Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Ashes That Remain (Cimmerian Moon, #2)” as Want to Read:
The Ashes That Remain (Cimmerian Moon, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Ashes That Remain

(Cimmerian Moon #2)

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  12 ratings  ·  8 reviews
We’re at war against the aliens that have invaded Earth, fighting the only way we can—by surviving. I have more than most people do, but although I know it’s stupid to hold on, I can’t let go of what might have been—can’t help dreaming of something more. No matter how I tell myself it would be easier to do what everyone else wants me to, there’s a part of me that can’t giv ...more
Kindle Edition, First, 227 pages
Published August 6th 2014 by Three Twenty-One, LLC (first published August 5th 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Ashes That Remain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Ashes That Remain

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  12 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Lelia Taylor
Oct 24, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: full-reviews
I mentioned in my earlier review of Against the Darkness that worldbuilding was somewhat lacking but that didn’t impede my enjoyment of the novel. The same lack continues in this second book but it mostly revolves around not knowing what the aliens are really here for; we know much more this time about how our small band of humans is surviving, actually thriving in some ways.

Time hasn’t passed much since we left Sinta and her companions at the end of Against the Darkness but there has been a dis
...more
Brandi Reeves-Pearson (Saints and Sinners Books)
This book was amazing! If it was possible to give more than 5 stars I would. I loved this book, maybe even more than the first. I felt I was right there with all the characters, surviving the alien invasion with them. In this book, we learn more about the underground sanctuary the group found at the end of book 1. We get more action as well in this one. I liked the fact that the surviving humans are starting to fight back. We kind of get a idea of why the aliens are here to take over the planet, ...more
Dianne
The world as we know it is gone, lizard-like (blech) aliens are systematically destroying our planet, using some humans as slaves, slaughtering the rest. Through it all, a small band of teens have found sanctuary and even family in an underground hideout in a small, rural Michigan town. Gone are the youthful teens "pre-aliens,' in their place are strong and determined survivors, living like moles underground while trying to connect with life outside their lair. Again, Sinta tells their story as ...more
Bri
Oct 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
What I liked: The stakes were raised in book two, making it more suspenseful in places than previous. The introduction of a few new characters seems a bit inconsequential now, but I’m sure in book three they’ll play a larger role. I liked watching how Sinta tried to get through the problems she faced in this one, few as they may have been. Plus, with the way the book ended it left me on the edge of my seat wondering just exactly what is going to be happening in the third book (which I can’t wait ...more
Denise
Aug 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
The Ashes That Remain is the second book in the Cimmerian Moon series and begins with a great prologue that brings you up to date as this new adventure sets out. However, it should be noted that this series is intended to be read in order and I wholeheartedly agree.

This installment begins about a year after Against the Darkness concludes with Sinta settling in to her place in the community and gasp could there be a little lurve in the air.

The writing continues to be well executed with ongoing
...more
Merissa (Archaeolibrarian)
I received this book from Xpresso Book Tours in return for a fair and honest review.

This book continues with Sinta's tale - Jason is still in DC as far as she knows, Wade still wants to be with her, she is still trying to leave Jason behind emotionally and find something more than brotherly love for Wade. Throw in the lizards, trying to find out information, surviving plus the general angst of living underground in conditions as best as can be made for weeks on end. Sinta's mum doesn't want her
...more
Jo
Oct 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
Let me start by saying that this book is not a standalone, and I recommend that you read book 1 first before starting this one.

We pick up the story where the last book left off. Straight away, I was grabbed by the story and felt more involved than with the previous volume.

Sinta’s mum is back in protective parent mode and Wade is…..well…. being a bit childish frankly. But it all adds to the mix in a really enjoyable way. Yes there’s tension, action and some romance, but the underlying story races
...more
Diane
Aug 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Received a complimentary copy to read and review. I couldn't put it down. Just like the first book it pulls you in from the first page. With this one we see how the humans are living now that the aliens are controlling everything. The reader is given insight to how the characters adapt to the situation that they are in. It has great twists and turns. I highly recommend this series to those readers who love Science Fiction and Fantasy books. I suggest if you haven't added the series to your TBR l ...more
Auhmanduh
rated it really liked it
Jun 13, 2017
Edgar
rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2014
Angela Seay
rated it really liked it
Apr 29, 2019
A.M. Griffin
Apr 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Jene Baldwin
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2014
Sherry Fundin
marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2014
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2014
Heather Baker
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2014
Stephanie F
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2014
Margaret Steele
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2014
Joy
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2014
Amanda Vinson
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2014
Silvia Fugate
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2014
Louisa
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2014
Missy Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2014
Jenn Morris-duffey
marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2014
Anne
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Amber
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Ashley E
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Tamera McIntosh
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Melissa Cushing
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Suburb Sanity
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Joseph Hawkshaw
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Bella Boo
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2014
Steve Weber
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Misha Estrada
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Stefanie Gladden
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Amanda Whitley
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Colleen Schindler
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Patrick Siu
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Amie
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Cyndi  Flores
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
590 followers
A.M. Griffin is a wife who rarely cooks, mother of three, dog owner (and sometimes dog owned), a daughter, sister, aunt and friend. She’s a hard worker whose two favorite outlets are reading and writing. She enjoys reading everything from mystery novels to historical romances and of course fantasy romance. She is a believer in the unbelievable, open to all possibilities from mermaids in our oceans ...more

Other books in the series

Cimmerian Moon (3 books)
  • Against the Darkness (Cimmerian Moon, #1)
  • In Danger's Embrace (Cimmerian Moon, #3)