Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sidekick (Sidekick in the City, #1)” as Want to Read:
Sidekick (Sidekick in the City, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sidekick

(Sidekick in the City #1)

by
3.56  ·  Rating details ·  171 ratings  ·  72 reviews
Heroes meets Bridget Jones in this brilliant, hilarious debut novel about a girl who just wants to save the world ...

Bremy St James, daughter of billionaire Atticus St James, has been cut off from the family fortune and is struggling to survive in a world that no longer holds its breath every time she buys a new outfit. To make matters worse, her twin sister is keeping sec
...more
ebook, 173 pages
Published June 1st 2014 by Escape Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sidekick, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Auralee Wallace Sorry it has taken so long to answer this question. I missed it somehow. No plans for a physical copy of the book at the moment. I will be sure to…moreSorry it has taken so long to answer this question. I missed it somehow. No plans for a physical copy of the book at the moment. I will be sure to announce if that changes. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Anne
Apr 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
Also posted at Addicted2Heroines

Comic books and young adult novels.
For me, it was like someone reached into my head, pulled out my two favorite genres, and spun them into one book! Now, will this necessarily resonate with everyone?
No.
But if you do enjoy comic books (or even just the movies about them) you'll probably get a kick out of this.
Kick...get it? Sidekick?!
*snort*

Although, you should probably also know that there are no super-powered heroes in this thing. Sidekick is all about Batman-
...more
Susana
3.5 stars



Arc provided by Harlequin Enterprises Australia through Netgalley

Well, the way I see it, there are two ways of looking at this story:


First one... I could just mention the fact that there's no character development, the characters in it are basic stereotypes of a lot of fantasy tropes, the world building is kept to a minimum, and then there's the fact that practically all characters are insane!


Bottom Line, this reads as a long farce... and did I mention that my sense of humour is pract
...more
Beth
May 14, 2014 rated it really liked it
Click Blitz Banner for a chance to win an Ebook Copy of SIDEKICK

@ Tome Tender Book Blog 6/1-15/14

Recently disowned socialite and heiress, Bremy St. James is facing insurmountable odds when she is just struggling to survive her new surroundings. Faced with the decision to become a bystander or to stand up for those in need, Bremy learns its not as easy as it looks when the super hero Ryder comes to save the day. Getting involved has Bremy feeling more alive than ever before. Pushing Bremy to mak
...more
Meg
May 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
Thank you to NetGalley and Escape Publishing for providing me with a copy of SideKick in exchange for an honest review.

I think everybody at some point during their life wanted to be a superhero. What isn’t to be desired about a life that thrives on secret identities, awesome gadgets, sick-as-bro costumes and lets face it hot men? It is very rare however that you find a novel that has a woman in this role, let alone two. It is also very rare that you find a novel that is excellently written with
...more
Dianne
You know those party favors that you open and all kinds of confetti and streamers pop out at you? That’s what Sidekick by Auralee Wallace did when I opened page one and the frenzied, crazy and totally hysterical feel never left! Not only is this so over-the-top funny that bursts of laughter could be heard about every fourth word, but at one point I think I was actually looking for a super hero costume and was disappointed when Bremy St. James found the only one in the shop! Face it, at one point ...more
Isabelle Morebooksthanlivros
Jun 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
rating: 4 stars
Title: Sidekick
Author: Auralee Wallace
Genre: Comics, young adult romance, romantic comedy
Heat: 1 star
Source: ARC provided by Netgalley and Bewitching Book Tours


Bremy runs away from home after finding out some scary truths. She is not sure what to do with her life, in fact she doesn’t have a plan of what to do with her new knowledge. Until she meets a superhero and decides that’s whom she wants to be. Can she become one?

The author has created a good plot in this fast-paced book, t
...more
Lynsey   (A Bookish Life)
May 20, 2014 rated it really liked it
I got nothin'

Oh, what madcap fun this was! I'm trying to think of a comparison for you to convey the tone used. It's certainly not serious urban fantasy. The heroine was mad as a box of cheese. The love interest was nerdalicious. The hero mentor was disdainfully brilliant. The bizarre, circus freak bad guys seemed very Gotham City to me. So I'm going to have to go with Batman as the tone.



In particular, because the "superheroes" are only heroes in the sense they have trained their bodies to be
...more
Erin
Apr 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
When I saw Sidekick pop up on Netgalley I was instantly intrigued by the superhero inspired cover. I couldn’t resist taking a chance on Sidekick… and I’m very glad I did!

The story follows Bremy the daughter of a very rich family who has left behind her socialite partying lifestyle for independence in the big city. Living undercover and struggling to make rent Bremy needs to make money fast.

After a couple of unfortunate ‘wrong place wrong time’ run-ins with the Sultana and her performers who are
...more
Kat (Kindred Dreamheart)
Apr 22, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc, e-reader
Superhero-isim is a lost art! Reformed villains are so popular now they have become the new norm. Sidekick brings back the “good guy”, um gal. Meet Bremy St Claire. She’s brave. She’s cute. She takes orders well from the lead hero, Knight Rider. She’s beyond reproach. Um okay, so maybe she needs a small push from time to time to act. So what if she wears the wrong shoes, has bad hair days, and seriously has no “hero gal style”. Oh and like you listen to EVERYTHING people tell you. Sure she has a ...more
Andrea
Apr 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Sidekick by Auralee Wallace
Sidekick defies description, the closest approximation I can come of up with is part The Dark Knight and part Scooby Doo. Brianna St. James (Bremy), yes of those St. James', has left home she's desperate to make enough money to pay rent to her Russian mobster landlord and rescue her sister from her father's evil clutches.

Meanwhile the circus has come to town and there is more to fear than just the clowns in this case. Add to the mix mind control, coming to the attention of the local superher
...more
JJ
Jun 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
Auralee Wallace’s Sidekick never takes itself to seriously, and reminded me a lot of Kick-Ass, in that it is a ‘realistic’ portrayal of how someone wanting to do good, doesn’t necessarily have the power to do so. Bremy is both hilarious and endearing. She has spent most of her life as a socialite, so is very naive in the ways of the world. Despite this, she has incredible resilience, and as a reader you really root for her. She makes a pretty terrible superhero at first, but really, when faced w ...more
Morgan Lee
Apr 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Read this review and many others on my blog For Such Love We Feel.


I received this book free from NetGalley, Harlequin Enterprises Australia and Escape Publishing as an advanced reader copy.

This was a book I was incredibly excited to read, and it absolutely did not disappoint! As promised, this novel was very reminiscent of the comic Kickass, but with even more kick ass females. At the open of Sidekick we meet Bremy St. James, a former socialite who’s given up her life of luxury because of someth
...more
Lynn Williams
May 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
http://lynnsbooks.wordpress.com/2014/...
Rating: a strong 4

Just finished reading Sidekick by Auralee Wallace which I really enjoyed - it was good fun, very entertaining and basically combines a comic book type superhero style with a YA story about a young woman trying to survive in the big bad city after breaking free from her billionaire father. It has a hint of romance, a lot of bungling adventures and near mishaps told in a witty voice and fictional, Gotham-esque city setting. This is a fast p
...more
Lori Palle
Jun 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
“What? You hand-glide into a few parties wearing a tiara and tutu and suddenly you’re labeled frivolous for life?”—Bremy

Sure, Bremy might have worn nail polish with crushed diamonds in it to match her dress for her half a million dollar sweet sixteen party, but that was years ago. She’s out from under her billionaire father’s thumb (or kicked out/ cut-off, you know: tomayto, tomahto…), but she’ll show the world that she’s not just some flaky ex-socialite living in an apartment (and, um…sleeping
...more
Mike
May 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
The author's bio at the front says that she writes "women's fiction". I'm not sure what the difference is between that and "chick lit" (presumably it's a class thing), but what it appears to be, from the perspective of someone who isn't a woman, is lighthearted fiction with the comedic snark dialed up, and a female first-person protagonist.

Also dialed up - way up - is the protagonist's ditz factor. I'm generally not in favour of plots that rely strongly on the characters being idiots, and this
...more
Amanda G. (Nellie and Co.
Apr 24, 2014 rated it did not like it
Sidekick had the makings of a really great standalone; the premise was exciting and gave me this sort of Huntress feel, while the excitement of a female sidekick rather than the usual two men in tights perked me up, but I couldn't even make it past a third and what I did read I felt extremely let down by.

Lets start first and foremost with the writing. I genuinely could not have despised the writing more, it felt wishy washy, definitely not professional and nothing at all like what I would expect
...more
bjhix
Jun 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: done-review
ARC provided by Escape Publishing via NetGalley for an honest review.

I did find this book to be enjoyable, light hearted, but a little two dimensional. I feel that a little bit more time could have been taken to flesh out the characters in the book. There are some very interesting players on this stage that I would have liked to get to know a lot better – okay, one I wasn’t too keen on…..Bart the computer geek made me want to hurl with his “I’m such a stud, I use women” outlook on life. That is
...more
Yzabel Ginsberg
(I got a copy of this book throuhg NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.)

OK for the most part, in that it provided me with a fluffy, fast, light reading, but nothing I'll remember much, I'm afraid.

I liked the basic idea of the ex-rich girl deciding to tackle on the role of a hero's sidekick: I thought it held a lot of potential for funny situations as well as superhero gadgets à la Batman. However, those situations were either not exploited enough to my liking, or too ridiculous to be act
...more
Haeja
There's a new author I'm watching out for in this town...

I knew I was hooked when I realized I felt involved in the story. I attribute that to the first person POV used in the story. Sidekick is right up my alley, with its (not so witty) banter, really adorkable love interest, interesting friends, fighting against crime, and crazy heroine-in-training. I love strong female characters, and while Bremy was not necessarily physically strong, heck, she does keep getting in the way of other people

What
...more
Mara Valderran
May 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
Auralee Wallace has left me wondering if Joss Whedon writes books under a pen name. Yes, it is THAT good. Right from the start, you are hooked in with Bremy's razor sharp wit, delivery of great one-liners, and the clever approach to this story. Bremy has left her life as the spoiled daughter of a rich corporate billionaire after discovering that Daddy dearest isn't so dear after all. In fact, he's pretty evil. Resolving to rectify all the bad karma her father has brought down on her life with hi ...more
Laura Greenwood
May 26, 2014 rated it really liked it
Review forthcoming on http://a-reader-lives-a-thousand-live...

I received a copy of Sidekick in exchange for my review.

Bremy St James started her life over when she ran away from her father but somehow keeps getting into trouble. Finding the towns superhero, Dark Ryder, Bremy begs her to take her on as a protege. Bremy isn't all that sure that she has what it takes to be a superhero until fate forces her hand. Facing off her father is the scariest thing that Bremy has ever done, especially when s
...more
Sharon
Jun 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
Review: 3 out of 5 stars

When I saw that this book was Urban Fantasy, I expected something quite serious, I definitely didn’t expect to be giggling my way through the book, Sidekick is a story where you suspend disbelief and enjoy the thrill ride you are taken on.

Our MC is Bremy St James (I am loving that name) a socialite who has been cut off from her wealthy family, now forced to fend for herself and out to save the world she joins up with a super hero named Dark Ryder. Bremy was such a fun ch
...more
Book Him Danno
Oct 27, 2016 rated it really liked it
Its Novel\Comic book for Young Adults.
Comic books and young adult novels.
This book will not be for everyone but if you are one who enjoys comic books this might be what you are looking for. It has humor after all its about sidekick.
No super powers for the sidekick after all Robin didn't have have super powers just relied on his ability to kick but create objects and use his wits. Lots of Batman style crime fighting almost more Dark Knight than Batman from the 1960's but it still has the humor f
...more
Cary Frates
Jun 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Pure Delight! Socialite-Without-A-Care Bremy St. James doesn’t clutter up her life with anything more trying than assessing the latest fashion or nightclub trends, until reality smacks her upside the head and she must leave that life behind – which is where the reader comes in. After a month on her own, she’s forced to admit her survival skills suck, and fate is allied against her. Then her life goes from harsh, to out-and-out bizarre. By turns funny, sweet, diabolical, and eye-popping, with a f ...more
Amanda Peake
Can you mix comic books and a YA novel with the book not suffering? You can if you're Auralee Wallace. I loved this book our MC is quirky, funny, determined, and just a sorry excuse for a heroine. As the story progresses Bermy learns it's not as easy to save the day as she once thought and being Ryder's sidekick is no easy task. The story progresses so that Bermy has to face she knows the villian personally. You watch Bermy grow and change through out the book. When she finally figures out the ...more
Shelley
Apr 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
**I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

*Genre* Urban Fantasy
*Rating* 4.0

*My Thoughts*

I have to you ahead of time that I may babble a little bit while reviewing this book. If you want to bypass the babble, feel free!

**Full Review to be found @ Gizmos Reviews**

http://gizmosreviews.blogspot.com/201...

*Recvd via NetGalley 04/28/2014* Expected publication: June 1st 2014 by Escape Publi
...more
Jodimackayrogers.com
Jun 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book was hilarious. Bremy St James is a feisty young lady that never gives up. Even with all the craziness she endures and the scary/miniacle people she is involved with she never gives up. This is a fabulous message the author has given us.

No matter how crazy and how out of our comfort box we should still challenge ourselves with situations for our own personal growth no matter how outlandish the challenge in life may be.

I am truly excited to read the next St. James novel!
Robyn Koshel
Jun 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Sidekick is the surprise book of the year. It totally took me by surprise and exceeded expectations. Bremy is funny, sassy, kick ass and never takes herself too seriously. I found side kicked to be as charming as it was hilarious.

This book is a must read for anyone who ever put on a cape as a child and pretended to be a superhero.

Sidekick is pure escapist bliss that will not disappoint.
NicoleHasRead
Apr 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
Review to appear on readinglark.blogspot.com on June 20th.
Parajunkee
Jul 20, 2014 rated it really liked it
Great read.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Down Outback Roads (Outback Dust #2)
  • Ghost Hold (The PSS Chronicles, #2)
  • Psi Another Day (Psi Fighter Academy, #1)
  • The Luthier's Apprentice (Violinist Detective Series, #1)
  • Eve and Adam: Chapters 1-5
  • The Recruit (MTG Agencies #1)
  • The Once and Future Geek (The Camelot Code #1)
  • Innocence Lost (For Queen and Country, #1)
  • Forever Layla
  • Red River (Tent City #2)
  • (Once) Again (Again, #2)
  • Will The Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up?
  • Fast Forward
  • The Hunger Gays
  • Twisted
  • Beneath the Forsaken City (Song of Seare, #2)
  • Hero Worship
  • Gathering Shadows (Finding Sanctuary #1)
107 followers
Auralee Wallace has played many roles in her life, including college professor, balloon seller, and collections agent. When this semi-natural blond mother of three children (and psychiatric nurse to one rescue cats) isn’t writing humorous novels about quirky characters, she can often be found watching soap operas with lurid fascination and warring with a family of peregrine falcons for the rights ...more

Other books in the series

Sidekick in the City (2 books)
  • Sidekick Returns (Sidekick in the City, #2)