Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “To Have and To Hold” as Want to Read:
To Have and To Hold
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

To Have and To Hold

by
4.59  ·  Rating details ·  22 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
April 23, 1994. The date is set. Colin MacLann is getting married. Growing up in the suburbs of New York City at a time when kids could still be kids and sometimes were for too long, Colin looked like he had it all: he was smart, athletic, had a voice for rock 'n' roll, and lots of luck. There were girlfriends too, five of them: Cindy, Haley, Cara, Monique and Tessa. Each ...more
Paperback, 586 pages
Published April 2nd 2014 by Createspace
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about To Have and To Hold, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about To Have and To Hold

Community Reviews

(showing 1-48)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Dianne
Click on Banner to enter!
http://tometender.blogspot.com/2015/04/trae-strattons-to-have-and-to-hold.html
Here's YOUR chance to win a print copy or 1 of 2 Kindle copies of
TO HAVE AND TO HOLD
International
Ends April 27, 2015


Colin MacLann is getting married, today is the day and in just a few hours he will begin to “write” another addition to the “books” of his life’s journey. Reflecting back on the story of his life through his thoughts, we are invited to witness a young boy, his best friends and joy of their youthful imaginations. Always called the Lucky One, Colin was a gif
...more
Patricia Kajihara
May 15, 2015 rated it really liked it
There are just those books that gets you right at the first page, this is what this book made me feel.

I would rate this book 4.5 over 5 stars

Blurb:

"April 23, 1994. The date is set. Colin MacLann is getting married. Growing up in the suburbs of New York City at a time when kids could still be kids and sometimes were for too long, Colin looked like he had it all: he was smart, athletic, had a voice for rock 'n' roll, and lots of luck. There were girlfriends too, five of them: Cindy, Haley, Cara, M
...more
Stephanie Lasley
Jan 12, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Nostalgic, Uplifting Read

“To Have and to Hold” is a heart-warming story of a large family growing up in Queens. Although there are five children in the MacLann household, the story is based around Colin, the second child in the family.
Its Colin’s wedding day. As he sits in his favorite chair in his family home, he reflects on his childhood. His mind is instantly flooded with memories. He ponders on all the trials and tribulations he has gone through in his life that has lead him to be the man he
...more
Danielle Urban
Sep 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Trae Stratton’s novel, To Have and To Hold is absolutely amazing! I highly recommend reading his fabulous novel. Trae Stratton definitely knows how to keep his readers intrigued and lured in from the first page onward. I loved his characters journey of romance unfolded right before me! A beautiful and simple love story told from the groom’s point of view! This book caught my attention because most novels are told from the woman’s or both the woman’s and man’s point of view. But Trae’s dashing no ...more
K.R. Thompson
Feb 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This book is definitely one of those stories that you can just "sink" into. At first, I thought this was going to be a story told entirely by the groom with flashbacks. I was pleasantly surprised to find that you also learn Colin and his bride-to-be's story through the eyes and flashbacks of his family and discover a few of their secrets as well. Through them, you'll learn about each of Colin's five girlfriends, and each one will leave you wondering who the bride will turn out to be. Every time ...more
Kat
Jan 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
To Have and To Hold was awesome. It's not some cheesy romance novel. Usually you find books that are all about the woman. This is mainly from the point of view of the guy. Stratton keeps you engaged through out the whole book. If you pay real close attention, his clues as to who Collin will marry will blow your mind! I totally recommend this. And just an FYI, you'll probably shed some tears. I also think this would make an awesome movie.
Nancy Jones
Oct 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: own
I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.

I really enjoyed reading To Have and To Hold. This was told from the groom's view. He is getting ready for his wedding and he flashes back to times in his past. You are left guessing who his bride is until the very end. I really liked the characters and their stories.
Synita
Apr 12, 2015 added it
i sooo loved this book... i was desperate to finish reading it to see who Colin ending up marrying. I enjoy reading the flash back to previous years that brought everyone to the day Colin got married.......
Michelle Durdaller wesley
Oct 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I loved the book. When a book draws me in I don't stop reading and hate when I have to put it down. That's what this book did for me. It takes me back to the 80's and keeps you on edge through most of the book. Live the life through Colin MacLann and his family. Evolve with them.
Ginger Ryan
Feb 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
A wonderful "Hallmark" type story that will leave you feeling uplifted and hoping you'll be "invited" to another MacLann wedding sometime soon.
Kirstie
Feb 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Memories flood in for Colin McClann and all those dear to him, the nostalgia too hard to ignore on this big day, the day he finally married the one girl who truly stole his heart.

The story reminisces through the eyes of all those who were a part of Colin's life from childhood right up until the day of his wedding.

Every person who touched his life whether it be briefly or for the long haul had some impact on the person Colin had become.

There were many great adventures, and also many heart breaks,
...more
InD'tale Magazine
3.5/5.0

“To Have and To Hold” is a family tale that walks readers through the wedding day with the point of view switching from the groom, family members and groomsmen.

Read full review in the 2015 February issue of InD’tale Magazine.
Heelqueen
Feb 26, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I like this book as its told from the grooms point of view.it tells the story of the mclanns on the day of Colin's wedding. As he thinks about all his ex girlfriends he's had before his wife to be.
We get to see each character and their back story's and how everything has lead Colin to this moment in time. And it keeps you guessing till the end who is the one he ends up marrying.
Mary Nee
Apr 05, 2015 rated it liked it
This book is the point of view of the groom and his family, a simple love story turns into an endearing family saga anchored to Colin's relationships.
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Apr 04, 2015
Trisha
rated it really liked it
Feb 25, 2015
Sue Abernovich
rated it it was amazing
Sep 13, 2014
Marilyn
rated it really liked it
Feb 25, 2015
Anthony Nieto
rated it it was amazing
Aug 05, 2014
Nelibel Santana
rated it it was amazing
Sep 18, 2017
Kayle
rated it it was amazing
Feb 02, 2017
Jamie Crosby
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2015
Trae Stratton
Apr 24, 2014 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Tracy
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2014
Sam
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2014
Andy Bustamante
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2014
Margie Watson
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2014
Aimee Lo
marked it as to-read
Oct 26, 2014
Daphne
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2014
Munteanu Flaviana
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Faith
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Beth Hewitt
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2015
Brenda Knight
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Miso
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Michelle Padilla
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Ainy K
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Warren Haddock
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Kelley
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Ian Wooder
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Julie Latour
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Lisa Cobb Sabatini
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Samantha Gunning
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Dale
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Jason
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Michelle Quintana
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
Patricia Bergman
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2015
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Making Connections: 3450. TO HAVE AND TO HOLD by Trae Stratton 1 14 Oct 05, 2014 12:46PM  
  • A Minger's Tale: Beginnings
  • Rewriting Destiny  (Forsaken Sinners MC, #0.5)
  • Kip the Quick
  • Passion Storm
  • Finding Fisher
  • Midnight Captive (Bonded By Blood Vampire Chronicles, #2)
  • Scarred
  • I Love You, Salvatore (The Five Families, #1)
  • Hugh the Southern Flame (Chaos Chronicles #2)
  • Need You Now (Martha's Way, #2)
  • Titanium Texicans
  • First of Spring
  • On the Edge
  • Snip, Snip Revenge
  • Mayan Blood (The Stone Legacy, #1)
  • Project Lexi
  • Love Caters All (The Lobster Cove, #1)
  • Bearing It All (Highlander's Beloved, #3)
17 followers
Trae was born and raised in New York City. As a boy his storytelling gene was awakened by Star Wars, and subsequently raised through comic books when he created his own sequential art series about a warrior robot marooned on Earth titled "The Ultimate Fighting Machine." Then he found Dungeons and Dragons, and learned more about Plot, Dialogue, Pacing and Turning Point as a Dungeon Master than he e ...more
More about Trae Stratton