forced from his home and ends up seeking the help of seven sisters.

First and foremost, this story is a romance. I am not a fan of romance, and I expected this to be a more drawn out version of the old fairy tale, with lots of new twists and turns along the way. So my review may seem a little harsh, and I apologize, but I dislike romance novels.

This story has very little in common with Snow White. I love re-imagined fairy tales, and I love seeing the
...more
Jennifer  Ricketts (Donnie Darko Girl)
I received a review copy of this book for my stop on the blog tour at Donnie Darko Girl.

When I saw that Starla Huchton had another book up for review, I automatically signed up didn't need to know anything else about it, not even the synopsis. I know that sounds a bit crazy, but after reading the first three books in her Evolution series which I'm now obsessed with, she's become an author on my auto-read/auto-buy list.

Starla's writing is magical, inventive, and unique. It transports you to pla
...more
Lou
Nov 01, 2014 rated it really liked it
*Disclaimer: I received a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review as part of the RBTL Shadows On Snow Blog Tour.*

Shadows on Snow is a twist on a classic fairy tale.

Prince Leopold is handsome, with his dark hair and pale skin; he's definitely the male version of Snow White! Everyone who meets Prince Leopold instantly warms to him and likes him.

Rae is staff at Prince Leopold's castle. The story is told from Rae's POV. However there is more to Rae than meets the eye; Rae has been put at the c
...more
Ninosy  (Wonder Woman)
Sep 02, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: dnf
2 stars
DNF ...
Mike
Feb 06, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fairy-tales
Quick thoughts: Pretty fantastic fairy tale variation. Strong characters, imaginative, and tackles some really uncomfortable topics with a deft touch and in a way that enhances the story and characters. The first person narrative worked well but also limited the "screen time" of the main villain, which made it hard to be too scared of him. A little heavier on the romance than the action, but still has plenty of adventure beats and dangers circling about. And the real draw here is the creative wa ...more
Riley Keith
Oct 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Someone finally did a twist tale right. This book was fun right from the first page and I didn't stop having fun until the end. And then I cried a little bit.
Starla has created a world full of rich characters and taken the story of Snow White we all know and love so well, and turned it on his head. We've got a prince in distress, a damsel who knows her way around a weapon or two and sisters who mean business. Underscoring all of this is magic and danger. Shadows on Snow is the fairy tale story
...more
Meryst
Jan 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I totally loved it that I did finish it in a single session and I will search out more . I really can not do justice with a review since I am still caught within the pages and the images that are still there. To me a great story is one that will let me see it like a movie playing within my mind.
Dawn
Mar 10, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I like the twist of this retelling of Snow White. Kept me entertained. I was a great and quick read.
Adrienne
Review also available on my blog The Shameful Narcissist Speaks.

I've always loved fairy tale retellings, so much so that I write them myself and infuse the all to familiar tropes in all of my works both fanfiction and original.  Starla Huchton has taken it upon herself to delve into terrain fairly well trodden in order to present the old in another new way.  Since this is the first of her stories I've read, I'm going off of assumption here, but it appears as though what she's flipping is the gen
...more
Melanie Bodner
Ugh

Predictable and annoying, cringe after cringe. I forced myself to finish it. The characters were unoriginal and I wanted to slap them
Melissa Hayden
May 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: tale-remix, kindle
4 1/2 stars

Starla spins Snow White's tale with a Prince. There is life revelations and love mixed with magic and seven witches. Enjoyable fairytale read with a new twist.

****FULL REVIEW****
Rae has been doing her part in protecting the royalty in the kingdom of Bern. Watching to make sure they don't fall victim as others have, to a cruel, evil man. Then one day she meets the Prince Leo. There is magic there that Rae is not ready to face. But Rae will do what she must to protect Prince Leo when hi
...more
Karen
Jul 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Wow. What a truly fantastic book. It is extremely well written (and edited) and has tightly packed action and full character development. I highly recommend this book and will be reading more from this author!

The basic setup is that "Snow White" is really the prince and instead of seven dwarves, there are seven sisters. These sisters have been in hiding for a decade, after their kingdom was stolen by a man (the evil king) who killed their mother. This man has now remarried, the prince's (Leo's)
...more
Hannah L (Reviewer)
Sep 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Yesyesyesyeysyeysyesy! Someone did it right! Finally! Somebody got it frigging right! Shadows on Snow has to be one of the only fairy tale remakes that I have every liked, much less fell in love with. It is so magical and fluid I didn't even notice time passing as I read. I started, then "Oh look, it been seven hours... well I can't stop now. Might as well finish the book" *happy shrug*. This book is definitely a gender swap, for all those who love those. The equivalent of Snow White is a dude, ...more
Adriana
Jun 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

Like I have said before, I absolutely love Starla Huchton. So, of course, when I saw that she was doing a flipped fairytale I could not wait to read it!!

Shadows on Snow was one of the most enchanting books I have ever read. This is a spin of Snow White, but not really a retelling per-se. I won't say much about the plot itself but know it is so much different from what you all know about Snow White. You will be hooked from the very
...more
Lauren Jones
Nov 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I was very interested to read this book when it was first introduced because I was curious about the idea of a "flipped fairytale". What captivated me the most about this story was the writing; it is very descriptive and allows you to picture exactly what it being portrayed. The author has a wonderful plot being set in motion when she introduces the little boy in the barn taking care of the horses. It isn't just any little boy...or a little boy at all.

I enjoyed reading about Raelynn and her sist
...more
A.F. Grappin
Nov 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book is a real winner and a joy to read. I don't know if I can attribute this to the story itself or just the fact that Snow White isn't a favorite fairy tale of mine, but I really didn't care overmuch for the Snow White parallel character, Prince Leopold. That isn't to say Leopold is unlikeable. Quite the opposite. Then again, this wasn't really his story. This is Rae's story, and she is a heroine to relate to and admire. She's definitely a teenager with an opinion and skills, and reading ...more
Doris
Nov 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
*I was provided a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

LOVE!!!!
This was my first time reading a gender flip book, if you've read them before then you get it. If you haven't basically what this means, in this story based on the tale of Snow White, snow white is a man and the hero is a woman. The roles are turned around for the characters and it is totally awesome!
I have been waiting for a while to read this one, there was so much hype building- it does not disappoint! I could not
...more
Monique
Nov 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
LOVED IT! Wow, is all I have to say after I devoured this book.

I loved the roll reversal and how well it was incorporated into the original Snow White theme. I loved the use of magic and the slow build of the relationship between the main characters, it didn't feel rushed or instantaneous which can be annoying in stories because it is unrealistic.

My only complaint is that it was over too soon! I don't know what else the author could have added to make it longer, the story felt complete and not
...more
Tori
Dec 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kindle-books
What intrigued me most and the reason I decided to try and read this book was the idea of it being a flipped fairy tale. Starla does a great job at taking a traditional tale and manipulating it and putting her own twist on things. I don't recall ever hearing of such a book. I will be honest at the beginning of the book I struggled not necessarily because of the writing or the layout but it is very much a magical fantasy genre which I am not normally drawn to. However, the farther I read the more ...more
Cheri
Jul 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I had read reviews for this book and looked forward to enjoying at as much as others had. I had no idea I would love it so much. This flip on the Snow White story we have all grown up on takes you on a journey even better. The characters are interesting, the villain is horrible, the hero is the epitome of romantic and the ending is just how you want it to be. But Starla has made it its own story. I can only hope she writes many more flipped fairy tales so that I can experience them with the same ...more
Stacy
May 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Love, Love, Love this story! A huge fan of fairy tales from a very young age, I especially enjoyed this book because it took the original story and twisted it to show a different angle. Why not have a strong heroine who is more than able to protect those she loves? Why can't she flip that whole 'damsel in distress' stereotype on its head?
Once again, author Starla Huchton has infused this story with strong, confident women who - although a little broken - still manage to find the strength to save
...more
Heidi
Apr 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fairy-tale
This was pleasantly surprising. It is a very new spin on fairy tales, the female is the heroine as well as partial victim. Shadows on Snow is completely original, there are bits you can pick up on from Snow White if you know what you are looking for, but the story is a completely new tale and not rewritten version of a past tale. I enjoyed the characters Starla created and the way she put things together keeps you interested. I am looking forward to reading more from this very creative author. T ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Angel (The Evolution, #1)
  • The Beast (The Hunter Legends, #1)
  • Thorne (The Chronicles of Kaya, #2)
  • The Golden Apple (The Dark Forest, #1)
  • Rise (Order of the Krigers, #1)
  • The Consort (Ascension, #3)
  • Visionary Unleashed (Visionary, #1)
  • Stiltskin
  • Edge of Truth
  • A Grimm Legacy (Grimm Tales #1)
  • Henge (Le Fay #1)
  • The Schwarzschild Radius
  • Broken Gates (The P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy #2)
  • Aladdin and His Wonderfully Infernal Device
  • Edgelanders (Serpent of Time, #1)
  • Spinning Thorns
  • Gathering Frost (Once Upon a Curse, #1)
  • Galilee Rising (Galilee Falls Trilogy, #2)
196 followers
A geek of all trades, Starla Huchton has been crafting stories in various genres since 2007. She is a three-time finalist for Parsec Awards for her podcast fiction work, and was the first place winner for Science Fiction & Fantasy in the Sandy competition in 2012. Her work spans science fiction, fantasy, New Adult Romance, Young Adult titles, Steampunk, Contemporary, and various other varietie ...more

Other books in the series

Flipped Fairy Tales (5 books)
  • The Stillness of the Sky (Flipped Fairy Tale #2)
  • Ride the Wind (Flipped Fairy Tale #3)
  • Dust in the Desert
  • Wild at Heart (Flipped Fairy Tales #5)
“Don’t discount an ability to listen. Sometimes, that’s the greatest help of all.” 2 likes
“perspective often sheds new light on complex problems, providing unexpected solutions.” 1 likes
More quotes…