Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Our Dreams for Our Children” as Want to Read:
Our Dreams for Our Children
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Our Dreams for Our Children

by
4.63  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Ask your parents & grandparents for one of the most valuable gifts they can ever give to you - their hopes, dreams and memories!

An inspiring gift for moms and dads!

Author Richard O. Weijo, PhD, sees the seventy-six million baby boomers in America as one sleeping giant, waiting to be awakened to the power of legacy. His book Our Dreams for Our Children: Creating Legacies Th
...more
Paperback, 154 pages
Published May 6th 2014 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Our Dreams for Our Children, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Our Dreams for Our Children

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.63  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Our Dreams for Our Children
Jacqueline  Bertot
Dec 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing
"Legacy is not an afterthought", quotes the author, "rather it is a thoughtful process of deciding on gifts to share with future generations".

Well Written, clear and precise directions preparing you for starting a legacy for your family to carry on. This author has done all the preparation work for you and even crated a worksheet to get you started.

I enjoyed every page of this wonderfully written book. I can even attest that I have begun putting together my own legacy for our family because of
...more
Richard Weijo
Aug 22, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Kirkus Review

A thoughtfully constructed guide to leaving a legacy.

Writer/consultant Weijo was struck by "the power and importance of legacy" by three events: the birth of his granddaughter, learning he had cancer, and the discovery of old coins collected by himself, his wife and their parents. This led him to formulate his own process for creating a legacy "focused on helping future generations avoid missteps and guiding them with the knowledge and heritage of past generations." In this brief ye
...more
Richard Weijo
May 09, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Kirkus Reviews

"A thoughtfully constructed guide to leaving a legacy.

Writer/consultant Weijo was struck by "the power and importance of legacy" by three events: the birth of his granddaughter, learning he had cancer, and the discovery of old coins collected by himself, his wife and their parents. This led him to formulate his own process for creating a legacy "focused on helping future generations avoid missteps and guiding them with the knowledge and heritage of past generations." In this br
...more
Jeff Ford
Sep 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Our Dreams for Our Children is a valuable reference for those who want a concise introduction to creating personal legacies. The book is approachable and its content is easily managed. Except for the tangental chapter on President Barack Obama's family legacy, there are no pages of fluff for the reader to wade through. The author presents a well organized approach, and when appropriate, useful references are provided for further explora
...more
Earl
Sep 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
This book caught my eye while I was browsing at the library. I love the ideas of manifestos and legacies, leaving one's mark on the world or just ensuring one doesn't do too much damage to the world that's not ours alone but to every living creature that inhabits it.
Patricia
rated it it was amazing
Sep 24, 2014
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2015
Patricia
rated it it was amazing
Sep 24, 2014
Amy
rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2014
Bob
rated it really liked it
Nov 25, 2014
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
Pam Mooney
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
James
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
Sandee Tibbett
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
Julie Hutchinson
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
Wendi Dusek
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
**the True Snow Queen**
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2014
Sheila
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Tasha
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Vykki
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Pamela
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Pam
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Deborah
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Cheryl
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Sylvie
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Daryl Moad
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
K.
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Jean
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Sue
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2014
Amanda Moore
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2014
Karen Bainbridge
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2014
Annette Ranald
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2014
Christine Hatfield
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2014
Tressa
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2014
David Sorensen
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2014
Trina
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2014
Ms. Reader
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
15 followers
After graduating from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota, I earned an MBA and a PhD from the University of Minnesota, and then became an assistant professor of marketing at the University of St. Thomas in Saint Paul, Minnesota. In my last position in industry, I was a director at Portland General Electric. Presently, I am a consultant and a writer.

As I was preparing to retire from industry,
...more

Related Articles

This June, as we observe LGBTQ Pride—the annual celebration of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning communities—we wa...
6 likes · 6 comments