Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “One of Us” as Want to Read:
One of Us
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

One of Us

by
3.57  ·  Rating details ·  1,700 ratings  ·  333 reviews
“A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights [Tawni] O’Dell reveals in this powerful novel” (The New York Times Book Review).

Dr. Sheridan Doyle—a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist—is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s of
...more
Paperback, 295 pages
Published April 7th 2015 by Gallery Books (first published August 1st 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about One of Us, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Tricia Sanders i'm about ready to give up! I'm about that far into it as well and can't keep track of what is happening and find myself lost....it definitely rambles…morei'm about ready to give up! I'm about that far into it as well and can't keep track of what is happening and find myself lost....it definitely rambles on! (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,700 ratings  ·  333 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
Danny Doyle- he grew up in a town where mining was king. Everyone was either working there or expected too. Years ago his great grandfather was hung with the Nellies for uprising against the mine owner. Danny grew up hard, with an abusive father and a mentally ill mother. He comes back to town as a "boy done good." He is a forensic psychologist that studies serial killers-I would have liked even more on his job. (That part was so interesting)
He is a tad bit proud of that fact that he has risen a
...more
Robert
Apr 26, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you look up the term cold-hearted bitch in the dictionary, you’re liable to find a picture of Scarlet Dawes. She has evil figured out so well she could suck your soul out of your body from three feet away. And then she’d kick your decaying corpse with her stiletto heel while carrying her Gucci purse. She’s so evil that her mom resorted to the gin and tonic years ago (heavy on the gin light on the tonic), and her dad was born without a soul, and there’s an empty void where his heart should be. ...more
Patrice Hoffman
I have been waiting to read another Tawni O'Dell book since I was in high school. It is there I became a fan after reading, and loving, her Oprah approved debut Back Roads. Yes, I know I've missed a few of her others along the way but I'm happy that this book, One of Us placed me back on the O'Dell wagon.

Forensic psychologist Sheridan Doyle a.k.a., Danny, returns to his home town Lost Creek to care for his aging, sick grandfather. Shortly after returning he comes across a dead body in the gallo
...more
Leanne
Nov 26, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
One of Us is not exactly a mystery novel. It has some of the elements of one - deep, dark family secrets, strange and seemingly random murders, a psychologist who studies the minds of serial killers - but the difference here is that we watch the deaths as they happen, through the eyes of the killer. So the real mystery isn't who did it? or even why did they do it?, but how the history of the town and the family relationships have shaped the characters and led to this point.

Lost Creek, the rundo
...more
Kelly (and the Book Boar)
Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

RELEASE DATE TODAY - 8/19

Noted forensic psychologist Dr. Sheridan Doyle (Danny to his family) has been called back to his home town in order to check on his aging grandfather. He never planned on discovering a dead body at the legendary (and reportedly haunted) gallows where a group of miners were hung generations ago. He never could have imagined getting involved in solving the mystery of this death, or that he would have to revisit h
...more
SUSAN   *Nevertheless,she persisted*
I really wanted to like this book.It caught my interest and kept until the introduction of Scarlet Dawes. She was a fork in the toaster. Scarlet killed the flow of the book and her character was ackward and farfetched. As I read on,I began to feel that many of the characters acted/reacted in an unbelievable manner.
I grew weary of the innumerable descriptions of designer apparel....Alexander McQueen,Stella McCartney, Belanciago...Oh my. The book felt disjointed,unfinished and lacked continuity.
I
...more
Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
After reading reviews with strong praise for this book I was excited to get stuck into it. However, I struggled from the start to really connect with the imagery and the characters, at times it felt like the book was slipping from my grasp, I had to strain to concentrate at times, in short I found it a bit hard going.

This book has been compared to Gone Girl, in that fans of Gone Girl will love this book. From my perspective, not only is just about every book these days compared with Gone Girl b
...more
Wendy
Jan 23, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: nov-14
One Of Us is set in Lost Creek, an old coal mining town in Appalachia, that has been haunted by a macabre history.
Sheridan (Danny) Doyle was raised by an abusive father and a mentally unstable mother who was convicted of killing his baby sister and burying her in the back yard when Danny was 5. He rose above his disturbed childhood to become a prominent forensic psychologist in Philadelphia, specializing in the minds of serial killers.
When his elderly grandfather becomes ill Danny is asked to c
...more
Paul Pessolano
Jun 23, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
“One of Us” by Tawni O’Dell, published by Gallery Books.

Category – Fiction/Literature Publication Date – August 19, 2014

This book may be fiction/literature but has a deeply hidden mystery in it. The novel takes place in an old Pennsylvania coal town. A town that is run by the owner of the coal mine. As in all cases during this time the owner of the mine also owned the miners. The miners worked for starvation wages that were often offset by having to pay for items at the Company Store. A band of
...more
Liz Barnsley
Jul 21, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to the author and publisher for the netgalley review copy.

Dr. Sheridan Doyle, a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist, is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s office whenever a twisted killer’s mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he’s still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family. Returning to a hometown grappling with its own ghosts, Danny finds a dead body at the infamous Los
...more
Carol -  Reading Writing and Riesling
My View:
This is my first experience of reading a Tawni O’Dell book and I must say how impressed I was with this offering! This book has it all:

Atmospheric – wonderful creation of settings - of a struggling mining town, of prison, of the extremely wealthy, of the mentally unbalanced… and of a gamut of emotions, this is a fascinating read.

Complex – the narrative twists and turns, we have two perspectives - of Danny’s past and present and glimpses of Scarlet’s life – past and present and the inters
...more
Jo
Feb 22, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It took awhile to get into this one. I even considered DNFing, but I am glad that I didn't. It was heartbreaking and fulfilling.
Judy Collins
A special thank you to Gallery Books and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Tawni O’Dell’s ONE OF US is an engaging psychological thriller, set in an old coal mining town of Lost Creek, holding deep dark secrets in the backwoods of Appalachia. Loved the front cover image as pulls you into this world of mystery and murder.

Danny Doyle, born and raised in this coal mining town of Pennsylvania, and has no desire to return after struggling with demons from childhood, from bully
...more
Lisa D - Sassy Cat Chat
One of us by Tawni O'Dell is a really great read. The plot line is a bit different so it's nice to read something that feels fresh rather than the same old story told by someone else.

Our main character Danny is a successful forensic psychologist living in the big city. He returns home to the small town he is from, and not very fond of. We get to learn all about his less than perfect childhood as his family and it's secrets are laid out through the story line.

Our second main character, Scarlet,
...more
Erin
May 06, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc-review
ARC for review.

This was my first Tawni O'Dell book after her Oprah selection from years ago. I wasn't thrilled with that book (it was set in Appalachia, as is this one, and there were things about it that bothered me...but it's been so many years ago I'm not sure exactly why). This was...better.

First of all, quite a page-turner, and with the same dark, gothic feel as Gap Creek - based on these two books only I would say that O'Dell has a love/hate relationship with the region (and with sibling
...more
NaTaya Hastings
I read this book because I was a fan of Tawni O'Dell's "Backroads." However, this book did not live up to the precedent set by that novel. There were several problems that stood out to me that I simply couldn't get over. For instance, there were awful pacing issues, and worse, there were times when the point of view simply shifted between characters without warning, and it made it hard to follow along.

Furthermore, there were inconsistencies in the plot. For instance, one lady confesses that she
...more
Diane S ☔
Dec 31, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 review to follow.
A Reader's Heaven
(I received a free copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.)

Dr. Sheridan Doyle—a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist—is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s office whenever a twisted killer’s mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he’s still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and
...more
Fictionophile
This review was originally published on my blog: Fictionophile

Set in a Pennsylvania coal town, Tawni O’Dell’s latest novel transports the reader into the closed, ‘company town’ atmosphere of the ‘haves’ and the ‘have-nots’. Our protagonist Sheridan Doyle escaped the confines of his upbringing and went to college. Now a renowned forensic psychologist in Philadelphia, his only tie to his home town is his elderly grandfather Tommy. When he learns that Tommy has taken ill, he returns to Lost Cree
...more
The Bookend Family
If you think that your family is screwed I up I encourage you to read One of Us by Tawni O'Dell. Inside is a family as twisted as a rope. If your family doesn’t seem better by the time you are done, you have my sympathy. I also would encourage you to read this book because it's an exceptionally good thriller; taut, tense, and chock-full of well-drawn characters.

The protagonist is Dr. Sheridan Doyle, fastidious and rather famous forensic psychologist whose specialty is twisted killers. His unusua
...more
Ashley Farley
Behind his public persona, Dr. Sheridan Doyle is still Danny, the lost little boy running from his past. Abused by his father, abandoned by his mentally ill mother, raised by his eccentric grandfather, he makes for an interesting protagonist. Today, Sheridan Doyle is a famous forensic psychologist, a shrink who studies the minds of the criminally insane, not to help them get better but in fascination of their behavior.

When Danny returns to his hometown of Lost Creek, Pennsylvania, to help take c
...more
Marjolein
READ IN ENGLISH

Read all my reviews on http://urlphantomhive.booklikes.com

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, thank you!

Publication date: August 19th 2014

Dr. Sheridan "Danny" Doyle is now a famous psychologist in Philadelphia, but used to be an outcast with his irresponsible father and mentally ill mother who's in jail. Raised by his grandfather, who's grandfather was executed before the eyes of his father as one of the Nellies,
...more
Ubiquitousbastard
Honestly, I don't know why this was on my to-read list, but it was and I read it because...boredom?

There were several aspects of this book that bothered or annoyed me, although most of them are details rather than sweeping problems. Firstly, this author seems to think there are two types of people: blue collar and ridiculously effete. Now, maybe I just didn't pick up on some subtlety and she portrays people like this for a reason. However, if it was only intended to demonstrate (view spoiler)
...more
Carol
Nov 16, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
One of Us by Tawni O'Dell
2.5★'s

From The Book:
Dr. Sheridan Doyle—a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist—is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s office whenever a twisted killer’s mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he’s still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and mental unraveling of his mother years ago
...more
Naomi
May 21, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Synopsis: Dr. Sheridan Doyle is the "go to", TV friendly forensic psychologist in Philadelphia. He makes sure his personal image matches his professional one. Back in his hometown of Lost Creek, he is still known as Danny Doyle, the shy, bullied young boy from a blue collar family of coal miners. An image that Sheridan would be happy to never see again.

He can't get that lucky when he is called back to Lost Creek to care for his grandfather. Unfortunately for him, the first thing he comes across
...more
The Pfaeffle Journal (Diane)
Ever since reading Back Roads I have been a fan of Tawni O’Dell. NetGalley provided a copy newest novel One of Us. This is one the best books I have read in a while. It re-forces why I am a fan.

Set in the Pennsylvania coal country, Lost Creek is best known for its gallows where a band of rebellious miners were hung. Dr Sheridan Doyle returns to check on his aging grandfather, Tommy Doyle. Doyle is now a successful forensic psychologist, who is quite into himself. Shortly he arrives home he finds
...more
Dara S.
I had trouble with this book drawing me in until the last 100 pages or so. I had to bump up the rating. I never saw the ending coming. This book is weird, touching and twisted.
Allison
Nov 12, 2015 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I gave up on this book after about 50 pages. I just couldn't get into it which was disappointing because I've read other books by this author and really enjoyed them.
Patty
Mar 08, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, mystery
The book is about hardship, poverty, mental illness and an incredible tragedy.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Ride the Lightning
  • The Butcher
  • Deadly Ruse (Mac McClellan #2)
  • Acts of Desperation
  • Beautiful Maids All in a Row (Iris Ballard, #1)
  • The Devil May Care (Mac McKenzie, #11)
  • Through the Cracks
  • Rocks Beat Paper: A Wilson Mystery
  • Lonely Graves (Pieter Posthumus Trilogy, #1)
  • The Territory (Josie Gray Mysteries #1)
  • A Thousand Cuts (Spike Sanguinetti #5)
  • Evil in All Its Disguises
  • Bone Dust White (Macy Greeley, #1)
  • Murder in Germantown
  • City of Rose (Ash McKenna, #2)
  • The Last Clinic (Darla Cavannah Mysteries, #1)
  • The Cambodian Book of the Dead
  • On the Road with Del and Louise: A Novel in Stories
453 followers
Tawni O'Dell is the New York Times bestselling author of Fragile Beasts, Sister Mine, Coal Run, and Back Roads, which was an Oprah's Book Club pick and a Book-of-the-Month Club Main Selection. Tawni's screen adaptation of Back Roads is currently in development to be made into a film with Adrian Lyne set to direct. Her work has been translated into 15 languages and been published in over 30 countri ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“I’ve never had any desire to be loved. I prefer being feared. It gets the same results but without any hugging.” 3 likes
“Most people who stay do it because they’re afraid to leave, and most people who leave do it because they’re afraid to stay. If you stop and think about it you’ll find that fear is the motivating factor for most decisions people make in their lives” 1 likes
More quotes…